Reissue Applications
For reissue applications filed on or after September 16, 2012, all references to 35 U.S.C. 251 and 37 CFR 1.172, 1.175, and 3.73 are to the current provisions. This application, filed July 29, 2026, is a reissue of U.S. Patent 12,308,429 (hereafter the '429 patent), which issued from U.S. application Serial No. 18/045,096 (the ‘096 application) with claims 1-18 on May 20, 2025.
Rejection Overcome
The rejection of claim 11 under 35 USC 112(b) has been overcome by Applicant’s amendment of the claim.
Claim Term Definition
Claim 1 recites “single particles, quasi-single particles, or a combination thereof.” According to the ‘429 patent specification, “single particles” can be primary single particles and/or quasi-single particles (see col. 9, lines 15-19). “[A] ‘primary particle’ represents a particle unit that has no observable grain boundary when observed in a field of view at a magnification of 5000x to 20000x using a scanning electron microscope or Electron Back Scatter Diffraction (EBSD).” (See col. 5, lines 21-25). “[A] ‘secondary particle’ is a particle formed by aggregation of a plurality of primary particles. In the present invention, a secondary particle in which no more than 10 primary particles are aggregated is referred to as a quasi-single particle in order to be distinguished from a secondary particle in the related art which is formed by aggregation of several tens to hundreds of primary particles.” (See col. 5, lines 30-37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2021/0098776 to Kageura et al (hereinafter “Kageura”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0303734 to Arimura et al (hereinafter “Arimura”).
With respect to claims 1, 2, 6 and 19, Kageura teaches a lithium secondary battery as set forth in Figs. 1A and 1B, reproduced below (see also ¶¶ 0001, 0027, 0028 and 0144-0147):
The battery comprises an electrode assembly (4) in which a positive electrode plate (2), a negative electrode plate (3), and a separator (1) interposed between the positive electrode plate (2) and the negative electrode plate (3) are wound in one direction; a battery can (5) in which the electrode assembly (4) is accommodated; and a sealing body (8) which seals an open end of the battery can (5) (see also ¶¶ 0144-0147, 0160-0161 and 0180-0181).
The positive electrode plate comprises positive electrode active material which comprises a lithium metal composite oxide powder which comprises primary and secondary particles, and preferably includes single particles (see Abstract, ¶¶ 0031, 0062-0066 and 0216-0222). The positive electrode active material prepared in Kageura’s Example 1 (¶¶ 0216-0222) was confirmed to have single particles (¶ 0222) and has a Dmin of 1.1 µm and a D50 of 4.5 µm (see Table 1).
Based on Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide formula (I) in ¶ 0044 and on the x, y, z and w parameters for the positive electrode active material prepared in Example 1, the composite oxide has the formula Li[Li0.029(Ni0.884Co0.078Mn0.038)0.971]O2, i.e., the formula Li1.029Ni0.858Co0.076Mn0.037O2, as per instant claim 6. Note the composite oxide contains (0.858/(0.858+0.076+0.037))x100 = 88 mol% Ni based on the total number of moles of transition metal (Ni, Co and Mn) in the composite oxide.
Kageura more generally teaches that the lithium metal composite oxide more preferably has a D50 of 5 µm or less, and more preferably has a Dmin of 200 nm (0.2 µm) or more (see ¶¶ 0081-0085).
Kageura does not teach that the lithium metal composite oxide has a (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 of 3 or less as per instant claim 1 and its dependent claims, or has a Dmax of 12 µm to 17 µm as in instant claim 19.
Arimura teaches a lithium secondary battery that utilizes a similar lithium metal composite oxide as Kageura (see ¶¶ 0001 and 0013-0014). In particular, the lithium metal composite oxide of Formula (I) is reproduced below from each of Arimura and Kageura.
