DETAILED ACTION
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claims 1, 3, 13 and 15 in the Applicant’s response dated 4 September 2026. The claim amendments have been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 2 and 14 in the Applicant’s response dated 4 September 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5 June 2026 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204103 A1; hereinafter “Galatage”).
Regarding Claim 1, Galatage teaches a thin-film transistor comprising:
a substrate (140, Fig. 7B, para [0034] describes a base substrate 140);
a source disposed over a portion of the substrate (116, Fig. 7A, para [0051] describes a source region disposed on a portion of the substrate 140);
a drain disposed over a portion of the substrate (118, Fig. 7A, para [0051] describes a drain region disposed on a portion of the substrate 140);
a body of channel material disposed over at least a portion of the substrate that extends between the source and the drain (102 and 1222, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0051] describes a channel region 102 disposed over the substrate 140 between the source region 116 and drain region 118 and further wherein para [0065] describes a channel material 1222 that may take the form of the channel material 102 with reference to transistor 102 from Fig. 7B);
a body of gate material that extends over the body of the channel material (108 and 1236, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0033] describes a gate electrode material layer 108 that extends over the body of channel material 102 and further wherein para [0072] describes a gate electrode material 1236 which may take the form of the gate electrode material 108 with reference to transistor 120 from Fig. 7B wherein the gate electrode material 1236 extends over the body of channel material 1222);
a body of dielectric material that is disposed between the body of gate material and the body of channel material and that extends over the body of channel material (106 and 1226, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0033] describes a high-k dielectric layer 106 disposed between the body of gate material 108 and the body of channel material 102 wherein the body of dielectric material 106 extends over the body of channel material 102 and further wherein para [0066] describes a high-k dielectric material 1226 which may take the form of the high-k dielectric material 106 with reference to transistor 120 from Fig. 7B wherein the high-k dielectric material 1226 is disposed between the body of gate material 1236 and the body of channel material 1222 and extends over the body of channel material 1222); and
an interceding material disposed on the body of channel material and between the body of channel material and the body of dielectric material (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0033] describes an interface layer 104 disposed on the body of channel material 102 and between the body of channel material 102 and the body of dielectric material 106 and further wherein para [0066] describes an interface layer 1224 which may take the form of the interface layer 104 with reference to transistor 120 from Fig. 7B wherein interceding material 1224 is disposed on the body of channel material 1222 and between the body of channel material 1222 and the body of dielectric material 1226);
wherein the body of channel material includes a metal oxide (102 and 1222, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0035] describes wherein the body of channel material 102 may include a metal oxide such as tin oxide and further wherein channel material 1222 may be comprised of a same metal oxide material), the body of channel material being operable to form a carrier channel between the source and the drain when sufficient voltage is applied to the body of gate material (102 and 1222, Fig. 7A, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0035] describes wherein channel material 102/1222 may include a high mobility oxide semiconductor material wherein a high mobility oxide semiconductor material would be operable to form a carrier channel between the source and the drain when sufficient voltage is applied to the body of gate material and further wherein the structure of the body of the channel material 102/1222 between the source region 116 and drain region 118 with an overlying body of gate material 108/1236 as recited by Galatage is substantially identical to that of the claims therefore claimed properties, such as the body of channel material being operable to form a carrier channel between the source and the drain when sufficient voltage is applied to the body of the gate material, or functions are presumed to be present (please see MPEP 2112.01 (I)));
wherein the interceding material is operable as a barrier against migration of chemical species between the body of dielectric material and a base layer of the body of channel material (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0044] describes wherein the interceding material 104/1224 may provide an interface between the channel material 102/1222 and the gate structure 110 including the body of dielectric material 106/1226 wherein such an interface would be operable as a barrier against migration of chemical species between the body of dielectric material and a base layer of the body of the channel material 102/1222 and further wherein the structure of the interceding material 104/1224 between the body of dielectric material 106/1226 and a base layer of the body of channel material 102/1222 as recited by Galatage is substantially identical to that of the claims therefore claimed properties, such as the interceding material is operable as a barrier against migration of chemical species between the body of dielectric material and a base layer of the body of channel material, or functions are presumed to be present (please see MPEP 2112.01 (I))); and
wherein the interceding material includes one or more of silicon dioxide, silicon oxynitride, and silicon nitride (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0066] describes wherein the interface layer 104/1224 may be a silicon oxynitride material layer).
Regarding Claim 3, the Galatage teaches the thin-film transistor of claim 1, wherein the interceding material is amorphous (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0046] describes wherein the interceding material 104/1224 may be an amorphous material between the channel material 102/1222 and the dielectric material 106/1226).
