DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 12, and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 14 refer to an acronym DMS without introducing it as a driver monitoring system in the claim language.
Claim 12 states “the control unit determines that the second condition is satisfied, perform screen control…” The verb “perform” is a grammatical error as the singular control unit performs screen control.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 4-13, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims recite the following limitations with insufficient antecedent basis:
Claims 2, 9, and 10 recite “the first display” and/or “the second display”, where it is indefinite if these are the same as the “a first display unit” or the “a second display unit” introduced in claim 1;
Claims 4, 5, and 13, recite “the first drive module” and/or “the second drive module” with only a singular drive module being introduced prior;
Claims 4, 5, and 13 recite “the internal space” with no prior mention;
Claim 4 recites “each control signal” with no control signal mentioned prior;
Claim 6 recites “a second screen”, where it is indefinite whether this is the same as the “a second screen” introduced in claim 1;
Claim 7 recites “an input unit for controlling movement of the second display unit”, but also recites an operation that “controls the first screen on the basis of an input to the input unit”, rendering it indefinite whether the input unit for controlling movement of the second display is the same as the input unit that controls the first screen;
Claim 8 recites “a screen”, where it is indefinite whether this is the same as the “a first screen”, the “a second screen” as were introduced in claim 1, or a new screen;
Claim 8 recites that a communication unit “receives a signal corresponding to an operation on the input unit” and also recites that the control unit “receives a signal mapped to the operation on the input unit”, where it is unclear if these are the same or different signals;
Claims 9, 11, and 12 respectively recite “a received first operation signal”, “a second operation signal”, and “the received signal”, where it is indefinite if these are the same as “a signal corresponding to an operation on the input unit”, “a signal mapped to the operation on the input unit” as were introduced in claim 8, and/or whether this a different signal;
Claims 16 and 17 recite “an input to an input unit”, where it is indefinite if these are the same as the “an input for movement” introduced in claim 15;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Soh et al. (US 20170322760 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Soh teaches a vehicular display device comprising:
a first display unit that is arranged within a frame formed to correspond to a driver's seat and a front passenger seat within a vehicle and that is installed longitudinally to correspond to the driver's seat and the front passenger seat ([0131]: “first display 210” as seen in Fig. 2 has a longitudinal length corresponding to the two seats being longer than a vertical width);
a second display unit that is coupled to one side of the frame and configured to move between the driver's seat and the front passenger seat along the transverse direction of the frame through operation of a drive module ([0226] “second display 220” as seen in Fig. 2 moves along guide 230 (e.g. guides 230a & 230b); [0238] and [0247]: “Also, the guide 230 may guide at least one of the first and second displays to be moved in a direction from left to right sides of the vehicle”, i.e. transverse direction between the driver’s and front passenger’s seat);
a reception unit that receives monitoring information about an occupant based on DMS sensing information from the vehicle ([0204]); and
a control unit that controls respective operations of the first display unit, the second display unit, and the drive module (see control device 100, control unit 180 of Fig. 1),
wherein the control unit displays a first screen on the first display unit ([0208] and [0254]: front area 214, i.e. first screen, seen in Figs. 13 and 14A),
recognizes an occupant in the front passenger seat on the basis of the received monitoring information ([0204]: recognizes passenger via a passenger sensor), and
determines, based on the result of the recognition, whether a second screen for the front passenger seat is generated on at least one portion of the first display unit ([0269-0270]: determines whether graphic icons are displayed on the right area 212b of the first display unit, i.e. second screen, based on if the passenger is sitting in the seat).
Regarding claim 2, Soh teaches:
wherein the control unit determines a screen control target of the first display, the screen control target corresponding to an input to the second display, in a manner that varies depending on whether the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized ([0202-0207] and [0219-0220]: when there’s no passenger, an input to the second display may result in the control of the first display via controlling its cursor, and if there is a passenger, an input to the second display, such as the changing or adding of destinations or stops, may result in the control of the first display to update the route accordingly).
