DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
a. In regards to the claim objection, Applicant submits claim 1 is amended to have line indentations, and Applicant respectfully requests the objection to claim 1 be withdrawn.
a. (Examiner’s response) Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
b. In regards to the 102 rejection, Applicant submits since Lin and Ding fail to teach each element of claim 1 as arranged in the claim, Applicant respectfully requests the 102 rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn.
b. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under LIN CN 117606461 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under Ding CN 115356867 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YANG CN 112833873. Further explanation is shown in the action below.
c. In regards to the 103 rejection, Applicant submits since Lin, Yu, & Feng fail to teach each element of claim 1 as arranged in the claim, Applicant respectfully requests the 102 rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn.
c. (Examiner’s response) Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 11 under LIN CN 117606461 in view of YU CN 117991449 in further view of FENG CN 118999516 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449. Further explanation is shown in the action below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 8, & 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by YANG CN 112833873.
With respect to claim 1, Yang teaches an interferometric fiber optic gyroscope (IFOG), comprising:
a thin-film lithium niobate (claim 2) (TFLN) substrate (fig 5, 3) including a phase modulator “electrode..phase
modulation” (claim 1) (fig 5, 602),
a fiber waveguide (fig 6, 812) optically coupled with the phase modulator,
an optical coupler (fig 6, 701) (fig 5, 7) disposed on the TFLN substrate (fig 5, 3), the optical coupler arranged to couple light from a light source (fig 6, 901) to the phase modulator and light from the phase modulator to a detector (fig 2, 902), and
a curved optical waveguide (fig 6) disposed on the TFLN substrate, optically coupling the optical coupler to the phase modulator.
With respect to claim 2 according to claim 1, Yang teaches the IFOG wherein the curved optical waveguide includes a substantially 180-degree bended optical waveguide (fig 6).
With respect to claim 3 according to claim 1, Yang teaches the IFOG wherein the curved optical waveguide includes a substantially 90-degree bended optical waveguide (fig 6).
With respect to claim 5 according to claim 1, Yang teaches the IFOG further comprising an optical signal source (fig 6, 901) optically coupled to the optical coupler.
With respect to claim 8 according to claim 1, Yang teaches the IFOG further comprising a photodetector (fig 2, 902) optically coupled to the optical coupler.
With respect to claim 9 according to claim 8, Yang teaches the IFOG wherein the photodetector is optically coupled to the optical coupler (fig 6, 701) via an optical fiber “input optical fibre” (fig 6, 801) (pg. 6, ¶ 9, lines 8-9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view of YAO CN 105091877.
With respect to claim 6 according to claim 5, Yang does not teach the optical signal source comprises a super-luminescent diode (SLD).
Yao, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of FOG gyroscopes, teaches a light source such as super-radiation light emitting diode (SLD) are used to illuminate a FOG gyroscope (pg. 9, ¶ 6, lines 1-2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the Yang’s light source for a super-luminescent diode as a known source for providing predictable results for navigational measurements.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view of KOBRINSKY WO 2013101184.
With respect to claim 7 according to claim 5, Yang does not teach the optical signal source is optically edged coupled to the optical coupler.
Kobrinsky, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of waveguides, teaches edge couplers may be used to couple light from an optical light source to a waveguide (0048, lines 8-10). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an edge coupler with Yang’s waveguide as a known device to couple light from a light source onto a waveguide to yield the predictable results of transporting light though a waveguide for optical measurements.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view of Abrams WO 2024215558.
With respect to claim 10 according to claim 8, Yang does not teach the photodetector is optically edged coupled to the optical coupler.
Abrams, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of FOG gyroscopes (0022, pg. 6, lines 2-3 Abrams), teaches a photodetector may be optically coupled to the gyroscope via edge couplers (fig 9A, 907) (0053, lines 1-2). Examiner submits the edge couplers are optically coupling the coupler (fig 1, 904) to the photodetector since light is traveling through the coupler to the edge coupler and subsequently to the photodetector. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an edge coupler with the Lin’s photodetector as a known methods to yield predictable results of capturing light from a waveguide.
Claim(s) 11-13, 15, 18, & 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449.
With respect to claim 11, Yang teaches an interferometric fiber optic gyroscope (IFOG), comprising:
a thin-film lithium niobate (TFLN) substrate “thin film substrate… lithium niobate” (pg. 7, ¶ 6, lines 1-2) (fig 5,3) including a phase modulator “electrode..phase modulation” (claim 1) (fig 5, 602);
a fiber waveguide (fig 6, 812) optically coupled to the phase modulator; and
a silicon substrate “silicon as the substrate wafer 1” (fig 5, 1) including an optical coupler (fig 6, 701) (fig 5, 7) and a curved optical waveguide (fig 6) optically coupling the optical coupler to the TFLN phase modulator, wherein the TFLN phase modulator (fig 5, 3) is mounted on the silicon substrate.
