DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Therefore, the “a controller” in claims 1 and 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, the phrase “an evaporator coila condenser coil” is understood to include a typographical error and for examination purposes will be interpreted as -- an evaporator coil, a condenser coil --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the first pressure” in line 17. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the first pressure” will be interpreted as -- a first pressure --
Claim 1 recites the limitation “refrigerant” in line 22. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “to introduce refrigerant” will be interpreted as -- to introduce a refrigerant --
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the HVAC low port” in lines 12-13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “the HVAC high port” in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “the reference volume chamber” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the reference volume chamber” will be interpreted as -- the reference volume --
Claim 3 recites the limitations “the HVAC high port” and “the HVAC low port” in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding claim 5, the term “maximum” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “maximum” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. This term renders claim 5 indefinite because it is unclear what “the vacuum level does not exceed a maximum allowable threshold” is. Thus, as used to qualify allowable vacuum threshold level, this term renders the same indeterminate and the claim (and all claims depending therefrom) indefinite with regard to the scope of protection sought thereby.
Regarding claims 7, 14, and 20, the claims recite “another known volume” which renders the claim indefinite because the phrase “another known volume” does not allow to reasonably determine the metes and bounds of the claims.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “pressure of the pressurized gas” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “to regulate pressure of the pressurized gas” will be interpreted as -- to regulate a pressure of the pressurized gas --
Claim 9 recites the limitation “temperature” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 recites the limitation “introduction of refrigerant” in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “introduction of refrigerant” will be interpreted as -- an introduction of refrigerant --
Claim 12 recites the limitation “the HVAC line set” in lines 3-4 in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitations “the HVAC high port” and “the HVAC low port” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 15 recites the limitation “the plurality of valves” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “the plurality of valves” will be interpreted as -- a plurality of valves --
Claim 16 recites the limitation “refrigerant” in line 24. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, the phrase “introducing refrigerant into the HVAC line set” will be interpreted as -- introducing a refrigerant into the HVAC line set --
Regarding claim 17, the claim recites “wherein performing the purge operation further comprises regulating the inert gas to a predetermined pressure” which renders the claim indefinite. Claim 16 from which claim 17 depends discloses flowing “an inert gas through the HVAC line set at a first predetermined pressure” during a purge operation. Therefore, in view of claim 16, claim 17 is indefinite because it is not entirely clear if the disclosed “predetermined pressure” is referencing the previously disclosed “first predetermined pressure” or an entirely different pressure. More clarity is requested.
Claim 19 recites the limitation “the HVAC line set” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 2, 4, 6, 10, 13, and 18 are also rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-8, 10-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa et al. (JP2021018042A, herein after referred to as Suwa) in view of Misawa et al. (JP2005076939A, herein after referred to as Misawa).
Regarding claim 1, Suwa teaches a system (refrigerant work support device 1 Fig. 1) for analyzing and charging an HVAC line set (inlet and outlet lines of refrigerant unit 31 Fig. 8), comprising: an input connector (port 135 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0024]) configured to receive a pressurized gas (the refrigerant stored in refrigerant charging cylinder 23 Fig. 8) from an external source (refrigerant charging cylinder 23 Fig. 8); at least one port (ports 131-132 Fig. 7-8 and paragraph [0021]) configured to connect to a high-pressure side (high-pressure service port 312 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]) or a low-pressure side of the HVAC line set (low-pressure service port 311 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]); a reference volume (recovery cylinder 26 Fig.8) fluidly connectable to the line set (Fig. 8); a plurality of electronically controlled valves (valves SV1-SV7 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]) configured to selectively establish fluid pathways (correspond to the paths defined by the refrigerant pipes illustrated in Fig. 8) between the input connector, the reference volume, the at least one port, and a vent (the disclosed “port for purging” in paragraph [0019]); a vacuum connection (port 133 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0022]) configured to connect to a vacuum pump (vacuum pump 22 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0022]); a precision pressure sensor (pressure sensors 17-18 Fig. 8) configured to measure pressure (paragraph [0023]) within the system (paragraph [0023]); and a controller (control unit 16 Fig. 9) configured to: operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a purge mode (step S337 Fig. 11 and paragraph [0035]) to flow an inert gas (disclosed “nitrogen” in paragraph [0035]) through the HVAC line set via both the HVAC high port and the HVAC low port (paragraph [0034] and Fig. 8); operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a leak test mode (Airtightness Test Fig. 11) to pressurize the HVAC line set to a second pressure (disclosed “airtight pressurization pressure” in paragraph [0034]) higher than a first pressure (the disclosed pressure value of “zero” in paragraph [0034]) and monitor for pressure decay (paragraphs [0035] to [0036]); operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a vacuum mode (vacuuming Fig. 13) to evacuate the HVAC line set through the vacuum connection (paragraphs [0038] to [0044]); and operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a charge mode (Refrigerant Charging Fig. 14) to introduce a refrigerant (paragraph [0047]) into the HVAC line set through the input connector (paragraph [0047]).
