DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
If applicable, The Office would like to remind Applicant of the time limits set forth under 37 CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: hydraulic mechanism;
mechanical mechanism;
line attachment mechanism;
in the claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 13 include, or depend from claims that include, the limitation(s): "The system of claim 1, further comprising a logging tool configured to be conveyed through the wellbore from a surface of the wellbore via the cable looped around the pulley collar.” Claim 13 depends from claim 1. Claim 1 already includes the limitation(s) “…a cable looped about the pulley collar and configured to enable a logging tool to be conveyed from the wellbore to a surface of the wellbore.”
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grayson (US 3731626).
Regarding claim 14, Grayson teaches: A method for conveying wellbore tools into a wellbore, comprising:
deploying an anchor (Grayson 53),
a pulley collar (Grayson near 45), and
a cable (Grayson 25) into the wellbore via at least one (Grayson 35) of a drill string, a wellbore tractor, a torpedo, or a pump mechanism;
releasing the anchor from the at least one of the drill string or the wellbore tractor;
securing (Grayson 5:6-19) the anchor within the wellbore to anchor the pulley collar in the wellbore;
looping (Grayson near 45) the cable about the pulley collar; and pulling (Grayson 2:47-57) the cable to a surface of the wellbore to form a looped cable (Grayson near 45) in the wellbore.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 8, 10-11, 13, 15 is/are, as best understood, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grayson in view of Lanmon (US 4484628).
Regarding claim 1, Grayson teaches: A pulley-based wellbore deployment system, comprising: a pulley collar (Grayson near 45); an anchor (Grayson 53) coupled to the pulley collar and configured to anchor the pulley collar into a wellbore; and a cable (Grayson 25/near 45) looped about the pulley collar and configured (Grayson Fig. 1) to enable a downhole tool (Grayson comprising 66) to be conveyed from the wellbore to a surface of the wellbore.
But does not expressly state the downhole tool is a logging tool
Lanmon teaches using wireline to convey downhole tools wherein the tool is a perforating gun or a logging tool (Lanmon 4:21-34).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified Grayson to include using a logging tool with the wireline assembly in order to allow the operator to perform a logging operation in a known and predictable way.
Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Grayson and Lanmon teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the anchor includes at least one of a hydraulic mechanism or a mechanical mechanism (Grayson 53) each configured to actuate the anchor to secure the anchor to a wall of the wellbore.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Grayson and Lanmon teaches: The system of claim 1, wherein the cable includes at least one (Grayson 25) of a slickline a wireline, a composite cable, an e-line, and a fiber optic cable.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Grayson and Lanmon teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising a cable spool (Grayson 2:46-57) configured to carry the cable, the cable spool configured to unspool the cable after the cable is looped around the pulley collar.
Regarding claim 13, teaches: The system of claim 1, further comprising a logging tool (Lanmon 4:21-34) configured to be conveyed through the wellbore from a surface of the wellbore via the cable looped around the pulley collar.
Regarding claim 15, Grayson teaches: The method of claim 14, but does not expressly state further comprising: attaching a logging tool to the looped cable; deploying the logging tool into the wellbore via the looped cable; and measuring one or more wellbore parameters via the logging tool.
Lanmon teaches using wireline to convey downhole tools wherein the tool is a perforating gun or a logging tool (Lanmon 4:21-34).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ), to have modified Grayson to include using a logging tool with the wireline assembly in order to allow the operator to perform a logging operation in a known and predictable way.
Additionally, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date (AIA ) or at the time the invention was made (Pre-AIA ).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-7, 9, 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
Sparks (US 4049365) a pulley-based wellbore deployment system, comprising: a pulley collar; an anchor coupled to the pulley collar and configured to anchor the pulley collar into a wellbore; and a cable looped about the pulley collar and configured to enable a tool to be conveyed from the wellbore to a surface of the wellbore.
Wallace (US 1186351) teaches a downhole tool comprising a wireline looped around a plurality of pullies on the downhole tool.
Nackerud (US 6454024) teaches a downhole tool comprising a looped wireline attachment at the top of the tool, the tool configured to be pulled through a bit at the bottom of a BHA.
Conclusion
/David Carroll/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674