DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/436,905, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-10 are directed to the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol. Application No. 18/436,905 does not provide support for R-1,3-butanediol.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 18/350,563, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-10 are directed to the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol. Application No. 18/350,563 does not provide support for R-1,3-butanediol.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 16/168,703, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-10 are directed to the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol. Application No. 16/168,703 does not provide support for R-1,3-butanediol.
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application No. 15/688,690, fails to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. Claims 1-10 are directed to the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol. Application No. 15/688,690 does not provide support for R-1,3-butanediol.
Hence, Applicant does not receive the benefit of the earlier filing date.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Llosa et al (US 20250011696 A1 published January 9, 2025).
In regard to claims 1 and 6, Llosa et al discloses a beverage comprising water and at least 0.5 percent by volume R-1, 3-butanediol (Claim 1).
In regard to claim 6, Llosa et al discloses a beverage facilitating ketosis ([0001], [0022]).
In regard to claims 2 and 7, Llosa et al discloses the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and no S-1,3-butanediol (Claim 1). Therefore, Llosa et al discloses enantiomerically pure R-1,3-butanediol.
In regard to claims 3 and 8, Llosa et al discloses the beverage comprising R-1,3-butanediol, and substantially no S-1,3-butanediol (Claim 1). Therefore, Llosa et al discloses enantiomerically enriched R-1,3-butanediol.
In regard to claims 4-6, Llosa et al discloses the beverage that does not require the presence of medium chain fatty acids and esters thereof and beta-hydroxybutyrate salts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Llosa et al (US 20250011696 A1 published January 9, 2025).
In regard to claims 9 and 10, Llosa et al discloses that R-1,3-butanediol is present at a concentration of at least 0.5 percent by volume (claim 1), greater than 5 percent by volume (claim 4), greater than 19 percent by (claim 5). Llosa et al does not discloses the dosage of R-1,3-butanediol or the amount of R-1,3-butanediol in grams in the beverage. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to vary the particular concentration/dose of R-1,3-butanediol depending on the desired ketosis initiation and maintenance result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant presents the following arguments:
A person of ordinary skill would have known that R-1,3-butanediol and D-1,3-butanediol are the same compound and that the names are synonyms. A skilled artisan would have understood this in view of two references: 1) "Metabolism of R- and S-1,3-butanediol in perfused livers from meal-fed and starved rats," Biochem. J. (1992) 285:647-653 ("Desrochers"); and 2) "Suppression of Fee Intake after Parenteral Administration of D-b-Hydroxybutyrate in Pygmy Goats," J. Vet. Med. A (2000) 47:9-16 ("Rossi"). Copies of these references are attached for the Examiner's consideration.
Applicant demonstrates that compounds in question are metabolized in liver to D-β-hydroxybutyrate and R-3-Hydroxybutyrate. It is also alleged that D-β-hydroxybutyrate and R-3-Hydroxybutyrate is the same compound. However, this does not prove that R-1,3-butanediol and D-1,3-butanediol are the same compound.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VERA STULII/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1791