Claims 2-4 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. In claim 2, lines 8-9, “the card bottom plate” lacks antecedent basis.
In claim 3, line 2, “the installation opening” lacks antecedent basis from parent claim 1.
In claim 4, line 5, “the card bottom plate” lacks antecedent basis from parent claim 1.
In claim 8, line 4, “and/or” is indefinite due to the slash and be deleted, and the two alternatives should be set forth with --is provided with a display unit or a sound outlet of a sound emitting unit--.
In claim 9, line 4, “a side surface” is the same as one of the “one or more side surfaces” of line 2, and as such is indefinite. Also, the singular “the flat surface” in line 4 lacks antecedent basis. Claims 11-17 have the same indefiniteness.
In claim 10, such appears redundant in view of line 5 of claim 1.
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gross et al. (2012/0285060). Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-13,15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Royal (5,383,293). Claims 1-3, 6, 9-13, 15 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 204659331. Claims 1-6, 9-15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 2891856. Claims 1-4, 6, 9-13, 15 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 2603745. Each discloses a three-dimensional card display box, comprising a box body (100; 10; Figure 1; Figure 3; Figure 3; respectively) wherein the box body comprises a frame body (110; 11; 1; 10; 1 and 2) with a thickness and a card-receiving space (240; receiving 12-20 when united; inside 1; inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3) surrounded by the frame body, and a card (130a, 210a, 210b united as in Figure 6; 13, 15, 17,19-20; 2; 52; 3) placed in the card-receiving space being detachably installed through an inner edge (230; inner perimeter of 11; inner perimeter of 1; inner lower perimeter of 10; lower inner perimeter of 2) of the frame body, wherein the inner edge of the frame body is matched with a shape of an outer edge (perimeter of 130a, 130b, 210a, 210b united; outer edges of 12-13, 15, 17,19-20; outer perimeter of 2; outer perimeter of 52; outer perimeter of 3) of the card, and a card face (210a or 210b; front face of 13; top of 2; top of 52; top of 3) of the card being observable through an observation window (front opening of 110; front opening of 11; 4; top opening of 10; interior of 1) on a front or top surface of the frame body.
As to claim 2, Royal, CN 204659331, CN 2891856 and CN 2603745 each disclose a back surface of the frame body (11; 1; 10; 1 and 2) is provided with an installation opening (back side of 11 in Figure 2; receiving 2; receiving 30, 51, 52 and 20; inner perimeter of 2 and 9) and the installation opening is communicated with the observation window (front opening of 11; 4; top opening of 10; interior of 1) through the card receiving space (receiving 12-20 when united; inside 1; inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3), the installation opening allows the card (12-13, 15, 17,19-20; 2; 52; 3) to pass through to enter the card-receiving space (receiving 12-20 when united; inside 1; inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3), and a limit portion (21 and inner perimeter of 11 engaging 20; engaging the outer perimeter edge of 2; 60 and portion of 10 engaging 52; part of 6) that extends from a front surface to a back surface of the installation opening and the limit portion abuts against the card at a front surface of the card.
As to claim 3, Royal, CN 204659331, CN 2891856 and CN 2603745 each disclose an installation opening (back side of 11 in Figure 2; receiving 2; receiving 30, 51, 52 and 20; inner perimeter of 2 and 9) provided with a groove (engaging the installed 12-13, 15, 17,19-20; lower edge of 1 engaging 2; adjacent 60; below 9) extending towards a front surface, and a part of the outer edge of the installed card (12-13, 15, 17,19-20; 2; 52; 3) is exposed to a user through the groove.
As to claim 4, CN 2891856 and CN 2603745 each disclose a thickness of the card receiving space (inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3) is greater or equal to a thickness of the card (52; 3) and an inner edge of the card receiving space is separated from a three dimensional portion of the card protruding (between the card and 60; between the card and 6) from a card bottom plate.
As to claim 5, CN 2891856 discloses the inner edge (inner lower perimeter of 10) of the frame body provided with at least one recess (between the lower edge of 30 and the card), and a gap (space) exists between a position of the installed card facing the at least one recess and the at least one recess.
As to claim 6, each discloses a cover plate (130b; 12; 4; 40; 5) wherein the cover plate is installed at the observation window (front opening of 110; front opening of 11; 4; top opening of 10; interior of 1) and all or part of the cover plate is a transparent structure or a filter sheet.
As to claim 7, Gross et al. and Royal each disclose the cover plate (130b; 12) is configured to be pushed away from the observation window (front opening of 110; front opening of 11) by a movement of the card.
As to claims 9 and 11-17, each discloses one or more side surfaces (defining 240; engaging 12-20; engaging 2; engaging 51 and 52; engaging 2) of the frame body (110; 11; 1; 10; 1 and 2) are flat surfaces and a projection point of a center of gravity of the card (130a, 210a, 210b united as in Figure 6; 13, 15, 17,19-20; 2; 52; 3) placed in the card-receiving space (240; receiving 12-20 when united; inside 1; inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3) on the one or more side surfaces of the frame body is located on one of the flat surfaces.
As to claims 10 and 18-20, each discloses the card (130a, 210a, 210b united as in Figure 6; 13, 15, 17,19-20; 2; 52; 3) placed in the card receiving space (240; receiving 12-20 when united; inside 1; inside perimeter of 10; part of 2 engaging 3).
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any one of the references employed above against claim 1 further in view of either one of Snoke et al. (5,787,627) and Goodwin (2003/0079393). The previous references do not disclose a display unit nor a sound outlet of a sound emitting unit. However, Snoke et al. disclose a display unit (13) and Goodwin discloses a sound outlet (22) of a sound emitting unit (39) each in similar card display structures. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the card display box of any of the references employed in claim 1 above with a display unit in the manner of Snoke et al. as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide informational indicia, or a sound outlet of a sound emitting unit in the manner of Goodwin as claimed, as such a modification would predictably provide an audio enhancement of the box.
Prior Art not relied upon: Please refer to the additional references listed on the attached PTO-892, which, while not relied upon for the claim rejection, these references are deemed relevant to the claimed invention as a whole.
/BRYON P GEHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3736
Bryon P. Gehman
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3736
BPG