DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 16-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 16, line 14 should read in part “when [[an]] a cylinder deactivation”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zurface et al. (US 2013/0306013) in view of McCarthy Jr et al. (US 2020/0018197).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner below)
Zurface et al. (Zurf) discloses:
A rocker arm assembly of a valvetrain operable in a cylinder deactivation mode (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0010] & [0152]), the rocker arm assembly comprising:
a valve portion (A) configured to operatively engage with one or more valves (112) of a cylinder (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0181]-[0186]);
a drive cam portion (120) configured to operatively engage with a drive cam (106) associated with a drive cam lift profile, the drive cam portion (120) comprising a switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam (106) or transfer motion from the drive cam (106) to the valve portion (A) (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]); and
a recharge cam portion (122) configured to be rotatably coupled to the valve portion (A);
wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is enabled,
the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) is configured to absorb motion from the drive cam (120) to deactivate the cylinder (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]), and
the recharge cam portion (122) is configured to operatively engage with a recharge cam (108) associated with a low valve lift profile and transfer motion from the recharge cam (108) to the valve portion (A). (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0182], [0010]. & [0152]).
Zurf discloses the claimed invention except:
The recharge cam profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein a transfer of motion from the drive cam (120) to the valve portion (A) causes one or more of the valves to move. (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein a transfer of motion from the drive cam (120) to the valve portion (A) causes one or more of the valves to move according to the drive lift profile associated with the drive cam (106). (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0130] & [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182] & See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) transfers motion from the drive cam (120) to the valve portion (A). (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the recharge cam portion (122) receives motion from the recharge cam (108) corresponding to a base circle valve lift of the recharge cam (108) or the recharge cam portion (122) disengages from the recharge cam (108) for one or more portions of the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) comprises a latch mechanism (200) comprising a latch bore (240) and one or more latch pins (200). (See Zurf, Paragraph [0285]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Further comprising a lost motion spring (134,136). (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the one or more latch pins (200) are hydraulically or electrically actuated to selectively decouple the drive cam portion (120) from rotating with the valve portion (A) about a rocker shaft (118). (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0181]-[0184]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the recharge cam portion (122) is rigidly coupled to the valve portion (A) to rotate as an integral unit about a rocker shaft (118). (See Zurf, Figures 15-16).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner below)
Zurf discloses:
A method of operating a valvetrain comprising, when a cylinder deactivation mode of the valvetrain is enabled,
absorbing, by a switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) of a rocker arm assembly of the valvetrain, motion received from a drive cam (106) by a drive cam portion (120) of the rocker arm assembly to deactivate a cylinder associated with the valvetrain, the drive cam (106) associated with a drive cam lift profile (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]); and
transferring, by a recharge cam portion (122) of the rocker arm assembly to a valve portion (A) of the rocker arm assembly, motion received from a recharge cam (106) by the recharge cam portion (122) to open one or more valves associated with the cylinder, the recharge cam associated with a low valve lift profile (Zurf, Paragraphs [0182], [0010], &[0152]),
wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism is configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam or transfer motion from the drive cam to the valve portion (A).
Zurf discloses the claimed invention except:
The recharge cam profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
further comprising, when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, transferring, by the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200), motion from the drive cam (106) to the valve portion (A) of the rocker arm assembly. (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0130] & [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
further wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge valve lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive valve lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182] & See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
further comprising, when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, receiving, by the recharge cam portion, motion from the recharge cam corresponding to a base circle valve lift of the recharge cam; or disengaging the recharge cam portion from the recharge cam for one or more portions of the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner below)
Zurf discloses:
A valvetrain system comprising:
a cylinder configured to be selectively deactivated (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]);
one or more valves (112) associated with the cylinder (See Zurf, Paragraph [0127]);
a drive cam (106) and a recharge cam (108) associated with the one or more valves (112);
a rocker shaft (118);
a rocker arm assembly (120,122) configured to be rotatable about the rocker shaft (118), the rocker arm assembly comprising:
a valve portion (A) configured to operatively engage with the one or more valves (112);
a drive cam portion (120) configured to operatively engage with a drive cam (106) associated with a drive cam lift profile, the drive cam portion (120) comprising a switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam (106) or transfer motion from the drive cam (106) to the valve portion (A) (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]); and
a recharge cam portion (122) configured to be rotatably coupled to the valve portion (A);
wherein when an cylinder deactivation mode is enabled,
the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) is configured to absorb motion from the drive cam (120) to deactivate the cylinder (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]), and
the recharge cam portion (122) is configured to operatively engage with a recharge cam (108) associated with a low valve lift profile and transfer motion from the recharge cam (108) to the valve portion (A). (See Zurf, Paragraphs [0182], [0010]. & [0152]).