Regarding Claim 5, Galatage teaches the thin-film transistor of claim 1, wherein:
the channel material is tin oxide (102 and 1222, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0035] describes wherein the body of channel material 102/1222 may include a metal oxide such as tin oxide);
the dielectric material is hafnium oxide (106 and 1226, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0046] describes wherein the dielectric material 106/1226 may include hafnium oxide); and
the interceding material is further operable to reduce or eliminate an influence of a crystal structure of the body of channel material on a structure of the body of dielectric material (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0044] describes wherein the interceding material 104/1224 may provide an interface between the channel material 102/1222 and the dielectric material 106/1226 resulting in the interceding material 104/1224 being operable to reduce or eliminate an influence of a crystal structure of the body of channel material 102/1222 on the body of dielectric material 106/1226 and further wherein the structure of the interceding material 104/1224 between the body of dielectric material 106/1226 and the body of channel material 102/1222 as recited by Galatage is substantially identical to that of the claims therefore claimed properties, such as the interceding material is further operable to reduce or eliminate an influence of a crystal structure of the body of channel material on a structure of the body of dielectric material, or functions are presumed to be present (please see MPEP 2112.01 (I))).
Regarding Claim 10, Galatage teaches the thin-film transistor of claim 1, wherein the interceding material is formed as a discrete layer (104 and 1224, Fig. 7B and Fig. 12H, para [0046] describes wherein the interceding material 104/1224 may be an amorphous material between the channel material 102/1222 and the dielectric material 106/1226 resulting in a discrete layer 104/1224).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204103 A1; hereinafter “Galatage”) in view of Ken-Ichi Goto et al. (US 2025/0294812 A1; hereinafter “Goto”).
Regarding Claim 6, Galatage discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Galatage fails to explicitly disclose the thin-film transistor of claim 5, wherein the tin oxide channel material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <110>.
Goto teaches a similar thin-film transistor wherein the tin oxide channel material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <110> (208, Fig. 2A, para [0038] describes wherein a p-type oxide-semiconductor channel layer 208 may have a (110) dominant crystal phase wherein para [0034] describes the p-type oxide-semiconductor channel layer 208 may be a tin oxide channel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage with Goto to further disclose a thin-film transistor wherein the tin oxide channel material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <110> in order to provide the advantage of providing a semiconductor channel with a greater charge carrier mobility thus increasing device performance (Goto, para [0038]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204103 A1; hereinafter “Galatage”) in view of Sangjun Lee et al. (US 2023/0282389 A1; hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding Claim 7, Galatage discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Galatage fails to explicitly disclose the thin-film transistor of claim 5, wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <-111>.
However, Lee teaches a similar thin-film transistor wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <-111> (para [0063] describes growing a hafnium oxide with a preferred growth orientation so that the <111> crystal orientation may be arranged in the out-of-plane direction which may result in a <-111> crystallite orientation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage with Lee to further disclose a thin-film transistor wherein a hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <-111> in order to provide the advantage of increasing effective polarization by about 80% or more increasing efficiency in devices with larger operating voltages and preventing potential undesirable characteristics in said devices (Lee, para [0063]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204103 A1; hereinafter “Galatage”) in view of Marina Yamaguchi et al. (US 2019/0088870 A1; hereinafter “Yamaguchi”)
Regarding Claim 8, Galatage discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Galatage fails to explicitly disclose the thin-film transistor of claim 5, wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <020>.
However, Yamaguchi teaches a similar thin-film transistor wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <020> (P1, Fig. 4B, para [0052] describes an orthorhombic hafnium oxide layer that has a peak intensity P1 in the (020) crystallographic plane resulting in a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <020> for the hafnium oxide layer 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage with Yamaguchi to further disclose a thin-film transistor wherein a hafnium oxide dielectric material has a preferred crystallite orientation of Miller index <020> in order to provide the advantage of providing a device with a large on-current which may improve retention characteristics in a memory device (Yamaguchi, para [0042] and para [0052]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204103 A1; hereinafter “Galatage”) in view of Rohit Galatage et al. (US 2024/0204060 A1; hereinafter “Galatage II”).
Regarding Claim 9, Galatage discloses all the limitations of claim 5.
Galatage fails to explicitly disclose the thin-film transistor of claim 5, wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has an amorphous structure.
However, Galatage II teaches a similar thin-film transistor wherein the hafnium oxide dielectric material has an amorphous structure (112, Fig. 1, para [0045] describes a gate insulating dielectric layer 112 that may comprise hafnium oxide wherein the hafnium oxide has an amorphous structure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Galatage with Galatage II to further disclose a thin-film transistor wherein a hafnium oxide dielectric material has an amorphous structure in order to provide the advantage of enabling a thin-film transistor to be implemented as a hysteric device wherein hysteric devices may have low power consumption and high endurance, resulting in decreased operating costs and end users costs (Galatage II, para [0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3 and 5-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898