DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because computer-readable instructions is considered computer readable transmission media defined as signal per se and is not within one of the four statutory categories. The claim does not recite subject matter that falls within one of the following groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes. The computer readable medium is not defined as other than transmission media in the applicant’s specification as filed, thus the claim is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-9 and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (US 20170259810 A1; hereinafter Zhang).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a control system for controlling an engine start of a hybrid vehicle (see at least, [0006] a method for controlling a hybrid vehicle that may include starting an engine) having a powertrain system (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The HEV 10 includes a powertrain 12) comprising an engine (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The powertrain 12 includes an engine 14) and an electric traction motor (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The powertrain 12 includes…an electric machine such as an electric motor/generator (M/G) 18; *Examiner interprets an electric motor/generator (M/G) 18 as an electric traction motor, e.g. [0032] traction motor (M/G 18 in FIG. 1)), the powertrain system being operable to control an engine start using a plurality of engine start modes (see at least, Fig 4, step 424-control disconnect clutch for coupled engine start, step 448- control disconnect clutch for decoupled engine start), the control system comprising one or more processors, the one or more processors collectively configured (see at least, Fig 1, [0023] Controller 50 may include a microprocessor, processor, or central processing unit) to: receive a first signal indicating that an engine start is required (see at least, [0018] selective start engine 14 in response to an engine start request from one or more vehicle controllers);
analyse, in response to the first signal, an operating conditions signal indicative of one or more operating conditions of the vehicle (see at least, [0038] Blocks 410-416 of FIG. 4 illustrate representative ambient and/or operating conditions that may be used to select or schedule a coupled engine start or a decoupled engine start); wherein the one or more operating conditions comprise a power demand signal indicative of a power request (see at least, Fig 3; [0036] Line 310 represents the maximum torque for current operating conditions…Line 320 represents torque available for propelling the vehicle to provide a torque reserve, indicated at 330, so that there is sufficient torque available to start the engine); select an engine start mode from a predetermined prioritised list of a plurality of engine start modes based on the analysed one or more operating conditions (see at least, [0030] PCU 50 includes a processor programmed to start engine 14 using the starter motor (electric machine
60) for a first engine start after a vehicle key-on or if vehicle speed is less than an associated threshold, and using the electric machine 18 to start the engine if vehicle speed exceeds the associated threshold); and output a control signal to the powertrain system to control the engine start in accordance with the selected engine start mode (see at least, Fig 4, set 460-control selected electric machine to start engine), wherein at least a first of the engine start modes comprises a slip start mode in which the electric traction motor is operated to start the engine (see at least, Fig 4; [0039] When an engine start is requested as represented at 422, the disconnect clutch will be controlled (engaged) for a coupled engine start as represented at 424 and the selected or scheduled electric machine (the traction motor/generator in this case) will be controlled to crank or start the engine as represented at 450) and at least a second of the engine start modes comprises a starter motor mode in which a starter motor is operated to start the engine (see at least, [0030] PCU 50 includes a processor programmed to start engine 14 using the starter motor (electric machine 60) for a first engine start after a vehicle key-on or if vehicle speed is less than an associated threshold).
Regarding claim 2, Zhang teaches the control system of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the control system is configured to select the slip start mode in which the electric traction motor is operated to start the engine if the power demand signal is below a maximum power threshold (see at least, [0029] PCU 50 may select…M/G 18…to crank or start engine 14…Engine starting torque may be reserved from M/G by imposing a higher minimum battery state of charge (SOC) of battery 20, or limiting output torque while operating in the EV mode so that M/G can supply sufficient torque to start engine 14).
Regarding claim 3, Zhang teaches the control system of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more operating conditions comprise at least one of: a speed of the electric traction motor, and a gear selection (see at least, [0026] The controller 50 also controls the timing of gear shifts within the gearbox 24, as well as engagement or disengagement of the disconnect clutch 26 and the torque converter bypass clutch 34).