Regarding claim 3, Soh teaches:
wherein, when the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information, the control unit executes an occupant-triggered execution mode and displays the second screen on a region of the first display unit, the region corresponding to the front passenger seat ([0269-0270]: the right area of the first display, i.e. second screen, is turned on or off based on whether a passenger is detected).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Rao (US 20200371733 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Soh teaches:
wherein the second display unit is coupled to the first drive module and moves between the driver's seat and the front passenger seat along the transverse direction of the frame in response to operation of a first drive module ([0226] and [0238]: “the control device 100 for the vehicle may further include a moving member allowing the second display 220 to be moved along the guide 230,” which may be installed in the transverse direction), and
wherein the control unit controls the operation of the first drive module in such a manner that the second display unit moves to a position corresponding to the front passenger seat along the transverse direction of the frame ([0226] and [0238]).
Soh does teach that the moving member is actuated to recall the second display unit towards the first display unit when no passenger is detected, i.e. upon a cessation or avoidance of an occupant-triggered execution mode ([0226]). Soh does not explicitly teach that this driving member performs a dispatching of the second display unit away from the first display unit based on a control signal in response to the execution of the occupant-triggered execution mode. However, Soh does teach that passengers are advantageously provided with a specialized display unique for their detected location in the vehicle ([0162], [0202-0207], and [0219-0221]).
It is recognized that the invention of Soh is able to detect a passenger and is able to use a moving member to move the second display unit. Furthermore, when the vehicle is started, the second display unit may be positioned away from a passenger in a configuration pictorially shown in Fig. 9A. Therefore, when a passenger is detected when the second display unit is not positioned corresponding to the passenger, to modify Soh to dispatch the second display unit towards the passenger based on a control signal in response to the execution of the occupant-triggered execution mode based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Soh, of providing the passenger with a specialized display when they are detected, thus ensuring they are granted the curated features afforded by the second display in a manner that does not require a manual movement ([0162]).
Soh teaches the first drive module capable of laterally moving the second display, but does not teach a second drive module, where at least one portion of the second display unit is retracted into or ejected outward from the internal space of the frame in response to operation of the second drive module, and wherein the control unit controls the operation of the second drive module in such a manner that the at least one portion of the second display unit is changed to a state of being ejected outward from the frame in response to an occupant-triggered execution mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Rao teaches a display system comprising:
a second drive module ([0020]: motor mechanism 308),
where at least one portion of the second display unit is retracted into or ejected outward from the internal space of the frame in response to operation of the second drive module ([0020]: display is articulated into and out of the space in the frame as seen in Figs. 1 and 2), and
wherein the control unit controls the operation of the second drive module in such a manner that the at least one portion of the second display unit is changed to a state of being ejected outward from the frame in response to an occupant-triggered execution mode ([0022] and [0024-0026]: display is driven to its “revealed position”, i.e. ejected outward from the frame, when detecting a first gesture of a passenger).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Rao based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Rao, of better balancing the user's desire to stay connected in a safe manner that avoids cognitive overload ([0003]). This allows the second display unit to be hidden from a driver until a passenger is detected, thus avoiding cognitive overload for the driver.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh in view of Rao as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250196635 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Soh teaches the detection of the occupant in the front passenger seat who is recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information ([0202] and [0204]). Rao further teaches that the control unit controls the operation of the second drive module in such a manner that the second display unit is retracted into the internal space of the frame ([0022] and [0024-0026]).