Arimura:
Kageura:
Arimura further teaches that D50 is 3 µm or more and 20 µm or less, and a difference between Dmax and the minimum particle size Dmin is D50 x 2/3 or more (see ¶¶ 0019 and 0101). In other words, (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 is 0.667 or more, which overlaps and thus, renders obvious the instantly claimed range. The lithium metal composite oxide in Arimura’s Example 8 (Table 1, p. 25) has a D50 of 3.4 µm, a Dmax of 11.6 µm, Dmin of 1.0 µm, and a (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 of (11.6-1)/3.4 = 3.1.
Arimura’s Dmax of 11.6 µm is close to the lower limit of “12 µm” in instant claim 19. Likewise, Arimura’s (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 of 3.1 is close to the instantly claimed upper limit of “3”. As noted above, Arimura teaches that (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 can be as low as 0.667, i.e., 2/3. Arimura teaches that an object of the invention is to provide a lithium-containing transition metal composite oxide for a lithium secondary battery having good output characteristics (see ¶ 0010). Arimura’s Example 8 has excellent discharge characteristics (see ¶ 0386).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have determined appropriate Dmax and (Dmax - Dmin)/D50, such as those here claimed, for Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide, because not only are Dmax and (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 known parameters in the art, a skilled artisan would have sought to optimize them, along with D50 and Dmin, so as to provide for good output characteristics and excellent discharge characteristics, as taught by Arimura.
With respect to claim 4, the lithium metal composite oxide in Kageura’s Example 1 inherently has a unimodal particle size distribution that exhibits a single peak in a volume accumulated particle size distribution graph in view of fact that it is made of the same material as in instant claim 6 and has a Dmin of 1.1 µm and a D50 of 4.5 µm, as in instant claims 1 and 2.
With respect to claim 5, Kageura’s lithium metal oxide powder is 100% of the positive electrode active material (see, e.g., Example 1 on p. 12 and ¶ 0151). The powder comprises primary particles and secondary particles which are aggregates of the primary particles (Abstract), and the powder produced in Example 1 also contains single particles (see ¶ 0222). Kageura’s single particles and primary particles have no observable grain boundaries (¶¶ 0063, 0065) and thus, read on the instant single particles.
Kageura does not teach what percentage of the secondary particles are those in which no more than 10 primary particles are aggregated, and thus, Kageura does not teach what is the total percentage of the primary particles, single particles and secondary particles in which no more than 10 primary particles are aggregated. Instant claim 5 requires the percentage to be 95 wt% to 100 wt%.
However, Kageura teaches the following in ¶ 0067:
[0067] The single particles have lower surface energy and greater stability than fine primary particles and secondary particles which are aggregates of the primary particles. This presumably suppresses irreversible reactions such as decomposition of an electrolyte solution on the surface of the single particle, resulting in the lithium metal composite oxide powder that is unlikely sutler [sic] from self-discharge.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have maximized Kageura’s secondary particles in the powder, including those in which no more than 10 primary particles are aggregated, so as to suppress irreversible reactions such as decomposition of an electrolyte solution on the surface of the single particles, resulting in a lithium metal composite oxide powder that is unlikely to suffer from self-discharge, as taught by Kageura. As such, with secondary particles minimized, the claimed weight percentage of 95 wt% to 100 wt% would have been obvious.
With respect to claim 7, Kageura’s single particles, i.e., instant primary particles, have a diameter of 0.5 µm or more (see ¶ 0065). The range of 0.5 µm or more overlaps with and thus, renders obvious, the claimed range of 0.5 µm to 5 µm.
With respect to claims 8 and 9, Kageura teaches that the negative active electrode material can be, inter alia, silicon-based including silicon oxide or silicon metal, or carbon-based (see ¶¶ 0169, 0170 and 0174). The carbon-based material may be used in combination with the silicon oxide (see ¶ 0173). As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used a silicon-based material, a carbon-based material, or a combination of carbon-based material and silicon oxide, for Kageura’s negative active electrode material because Kageura teaches that such materials are suitable for the negative active electrode material.
