DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1 it is unclear how you can have a second positioning mechanism without a first positioning mechanism. For purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
In claim 15 it is unclear what type of characteristics the applicant is referring to. Accordingly, for purposes of examination the broadest reasonable interpretation has been applied.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-15, and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lara et al. (US2001/0017290A1) (hereafter Lara).
With respect to claim 1, Lara teaches a method of positioning material using a material positioner with a welder wherein said method comprises: placing a first material (3’) at a first starting point; placing a second material (3’’) at a second starting point (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 1-6); sending a first signal from a control unit to a second positioning mechanism (feeder used for arrow 4’’) (paragraphs 39 and 44); and welding said first and second materials together (paragraphs 48-49), wherein said material positioner comprises: a first fixture (6’/6’’) having said first material secured to said first fixture (figures 1-6; and paragraphs 38-53).
With respect to claim 2, Lara teaches wherein said first fixture comprises a first fixture upper member (6’).
With respect to claim 3, Lara teaches wherein said first fixture includes a first fixture lower member (6’’) with a first horizontal groove configured to cradle said first material (figures 2-5). The fixture of Lara intrinsically has a horizontal groove in order to wrap around the bars as shown in figures 2-5.
With respect to claim 4, Lara teaches wherein said first fixture includes a first fixture lower member (6’’) with a first horizontal groove configured to cradle said first material. The fixture of Lara intrinsically has a horizontal groove in order to wrap around the bars as shown in figures 2-5.
With respect to claim 6, Lara teaches wherein said material positioner further comprises: a first positioning mechanism (feeder used for arrow 4’) adapted to place said first material (3’) at said first starting point (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 1-6).
With respect to claim 7, Lara teaches wherein said second starting point has said first material and said second material in mating engagement (contact) (figure 2; and paragraphs 39 and 47).
With respect to claim 8, Lara teaches wherein said control unit is adapted to send said first signal to said first positioning mechanism and said second positioning mechanism (abstract; paragraphs 18 and 44; and claim 1).
With respect to claim 9, Lara teaches wherein a second position is in the same horizontal plane as said second starting point (figures 1-6).
With respect to claim 10, Lara teaches wherein said second position has said first material and said second material coalesced (figures 3-6).
With respect to claim 11, Lara teaches wherein said material positioner further comprises: a first positioning mechanism (feeder used for arrow 4’) adapted to place said first material (3’) at said first starting point (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 1-6); a second fixture having (5’/5’’) said second material secured to said second fixture; and said second positioning mechanism (feeder used for arrow 4’’) adapted to place said second material at said second starting point (broadest reasonable interpretation) (figures 1-6).
With respect to claim 12, Lara teaches wherein said second starting point has said first material and said second material in mating engagement (contact) (figure 2; and paragraphs 39 and 47).
With respect to claim 13, Lara teaches wherein actuation of said second positioning mechanism forces said second material against said first material and locates said second material to a second position (figure 3; and paragraph 48).
With respect to claim 14, Lara teaches wherein said control unit is adapted to send said first signal to said first positioning mechanism and said second positioning mechanism (abstract; paragraphs 18 and 44; and claim 1).
With respect to claim 15, Lara teaches wherein said first signal is adjustable based on characteristics (positional) of said first material and said second material (paragraphs 18 and 44).
With respect to claim 17, Lara teaches wherein said first fixture comprises a first fixture upper member (6’).
With respect to claim 18, Lara teaches wherein said first fixture includes a first fixture lower member (6’’) with a first horizontal groove configured to cradle said first material. The fixture of Lara intrinsically has a horizontal groove in order to wrap around the bars as shown in figures 2-5.
With respect to claim 19, Lara teaches sending a second signal to said second positioning mechanism to return (26) said second positioning mechanism to said second starting point (paragraph 44 and 52).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lara as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Minamitani et al. (US 6,706,130) (hereafter Minamitani).
With respect to claims 5 and 16, Lara does not teach wherein said second positioning mechanism is a voice coil actuator.
However, Minamitani teaches using a voice coil actuator (69) (column 10, line 5-10 and 39-53).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the voice coil actuator of Minamitani for the actuator of Lara in order to precisely control movement till contact of the workpieces and the load during bonding.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lara as applied to claim 1, 11, and 19 above, and further in view of Rehse (US 2,243,488).
With respect to claim 20, Lara does not teach wherein said second signal is of reversed polarity from said first signal sent to said second positioning mechanism.
However, Rehse teaches that it is well known to reverse polarity to change direction or a motor (column 6, lines 24-33).
Thus, the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize polarity reversing as taught by Rehse for the changing of direction step (26) of Lara in order to simply and reliably change direction.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,551,975B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are generally broader and thus envisaged claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,551,975B2.
Prior Art
Note that GB-2046475A, US3,681,563, and CA-2238988C, which are cited on the attached form-892, teach butt welding apparatuses similar to that of the instant application and should be considered when responding to this Office action.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735