Regarding claim 7, Zhang teaches the control system of claim 2. Zhang further teaches wherein the control system is configured to select the starter motor start mode if the power demand signal is above or equal to the maximum power threshold (see at least, Fig 3; [0036] Line 310 represents the
maximum torque for current operating conditions…the torque reserve 330 may be released and used by the motor to propel the vehicle if the controller has selected or scheduled another electric machine, such as a starter motor or ISG, to start the engine in response to an engine start request).
Regarding claim 8, Zhang teaches control system of any preceding claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more operating conditions further comprise one or more of: a power output signal from the electric traction motor, and a temperature of a component of the electric traction motor (see at least, [0026] the controller 50 commands torque from the engine 14 and/or the M/G 18; [0032] traction motor (M/G 18 in FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches the control system of claim 1. Zhang further teaches wherein the control system is further configured to select the starter motor start mode if the one of more operating conditions comprise one or more of: a power output signal indicating that the electric traction motor is outputting a power close to its maximum power capability; a power demand signal indicating an increasing power request; a power output signal indicating a reduction in the power capability of the electric traction motor; and a temperature of a component of the electric traction motor 216 is within a predefined temperature range (see at least, Fig 3, [0036] Line 310 represents the maximum torque for current operating conditions…Line 320 represents torque available for propelling the vehicle to provide a torque reserve, indicated at 330, so that there is sufficient torque available to start the engine…the torque reserve 330 may be released and used by the motor to propel the vehicle if the controller has selected or scheduled another electric machine, such as a starter motor or ISG, to start the engine in response to an engine start request).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang teaches a system comprising the control system of claim 1. Zhang further teaches a powertrain system of a vehicle, the powertrain system comprising an engine and an electric traction motor (see at least, [0014] The powertrain 12 includes an engine 14 and…an electric machine such as an electric motor/generator (M/G) 18; [0032] traction motor (M/G 18 in FIG. 1)).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang further teaches a vehicle comprising the control system of claim 1. (see at least, [0022] The powertrain 12 further includes an associated powertrain control unit (PCU) 50. While illustrated as one controller, the PCU 50 may be part of a larger control system and may be
controlled by various other controllers throughout the vehicle 10, such as a vehicle system
controller (VSC)).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang teaches method for controlling an engine start of a hybrid vehicle (see at least, [0006] a method for controlling a hybrid vehicle that may include starting an engine) having a powertrain system (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The HEV 10 includes a powertrain 12) comprising an engine (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The powertrain 12 includes an engine 14) and an electric traction motor (see at least, Fig 1; [0014] The powertrain 12 includes…an electric machine such as an electric motor/generator (M/G) 18; *Examiner interprets an electric motor/generator (M/G) 18 as an electric traction motor, e.g. [0032] traction motor (M/G 18 in FIG. 1)), the powertrain system being operable to control an engine start using a plurality of engine start modes (see at least, Fig 4, step 424-control disconnect clutch for coupled engine start, step 448- control disconnect clutch for decoupled engine start), the method comprising: receiving a first signal indicating that an engine start is required (see at least, [0018] selective start engine 14 in response to an engine start request from one or more vehicle controllers); analysing, in response to the first signal, an operating conditions signal indicative of one or more operating conditions of the vehicle (see at least, [0038] Blocks 410-416 of FIG. 4 illustrate representative ambient and/or operating conditions that may be used to select or schedule a coupled engine start or a decoupled engine start), wherein the one or more operating conditions at least comprise a power demand signal indicative of a power request (see at least, Fig 3; [0036] Line 310
represents the maximum torque for current operating conditions…Line 320 represents torque
available for propelling the vehicle to provide a torque reserve, indicated at 330, so that there is sufficient torque available to start the engine); selecting an engine start mode from a predetermined prioritised list of a plurality of engine start modes based on the analysed one or more operating conditions (see at least, [0030] PCU 50 includes a processor programmed to start engine 14 using the starter motor (electric machine60) for a first engine start after a vehicle key-on or if vehicle speed is less than an associated threshold, and using the electric machine 18 to start the engine if vehicle speed exceeds the associated threshold); and outputting a control signal to the powertrain system to control the engine start in accordance with the selected engine start mode (see at least, Fig 4, set 460-control selected electric machine to start engine), wherein at least a first of the engine start modes comprises a slip start mode in which the electric traction motor is operated to start the engine (see at least, Fig 4; [0039] When an engine start is requested as represented at 422, the disconnect clutch will be controlled (engaged) for a coupled engine start as represented at 424 and the selected or scheduled electric machine (the traction motor/generator in this case) will be controlled to crank or start the engine as represented at 450) and at least a second of the engine start modes comprises a starter motor mode in which a starter motor is operated to start the engine (see at least, [0030] PCU 50
