DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner notes in claim 3, Applicant uses the term “coupling means” and has therefore been interpreted as invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the upper part of the cortical upright" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For the purpose of examination, the limitation has been interpreted to read “an upper part of the cortical upright”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carvani et al. (US 2016/0100947).
Regarding claim 1, Carvani et al. disclose a device (10) for fixing a cranial flap to the cranial vault (17) capable of being positioned in a craniotomy hole, comprising at least one cortical support upright (12); first closing means (11, 13) operatively connected to the cortical upright (12); second closing means (14) suitable to be fixed to the cortical upright (12) to complete its closing; at least one handle (15) connected in a removable way to the cortical upright (¶43) and suitable for driving the device (10) to bring it from its rest position to its operational fixing position; wherein the first closing means (11, 13) are connected to the distal end of the cortical upright (12) and the second closing means (14) are adapted to be fixed to the cortical upright (12) in a position close to the distal end of the cortical upright (12), such that, when the device (10) is in its operative fixing position, the first closing means (11, 13) are placed against the distal surface internal part of the skull and the second closing means (14) are placed against the near external surface of the skull, the first closing means (11, 13) being constituted by at least two elongated elastic arms (11) operatively connected to the cortical upright (12), each of the elongated elastic arms (11) ending in an elongated arm (13) placed transversely with respect to the elongated elastic arms (figures 5-10), wherein the device (10) is also equipped with at least one lower base (5) to be assembled to the device (10) for fixing a cranial flap and for simultaneously closing the holes made to perform the craniotomy, the lower base (5) having a cut (6) through which the device (10) passes when the device (10) moves into its operative fixing position, and a seat (7) where the transverse arms (13) tied to it are housed and slide to the elastic arms (figures 1-4, 11-14); and in that the second closing means (14) are equipped with a cylindrical collar (9) designed to centre the second closing means (14) in the craniotomy hole (¶52).
Carvani et al. fail to expressly teach or disclose the transverse elongated arms are substantially semi-circular in shape with greater transverse thickness in their central part compared to their two ends, each of the transverse elongated arms having its ends oriented towards the respective ends of the other of the transverse elongated arms so as to leave a space between the ends. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was made to construct the transverse elongated arms of Carvani et al. with a substantially semi-circular in shape with greater transverse thickness in their central part compared to their two ends, each of the transverse elongated arms having its ends oriented towards the respective ends of the other of the transverse elongated arms so as to leave a space between the ends, since applicant has not disclosed that such solve any stated problem or is anything more than one of numerous shapes or configurations a person ordinary skill in the art would find obvious for the purpose of providing a forming edge in the heating portion or clamp. In re Dailey and Eilers, 149 USPQ 47 (1966). Regarding claim 2, Carvani et al. disclose the transverse arms (13) are blocked in opening by the shape of the seat (7) of the base (¶51).
Regarding claim 3, Carvani et al. disclose the transverse arms (13') are blocked in opening by coupling means (8) provided at two ends of the seat (7) of the base (¶51).
Regarding claim 4, Carvani et al. disclose the base (5) has a centring system (9) intended for use when the device (10) is used in holes made by a drill (¶52).
Regarding claim 5, Carvani et al. disclose the device is made of elastic biocompatible plastic material (¶48).
Regarding claim 6, Carvani et al. disclose the second closing means (14) are composed of an upper plate (14) suitable for being inserted in the upper part of the cortical upright (figures 5-10).
Regarding claim 7, Carvani et al. disclose the cortical upright (12) is also equipped with a plurality of fixing elements (16’s) placed at as many levels along the length of the upright (12), the fixing elements (16) being capable of engaging the upper plate (14) after its operational coupling with the upright (¶34, ¶43, ¶47).
Conclusion
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Anita Coupe can be reached at 571-270-3614. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW J LAWSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619