DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding Claim 5, in line 2 “hydrogen a further engine fluid” should be “hydrogen and a further engine fluid”.
Regarding Claim 14, in Line 3 the use of the abbreviation “K” should be “Kelvin (K)” for the first claim where it is used in a line of dependency. After the establishment of the abbreviation it can be used on its own.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “the second heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between hydrogen a further engine fluid comprising one or more of engine lubricant and hydraulic fluid” contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. In this case the specification describes the third heat exchanger being configured to exchange heat between hydrogen and a further engine fluid and not the second heat exchanger. Thus the specification does not support the second heat exchanger exchanging heat between hydrogen and engine lubricant or hydraulic AND the heat exchange fluid as required by the claims.
Claim 13 depends from Claim 5 and is rejected accordingly.
Claims 3, 5 and 13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “an auxiliary combustor configured to combust hydrogen fuel with engine compressor bleed air prior to provision of the compressor bleed air to the first heat exchanger” renders the claim indefinite specifically in light of the specification. It is unclear how a combustor which performs combustion of the hydrogen and air provides air to the first heat exchanger since the chemical process of combustion occurs and the result would be exhaust gas. Further the specification states that the auxiliary combustor provides exhaust air to the first heat exchanger but it is unclear if the air that is claimed is the same air from the compressor or a different air since the terms “air” and “exhaust air” would be known in the art to have different chemical compositions. For the purposes of this examination the limitation will be interpreted as “the fuel system comprises an auxiliary combustor configured to combust hydrogen fuel with engine compressor bleed air to heat the hydrogen fuel”.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “the second heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between hydrogen a further engine fluid comprising one or more of engine lubricant and hydraulic fluid” renders the claim indefinite specifically in light of the specification. It is unclear how the second heat exchanger exchanges heat between hydrogen and engine lubricant or hydraulic AND the heat exchange fluid. For the purposes of this examination the limitation will be interpreted as “the second heat exchanger is capable to exchange heat to the hydrogen from an engine lubricant”.
Claim 13 depends from Claim 5 and is rejected accordingly.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitation “the controller is configured to control engine lubricant temperature to a target temperature of between 230 and 340 Kelvin” renders the claim indefinite specifically due to the dependence on Claim 5 and lack of description in the specification. It is unclear how the controller controls the engine lubricant to a target temperature when it is unclear how the second heat exchanger exchanges heat between hydrogen and engine lubricant or hydraulic AND the heat exchange fluid. For the purposes of this examination the limitation will be interpreted as “the controller is capable to control engine lubricant temperature when the engine lubricant is used to provide heat”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2and 5-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Devasigamani (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2023/0166847), hereinafter Devasigamani.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Devasigamani discloses a fuel system (Figure 1) for a hydrogen fueled gas turbine engine (Paragraphs 0014 and 0049 – the engine, 14, is a gas turbine engine), the fuel system comprising:
a main hydrogen fuel line, 11 and 12, configured to provide hydrogen fuel to a combustor, 142, of the gas turbine engine;
a closed loop heat exchange fluid line, 17, comprising a heat exchange fluid (Paragraph 0052 – the closed loop contains a heat exchange fluid);
a first heat exchanger, 102, configured to exchange heat between air and heat exchange fluid in the heat exchange fluid line (Paragraph 0057 – the first heat exchanger exchanges heat between the thermal fluid and compressed air);
a second heat exchanger, 101, downstream of the first heat exchanger in heat exchange fluid flow configured to exchange heat between the heated heat exchange fluid and hydrogen in the main hydrogen fuel line (Paragraph 0056 – the second heat exchanger is downstream of the first exchanger in the closed loop, 17, and exchanges heat between the fluid and hydrogen fuel); and
a third heat exchanger, 103, downstream in main hydrogen fuel flow of the second heat exchanger (the third heat exchanger is downstream of the second heat exchanger in the main fuel flow in the line, 11) configured to exchange heat between a further engine fluid and heated hydrogen fuel (Paragraph 0058 – the third heat exchanger provides a heat exchange from other fluids in the turbine engine and the heated hydrogen fuel).
Regarding Claim 2, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the first heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between heat exchange fluid and one or more source of engine core air (Paragraphs 0022, 0057 and 78 – the first heat exchanger exchanges heat from compressed air from the compressor of the engine which is located in the core of the engine).
