DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-7 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 12/19/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4, and 6 use the phrase “as one with” to describe the connection between elements, however the examiner finds this language to be confusing because this terminology is not a standard phrase that is used and it appears to suggest a deeper connection and integration between the two elements that from standard terms such as “connected” or “attached”, but it is not clear what the scope of this deeper connection is.
Claim 5 is rejected due to their respective dependencies on claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Journade et al. (PGPub #2019/0100324) in view of Brochard (PGPub #2018/0186462), and Thies et al. (PGPub #2013/0160459).
Regarding claim 1, Journade teaches a propulsion assembly of an aircraft, said propulsion assembly having a longitudinal axis and a vertical median plane passing through the longitudinal axis (50 as seen in figure 4), and comprising: a jet engine (52) having a front casing (62) with a rear face perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (60, and 62 as seen in figure 5); an attachment pylon (54) having a primary structure (72) with a lower surface (72 as seen in figures 4, and 5); two outer rods (84, and Paragraph 69) with an outer rod disposed on each side of the median plane (84, and Paragraph 69, this teaches that the push rods can be symmetrically placed on either sides of the median plane), wherein the two outer rods each have a rear end mounted in a manner on the lower surface (72, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) by a first rear connection point (72, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) and a front end mounted in a manner on the front casing (62, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) by a first front connection point (62, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69); and two inner rods (84, and Paragraph 69, this teaches that the push rods are symmetrically placed about the median plane and that there can be more than one push rod on each side, and figure 4 shows that each side can have 2 push rods, one of which is the inner rod) with an inner rod disposed on each side of the median plane (84, and Paragraph 69, this teaches that the push rods can be symmetrically placed on either sides of the median plane), wherein the two inner rods each have a rear end mounted in a manner on the lower surface (72, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) by a second rear connection point (72, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) and a front end mounted in a manner on the front casing (62, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69) by a second front connection point (62, and 84 as seen in figure 5, and Paragraph 69). But Journade does not explicitly teach that the lower surface is a lower spar, that the connection points provide articulation, and that the front end connection points are on the rear face of the front casing.
However, Brochard teaches that the lower surface is a lower spar (38 as seen in figure 3, and Paragraph 55). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the lower surface be a lower spar because Journade and Brochard are both mounting systems that mount engines to the bottom surface of pylons. The motivation for having the lower surface be a lower spar is that it helps to strengthen the connection between the mount and the pylon. But Brochard does not explicitly teach that that the connection points provide articulation, the front end connection points are on the rear face of the front casing.
However, Thies does teach that that the connection points provide articulation (The rods and connection points as seen in figure 3, as can be seen the ends of the rods are held in clevis mounts with a hinge axis that inherently provide articulation in the mounting_, the front end connection points are on the rear face of the front casing (54, and the rod mounts as seen in figure 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection points provide articulation of the rods, and to have the front end connection points be on the rear face of the front casing because Journade and Thies are both engine mounting systems with rods mounted to the front casing. The motivation for having the connection points provide articulation of the rods is that it helps to ease the assembly process and can allow the system to better absorb the loads during use, and the motivation for having the front end connection points be on the rear face of the front casing is that it can help shorten the length of the rods to help minimize weight while maintaining a strong connection between the mount and engine.
Regarding claim 2, Journade as modified by Brochard and Thies teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, but Journade does not teach that each connection point comprises a pivot connection having an axis is perpendicular to the median plane. However, Thies does teach that each connection point comprises a pivot connection having an axis is perpendicular to the median plane (The connection points as seen in figure 3). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the connection points have a pivot perpendicular to the median plane because Journade and Thies are both engine mounting systems with rods mounted to the front casing. The motivation for having the connection points have a pivot perpendicular to the median plane is that it helps to ensure that the system is capable of handling the forces generated from the engine.
Regarding claim 3, Journade as modified by Brochard and Thies teaches the propulsion assembly according to claim 1, further comprising: an engine attachment (80 of Journade) between a frontal wall of the primary structure and the front casing (62, 80, and 92 as seen in figure 5 of Journade).
Regarding claim 7, Journade as modified by Brochard and Thies teaches an aircraft comprising: a wing (70 of Journade); and the propulsion assembly according to claim 1 (50 of Journade), wherein the primary structure is fastened beneath the wing (50, and 70 as seen in figure 5 of Journade).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM L GMOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647