DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 25 June 2026. Claims 1 and 24-25 are amended. No claim has been added or cancelled. Claims 1-25 are pending in the application and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that [“Therefore, YAN and BOLTON, either alone or in combination, fail to teach "displaying one or more processing preview diagrams according to the processing factor information, ... wherein a processing preview diagram is used to preview an effect of a material after processing under a corresponding processing parameter; and determining a processing parameter corresponding to a selection instruction for the one or more processing preview diagrams to be a target processing parameter in response to the selection instruction" (distinguishing element) of amended claim 1” (Page 19 )].
The argument described above has been considered, and are persuasive. Therefore, rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further search and consideration, a new ground of rejection is made, citing the new reference WU et al. (CN110421264A) (see new claim 1 rejection below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 19-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YAN et al. (CN117206715B) in view of BOLTON et al. (US20210398269A1) and further in view of WU et al. (CN110421264A).
As to claim 1, YAN teaches a method for determining a processing parameter (see Abstract, wherein determining the target process parameters of the laser processing equipment; as taught by YAN),
comprising: configuring processing factor information of a workpiece to be processed (see page 3, ll. 10-12, wherein acquiring an actual parameter amount of the target component in the target workpiece; adjusting the target process parameter based on the actual parameter amount; see also page 20, ll. 10-20; as taught by YAN);
wherein the target processing parameter is used for controlling a processing device to process the workpiece to be processed (see page 3, ll. 14-15, wherein based on the adjusted target process parameters, the laser processing equipment is controlled to perform laser processing on the target workpiece; see also page 19, ll. 1-20; as taught by YAN).
YAN does not expressly teach displaying one or more processing preview diagrams according to the processing factor information, wherein there is a mapping relationship between the one or more processing preview diagrams and processing parameters; wherein a processing preview diagram is used to preview an effect of a material after processing under a corresponding processing parameter; and determining a processing parameter corresponding to a selection instruction for the one or more processing preview diagrams to be a target processing parameter in response to the selection instruction.
In similar field of endeavor, BOLTON teaches displaying one or more processing preview diagrams according to the processing factor information (see fig. 5, par. 0266, wherein Once the one or more NIR images of the illuminated first surface of the wood product such as veneer are processed to generate NIR greyscale images indicating different irregularities in the illuminated first surface of the wood product such as veneer at operation 512, process flow proceeds to operation 514; as taught by BOLTON),
wherein there is a mapping relationship between the one or more processing preview diagrams and processing parameters (see figs. 2A-5, par. 0267, wherein at operation 514, the NIR greyscale images are processed using the surface irregularity level to greyscale mapping database to identify irregularity levels for the first surface of the wood product such as veneer by any of the methods and systems discussed above with respect to FIGS. 4A and 4B, FIGS. 2A through 2F, and corresponding FIGS. 4C through 4H; as taught by BOLTON);
and determining a processing parameter for the one or more processing preview diagrams to be a target processing parameter in response to the selection instruction (see fig. 4A, par. 0253, wherein the one or more actions that can be taken represented in available actions data 492 can also include … adjusting one or more processing parameters of a production line based, at least in part, on the grade represented by grade assignment data 482 and assigned to the veneer 430 and one or more similarly graded similar full veneer sheet, veneer strip, and/or partial veneer sheets; adjusting one or more preconditioning parameters on a production line based, at least in part, on the grade represented by grade assignment data 482 and assigned to the veneer 430 and/or one or more similarly graded full veneer sheet, veneer strip, and/or partial veneer sheets; adjusting one or more veneer cutting parameters on a production line based, at least in part, on the grade represented by grade assignment data 482 and assigned to the veneer 430 and/or one or more similarly graded full veneer sheet, veneer strip, and/or partial veneer sheets; and selecting a type and amount of glue used on a production line in production floor environment 401 based, at least in part, on the grade represented by grade assignment data 482 and assigned to the veneer 430 and/or the grades assigned other full veneer sheet, veneer strip, and/or partial veneer sheets; see also fig. 8, par. 0329, wherein returning the FIG. 8, computing system 452 also includes NIR greyscale image to preconditioning mapping database. In one embodiment, NIR greyscale image to preconditioning mapping database 810 include preconditioning mapping data 812 that maps NIR greyscale images to particular preconditioning parameters and issues based on known data obtained from known condition greyscale images, such as images 4C, 4D, and 4E; see also par. 0295, as taught by BOLTON).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the YAN apparatus to include the teachings of BOLTON for displaying one or more processing preview diagrams according to the processing factor information, wherein there is a mapping relationship between the one or more processing preview diagrams and processing parameters; and determining a processing parameter corresponding to a selection instruction for the one or more processing preview diagrams to be a target processing parameter in response to the selection instruction. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as what is needed is a method and system for producing layered wood products that addresses the shortcoming of prior art methods and systems for producing layered wood products discussed above and thereby provides a solution to the long standing problem of providing a method and system for producing layered wood products that is more consistent, more effective, less expensive to operate and more efficient (BOLTON, pars. 0115-0117).
