DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “another stencil printing process” and “another stencil mask” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the solder bumps" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Inoue et al. (US2002/0166886A1) (hereafter Inoue).
With respect to claim 1, Inoue teaches a stencil mask for printing a fluid material onto a substrate (the underlined portions are merely intended use), wherein the stencil mask comprises: a stencil member (2) comprising: at least one printing region each having an array of apertures (6) that allow the fluid material to flow therethrough and deposit onto the substrate (1); and a blocking (the solid region between apertures 6) region configured to prevent the fluid material from flowing therethrough; and a supporting member attached (8a/8b/8c) to the stencil member and configured to, when the stencil mask is placed on the substrate, contact the substrate and create a gap between the stencil member and the substrate (figures 8-14 and 18; and paragraphs 28-32). Since the stencil of Inoue possesses all of the claimed structural elements, it is the examiner’s position that the stencil of Inoue is intrinsically capable of being used with a fluid.
With respect to claim 2, Inoue teaches wherein the at least one printing region (broadest reasonable interpretation) is at a peripheral position of the stencil member (figures 10-13); and/or wherein the blocking region is at a central position (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the stencil member (figures 10-13); and/or wherein the supporting member comprises a plurality of support bars or support pins (figures 10-13; and paragraphs 28 and 31).
With respect to claim 3, the stencil of Inoue possesses all of the claimed structural elements (figures 10-13; and paragraphs 28 and 31). When the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct and not the examiner to show the same process as making. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). When the reference teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Becker et al. (US2011/0259218A1) (hereafter Becker).
With respect to claim 1, Becker teaches a stencil mask for printing a fluid material onto a substrate (the underlined portions are merely intended use), wherein the stencil mask comprises: a stencil member (2) comprising: at least one printing region each having an array of apertures (7) that allow the fluid material (102) to flow therethrough and deposit onto the substrate (103) (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 3, 28, and 67-69); and a blocking (the solid region between apertures 7) region configured to prevent the fluid material (102) from flowing therethrough (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 3, 28, and 67-69); and a supporting member attached (5/9) to the stencil member and configured to, when the stencil mask is placed on the substrate, contact the substrate and create a gap between the stencil member and the substrate (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 67-69).
With respect to claim 2, Becker teaches wherein the at least one printing region (broadest reasonable interpretation) is at a peripheral position of the stencil member (figures 1-2); and/or wherein the blocking region is at a central position (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the stencil member (figures 1-2); and/or wherein the supporting member comprises a plurality of support bars or support pins (figures 1-2).
With respect to claim 3, the stencil of Becker possesses all of the claimed structural elements (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 3, 28, and 67-69). When the examiner has found a substantially similar product as in the applied prior art, the burden of proof is shifted to applicant to establish that their product is patentably distinct and not the examiner to show the same process as making. In re Brown, 173 USPQ 685 and In re Fessmann, 180 USPQ 324. When the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). When the reference teaches a product that appears to be the same as, or an obvious variant of, the product set forth in a product-by-process claim although produced by a different process. See In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 799, 218 USPQ 289 (Fed. Cir. 1983) and In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 227 USPQ 964 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See also MPEP § 2113.
With respect to claim 4, Becker teaches a stencil printing method, comprising: providing a substrate (103), wherein the substrate comprises at least one printing area; providing a stencil mask of claim 1; placing the stencil mask (2) on the substrate to create a gap between the stencil member and the substrate with the supporting member (5/9) and align the at least one the printing region with the at least one printing area, respectively (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 3, 28, and 67-69); and depositing a fluid material onto the substrate through the at least one printing region such that the fluid material flows through the at least one array of apertures onto the at least one printing area (figures 1-2; and paragraphs 3, 28, and 67-69).
With respect to claim 5, Becker teaches after depositing a fluid material onto the substrate, the method further comprising: removing the stencil mask from the substrate (paragraphs 28 and 47).
With respect to claim 6, Becker teaches wherein the at least one printing area is at a peripheral position (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the substrate, and the at least one printing region is at a peripheral position (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the stencil member (figures 1-2).
With respect to claim 7, Becker teaches wherein the blocking region is at a central (broadest reasonable interpretation) of the stencil member (figures 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Becker as applied to claims 1 and 4 above, and further in view of Konto et al. (JP-2010205996A) (hereafter Konto).
With respect to claim 8, Becker does not teach wherein the substrate further comprises solder bumps, and the solder bumps are formed using another stencil printing process with another stencil mask.
However, Konto teaches wherein the substrate further comprises solder bumps (12), and the solder bumps are formed (broadest reasonable interpretation) using another stencil (second screen mask 17/23) printing process (broadest reasonable interpretation) with another stencil mask (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures; and machine translation).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to utilize a second stencil as taught by Konto in the process of Becker in order to from a layered solder bumps.
With respect to claim 9, Konto teaches wherein the solder bumps in the printing region are deposited with the fluid material (paste) that flows through the at least one array of apertures (figures; and machine translation).
With respect to claim 10, Konto teaches that the fluid material comprises flux (16a/16b).
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735