DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticiapted by US 8,501,104 to Honda et al. (Honda).
In Reference to Claim 14
Honda, see Fig.3, discloses:
An exhaust aftertreatment system for a vehicle, the exhaust aftertreatment system comprising:
a first housing 10 including a first housing inlet 11configured to be fluidly coupled with an engine of the vehicle and configured to receive exhaust gas from the engine;
a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) 13 disposed within the first housing, the DOC configured to receive the exhaust gas from the first housing inlet;
a diesel particulate filter (DPF) 14 disposed within the first housing, the DPF configured to receive the exhaust gas from the DOC;
a second housing 20 including a second housing inlet 21 configured to receive the exhaust gas from the first housing;
a selective catalytic reduction catalyst (SCR) 23 disposed within the second housing, the SCR configured to receive the exhaust gas from the second housing inlet; and an intermediate pipe fluidly coupling the first housing with the second housing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,501,104 to Honda et al. (Honda) in view of US 2022/0099009 to Maganti et al. (Maganti).
In Reference to Claim 1
Honda discloses:
A fire fighting vehicle comprising:
an exhaust aftertreatment system, see fig.3 including:
a first housing 10 including a first housing inlet 11 fluidly coupled with the engine and configured to receive the exhaust gas;
a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) 13 disposed within the first housing, the DOC configured to receive the exhaust gas from the first housing inlet;
a diesel particulate filter (DPF) 14 disposed within the first housing, the DPF configured to receive the exhaust gas from the DOC 13;
a second housing 20 including a second housing inlet 21 configured to receive the exhaust gas from the first housing 12;
a selective catalytic reduction catalyst (SCR) 23 disposed within the second housing 20, the SCR 23 configured to receive the exhaust gas from the second housing inlet; and
an intermediate pipe 30 fluidly coupling the first housing 10 with the second housing 20.
Honda does not disclose
a chassis, including a first frame rail and a second frame rail laterally spaced apart and extending in a longitudinal direction;
an engine supported by the chassis and configured to produce exhaust gas;
Maganti discloses
a chassis, including a first frame rail 104 and a second frame rail 106 laterally spaced apart and extending in a longitudinal direction;
an engine 102 supported by the chassis (see Fig.8) and configured to produce exhaust gas, see paragraph [0043] of Maganti.
At the time claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to includes frames as disclosed by Maganti, combine the teachings of Maganti with Honda, since this would enable the practitioner to identify that trucks are notoriously well known in the art that truck require chassis to support both the engine and the exhaust system.
In Reference to Claim 13
Honda Modififed discloses:
a front axle and a rear axle, wherein the exhaust aftertreatment system is positioned longitudinally between the front axle and the rear axle, see Fig.8 of Maganti.
Claim(s) 6 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,501,104 to Honda et al. (Honda) in view of US 2022/0099009 to Maganti et al. (Maganti) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 10,883,405 to Hornback et al. (Hornback).
In Reference to Claim 6 and 19
Honda modified does not discloses:
wherein the intermediate pipe includes a flexible section configured to permit relative movement between the first housing and the second housing.
Hornback discloses:
wherein the intermediate pipe 50 includes a flexible section configured to permit relative movement between the first housing 14 and the second housing 16.
At the time claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to to provide a flexible connection between both module, combine the teachings of Hornback with Honda, since this would enable the practitioner of the primary reference to practice the advantage of providing desired mounting flexibility in tight compartment which reduces stress during manufacturing and service of Honda aftertreatment system.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 8,501,104 to Honda et al. (Honda) in view of US 2022/0099009 to Maganti et al. (Maganti) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US 2025/0052180 to McCarthy
In Reference to Claim 9
Honda modified does not discloses:
wherein the exhaust aftertreatment system includes a heater configured to heat the exhaust gas.
McCarthy discloses a heater included in the after system.
At the time claimed invention was filed it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill to include a heater, combine the teachings of McCarthy with Honda, since this would enable the practitioner of the primary reference to practice the advantage of controlling the thermal management of the exhaust of the aftertreatment system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7-8, 10-12, 15-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 20 is allowed primarily because the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Furthermore, the prior art of record does not teach “wherein the first housing is coupled to the first frame rail and the second housing is coupled to the second frame rail such that the first housing and the second housing are laterally adjacent to each other” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 2 and 15;
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the chassis defines a central axis extending in the longitudinal direction and laterally centered along a width of the fire fighting vehicle, wherein the first housing is positioned on a first side of the central axis, and wherein the second housing is positioned on a second side of the central axis opposite the first side.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 3 and 16; and
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the SCR is a first SCR, and wherein the exhaust aftertreatment system includes a second SCR disposed within the second housing, the second SCR configured to receive the exhaust gas from the second housing inlet.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 7.
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein the exhaust aftertreatment system includes a diesel exhaust fluid (DEF) tank positioned within a front wheel well or a rear wheel well of the fire fighting vehicle, the DEF tank configured to store a supply of DEF.” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 9.
The prior art of record does not teach “a cable support coupled to the chassis, the cable support extending (i) along at least a portion of a longitudinal length of the fire fighting vehicle and (ii) beneath the chassis; and a wire at least partially supported by the cable support beneath the chassis, the wire extending between an alternator of the engine and the heater” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 11.
The prior art of record does not teach “a pump system, wherein the first housing and the second housing are positioned below the pump system” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 12.
The prior art of record does not teach “wherein at least a portion of the wire is supported by the cable support such that the portion of the wire is positioned beneath the chassis; wherein the first housing is coupled to the first frame rail and the second housing is coupled to the second frame rail such that the first housing and the second housing are laterally adjacent to each other; and wherein the DEF tank is positioned within the front wheel well or the rear wheel well” as within the context of the claimed invention as disclosed and within the context of the other limitations present in claim 20.
Therefore, the prior art of record cannot anticipate Applicant’s claimed invention by a single reference nor render Applicant’s claimed invention obvious by the combination of more than one reference.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY AYALA DELGADO/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746