DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08 October 2025 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: “d”, “t”, and “12”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “10” has been used to designate both “cutting assembly” and “disc cutter”.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “32” and “34”.
The drawings are objected to because:
Regarding Figs. 1 and 3, it is unclear what the number “4” surrounded by a circle (
) represents.
Regarding Fig. 2, it is unclear what the number “1” surrounded by a circle and the number “3” surrounded by a circle represent.
Regarding Fig. 2, the numbers and text matter located to the right of the number “1” surrounded by a circle and the number “3” surrounded by a circle are difficult to read.
Regarding Fig. 4, it is unclear what the number “1” surrounded by a circle, the number “2” surrounded by a circle, and the number “3” surrounded by a circle represent.
It is unclear if Figs. 5 and 6 illustrate prior art. Figs. 5 and 6 are labeled “prior art” is the drawings but are not described as prior art in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 - 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boland et al. (US 2003/0150442).
Regarding claim 1, Boland discloses a method of mining rock using a disc cutter comprising a cutter body (saw body 230) with a diameter d, a plurality of tool holders (cutting segment 232) mounted about a peripheral surface of the cutter body (230) and a plurality of cutting elements (10) attached to the tool holders, the method comprising cutting a slot with a slot depth D in the rock at a cutting position of the disc cutter, wherein a rotational speed of the disc cutter during cutting is greater than 60 rpm (1000 rpm) (Figs. 3 and 3a; abstract; paragraphs 0002, 0004, 0026 - 0028, 0032, 0034, 0060, 0094, and 0099 - 0101).
Regarding claim 2, Boland further discloses the cutting elements comprise polycrystalline diamond (PDC) (paragraphs 0026, 0032, and 0034).
Regarding claim 3, Boland further discloses the cutting elements are polycrystalline diamond compacts (PDCs) (PDC comprising polycrystalline diamond in a silicon carbide matrix) (paragraph 0032).
Regarding claims 4 - 7, Boland further discloses the rotational speed of the disc cutter during cutting is greater than 80 rpm (1000 rpm) (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 16, Boland further discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is from approximately 0.25 m/min to approximately 10 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 - 8, 11, 12, 16, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeming et al. (US 2021/0032988) in view of Boland et al.
Regarding claim 1, Leeming discloses a method of mining rock using a disc cutter (18) comprising a cutter body (20) with a diameter d, a plurality of tool holders (24) mounted about a peripheral surface of the cutter body and a plurality of cutting elements (22) attached to the tool holders, the method comprising cutting a slot (cuts formed by disk cutters 18) having a narrow width (16mm) with a slot depth D in the rock at a cutting position of the disc cutter (18); and rotating the disk cutter (18) (Figs. 1, 2, 8, 9, 10a, and 10b; paragraphs 0035, 0040, 0044, 0053, 0055, and 0073). Leeming fails to disclose wherein a rotational speed of the disc cutter during cutting is greater than 60 rpm. Boland teaches a disc cutter having a rotational speed that is greater than 60 rpm (1000 rpm) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed by Leeming with the rotational speed as taught by Boland as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the properties of the rock through which the disc cutter is cutting.
Regarding claim 2, Leeming further discloses the cutting elements comprise polycrystalline diamond (PCD) (paragraphs 0057 - 0060).
Regarding claim 3, Leeming further discloses the cutting elements are polycrystalline diamond compacts (PDCs) (paragraph 0018).
Regarding claims 4 - 7, Leeming discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rotational speed of the disc cutter. Boland teaches the rotational speed of the disc cutter during cutting is greater than 80 rpm (1000 rpm) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the rotational speed as taught by Boland based upon the properties of the rock through which the disc cutter cuts to produce a narrow slot.
Regarding claim 8, Leeming further discloses a ratio of the slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body (20) is less than 0.50 (paragraph 0050 teaches a slot depth of up to 400 mm and a diameter of the cutter body of 1000 mm; paragraph 0082 teaches a slot depth of 50 mm - 100 mm and a diameter of the cutter body of 300 mm).
Regarding claim 11, Leeming further discloses a ratio of the slot depth (50 mm - 100 mm) to the diameter (300 mm) of the cutter body is at least 0.15 (paragraph 0082).
Regarding claim 12, Leeming further discloses a ratio of the slot depth (500 mm - 100 mm) to the diameter (300 mm) of the cutter body is at least 0.20 (paragraph 0082). Examiner notes that range of the ratio of the slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body includes ratios of at least 0.20. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the ratio as disclosed by Leeming with the ratio that is at least 0.20 since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 16, Leeming discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is from approximately 0.25 m/min to approximately 10 m/min. Boland teaches a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is from approximately 0.25 m/min to approximately 10 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the feed rate as taught by Boland to optimize cutting efficiency based upon the properties of the rock through which the disc cutter cuts.
Regarding claim 17, Leeming further discloses a cutting width is from approximately 8 mm to approximately 70 mm (16 mm) (paragraph 0073).
Regarding claim 19, Leeming further discloses the slot depth is from approximately 150 mm to approximately 2500 mm (paragraph 0050 teaches a slot depth of up to 400 mm). Examiner notes that range of slot depths as taught by Leeming include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the slot depth as disclosed by Leeming so that the depth is between approximately 150 mm and approximately 2500 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Claims 2, 8, 11, 12, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boland et al. in view of Leeming et al.