Yang does not teach a silicon-nitride (SiN) optical coupler and a SiN optical waveguide.
Yu, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of lithium Niobate gyroscopes (abstract, lines 1-3), teaches silicon nitride layer is grown into a substrate to form waveguide and coupler (abstract lines 1-5). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select SiN material for the Lin’s optical coupler and waveguide as a known material for transmitting light for gyroscopic measurements with reduced transmission loss (pg. 2, ¶ 4).
With respect to claim 12 according to claim 11, the combination teaches the IFOG wherein the curved SiN optical waveguide includes a substantially 180-degree bended optical waveguide (fig 6, Yang).
With respect to claim 13 according to claim 11, the combination teaches the IFOG wherein the SiN curved optical waveguide includes a substantially 90-degree bended optical waveguide (fig 6, Yang).
With respect to claim 15 according to claim 11, the combination teaches the IFOG further comprising an optical signal source optically coupled to the optical coupler (fig 6, 901 Yang).
With respect to claim 16 according to claim 11, the combination teaches the IFOG further comprising a photodetector (fig 2, 902 Yang) optically coupled to the optical coupler.
With respect to claim 18 according to claim 11, the combination teaches the IFOG further comprising a photodetector (fig 2, 902 Yang) optically coupled to the optical coupler.
With respect to claim 19 according to claim 18, the combination teaches the IFOG wherein the photodetector is optically coupled to the optical coupler (fig 6, 701 Yang) via an optical fiber “input optical fibre” (fig 6, 801 Yang) (pg. 6, ¶ 9, lines 8-9 Yang).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449 in further view of YAO CN 105091877.
With respect to claim 16 according to claim 15, the combination does not teach the optical signal source comprises a super-luminescent diode (SLD).
Yao, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of FOG gyroscopes, teaches a light source such as super-radiation light emitting diode (SLD) are used to illuminate a FOG gyroscope (pg. 9, ¶ 6, lines 1-2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the combination’s light source for a super-luminescent diode as a known source for providing predictable results for navigational measurements.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449 in further view of KOBRINSKY WO 2013101184.
With respect to claim 17 according to claim 15, the combination does not teach the optical signal source is optically edged coupled to the optical coupler.
Kobrinsky, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of waveguides, teaches edge couplers may be used to couple light from an optical light source to a waveguide (0048, lines 8-10). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an edge coupler with the combination’s waveguide as a known device to couple light from a light source onto a waveguide to yield the predictable results of transporting light though a waveguide for optical measurements.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449 in further view of Abrams WO 2024215558.
With respect to claim 20 according to claim 18, the combination does not teach the photodetector is optically edged coupled to the optical coupler.
Abrams, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of FOG gyroscopes (0022, pg. 6, lines 2-3 Abrams), teaches a photodetector may be optically coupled to the gyroscope via edge couplers (fig 9A, 907) (0053, lines 1-2). Examiner submits the edge couplers are optically coupling the coupler (fig 1, 904) to the photodetector since light is traveling through the coupler to the edge coupler and subsequently to the photodetector. At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine an edge coupler with the combination’s photodetector as a known methods to yield predictable results of capturing light from a waveguide.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG CN 112833873 in view YU CN 117991449 in further view of YAO CN 105091877 in further view of Wang CN 211928339.
With respect to claim 23 according to claim 16, the combination does not teach the SLD is optically coupled to the optical coupler through a fiber block.
Wang, in the same field of endeavor as Yang of waveguides, implicitly teaches an optical fiber block (fig 2, 6) coupling a light source (fig 2, 5) to an optical coupler (fig 2, 2). At the time prior to the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Wang’s fiber block with the combination’s SLD as a functional equivalent for transmitting light through the phase modulator.
Pertinent Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wang CN 211928339.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 22 & 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims or to include the limitation(s) and any intervening claims into the base claim. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 22, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “wherein the fiber waveguide is connected to the TFLN phase modulator through a fiber block”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 22.
As to claim 24, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to disclose or render obvious “SLD is optically coupled to the optical coupler by a SiN waveguide and the SLD is mounted on the silicon substrate”, in combination with the rest of the limitations of claim 24.
The closets prior art of record Wang teaches an optical fiber block (fig 1, 3) connected to a waveguide (fig 1, 3) surrounded by a phase modulator (fig 1, 2), failing to teach a fiber waveguide is connected to the TFLN phase modulator through a fiber block.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAURICE C SMITH/Examiner, Art Unit 2877