Suwa teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the controller is configured to operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a measurement mode to calculate a volume of the HVAC line”.
However, Misawa teaches a controller (control unit 84 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0058] corresponds to the controller of Suwa) is configured to operate a plurality of electronically controlled valves (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 4 where on-off valve 1a, cooling expansion valves 2a, and on-off valve 43 correspond to the plurality of electronically controlled valves of Suwa) in a measurement mode (the measurement steps described in paragraph [0040]) to calculate a volume of an HVAC line (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040] where refrigerant piping 3 Fig. 4 corresponds to the HVAC line of Suwa) to calculate the amount of refrigerant to be filled into the refrigerant piping of the air conditioning system (paragraph [0039]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Suwa to include “the controller is configured to operate the plurality of electronically controlled valves in a measurement mode to calculate a volume of the HVAC line” in view of the teachings of Misawa to calculate the amount of refrigerant to be filled into the refrigerant piping of the air conditioning system.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein the plurality of electronically controlled valves comprises a first valve (valve SV5 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0024] of Suwa) positioned downstream of the input connector (Figs. 7-8 of Suwa) and configured to selectively direct the pressurized gas through different pathways (the refrigerant lines connected to temperature sensors 17-18 Fig. 8 of Suwa) within the system (Figs. 7-8 of Suwa).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach wherein the plurality of electronically controlled valves further comprises a second valve (on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 of Misawa) positioned between the reference volume (Fig. 4 of Misawa where gas suction container 14 corresponds to the reference volume of Suwa) and a fluid pathway (refrigerant piping 3 Fig. 4 of Misawa) connecting the HVAC high port and the HVAC low port (Fig. 4 of Misawa).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein operating the plurality of electronically controlled valves in the measurement mode (paragraph [0040] of Misawa) includes operating the plurality of electronically controlled valves in the measurement mode to pressurize the HVAC line set to the second pressure (paragraph [0040] of Misawa where the value of the pressure when “the space inside the refrigerant piping 3” is sealed corresponds to the second pressure of Suwa), isolate the HVAC line set (paragraph [0040] of Misawa), open a valve (on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0040] of Misawa) connecting the HVAC line set to the reference volume (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0040] of Misawa where gas suction container 14 corresponds to the reference volume of Suwa), and calculate a volume of the HVAC line set (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040] of Misawa) based on a pressure drop (understood to be the change in pressure as the pressure goes from P5 to P6 as described in paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5 of Misawa) between the HVAC line set and the reference volume (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5 of Misawa).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach wherein the reference volume is a reference volume chamber (inner volume of gas suction container 14 Fig. 4 of Misawa).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach further comprising one or more regulators (valves SV1-SV2 Figs. 7-8 of Suwa) configured to regulate a pressure of the pressurized gas (paragraph [0048] of Suwa) at different pressure levels (paragraphs [0048] and [0052] of Suwa) for different operating modes (paragraphs [0048] and [0052] of Suwa).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a line set length based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set”.
However, in a different embodiment (Fig. 3), Misawa teaches a method that employs a controller to calculate the volume of a refrigerant pipe using the known volume of an external container and the known cross-sectional area of the refrigerant pipe (see paragraphs [0037] and [0058]).
Since
v
o
l
u
m
e
=
l
e
n
g
t
h
×
c
r
o
s
s
-
s
e
c
t
i
o
n
a
l
a
r
e
a
, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a line set length based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Misawa to determine the amount of refrigerant to be filled into the refrigerant piping of the air conditioning system.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is further configured to determine a refrigerant charge amount (disclosed “amount of refrigerant to be filled” in paragraph [0058] of Misawa) and control an introduction of refrigerant (the filling process described in paragraph [0058] of Misawa) during the charge mode until the determined refrigerant charge amount has been added to the HVAC line set (paragraph [0058] of Misawa).