The prior combination retracts this second display when a passenger is detected and performs a specific action that indicates that the user no longer wishes to interact with the display, such as gesture or exiting the vehicle. The prior combination does not teach that such a determination that leads to a subsequent retracting of the second display unit includes determining when an occupant in the front passenger seat remains motionless or is in a state of sleep for a predetermined period of time in the occupant-triggered execution mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a vehicle, wherein:
a display apparatus of the vehicle is deactivated when it is detected that a passenger remains motionless or is in a state of sleep for a predetermined period of time in the occupant-triggered execution mode ([0126-0129] and [0154]: vehicle enters a specific modes upon detecting fatigue, such as a sleep state based on a preset duration from when a user opens their eyes to when they close them; [0042] and [0204]: “when the user is in the eye-closed state, … the display apparatus may be turned off”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the prior combination with Wang based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Wang, “to help promote sleep of the user, and help improve driving experience of the user” ([0042]). Note that as the prior combination performs the retraction when turning off the second display unit, it is recognized that both the retraction of the second display unit and the deactivating of the display would be performed once the passenger is determined to be asleep.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang et al. (US 20250196635 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Soh teaches:
wherein the control unit generates a second screen for the front passenger seat on the first display unit when the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized ([0269-0270]: icons and screen are outputted in right area 212b, i.e. second screen, when the passenger is detected),
and then displays the first screen, rather than the second screen for the front passenger seat, on the entire first display unit, when occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized ([0197], [0224-0226], and [0269-0270]: the second display unit is retracted when no passenger is detected such that the first and second displays are connected to “organically operate like a single display”, where no icons/graphics are displayed on the right area 212b when no passenger is detected, and a first screen is displayed across the entirety of the display units as seen in Figs. 6A and 9A).
Soh teaches this functionality when no occupant is detected, but does not teach performing this when the occupant in the front passenger seat remains motionless or is in a state of sleep for a predetermined period of time or longer.
In the same field of endeavor, Wang teaches a vehicle, wherein:
a display apparatus of the vehicle is deactivated when the occupant in the front passenger seat remains motionless or is in a state of sleep for a predetermined period of time or longer ([0126-0129] and [0154]: vehicle enters a specific modes upon detecting fatigue, such as a sleep state based on a preset duration from when a user opens their eyes to when they close them; [0042] and [0204]: “when the user is in the eye-closed state, … the display apparatus may be turned off”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Wang based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Wang, “to help promote sleep of the user, and help improve driving experience of the user” ([0042]). Note that as Soh performs the retraction when no passenger is detected to use the second display unit or second screen, it is recognized that this retraction of the second display unit would once the passenger is determined to be asleep.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al. (KR 20220005946 A).
Regarding claim 7, Soh teaches:
an input unit ([0100] and [0112]);
wherein the control unit determines that the second screen is not displayed when the occupant in the front passenger seat is not recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information ([0211-0213] and [0269-0270]: second display unit and side area 212b are deactivated when no passenger is present),
and controls the first screen on the basis of an input to the input unit, according to the determination ([0211-0213]: input may be applied to the second display unit to control the display of the first display unit, i.e. the first screen).
Soh only teaches that the input unit allows for manipulation of the displayed screen, and does not teach that the input unit allows for controlling movement of the second display unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
an input unit that allows for controlling movement of the display unit ([0064-0065] and [0070-0071]: a user moves and controls a knob that moves the display based on the user’s interaction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Choi based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Choi, of allowing the display unit’s location to be changed in a manner that allows the display to present to both a driver and a passenger, or to provide a personalized screen related to the passenger based on where the knob is ([0070-0071]), thereby "enhanc[ing] user convenience by supporting easy and convenient position changes of the display through a knob," and "providing a function suitable for the occupant depending on the situation" ([0003]).
Regarding claim 8, Soh teaches:
a communication unit that communicates with an input unit that controls a screen of the first display unit ([0069] and [0100]),
and receives a signal corresponding to an operation on the input unit ([0100] and [0211-0213]: user can input via a touch screen, which is communicated to another display),
wherein the control unit receives a signal mapped to the operation on the input unit and, according to the result of recognizing the occupant in the front passenger seat, and performs screen control of the first display unit under a second condition ([0100], [0112], and [0208-0213]: when no passenger is detected, i.e. a second condition, input is received via input to the touch screen such that the display of the first display unit is controlled via user input).
Soh does not teach a dual condition of control that can selectively control either the operation of the drive module for movement of the second display unit or the screen of the first display unit, wherein the control unit operates the drive module for the movement of the second display unit, under a first condition.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches an input unit for a vehicle display system,
wherein the input can selectively control either the operation of the drive module for movement of the display unit or the screen displayed ([0057-0061], [0064-0065] and [0070-0071]: input to the knob can change settings and what the screen is displaying, or can move the display, depending on where and how the knob is being operated),
wherein, under a first condition, the drive module for the movement of the second display unit is operated ([0064-0065] and [0070-0071]: the knob can be moved so as to cause a corresponding movement of the display).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Choi based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Choi, of allowing the display unit’s location to be changed in a manner that allows the display to present to both a driver and a passenger, or to provide a personalized screen related to the passenger based on where the knob is ([0070-0071]), thereby "enhanc[ing] user convenience by supporting easy and convenient position changes of the display through a knob," and "providing a function suitable for the occupant depending on the situation" ([0003]).
