Claim Objections
Claim 6 objected to because of the following informalities: It appears reference numeral “30” in line 5 should be “40”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the engaging members" in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is meant to further define “at least one engaging member” previously introduced in line 15 of claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, 16 recite the limitation "vertical storage positions". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is unclear if this is meant to further define “at least one vertical storage position” previously introduced in claim 1.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the lifting units" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 14, it is unclear what is being claimed by “facade elements” and how this element is associated with other elements of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Urlichs (WO 2020/165446), cited by Applicant.
Regarding claim 19, Urlichs discloses a pallet (30) for use in an automated parking system having a transport level with transport modules and vertical lifting units, the pallet comprising:
a support surface (30) for receiving a vehicle;
an underside frame structure (Fig.10) configured to be supported and moved by conveying elements of one of the transport modules; and
a plurality of nubs (35) fixedly attached to the underside frame structure, the nubs being arranged in a predefined pattern corresponding to a pattern (Fig.5) of vertically movable engaging members of one of the vertical lifting units,
wherein each said nub is configured to create a form-fit interlock with one of the vertically movable engaging members (Fig.8A) to secure the pallet against horizontal movement during a vertical lift (Abstract).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-17 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claim 18 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 1 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious an automated parking system for vehicles, the automated parking system comprising a transport level, a plurality of pallets movable in a longitudinal and a transverse direction, each for receiving a vehicle and a plurality of transport modules fixedly installed on the transport level for receiving the pallets, wherein the transport modules are arranged at least partially adjacent to one another in rows and columns, and are configured for selective transport of the pallets in a longitudinal and a transverse direction and for their transfer to a respectively adjacent transport module in the transport direction, a vertical lifting unit is associated with at least one of the transport modules, the vertical lifting unit comprising a framework of a plurality of lifting columns, at least one engaging member is guided in a vertically movable manner on each of the lifting columns, the engaging members are configured to engage with one said pallet positioned on the transport module and, upon a vertical upward movement of the engaging members along the lifting columns, to lift said pallet from the transport module and to hold said pallet in at least one vertical storage position above the transport module, and the transport module located beneath the pallet held in the at least one storage position retains its function for transporting and positioning pallets on the transport level.
The prior art of record fails to disclose or render obvious the claimed invention as set forth in claim 18 and subsequent dependent claims. The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious a lifting station for an automated parking system, the lifting station comprising a transport module configured to horizontally move a pallet by a plurality of conveying elements and a vertical lifting unit associated with the transport module, the vertical lifting unit comprising: o a framework of a plurality of static, vertical lifting columns arranged around the transport module and at least one vertically movable engaging member guided on each of the lifting columns, the engaging members being configured to lift the pallet from the transport module to at least one vertical storage position thereabove, wherein the transport module is configured to retain its function for transporting pallets on a transport level while one said pallet is held in the at least one storage position above the transport module.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Zangerle, Baik, Stierler, Kharkover, Alan, Haag, Segal, Lopez, Choi, Chang, Meiners, Liu, Kim, Agrikli, Schneider, Schween, Bockler and Monteverdi further disclose elements of an automated parking system for vehicles.
/SAUL RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3652
/ASHLEY K ROMANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3652