Regarding Claim 5, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the second heat exchanger is capable to exchange heat to the hydrogen from an engine lubricant (Paragraph 0057 – the working fluid used in the first heat exchanger is an engine oil/lubricant, where the heat is then provided to the hydrogen via the second heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 6, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the fuel system comprises a second heat exchanger hydrogen bypass line, 111, configured to selectively bypass hydrogen around the second heat exchanger (Paragraph 0050 – the bypass line bypasses the second heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 7, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the fuel system comprises a heat exchange fluid pump, 107, configured to drive flow around the closed loop heat exchange fluid line (Paragraph 0052 – the pump circulates the flow in the heat exchanger fluid line).
Regarding Claim 8, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the heat exchange fluid pump is provided downstream of the second heat exchanger and upstream of the first heat exchanger in heat exchange fluid flow (the pump, 107, receives flow from the second heat exchanger, 101, and provides it to the first heat exchanger, 102, therefore the pump is downstream of the second heat exchanger and upstream of the first heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 9, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the heat exchange fluid line is configured to contain a heat exchange fluid comprising an inert gas (Paragraph 0060 – the heat exchange fluid line uses nitrogen or helium as the heat exchange fluid, both of which are inert).
Regarding Claim 10, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the fuel system comprises a controller, 121, configured to control hydrogen fuel temperature and further engine fluid temperature (Paragraphs 0061 – 0065 – the controller controls the system to control the temperature of the hydrogen fuel and the further engine fluid in the third heat exchanger).
Regarding Claim 11, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the controller is configured to control hydrogen fuel temperature by controlling second heat exchanger bypass flow rate (Paragraph 0063 – the controller controls the temperature of the hydrogen fuel by controlling the bypass flow rate).
Regarding Claim 12, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the controller is configured to control further engine fluid temperature by controlling hydrogen fuel temperature at an outlet of the second heat exchanger (Paragraphs 0059 and 0061-0065 – the controller controls the temperature of the hydrogen fuel downstream of the second heat exchanger in order to ensure the further engine fluid is at the correct temperature).
Regarding Claim 13, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the controller is capable to control engine lubricant temperature when the engine lubricant is used to provide heat (Paragraph 0057 – the controller controls the system to control the temperature of the oil/engine lubricant).
Regarding Claim 14, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the controller is configured to control hydrogen fuel combustor delivery temperature to a temperature between 60 and 800 K (Paragraphs 0061 and 0063 – it is noted that the range of 60 Kelvin - 800 Kelvin is -213.15 Celsius – 526.85 Celsius – the controller controls the hydrogen fuel system such that the hydrogen fuel is provided to the combustor at 0 Celsius which would be in the claimed range).
Regarding Claim 15, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses a gas turbine engine, 14, and a fuel system according to claim 1 (See rejection for Claim 1 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devasigamani.
Regarding Claim 16, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani further discloses the controller is configured to control engine lubricant temperature (Paragraphs 0057, 0063, 0077 and 0080 – the controller controls the system to cool oil to a temperature).
Devasigamani does not explicitly disclose a target temperature of between 230 and 340 Kelvin.
However, Devasigamani teaches the temperature of engine lubricant effects the ability of the lubricant to flow and provide lubrication to the engine (Paragraph 0005 and 0080).
Therefore the target temperature of the engine lubricant is recognized as a result effective variable which achieves a recognized result. In this case the recognized result is the ability to provide lubrication to the engine and the ability to flow.
Therefore since the general conditions of the claim, i.e. that the controller is configured to control the temperature of engine lubricant, were disclosed in the prior art by Devasigamani, it is not inventive to discover the optimum target temperature by routine experimentation (In re Antonie, 559 F.2d 618,195 USPQ 6 (CCPA 1977)), and it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Devasigamani such that the controller is configured to control the temperature of engine lubricant to a target temperature between 230 and 340 Kelvin in order allow sufficient flow of the lubricant and lubrication of the engine.
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Devasigamani in view of Grech (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2024/0133340), hereinafter Grech.
Regarding Claim 3, Devasigamani discloses the invention as claimed and discussed above. Devasigamani does not disclose the fuel system comprises an auxiliary combustor configured to combust hydrogen fuel with engine compressor bleed air to heat the hydrogen fuel.