Regarding claim 9, Soh teaches:
wherein, when the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information, the control unit determines that the first condition is satisfied and displays the second display on a region of the first display unit, the region corresponding to the front passenger seat ([0269-0270]: right side area 212b is turned on when a passenger is detected in the passenger seat).
Choi further teaches:
controlling the operation of the drive module on the basis of a received first operation signal in such a manner that the second display unit moves to a position corresponding to the front passenger seat along the transverse direction of the frame ([0064-0065] and [0070-0071]: the knob being “removed from the console and moved from the driver's seat to the passenger seat”, i.e. a first operation signal, results in the display moving to accommodate both the driver and the passenger).
Regarding claim 10, Soh teaches:
wherein, when the second display moves to the position corresponding to the front passenger seat under the first condition, the control unit displays a control screen of the second screen on the second display unit ([0277]: “when specific information is received in a second terminal located at a passenger seat, the controller controls the first display to output second guide information for guiding the received specific information on the right area”, allowing the passenger to directly control the information displayed on the right area, i.e. second screen, via input to the second display unit; [0278]: “the controller may output a message input window to write a response message to the first guide information on the second display”, allowing the second display to provide input to the application running on the right area, i.e. second screen, as seen in Figs. 15A and 15B).
Regarding claim 11, Soh teaches:
when movement of the second display unit along the transverse direction of the frame to a position corresponding to the driver's seat, is recognized, the control unit displays a control screen of the first screen on the second display unit ([0211-213]: an input unit, i.e. a passenger sensor, detects and turns off the second display unit when no passenger, i.e. a second operation signal, is detected; [0225-0226]: when the second display unit is initially powered off due to no passengers being detected, the drive module is operated to bring the second display unit into connection with the first display unit while turning on the second display unit; [0200-0201] and [0217-0220]: the second display unit displays a control screen of an application, wherein the application is controlled via user input to said control screen such that the output of the first display unit and its center area, i.e. first screen, change accordingly).
Choi further teaches:
receiving a second operation signal, mapped to the operation of the drive module, that causes the display unit to move to a position corresponding to the driver’s seat ([0064-0065], [0070], and [0072]: the user moves the knob “from the passenger seat to the driver’s seat” such that the display “has moved to the driver’s seat”).
Thus allows a user to move the knob from the passenger seat to the driver seat, i.e. input a second operation signal, as taught by Choi, wherein this signal would cause the drive module of Soh to bring the second display unit into contact with the first display unit and extend an application that manipulates what is being displayed according to user input.
Regarding claim 12, Soh teaches:
wherein, when the occupant in the front passenger seat is not recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information, the control unit determines that the second condition is satisfied ([0202]: detects when there is no passenger),
performs screen control of the first display unit on the basis of the received signal ([0219-0221]: first display unit runs a first sub execution screen that outputs a map image, and second display unit runs a second sub execution screen that allows for the driver to “search for a remaining path (route) or search for surrounding information, such as favorite restaurants located nearby, using the map image output on the second display 220”).
The embodiment of Soh previously described disclosed that “when no passenger is present, the controller 180 controls the second display 220 to be turned” so that the first display unit and the cursor on its screen may be controlled via tactile input to the second display unit ([0211-0213]). This embodiment of Soh does not teach displaying a control screen of the first display unit on the second display unit when there is no passenger present.