YAN and BOLTON do not expressly teach wherein a processing preview diagram is used to preview an effect of a material after processing under a corresponding processing parameter; corresponding to a selection instruction.
In similar field of endeavor, BOLTON teaches wherein a processing preview diagram is used to preview an effect of a material after processing under a corresponding processing parameter; corresponding to a selection instruction (see page 9, ll. 20-29, wherein In order to enrich the processing visualization and convenience, the upper computer provides a processing effect preview window and one-click G code generation function. In the processing effect preview window, the operator can generate a processing effect schematic diagram through the upper computer, and preview the final processing effect before processing starts. ;In the function of generating G code with one key, the upper computer will automatically generate G code for the operator according to the process parameters configured by the operator, and integrate the algorithm of linear interpolation and circular interpolation, which is used for the path planning of the motion platform during processing. In order to avoid the tedious operation of writing G code, it also reduces the difficulty of entry for operators; as taught by WU).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the YAN and BOLTON apparatus to include the teachings of WU wherein a processing preview diagram is used to preview an effect of a material after processing under a corresponding processing parameter; corresponding to a selection instruction. Such a person would have been motivated to make this combination as the present invention can improve the process complexity, work efficiency and technical content of the laser micro-texture processing industry, and has wide application prospects in the fields of automatic control, laser micro-texture processing, machine tool processing and the like (WU, page 2, ln. 9 - page 6, ln. 34).
As to claim 19, YAN, BOLTON and WU teach the limitations of claim 1. YAN further teaches wherein the processing factor information comprises a material type, and determining the material type of the workpiece to be processed (see page 5, ll. 9-25, wherein a second determination module is used to determine the material type of the target workpiece to be processed by the laser processing equipment and the target component in the material of the material type; see also page 12, ll. 14-30; as taught by YAN).
BOLTON further teaches and configuring the processing factor information of the workpiece to be processed comprises: obtaining an image of the workpiece to be processed; and identifying at least a portion of the image of the workpiece to be processed (see figs. 2A-9, par. 0229, wherein in some embodiments, two or more NIR cameras are utilized, such as NIR camera 424, that are operated at different NIR frequencies and/or that are positioned a different angles with respect to veneer first surface 432. This allows different types and levels of irregularities to be detected. In addition, using two or more NIR cameras, such as NIR camera 424, that are positioned at different angles means that different irregularities will have surfaces perpendicular to the camera lens and therefore will yield a 3-D effect when a composite NIR image is constructed; as taught by BOLTON).
