DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The amendment to the specification has rendered the objection of the previous office action moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The cancellation of claim 2 has rendered the 112 rejection of the previous office action moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maddaleni et al. (US 8215086).
As to claim 1, Maddaleni discloses a device for manufacturing rolls of web material with outer wrapping (Abstract). Maddaleni disclose that the device comprises of a plurality of material supply rollers 3, 5 (with centers spaced horizontally apart from one another), at least one tape head assembly including a tape hub B (in the form of a reel; C9, L55-60) to support a roll of tape, a plurality of guide rollers 53 spaced from one another in a vertical direction to guide tape to a material roll for wrapping, wherein the plurality of guide rollers are aligned along a vertical axis; wherein the tape hub B is at least partially offset from said vertical axis in a horizontal direction perpendicular to the vertical direction (Fig. 5A, 5B, 5C and 5D below).
Expressions relating the apparatus to contents thereof during an intended operation are of no significance in determining patentability of the apparatus claim. Ex parte Thibault, 164 USPQ 666, 667 (Bd. App. 1969).
A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). Here, the device of Maddaleni contains all of the structural limitations of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maddaleni et al. (US 8215086) in view of Raber (US 2927710).
As to claims 4-6 and 8-9, the apparatus of claim 1 is taught as seen above. Maddaleni fails to specifically teach or disclose the mechanism which holds the reel of tape material in place. It is the position of the Examiner that using a nut, hub bearing and hub block is known and conventional in the art and would have been obvious at the time of the invention. Raber discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to use a hub bearing and hub block to hold and control the reel out of a tape material (C5, L72 – C6, L29). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the hub bearing and hub block of Raber in the apparatus taught by Maddaleni because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional means for holding and controlling the reel out of a tape material in a taping apparatus. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Furthermore, it is the position of the Examiner that using a nut/holding means is well known and conventional in the art to hold a roll of material in place along a rotational axis on a reel and would have been obvious to use in the apparatus of the references as combined, wherein the hub block and nut control the position of the tape reel along the rotational axis.
As to claim 7, the apparatus of claim 6 is taught as seen above. It is the position of the examiner that using a main plate to hold the components of a taping apparatus and it would have been obvious to affix the tape hub components to said main plate.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,559,335 in view of Maddaleni et al. (US 8215086).
Claim 1 of ‘335 recites all of the limitations of claims 1 and 3 except that it does not recite that the tape hub is at least partially offset from the vertical axis of the guide rollers and the material support rollers are spaced apart from one another in a horizontal direction. Maddaleni discloses that it is known and conventional in the art to offset a tape hub from any vertical and horizontal axes that the guide rollers reside upon as well as spacing material support rollers apart from one another in a horizontal direction (Fig. 5A, 5B, 5C and 5D). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use the tape hub placement and material support roller spacing of Maddaleni in the apparatus taught by claim 1 of ‘335 because one of ordinary skill in the art would have been able to carry out such a substitution to achieve the predictable result of providing a known successful and conventional tape hub placement and material support roller placement in a taping apparatus. “The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 21 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-20 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 3, none of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited apparatus with first second and third guide rollers aligned along a vertical axis as currently claimed.
As to claim 21, the closest prior art of Maddaleni et al. (US 8215086) fails to teach the use of material support rollers which lie on a common horizontal axis as currently claimed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 10 recites a taping station to apply tape to one or more rolls of material, the taping station comprising: a plurality of material support rollers to support the one or more rolls of material, and at least one tape head assembly including (i) a main plate supporting a tape hub and a plurality of guide rollers, (ii) a mounting post arranged above the main plate in a vertical direction, and (iii) a spring extending in the vertical direction from the mounting post to the main plate to bias the main plate against linear translation in the vertical direction away from the mounting post. None of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited taping station that comprises of a tape head assembly with a main plate with a mounting post arranged above the main plate in a vertical direction, and a spring extending in the vertical direction from the mounting post to the main plate to bias the main plate against linear translation in the vertical direction away from the mounting post as currently claimed.
Claim 17 recites a taping station to apply tape to one or more rolls of material, the taping station comprising: a plurality of material support rollers to support the one or more rolls of material, and at least one tape head assembly including a pair of guide clips to support the at least one tape head assembly for linear movement along a pair of support structures, a main plate supporting a tape hub and a plurality of guide rollers, a mounting post interconnected with one of the pair of guide clips and arranged above the main plate in a vertical direction, and a spring extending in the vertical direction from the mounting post to the main plate to bias the main plate against linear translation in the vertical direction away from the mounting post. None of the prior art teaches or discloses the recited tape head assembly comprising of a mounting post interconnected with one of the pair of guide clips and arranged above the main plate in a vertical direction, and a spring extending in the vertical direction from the mounting post to the main plate to bias the main plate against linear translation in the vertical direction away from the mounting post.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 2, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 8-9 that Maddaleni fails to teach or disclose that the apparatus has support rollers spaced apart from one another in the horizontal direction as currently claimed. This argument is not persuasive since, as seen in the rejection above, Maddaleni discloses that the taping station has at least two material support rollers 3 and 5 spaced apart from one another in the horizontal direction as currently claimed.
Applicant argues on pages 10-11 that Maddelani as modified by Raber fails to render claim 4 unpatentable. Applicant further asserts that since amended claim 1 is not anticipated by Maddelani, the rejection of claim 4 fails as well. This argument is not persuasive since, as seen in the rejection above, Maddaleni discloses that the taping station has at least two material support rollers 3 and 5 spaced apart from one another in the horizontal direction as currently recited in claim 1.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the double patenting rejection of claims 1 and 3 is not persuasive for the reasons given in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER C CAILLOUET/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745