Soh teaches another control embodiment, including a step of:
displaying a control screen of the first display unit on the second display unit ([0219-0221]: when the second display unit is disconnected from the first display unit, a sub application is extended that allows the driver to interact with the application on the first display unit, such interactions including a displaying of a search bar and a virtual keypad such that “the driver may be provided with road guidance information using the map image output on the first display 210 and previously search for a remaining path (route) or search for surrounding information, such as favorite restaurants located nearby, using the map image output on the second display 220)”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to combine these embodiments of Soh such that a second sub application, i.e. a control screen, is displayed when the passenger is not detected based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Soh, of allowing the driver to “search for a remaining path (route) or search for surrounding information, such as favorite restaurants located nearby, using the map image output on the second display 220” ([0220]). This advantageously provides greater driver control of the functionality of the application being ran by the first display unit and displayed via the first screen.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rao (US 20200371733 A1) and Sobecki et al. (US 20230131471 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Soh teaches:
the second display unit is coupled to the first drive module and moves between the driver's seat and the front passenger seat along the transverse direction in response to operation of the first drive module ([0226] and [0238]).
Soh does not teach the second drive module, wherein at least one portion of the second display unit is changed to a state of being retracted into or ejected outward from the internal space of the frame in response to operation of the second drive module, and wherein the control unit generates a first control signal for operating the second drive module in such a manner that the second display unit is changed to a state of being retracted into the internal space of the frame.
In the same field of endeavor, Rao teaches:
the second drive module ([0020]: motor mechanism 308),
wherein at least one portion of the second display unit is changed to a state of being retracted into or ejected outward from the internal space of the frame in response to operation of the second drive module ([0020] and [0022]: display unit is retracted into and raised out of the frame as seen in Figs. 1 and 2 respectively), and
wherein the control unit generates a first control signal for operating the second drive module in such a manner that the second display unit is changed to a state of being retracted into the internal space of the frame based on certain detected conditions that cause the display to be deactivated and retracted ([0020], [0022], and [0024-0026]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Rao based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Rao, of better balancing the user's desire to stay connected in a safe manner that avoids cognitive overload ([0003]). This allows the second display unit to be hidden from a driver until a passenger is detected, thus avoiding cognitive overload for the driver.
Although Rao teaches that the display may be a distraction and that it is deactivated and retracted based on various conditions, the prior combination does not teach that one condition for deactivation is recognizing on the basis of the received monitoring information, that the driver is engaged in driving, and, when a driving speed of the vehicle reaches or exceeds a predetermined driving speed.
In the same field of endeavor, Sabecki teaches:
recognizing, on the basis of the received monitoring information, that the driver is engaged in driving, and, when a driving speed of the vehicle reaches or exceeds a predetermined driving speed, and deactivating a display as a result ([0134]: “the system may deactivate some or all of the infotainment inputs when it determines that the driver is… moving forward at a speed greater than a threshold speed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify the prior combination with the teachings of Sobecki based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Sobecki, of limiting the distraction to a driver ([0134]). Note that this deactivation of the second display unit would result in the second drive module retracting the second display unit into the frame per the prior combination.
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Soh et al. (US 20170322760 A1) in view of Choi et al. (KR 20220005946 A).
Regarding claim 14, Soh teaches a vehicular display device comprising:
a first display unit that is arranged within a frame formed to correspond to a driver's seat and a front passenger seat within a vehicle and that is installed longitudinally to correspond to the driver's seat and the front passenger seat ([0131]: “first display 210” as seen in Fig. 2 has a longitudinal length corresponding to the two seats being longer than a vertical width);
a second display unit that is coupled to one side of the frame and configured to move between the driver's seat and the front passenger seat along the transverse direction of the frame through operation of a drive module ([0226] “second display 220” as seen in Fig. 2 moves along guide 230 (e.g. guides 230a & 230b); [0238] and [0247]: “Also, the guide 230 may guide at least one of the first and second displays to be moved in a direction from left to right sides of the vehicle”, i.e. transverse direction between the driver’s and front passenger’s seat);
a reception unit that receives monitoring information about an occupant based on DMS sensing information from the vehicle ([0204]); and
a control unit that controls respective operations of the first display unit, the second display unit, and the drive module (see control device 100, control unit 180 of Fig. 1),
wherein the control unit displays a first screen on the first display unit ([0208] and [0254]: front area 214, i.e. first screen, seen in Figs. 13 and 14A),
recognizes an occupant in the front passenger seat on the basis of the received monitoring information ([0204]: recognizes passenger via a passenger sensor), and
determines, based on the result of the recognition, whether the drive module operates ([0225-0226]: the moving member operates to retract the second display unit when “any passenger is not sitting in the passenger seat”, whereas the second display unit is otherwise provided to a passenger when they are detected as seen in Fig. 9C).