includes a processor programmed to start engine 14 using the starter motor (electric machine 60) for a first engine start after a vehicle key-on or if vehicle speed is less than an associated threshold).+
Regarding claim 15, Zhang further teaches computer readable instructions which, when executed by a computer, are arranged to perform the method according to claim 14 (see at least, [0023] Controller
50 may include a microprocessor, processor, or central processing unit (CPU) in communication with various types of non-transitory computer readable storage devices or media…some of which represent executable instructions, used by the controller in controlling the engine or vehicle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20170259810 A1; hereinafter Zhang) in view of Luo et al. (US 20090171523 A1; hereinafter Luo).
Regarding claim 4, Zhang teaches the control system of claim 3. Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the control system is configured to select a first slip start mode or a second slip start mode in dependence on the speed of the electric traction motor, the gear selection and a rate of change of the power demand signal. However, Luo teaches this limitation.
Luo teaches the control system is configured to select a first slip start mode or a second slip start mode in dependence on the speed of the electric traction motor, the gear selection and a rate of change of the power demand signal (see at least, [0195] only a single drive gear is need to cover a large speed
range, for example from zero km/hr to about 160 km/hr. The traction motor 108 is used to bring the vehicle from a stop to a cruising speed…the starting torque of the traction motor 108 is very large, as shown by line 3806, and is much greater than the starting torque of the engine 104 (line 3808)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the control system is configured to select a first slip start mode or a second slip start mode in dependence on the speed of the electric traction motor, the gear selection and a rate of change of the power demand signal as taught by Luo so that the transmission or gear reduction assembly 1108 does not need to provide a large reduction ratio when compared to a conventional gas-engine vehicle (Luo, [0195]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Zhang and Luo teaches the control system of claim 4. Luo further teaches wherein the control system is configured to select the first slip start mode if the rate of change of the power demand signal is below a threshold level defined by the speed of the electric traction motor and gear selection (see at least, Fig 38; [0196] Based on graph 3806 for the traction motor 108, only a single reduction ratio for the traction motor 108 is needed to permit the traction motor to meet the torque demand over the range of RPM. Because the engine 104 is not used to start vehicle, but rather is only used at high speeds, it can power the vehicle in the hybrid parallel tri-power mode using the same reduction ratio as used by the traction motor 108).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include the control system is configured to select the first slip start mode if the rate of change of the power demand signal is below a threshold level defined by the speed of the electric traction motor and gear selection as taught by Luo so that the transmission or gear reduction assembly 1108 does not need to provide a large reduction ratio when compared to a conventional gas-engine vehicle (Luo, [0195]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Zhang and Luo teaches the control system of claim 5. Luo further teaches wherein the control system is configured to select the second slip start mode if the rate of change of the power demand signal is above the threshold defined by the speed of the electric traction motor and gear selection (see at least, Fig. 37; [0188] the clutch 206 disengages, the traction motor 108 operates the driving wheels 212, the engine 104 provides torque to the electric motor-generator 106, while the electric motor-generator 106 provides electricity to the traction motor 108. Since the hybrid vehicle is accelerating in segments E-F and the power demands of the traction motor 108 are greater than the electrical output of the electric motor-generator 106, the traction motor 108 begins receiving electricity from the battery pack 110).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include select the second slip start mode if the rate of change of the power demand signal is above the threshold defined by the speed of the electric traction motor and gear selection as taught by Luo o that the transmission or gear reduction assembly 1108 does not need to provide a large reduction ratio when compared to a conventional gas-engine vehicle (Luo, [0195]).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang teaches the control system of any preceding claim 1. Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein, in response to the first signal, the control system is configured to: determine, in dependence on one or more operating conditions of the vehicle, a predicted gear selection associated with an engine start; determine, in dependence on the predicted gear selection and the one or more operating conditions, a first portion of a power capability of the electric traction motor for use in offsetting a gear ratio reduction; and output a control signal to the powertrain system to make the first portion of the power capability available for use in offsetting the gear ratio reduction. However, Luo teaches this limitation.