With respect to claim 11, as seen in Kageura’s Figs. 1A and 1B and ¶ 0143, Kageura teaches cylindrical batteries. While Kageura does not specifically teach that the cylindrical battery is a 46110 cell, a 4875 cell, a 48110 cell, a 4880 cell, or a 4680 cell, such cells are conventional cells in the battery art and thus, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
With respect to claims 17 and 18, Kageura teaches that lithium secondary batteries can be used for large-sized power supplies for automobiles, etc. (see ¶ 0004). As such, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have placed the batteries in a pack for use in powering an automobile.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2016/0293944 to Yoon et al (hereinafter “Yoon”).
Kageura in view of Arimura, as relied upon for the reasons stated above in Rejection No. 1, does not specifically teach a weight ratio of silicon oxide to carbon-based material in the negative electrode active material is 1:99 to 20:80.
Yoon, directed to a secondary battery including a silicon-based compound, teaches the negative electrode includes a carbon-based material and a silicon-based compound (see Abstract). The silicon-based compound can be silicon oxide (see ¶ 0017). The carbon-based material and the silicon (Si)-based compound may be mixed in a weight ratio of 80:20 to 99:1, particularly 90:10 to 99:1, more particularly 95:5 to 97:3, most particularly 95:5 or 97:3 (para 0018).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the instantly claimed ratio for Kageura’s carbon-based material and silicon oxide because when the amount of Si-based compound, e.g., silicon oxide, is too small, it is difficult to increase energy density and thus, it is difficult to realize a high-capacity battery, as taught by Yoon (see ¶ 0018). When the amount of the Si-based compound is too high, volume expansion of the negative electrode may undesirably increase, as also taught by Yoon (see ¶ 0018).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent 12,283,691 to Teufl et al (hereinafter “Teufl”).
Kageura in view of Arimura is relied upon for the reasons set forth above in Rejection No. 1. As noted above, the lithium metal composite oxide in Kageura’s Example 1 has a unimodal particle size distribution. To any extent it does not have a unimodal particle size distribution, then claim 4 is rendered obvious further in view of Teufl.
Teufl is directed to cathode active materials in particulate form and teaches that they can have a monomodal, i.e., unimodal, or bimodal particle diameter distribution (see Abstract; and col. 2, lines 31-37).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide cathode material so that it is unimodal as here claimed because it is known in the art that particulate cathode material can be unimodal or bimodal, as taught by Teufl.
Claims 12, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 above, and in further of view U.S. Patent Application Publication 2012/0177963 to Lee et al (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claims 12, 13 and 16, Kageura and Arimura, as relied upon for the reasons stated above in Rejection No. 1, do not teach wherein each of the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate comprises an uncoated portion in which an active material layer is not formed, wherein at least a portion of the uncoated portion of the positive electrode plate or the negative electrode plate defines an electrode tab.
Lee, directed to a jelly-roll for secondary batteries, teaches an uncoated portion 156' of an anode 154, an uncoated portion 158' of the cathode 152, and electrode tabs 112 and 114 (see Figs. 3-4 and ¶¶ 0048-0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared the positive and negative electrode plates of Kageura in view of Arimura with uncoated regions, as per the teachings of Lee, in order to be able to attach an electrode tab to the current collector.
Further regarding claim 13, Lee teaches wherein the positive electrode plate-uncoated portion and the negative electrode plate-uncoated portion are formed at an end of one side of the positive electrode plate and an end of one side of the negative electrode plate, respectively, along a direction in which the electrode assembly is wound, wherein a current collecting plate is coupled to each of the positive electrode plate-uncoated portion and the negative electrode plate-uncoated portion, and the current collecting plate is connected to an electrode terminal (see Fig. 4).
Further regarding claim 16, Lee teaches that on the positive electrode plate, insulative tapes 116a and 116b are located at the boundary surfaces of the cathode active material-coated portions, wherein said tapes cover a portion of the positive electrode active material layer and a portion of the uncoated portion along a direction parallel to the winding direction (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0061).
Although Kageura and Arimura do not teach use of an insulating layer, i.e., insulating tape, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the battery structure of Kageura in view of Arimura so that it has an insulating layer as here claimed so as to improve safety against burr (¶ 0067 of Lee) and prevent the occurrence of a short circuit due to opposition between the cathode active material uncoated portion and the anode active material coated portion (¶ 0068 of Lee).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2005/0260489 to Kim (hereinafter “Kim”).