Soh does that the drive module operates in response to an input for movement of the second display unit.
In the same field of endeavor, Choi teaches:
performing movement of a display unit, i.e. second display unit, in response to an input for movement of the second display unit ([0064-0065] and [0070-0071]: the display unit moves according to movement of the knob).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh with Choi based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Choi, of allowing the display unit’s location to be changed in a manner that allows the display to present to both a driver and a passenger, or to provide a personalized screen related to where the knob is ([0070-0071]), thereby "enhanc[ing] user convenience by supporting easy and convenient position changes of the display through a knob," and "providing a function suitable for the occupant depending on the situation" ([0003]).
Regarding claim 15, Soh teaches:
the control unit determines, based on the result of recognizing an occupant in the front passenger seat, that a second screen for the front passenger seat is generated at least on one portion of the first display unit ([0269-0270]: determines whether graphic icons are displayed on the right area 212b of the first display unit, i.e. second screen, based on if the passenger is sitting in the seat).
Regarding claim 16, Soh teaches:
based on the received monitoring information, the control unit controls the operation of the drive module for the movement of the second display unit, in response to a control signal generated on the basis of an input to an input unit mapped to the drive module ([0100], [0112], [0202-0207], and [0225-0226]: sensor readings of the passenger sensor, i.e. input to an input unit, produces a signal that is used to determine if there is a recognized passenger, in which the control unit controls the moving member, i.e. drive module, to move the second display unit towards the first display unit if no passenger is recognized).
Soh does teach that the moving member is actuated to recall the second display unit towards the first display unit when no passenger is detected, i.e. upon a cessation or avoidance of an occupant-triggered execution mode ([0226]). Soh does not explicitly teach that this driving member also performs movement of the second display unit via an occupant-triggered execution mode when the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information. However, Soh does teach that passengers are advantageously provided with a specialized display unique for their detected location in the vehicle ([0162], [0202-0207], and [0219-0221]).
It is recognized that the invention of Soh is able to detect a passenger and is able to use a moving member to move the second display unit. Furthermore, when the vehicle is started, the second display unit may be positioned away from a passenger in a configuration pictorially shown in Fig. 9A. Therefore, when a passenger is detected when the second display unit is not positioned corresponding to the passenger, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective date of filing to modify Soh to dispatch the second display unit towards the passenger via an occupant-triggered execution mode when the occupant in the front passenger seat is recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information based on a reasonable expectation of success and motivation, as taught by Soh, of providing the passenger with a specialized display when they are detected, thus ensuring they are granted the curated features afforded by the second display in a manner that does not require a manual movement ([0162]).
Regarding claim 17, Soh teaches:
when the occupant in the front passenger seat is not recognized on the basis of the received monitoring information, the control unit restricts driving of the drive module in response to a control signal generated on the basis of an input to an input unit mapped to the drive module ([0202-0207] and [0225-0226]: sensor readings of the passenger sensor, i.e. input to an input unit, produces a signal that is used to determine if there is a recognized passenger, in which the control unit either controls the moving member, i.e. drive module, to move the second display unit to a predetermined connected position with the first display unit if no passenger is recognized, or powers off and leaves the second display unit as is),
and controls the first screen displayed on the first display unit, in response
to the generated control signal ([0197] and [0225-0226]: the display, i.e. first screen, of the first display unit is either controlled to operate as seen in Fig. 6A if the restriction of driving is to bring the second display into contact with the first display, or is controlled so as to operate as seen in Fig. 6C if the restriction of driving is to leave it turned off and detached).
Conclusion
/JACK R BREWER/ Examiner, Art Unit 3663
/ADAM D TISSOT/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663