Luo teaches in response to the first signal, the control system is configured to: determine, in dependence on one or more operating conditions of the vehicle, a predicted gear selection associated with an engine start (see at least, [0168] Initially, the vehicle controller 202 determines the present rank or gear mode of the hybrid motor vehicle. The present rank or gear mode may be determined by the vehicle controller 202 in conjunction with the rank unit 1250); determine, in dependence on the predicted gear selection and the one or more operating conditions (see at least, [0150] the vehicle controller 202 may accept a gear-mode input operating signal), a first portion of a power capability of the electric traction motor for use in offsetting a gear ratio reduction (see at least, [0085] The electric traction motor 108 is configured to provide torque to the driving wheels 212 through a gear
reduction assembly and the differential gear assembly 220. The gear reduction assembly and the differential gear assembly 220 may be combined into a single assembly); and output a control signal to the powertrain system to make the first portion of the power capability available for use in offsetting the gear ratio reduction (see at least, [0085] When the clutch 206 is engaged, the electric traction motor 108 may receive additional torque from the engine 104, in addition to receiving electrical
power from either the battery or from the motor-generator 106, depending on the mode and the load conditions).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zhang to include in response to the first signal, the control system is configured to: determine, in dependence on one or more operating conditions of the vehicle, a predicted gear selection associated with an engine start; determine, in dependence on the predicted gear selection and the one or more operating conditions, a first portion of a power capability of the electric traction motor for use in offsetting a gear ratio reduction; and output a control signal to the powertrain system to make the first portion of the power capability available for use in offsetting the gear ratio reduction as taught by Luo o that the transmission or gear reduction assembly 1108 does not need to provide a large reduction ratio when compared to a conventional gas-engine vehicle (Luo, [0195]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Zhang and Luo teaches the control system of claim 10. Zhang further teaches wherein the one or more operating conditions comprise a current gear selection and a speed of the vehicle (see at least, [0038] Blocks 410-416 of FIG. 4 illustrate representative ambient and/or operating conditions that may be used to select or schedule a coupled engine start or a decoupled engine start... block 412 determines whether the vehicle speed is below a corresponding vehicle speed threshold. If the vehicle speed (VSS) is below a corresponding threshold, then a decoupled engine start is scheduled as represented at 44).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ortmann et al. (US 20110118915 A1) discloses a control system for controlling an engine start of a hybrid vehicle outputting a control signal to the powertrain system to control the engine start in accordance with the selected engine start mode and at least a second of the engine start modes comprises a starter motor mode in which a starter motor is operated to start the engine (e.g. [0028] Also at the start of Mode 1, substantially simultaneously with the rapid fill of the disconnect clutch 18, the starter motor 42 is initiated to start cranking the engine 12--see point 52 on FIG. 2. Also during Mode 1, the launch clutch 22 is controlled to start slipping at point 54 with the goal of reaching a target slip speed 56).
/TOYA PETTIEGREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662