Zurf discloses the claimed invention except:
The recharge cam profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
-
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge valve lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive valve lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182] & See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the switchable lost motion mechanism transfers motion from the drive cam to the valve portion. (See Zurf, Paragraph [0182]).
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the recharge cam portion receives motion from the recharge cam corresponding to a base circle valve lift of the recharge cam or the recharge cam portion disengages from the recharge cam for one or more portions of the engine cycle. See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device of Zurf may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles (See Zurf, Paragraph [0010]) and that the recharge cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Zurface, Figures 1-9 and 11-28 & Figure 10 as annotated by Examiner above)
The Zurf-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism (134,136,200) comprises a latch mechanism (200) comprising a latch bore (240) and one or more latch pins (200), the valvetrain system further comprising a lost motion spring (134,136). (See Zurf, Paragraph [0285]).
Claim(s) 1-9 and 11-20 nois/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (JP 2001329817) in view of McCarthy Jr et al. (US 2020/0018197).
In Reference to Claim 1
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
Hirano et al. (Hira) discloses:
A rocker arm assembly of a valvetrain operable in a cylinder deactivation mode (See Hira, Abstract and Paragraph [0001]), the rocker arm assembly comprising:
a valve portion (13,15) configured to operatively engage with one or more valves (6) of a cylinder (See Hira, Paragraph [0014]);
a drive cam portion (2) configured to operatively engage with a drive cam (9) associated with a drive cam lift profile (See Hira, Paragraph [0013]), the drive cam portion (2) comprising a switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam (9) or transfer motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15) (See Hira, Paragraphs [0017] & [0020]); and
a recharge cam portion (1) configured to be rotatably coupled to the valve portion (13,15);
wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is enabled,
the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) is configured to absorb motion from the drive cam (9) (See Hira, Paragraphs [0017]-[0020), and
the recharge cam portion (1) is configured to operatively engage with a recharge cam (8) associated with a low speed lift profile and transfer motion from the recharge cam (8) to the valve portion (13,15). (See Hira, Paragraphs [0014]).
Hira discloses the claimed invention except:
The low speed lift profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder and the high speed lift profile is a drive profile.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder, a drive cam profile, and switching between the two for deactivation of a cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 2
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein a transfer of motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15) causes one or more of the valves to move. (See Hira, Paragraph [0014]).
In Reference to Claim 3
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein a transfer of motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15) causes one or more of the valves to move according to the drive lift profile associated with the drive cam (9). (See Hira, Paragraph [0014] & See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 4
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 5
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) transfers motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15). (See Hira, Paragraph [0022]).
In Reference to Claim 6
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the recharge cam portion (1) receives motion from the recharge cam (8) corresponding to a base circle valve lift of the recharge cam (8) or the recharge cam portion (1) disengages from the recharge cam (8) for one or more portions of the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 7
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) comprises a latch mechanism (34) comprising a latch bore (32) and one or more latch pins (34). (See Hira, Paragraph [0022]).
In Reference to Claim 8
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Further comprising a lost motion spring (27). (See Hira, Paragraph [0017]).
In Reference to Claim 9
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the one or more latch pins (34) are hydraulically or electrically actuated to selectively decouple the drive cam portion (2) from rotating with the valve portion (13,15) about a rocker shaft (5). (See Hira, Paragraphs [0017]-[0019]).
In Reference to Claim 11
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the recharge cam portion (1) is rigidly coupled to the valve portion (13,15) to rotate as an integral unit about a rocker shaft (5). (See Hira, Figure 1).
In Reference to Claim 12
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
Hira discloses:
A method of operating a valvetrain comprising, when a cylinder deactivation mode of the valvetrain is enabled,
absorbing, by a switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) of a rocker arm assembly of the valvetrain, motion received from a drive cam (9) by a drive cam portion (2) of the rocker arm assembly to deactivate a cylinder associated with the valvetrain, the drive cam (9) associated with a drive cam lift profile (See Hira, Paragraphs [0013], [0017] & [0020]); and
transferring, by a recharge cam portion (1) of the rocker arm assembly to a valve portion (13,15) of the rocker arm assembly, motion received from a recharge cam (8) by the recharge cam portion (1) to open one or more valves associated with the cylinder, the recharge cam associated with a low speed lift profile (See Hira, Paragraphs [0014]),
wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) is configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam (9) or transfer motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15). (See Hira, Paragraph [0010])
Hira discloses the claimed invention except:
The low speed lift profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder and the high speed lift profile is a drive profile.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder, a drive cam profile, and switching between the two for deactivation of a cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 13
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
further comprising, when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, transferring, by the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27), motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15) of the rocker arm assembly. (See Hira, Paragraph [0014]).