As to claim 20, YAN, BOLTON and WU teach the limitations of claim 19. BOLTON further teaches 20. The method for determining the processing parameter of claim 19, wherein identifying the at least a portion of the image of the workpiece to be processed and determining the material type of the workpiece to be processed comprises: identifying label information on the workpiece to be processed, and determining the material type of the workpiece to be processed; or determining material feature information based on the image of the workpiece to be processed (see figs. 2A-9, par. 0229, wherein in some embodiments, two or more NIR cameras are utilized, such as NIR camera 424, that are operated at different NIR frequencies and/or that are positioned a different angles with respect to veneer first surface 432. This allows different types and levels of irregularities to be detected. In addition, using two or more NIR cameras, such as NIR camera 424, that are positioned at different angles means that different irregularities will have surfaces perpendicular to the camera lens and therefore will yield a 3-D effect when a composite NIR image is constructed; as taught by BOLTON), based on a matching degree between the material feature information and preset feature information (see figs. 2A-9, par. 0135, wherein a surface irregularity level to greyscale mapping database is generated, that maps surface irregularities to Near InfraRed (NIR) image greyscale values for veneer. In this embodiment, an NIR greyscale image to preconditioning level database is also generated mapping NIR greyscale images of a surface of veneer to a preconditioning level of wood source used to produce the veneer; see also par. 0224; as taught by BOLTON).
YAN further teaches and determining the material type of the workpiece to be processed (see page 13, ll. 12-19, wherein in some embodiments of the present application, the actual parameter amount of the target component in the target workpiece can be obtained by actually measuring the target workpiece. Taking the target component as carbon and the actual parameter amount as the carbon content as an example, obtaining the actual parameter amount of the target component in the target workpiece can include: using a preset carbon content detection method to perform a carbon content detection on the target workpiece, thereby obtaining the carbon content in the target workpiece. Carbon content detection methods such as emission spectroscopy, wavelength dispersive X-ray method, etc. are not limited here; as taught by YAN).
As to claim 21, YAN, BOLTON and WU teach the limitations of claim 20. YAN further teaches 21. The method for determining the processing parameter of claim 20, wherein determining the material feature information based on the image of the workpiece to be processed comprises: determining first feature information of the workpiece to be processed based on the image of the workpiece to be processed, wherein the first feature information comprises a texture feature, a color feature, and a shape feature; or determining second feature information of the workpiece to be processed based on the image of the workpiece to be processed, wherein the second feature information comprises a spectral feature and/or a speckle feature (see page 13, ll. 12-19, wherein in some embodiments of the present application, the actual parameter amount of the target component in the target workpiece can be obtained by actually measuring the target workpiece. Taking the target component as carbon and the actual parameter amount as the carbon content as an example, obtaining the actual parameter amount of the target component in the target workpiece can include: using a preset carbon content detection method to perform a carbon content detection on the target workpiece, thereby obtaining the carbon content in the target workpiece. Carbon content detection methods such as emission spectroscopy, wavelength dispersive X-ray method, etc. are not limited here; as taught by YAN).
As to claim 22, YAN, BOLTON and WU teach the limitations of claim 1. YAN further teaches wherein after determining the processing parameter corresponding to the selection instruction for the one or more processing preview diagrams to be the target processing parameter, the method further comprises: generating a corresponding processing execution instruction in response to a parameter application instruction, wherein the processing execution instruction comprises an execution instruction and a motion plan; and sending the processing execution instruction to the processing device, to enable the processing device to process, based on the execution instruction, the workpiece to be processed according to the motion plan (see page 27, ln. 26 to page 28, ln. 8, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a plurality of instructions, which can be loaded by a processor to execute the steps in any of the control methods of the laser processing equipment provided in the embodiment of the present application. For example, the instruction can execute the following steps: Among multiple preset working gears of the laser processing equipment, obtain the currently selected target working gear; based on the target working gear, determine the target process parameters of the laser processing equipment; determine the material type of the target workpiece to be processed by the laser processing equipment, and the target component in the material of the material type; obtain the actual parameter quantity of the target component in the target workpiece; based on the actual parameter quantity, adjust the target process parameters; based on the adjusted target process parameters, control the laser processing equipment to perform laser processing on the target workpiece; as taught by YAN).
Claim 23 amounts to the device for executing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 23 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 24 amounts to the system for executing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 24 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Claim 25 amounts to the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program for executing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, claim 25 is rejected for substantially the same reasons as presented above for claim 1 and based on the references’ disclosure of the necessary supporting hardware and software.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claims 2-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Publication Number
Filing Date
Title
US20190379838A1
2019-08-23
Preview-image display method and terminal device
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KOOROSH NEHCHIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174