Kageura in view of Arimura is relied upon for the reasons stated above in Rejection No. 1.
Regarding claims 12-14, Kageura and Arimura do not teach wherein each of the positive electrode plate and the negative electrode plate comprises an uncoated portion in which an active material layer is not formed, wherein at least a portion of the uncoated portion of the positive electrode plate or the negative electrode plate defines an electrode tab.
Kim, directed to an electrode package and secondary battery, teaches an uncoated region 11a is formed in the upper portion of the positive electrode 11 along the length of the positive electrode (¶ 0028) and an uncoated region 12a is formed in the lower portion of the negative electrode 12, the uncoated region being a thin portion of the collector of the negative electrode 12 which is not coated with an active material (¶ 0030). These uncoated regions function as tabs and extend to collector plates 60, 70 (Fig. 4). Kim further teaches wherein each of the positive electrode plate-uncoated portion and the negative electrode plate-uncoated portion is processed in a form of a plurality of segments that are independently bendable, and at least a portion of the plurality of segments are bent toward a winding center of the electrode assembly (Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the lithium secondary battery of Kageura in view of Arimura so as to have an uncoated region in each of the positive electrode plate and negative electrode plate that are independently bendable as here claimed, and as per the teachings of Kim, in order to be able to attach an electrode tab to the current collector.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura and Kim as applied to claims 12-14 above, and in further view of U.S. Patent application publication 2022/0231345 to Hwangbo et al (hereinafter Hwangbo”).
Kageura in view of Arimura and Kim, as relied upon for the reasons stated above in Rejection No. 5, does not specifically teach that a plurality of bent segments are overlapped on an upper end and a lower end of the electrode assembly, and the current collecting plate is coupled to the plurality of overlapped segments, as in instant claim 15.
However, these features are known in the art as shown by Hwangbo (see ¶¶ 0010, 0013; and Figs 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided the battery of Kageura, Arimura and Kim with bent segments as here claimed because such is a known feature in the battery art, as shown by Hwangbo, and so as to prepare a functional battery.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kageura in view of Arimura as applied to claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11 and 17-19 above, and in further view of WO 2007/030816 to Gozdz et al (hereinafter “Gozdz”).
Kageura in view of Arimura, as relied upon for the reasons stated above in Rejection No. 1, does not specifically teach that the cylindrical battery (Figs. 1A and 1B, ¶ 0143) has a ratio of form factor of 0.4 or more, wherein the ratio of form factor is a value obtained by dividing a diameter of the cylindrical battery by a height of the cylindrical battery.
Gozdz teaches a lithium-ion battery that has a fast charge and discharge rate capability and low rate of capacity fade during high rate cycling (see Abstract). The battery can be a cylindrical battery (see Fig. 4 and ¶ 0163). The exemplified cylindrical cell has a diameter of 26 mm, a height of 65 mm, and thus, a form factor of 26/65 = 0.4.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared the lithium secondary battery of Kageura in view of Arimura such that it has a diameter of 26 mm, a height of 65 mm, and thus, a form factor of 0.4 because such are suitable dimensions for a cylindrical lithium secondary battery, as taught by Gozdz.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed October 13, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the following on pp. 8-9 of the Remarks:
Contrary to what was alleged, Example 8 of Arimura, relied on for the teachings of Dmax and PSD of the claimed positive electrode active material, teaches a very different lithium metal composite oxide from that taught in Kageura, not only in terms of Ni, Co, and Mn compositions, but also regarding the manufacturing method.
Specifically, Example 1 of Kageura was prepared by drying a precursor having a Ni:Co:Mn ratio of 0.88:0.08:0.04 (Ni in an content of 88 mol%) at 105°C to obtain a nickel-cobalt-manganese hydroxide, mixing the nickel-manganese-cobalt hydroxide with lithium hydroxide monohydrate and potassium sulfate such that Li/(Ni+Co+Mn) = 1.10 and K₂SO4/(LiOH+K₂SO4) = 0.1 (mol/mol), and then calcining the mixture at 840°C for 10 hours (Kageura ¶¶ [0217]-[0220]).