However, Grech teaches a fuel system that uses hydrogen fuel (Figure 2) with an auxiliary combustor, 222, configured to combust hydrogen fuel with engine compressor bleed air to heat the hydrogen fuel (Paragraph 0041-0044 – the combustion of hydrogen and compressor bleed air is used to heat the hydrogen fuel).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Devasigamani by making the fuel system comprise an auxiliary combustor configured to combust hydrogen fuel with engine compressor bleed air to heat the hydrogen fuel, as taught by Grech, in order to ensure the hydrogen fuel reaches the required engine temperature (Grech – Paragraph 0039).
Claim(s) 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamath (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2015/0344144), hereinafter Kamath, in view of Devasigamani.
Regarding Independent Claim 1, Kamath discloses a fuel system (Figures 2 and 4) for a cryogenic fueled gas turbine engine (the engine is a gas turbine engine that used cryogenic fuel), the fuel system comprising:
a main cryogenic fuel line, 12 and 13, configured to provide cryogenic fuel to a combustor, 142, of the gas turbine engine;
a closed loop heat exchange fluid line (Figure 7C, Element 66) comprising a heat exchange fluid (Paragraph 0083 – the closed loop contains an intermediary heating fluid);
a first heat exchanger (the heat exchanger that uses the fan bypass flow, 107, is the first heat exchanger) configured to exchange heat between air and heat exchange fluid in the heat exchange fluid line (Paragraph 0083 – the first heat exchanger exchanges heat between the thermal fluid and fan bypass air);
a second heat exchanger (Figure 7C – the heat exchanger that includes the flow, 112, and 13, is the second heat exchanger) downstream of the first heat exchanger in heat exchange fluid flow configured to exchange heat between the heated heat exchange fluid and cryogenic fuel in the main cryogenic fuel line (Figure 7C– the second heat exchanger is downstream of the first exchanger in the closed loop and exchanges heat between the fluid and cryogenic fuel); and
Kamath does not disclose the cryogenic fuel is hydrogen; a third heat exchanger downstream in main hydrogen fuel flow of the second heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between a further engine fluid and heated hydrogen fuel.
Devasigamani discloses a fuel system (Figure 1) for a hydrogen fueled gas turbine engine (Paragraphs 0014 and 0049 – the engine, 14, is a gas turbine engine).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Kamath to use hydrogen as the cryogenic fuel, as taught by Devasigamani, because it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element (cryogenic fuel of Kamath), for another (hydrogen fuel of Devasigamani), to obtain predictable results providing a cryogenic fuel for use in a gas turbine engine (Devasigamani – Paragraph 0003) was an obvious extension of prior art teachings. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421; MPEP 2141 III B.
Devasigamani further discloses the fuel system comprising:
a main hydrogen fuel line, 11 and 12, configured to provide hydrogen fuel to a combustor, 142, of the gas turbine engine;
a closed loop heat exchange fluid line, 17, comprising a heat exchange fluid (Paragraph 0052 – the closed loop contains a heat exchange fluid);
a heat exchanger, 101, configured to exchange heat between the heated heat exchange fluid and hydrogen in the main hydrogen fuel line (Paragraph 0056 – the second heat exchanger is downstream of the first exchanger in the closed loop, 17, and exchanges heat between the fluid and hydrogen fuel);
another heat exchanger, 103, downstream in main hydrogen fuel flow of the heat exchanger (the third heat exchanger is downstream of the second heat exchanger in the main fuel flow in the line, 11) configured to exchange heat between a further engine fluid and heated hydrogen fuel (Paragraph 0058 – the third heat exchanger provides a heat exchange from other fluids in the turbine engine and the heated hydrogen fuel).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the invention of Kamath in view of Devasigamani to include a third heat exchanger downstream in main hydrogen fuel flow of the second heat exchanger configured to exchange heat between a further engine fluid and heated hydrogen fuel, as taught by Devasigamani, in order to reheat the hydrogen to a temperature sufficient for use as fuel in an engine (Devasigamani – Paragraph 0011).
Regarding Claim 4, Kamath in view of Devasigamani disclose the invention as claimed and discussed above.
Kamath further discloses the first heat exchanger is configured to exchange heat between heat exchange fluid and fan bypass air (Paragraph 0083 – the first heat exchanger exchanges heat between the fluid and fan bypass air).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niergarth (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2019/0153952) shows a fuel system for a turbine engine that exchanges heat between a fan bypass and a thermal fluid and then between the thermal fluid and fuel.
Evans (U.S. Pre-grant Publication 2024/0360791) shows a fuel system for a turbine engine with a closed thermal exchange loop.
/KYLE ROBERT THOMAS/Examiner, Art Unit 3741