In Reference to Claim 14
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 15
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Further comprising, when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, receiving, by the recharge cam portion (1) motion from the recharge cam (8) corresponding to a base circle valve lift or disengaging the recharge cam the recharge cam portion (1) from the recharge cam (8) for one or more portions of the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 16
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
Hira discloses:
A valvetrain system comprising:
a cylinder configured to be selectively deactivated from a cam profile (See Hira, Paragraph [0010]);
one or more valves (6) associated with the cylinder (See Hira, Paragraph [0013]);
a drive cam (9) and a recharge cam (8) associated with the one or more valves (6);
a rocker shaft (5);
a rocker arm assembly (1,2) configured to be rotatable about the rocker shaft (5), the rocker arm assembly comprising:
a valve portion (13,15) configured to operatively engage with the one or more valves (6);
a drive cam portion (2) configured to operatively engage with a drive cam (9) associated with a drive cam lift profile, the drive cam portion (2) comprising a switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) configured to selectively absorb motion from the drive cam (9) or transfer motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15) (See Hira, Paragraphs [0010], [0017 & [0020]); and
a recharge cam portion (1) configured to be rotatably coupled to the valve portion (13,15);
wherein when an cylinder deactivation mode is enabled,
the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) is configured to absorb motion from the drive cam (9) to deactivate the cylinder (See Hira, Paragraphs [0017] & [0020]), and
the recharge cam portion (1) is configured to operatively engage with a recharge cam (8) associated with a low speed lift profile and transfer motion from the recharge cam (8) to the valve portion (13,15). (See Hira, Paragraphs [0014]).
Hira discloses the claimed invention except:
The low speed lift profile is a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder and the high speed lift profile is a drive profile.
McCarthy Jr et al. (McCarthy) discloses a cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. (See McCarthy, Abstract & Paragraphs [0024] & [0028]-[0030]). McCarthy discloses a recharge cam with a recharge cam profile which transfers motion to the valve portion to permit balancing pressure within the deactivated cylinder, a drive cam profile, and switching between the two for deactivation of a cylinder. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 17
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the drive valve lift profile comprises a plurality of drive valve lift displacements over an engine cycle and the recharge lift profile comprises a plurality of recharge valve lift displacements over the engine cycle such that each drive lift displacement is greater than or equal to each corresponding recharge valve lift displacement over the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
In Reference to Claim 18
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) transfers motion from the drive cam (9) to the valve portion (13,15). (See Hira, Paragraph [0022]).
In Reference to Claim 19
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein when the cylinder deactivation mode is disabled, the recharge cam portion (1) receives motion from the recharge cam (8) corresponding to a base circle valve lift of the recharge cam (8) or the recharge cam portion (1) disengages from the recharge cam (8) for one or more portions of the engine cycle. (See McCarthy, Figures 9A-9D, Paragraphs [0050]-[0060]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the control and cylinder deactivation recharge cam profile as the low lift profile as both references are directed towards cylinder deactivation system with latching dual cam profile switchable lost motion control. One of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the switchable lost motion device may be used for cylinder deactivation profiles to decrease fuel consumption of the engine and that the recharge cam profile and drive cam profile and control of McCarthy would have prevented oil contamination from a vacuum condition caused during cylinder deactivation events increasing the lifespan of the engine while maintaining the reduced fuel consumption. (See McCarthy, Paragraphs [0002]-[0003], [0024], & [0050]).
The Examiner notes that at least portions of the recharge cam are a base circle corresponding to non-opening phases.
In Reference to Claim 20
(See Hirano, Figures 1-15)
The Hira-McCarthy combination discloses:
Wherein the switchable lost motion mechanism (34,27) comprises a latch mechanism (34) comprising a latch bore (32) and one or more latch pins (34), the valvetrain system further comprising a lost motion spring (27). (See Hira, Paragraph [0022]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest “wherein the drive cam portion comprises a drive roller configured to receive the drive valve lift profile and the recharge cam portion comprises a recharge roller configured to receive the recharge valve lift profile, wherein the latch bore of the latch mechanism is at least partially disposed in the drive roller.”.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Pham, Persson, Baltrucki, Schnell, and Cisar show variable valve control devices in the general state of the art of invention.
/MATTHEW T LARGI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746