On the other hand, Example 8 of Arimura was obtained by calcining a precursor having a Ni:Co:Mn ratio of 55:21:24 (Ni in an contend of 55 mol%) at 850°C for 8 hours to obtain a nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide, mixing the nickel-cobalt-manganese oxide with lithium hydroxide such that Li:(Ni+Co+Mn) = 1.07, and then calcining the mixture at 850°C for 6 hours (Arimura ¶¶ [0354]-[0358]).
Thus, the positive electrode active material of Kageura and that of Arimura are different due to their different ratios of Ni:Co:Mn and Li/(Ni+Co+Mn), and different calcination conditions. In particular, the positive electrode active material of Example 8 in Arimura does not even contain a Ni content of 80 ml% or more. One of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to optimize Dmax, Dmin and D50 of the positive electrode active particle of Kageura based on those from Arimura as doing so would not provide a reasonable expectation of success under such unpredictable art.
This is also evidenced by Arimura itself, which shows that D50, Dmax, and Dmin of a positive electrode active particle vary depending on the positive electrode active composition, calcination conditions, the presence or absence of coating, and washing conditions (Arimura, Table 1). For example, a comparison of Examples 1 and 3 of Arimura shows that D50 (11.5µm, 11.2µm, respectively) and Dmax (33.9µm, 32.9µm, respectively) vary depending on the Li/(Ni+Co+Mn+Al) ratio (1.10, 1.15, respectively) and the calcination temperature (760 °C. for 5 hours, 720° C. for 10 Hours, respectively).
Applicant’s arguments are unpersuasive. Kageura’s and Arimura’s lithium metal composite oxides have the same formula (I) (see ¶ 0044 of Kageura and ¶ 0013 of Arimura):
Kageura’s and Arimura’s x, y, z, w and M parameters in formula (I) closely overlap in scope or are identical, as follows (see ¶ 0044 of Kageura and ¶ 0014 of Arimura):
Parameter
Kageura
Arimura
x
-0.1≤x≤0.2
0≤x≤0.2
y
0≤y≤0.4
0≤y≤0.5
z
0≤z≤0.4
0≤z≤0.8
w
0≤w≤0.1
0≤w≤0.1
y+z+w
<1
<1
M
Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Zn, B, Al, Ga, Ti, Zr, Ge, Fe, Cu, Cr, V, W, Mo, Sc, Y, Nb, La, Ta, Tc, Ru, Rh, Pd, Ag, Cd, In, or Sn
Mg, Ca, Sr, Ba, Zn, B, Al, Ga, Ti, Zr, Ge, Fe, Cu, Cr, V, W, Mo, Sc, Y, Nb, La, Ta, Tc, Ru, Rh, Pd, Ag, Cd, In, or Sn
While the lithium metal composite oxide in Arimura’s Example 8 and Kageura’s Example 1 may have different ratios of Ni:Co:Mn and Li/(Ni+Co+Mn), they nonetheless are each within the scope of each other’s general formula (I). In particular, Arimura’s lithium metal composite oxide of Example 8 is within the scope of Kagura’s lithium metal composite oxide of formula (I) wherein x=0.04, y=0.21, z=0.24 and w=0. In fact, Arimura’s Example 8 has a D50 of 3.4 µm (Table 1), which is within Kageura’s “even more preferred” range of 5 µm or less for D50 (see ¶ 0082). Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide of Example 1 is within the scope of Arimura’s lithium metal composite oxide of formula (I) wherein x=0.029, y=0.078, z=0.038 and w=0. Arimura thus permits a Ni content of 88 mol% as in Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide of Example 1.