Regarding claim 2, Boland fails to explicitly teach the cutting elements comprise polycrystalline diamond (PCD). Leeming teaches cutting elements comprising polycrystalline diamond (PCD) or polycrystalline diamond compacts (PDC) (paragraphs 0018 and 0057 - 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have substituted the cutting elements comprising PCD as taught by Leeming for the cutting elements as disclosed by Boland as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the properties of the rock through which the disc cutter cuts. The substitution of one known element (PCD as taught by Leeming) for another (diamond material as disclosed by Boland) would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 82 USPQ2d 1385(2007).
Regarding claim 8, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a ratio of the slot depth D to the diameter d of the cutter body is less than 0.50. Leeming teaches a ratio of the slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body (20) is less than 0.50 (paragraph 0050 teaches a slot depth of up to 400 mm and a diameter of the cutter body of 1000 mm; paragraph 0082 teaches a slot depth of 50 mm - 100 mm and a diameter of the cutter body of 300 mm). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the ratio of slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body as taught by Leeming to create a slot having a small width so that there is less rock wastage.
Regarding claim 11, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a ratio of the slot depth D to the diameter d of the cutter body is at least 0.15. Leeming further discloses a ratio of the slot depth (50 mm - 100 mm) to the diameter (300 mm) of the cutter body is at least 0.15 (paragraph 0082). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the ratio of slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the desired size of the slot to be formed and the materials through which the disc cutter cuts.
Regarding claim 12, Boland fails to disclose the ratio of the slot depth D to the diameter d of the cutter body is at least 0.20. Leeming teaches a ratio of the slot depth (500 mm - 100 mm) to the diameter (300 mm) of the cutter body is at least 0.20 (paragraph 0082). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the ratio of slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the desired size of the slot to be formed and the materials through which the disc cutter cuts. Examiner notes that range of the ratio of the slot depth to the diameter of the cutter body includes ratios of at least 0.20. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the ratio as disclosed by Leeming with the ratio that is at least 0.20 since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 17, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except a cutting width is from approximately 8 mm to approximately 70 mm. Leeming teaches a cutting width is from approximately 8 mm to approximately 70 mm (16 mm) (paragraph 0073). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the cutting width as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the desired size of the slot.
Regarding claim 19, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the slot depth D is from approximately 150 mm to approximately 2500 mm. Leeming teaches the slot depth is from approximately 150 mm to approximately 2500 mm (paragraph 0050 teaches a slot depth of up to 400 mm). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the slot depth as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based upon the desired size of the slot. Examiner notes that range of slot depths as taught by Leeming include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the slot depth as disclosed by Leeming so that the depth is between approximately 150 mm and approximately 2500 mm since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boland et al. in view of Leeming et al. (US 2021/0010371; hereinafter Leeming ‘371). Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the diameter of the cutter body is from approximately 1.0 m to approximately 5.0 m. Leeming ‘371 teaches a diameter of the cutter body is from approximately 1.0 to approximately 5.0 m (1000 mm) (paragraph 0044). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the cutter body as disclosed above with the diameter as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based on the desired depth of the slot to be cut.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeming et al. in view of Boland et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Leeming ‘371. Leeming in view of Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the diameter of the cutter body is from approximately 1.0 m to approximately 5.0 m. Leeming ‘371 teaches a diameter of the cutter body is from approximately 1.0 to approximately 5.0 m (1000 mm) (paragraph 0044). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the cutter body as disclosed above with the diameter as taught by Leeming as a design consideration within the skill of the art based on the desired depth of the slot to be cut.
Claims 20 - 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boland et al. in view of Zhou et al. (CN 104060996).
Regarding claim 20, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 5 MPa to 50 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 5 MPa to 50 MPa (less than 30 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0005). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations in which the rock is of medium strength. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 5 MPa and 50 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 21, Boland further discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 10 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 22, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa (greater than 60 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0004). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations involving hard rock. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 50 MPa and 100 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 23, Boland further discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 6 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060).
Regarding claim 24, Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa (up to 140 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0004). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations involving extremely hard rock. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 100 MPa and 250 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 25, Boland further discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 1 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060).
Claims 20 - 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leeming et al. in view of Boland et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhou et al.
Regarding claim 20, Leeming in view of Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 5 MPa to 50 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 5 MPa to 50 MPa (less than 30 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0005). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations in which the rock is of medium strength. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 5 MPa and 50 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 21, Leeming fails to disclose discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 10 m/min. Boland teaches a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 10 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the feed rate as taught by Boland to optimize cutting efficiency based upon properties of the rock through which the slot is cut.
Regarding claim 22, Leeming in view of Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 50 MPa to 100 MPa (greater than 60 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0004). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations involving hard rock. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 50 MPa and 100 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 23, Leeming fails to disclose discloses a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 6 m/min. Boland teaches a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 6 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the feed rate as taught by Boland to optimize cutting efficiency based upon properties of the rock through which the slot is cut.
Regarding claim 24, Leeming in view of Boland discloses all of the claim limitation(s) except the rock has a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa. Zhou teaches a cutter for use in rock having a Uniaxial Compressive Strength of 100 MPa to 250 MPa (up to 140 MPa) (abstract; paragraphs 0002 and 0004). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou to allow the method to be applicable to situations involving extremely hard rock. Examiner notes that range of Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou include values within the claimed range. It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the Uniaxial Compressive Strength as taught by Zhou so that the Uniaxial Compressive Strength is between 100 MPa and 250 MPa since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 25, Leeming fails to disclose a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 1. Boland teaches a feed rate of the rock to the cutter body is less than or equal to 1 m/min (1 m/min) (paragraph 0060). It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the invention, to have modified the method as disclosed above with the feed rate as taught by Boland to optimize cutting efficiency based upon properties of the rock through which the slot is cut.
Conclusion
/SEAN D ANDRISH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
SA
7/30/2026