Additionally, the fact that Kageura’s Example 1 and Arimura’s Example 8 used different calcining conditions is of little or no consequence. Firstly, the instant claims are not directed to a method of production. Secondly, as noted above, the lithium metal composite oxides in Arimura’s Example 8 and Kageura’s Example 1 are each within the scope of each other’s general formula (I). Furthermore, a skilled artisan was aware of the fact that, as taught by Kageura, by adjusting the holding temperature of calcination, the particle size distribution (e.g., D50) in the obtained lithium metal composite oxide can be controlled to within preferred ranges (see ¶ 0115-0116). Kageura teaches that “[n]ormally, as the holding temperature increases, the particle size of the lithium metal composite oxide tends to increase” (see ¶ 0016).
Applicant’s citation of Arimura’s Examples 1 and 3 is also unavailing since these examples are part of the prior art. Thus, a skilled artisan was aware of the particle diameter results shown in Arimura’s Table 1 and would have taken them into account when optimizing the known parameters of Dmax and (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 for Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide.
As noted in the rejection, Arimura teaches that D50 is 3 µm or more and 20 µm or less, and a difference between Dmax and the minimum particle size Dmin is D50 x 2/3 or more (see ¶¶ 0019 and 0101). In other words, (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 is 0.667 or more, which overlaps the claimed range, is part of the prior art. Again, a skilled artisan knew how to control particle size distribution using the calcination holding temperature.
Accordingly, at least in view of the similarity of Kageura’s and Arimura’s lithium metal composite oxides, the fact that Dmax and (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 are known parameters in the art, and the fact that a skilled artisan knew how to control particle size distribution, there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in determining appropriate Dmax and (Dmax - Dmin)/D50 for Kageura’s lithium metal composite oxide in view of the further teachings of Arimura. This is a matter of optimizing known variables in the prior art to achieve good output characteristics and excellent discharge characteristics, as taught by Arimura.
Applicant argues the following on p. 9 of the Remarks:
This argument is unpersuasive. The data cited by Applicant is from instant Table 1, reproduced below.
Contrary to Applicant’s argument, there are no results shown for “Embodiment 2” in Table 1. Rather, Table 1 includes two sets of results for “Embodiment 1”, with the first set testing Samples #’s 1, 2 and 3, and the second set testing Sample #’s 2 and 3
To any extent Applicant can show that the second listed “Embodiment 1” in Table 1 is “Embodiment 2”, the data are unpersuasive. Embodiments 1 and 2 are indicated in Table 1 as having passed the hot box test (see also col. 23, line 57 through col. 24, line 40 of the ‘439 patent). Additionally, the venting times for Embodiment 2, i.e., 16.0 min and 15.8 min, are the same or essentially the same as the venting time for Embodiment 1’s Sample #1, i.e., 16 min. The data merely show a difference in degree, not a difference in kind for the “Max temperature” of Embodiments 1 and 2, particularly in view of the fact that Embodiment 2 passed the hot box test. Nowhere does the ‘429 patent allege anything unexpected when comparing the results for Embodiments 1 and 2 in Table 1. Additionally, the instant claims are silent as to “Max temperature”.
Furthermore, to any extent unexpected results are shown (it is maintained that nothing unexpected is shown), the instant claims are not commensurate in scope with respect to the specific lithium nickel-based oxide that was utilized in the hot box test, including its chemical formula and values for Dmax, Dmin and D50.
Duty to Disclose
Applicant is reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.178(b), to timely apprise the Office of any prior or concurrent proceed-ing in which Patent No. 12,308,429 is or was involved. These proceedings would include interferences, reissues, reexaminations, and litigation. Applicant is further reminded of the continuing obligation under 37 CFR 1.56, to timely apprise the Office of any information which is material to patentability of the claims under consideration in this reissue appli-cation. These obligations rest with each individual associated with the filing and prosecution of this application for reissue. See also MPEP §§ 1404, 1442.01 and 1442.04.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
Signed:
/ALAN D DIAMOND/Patent Reexamination Specialist
Central Reexamination Unit 3991
Conferees:
/JOSEPH R KOSACK/Patent Reexamination Specialist
Central Reexamination Unit 3991
/Patricia L Engle/SPRS, Art Unit 3991