Regarding claim 12, Misawa teaches a system (the system illustrated in Fig. 4) for determining line set volume (paragraph [0040]), comprising: a reference volume (gas suction container 14 Fig. 4) fluidly coupled to an HVAC high port (the port of outdoor unit 1 that is connected to on-off valve 1a Fig. 4) and an HVAC low port (the port of outdoor unit 1 that is connected to on-off valve 1b Fig. 4); and a controller (control unit 84 Fig. 12 and paragraph [0058]) configured to: operate a measurement mode (the measurement process described in paragraph [0040]) to pressurize an HVAC line set (refrigerant piping 3 Fig. 4) to a predetermined pressure (paragraph [0040] where the value of the pressure when “the space inside the refrigerant piping 3” is sealed corresponds to the predetermined pressure), isolate the HVAC line set (paragraph [0040]), introduce the reference volume (paragraph [0040]), and calculate a volume of the HVAC line set (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040]) based on a pressure drop (understood to be the change in pressure as the pressure goes from P5 to P6 as described in paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5) between the HVAC line set and the reference volume (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5).
Misawa teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the system comprising: an input connector configured to receive a pressurized gas from an external source; at least one port configured to connect to a high-pressure side or a low-pressure side of the HVAC line set”.
However, Suwa teaches a system (refrigerant work support device 1 Fig. 1 corresponds to the system of Misawa) comprising: an input connector (port 135 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0024]) configured to receive a pressurized gas (the refrigerant stored in refrigerant charging cylinder 23 Fig. 8) from an external source (refrigerant charging cylinder 23 Fig. 8); at least one port (ports 131-132 Fig. 7-8 and paragraph [0021]) configured to connect to a high-pressure side (high-pressure service port 312 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]) or a low-pressure side of an HVAC line set (low-pressure service port 311 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021] where the inlet and outlet lines of refrigerant unit 31 correspond to the HVAC line set of Misawa) to enable refrigeration work to be performed while multiple refrigeration work-related devices are connected simultaneously (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of Misawa to include “the system comprising: an input connector configured to receive a pressurized gas from an external source; at least one port configured to connect to a high-pressure side or a low-pressure side of the HVAC line set” in view of the teachings of Suwa to enable refrigeration work to be performed while multiple refrigeration work-related devices are connected simultaneously.
Regarding claim 13, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a line set length based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set and a known cross-sectional area of tubing comprising the HVAC line set”.
However, in a different embodiment (Fig. 3), Misawa teaches a method that employs a controller to calculate the volume of a refrigerant pipe using the known volume of an external container and the known cross-sectional area of the refrigerant pipe (see paragraphs [0037] and [0058]).
Since
v
o
l
u
m
e
=
l
e
n
g
t
h
×
c
r
o
s
s
-
s
e
c
t
i
o
n
a
l
a
r
e
a
, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “wherein the controller is further configured to calculate a line set length based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set and a known cross-sectional area of tubing comprising the HVAC line set” in view of the teachings of a different embodiment of Misawa to determine the amount of refrigerant to be filled into the refrigerant piping of the air conditioning system.
Regarding claim 14, the combined teachings teach wherein the reference volume is a reference volume chamber (inner volume of gas suction container 14 Fig. 4 of Misawa).
Regarding claim 15, the combined teachings teach wherein a plurality of valves (on-off valve 1a, cooling expansion valves 2a, and on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 of Misawa) comprises at least one valve (on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 of Misawa) configured to selectively connect the reference volume to the line set (Fig. 4 and paragraph [0040] of Misawa).
Regarding claim 19, Suwa teaches a method (the method illustrated in Figs. 10-16) for using a unified apparatus (refrigerant work support device 1 Fig. 1) having at least one port (ports 131-132 Fig. 7-8 and paragraph [0021]), a reference volume (recovery cylinder 26 Fig.8), and a plurality of electronically controlled valves (valves SV1-SV7 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]), the method comprising: connecting the at least one port to a high-pressure side (high-pressure service port 312 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]) or a low-pressure side of the HVAC line set (low-pressure service port 311 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]).
Suwa teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “the method is a method for determining line set volume and comprises performing a volume measurement operation by: evacuating the reference volume to a vacuum state; pressurizing the HVAC line set to a predetermined pressure through the at least one port; isolating the pressurized HVAC line set; opening a valve to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume; measuring a pressure drop; and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set based on the predetermined pressure, the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume”.
However, Misawa teaches a method (the method described in paragraph [0040] corresponds to the method of Suwa) for determining line set volume (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040]) and comprises performing a volume measurement operation (the measurement steps described in paragraph [0040]) by: evacuating a reference volume (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 4 where gas suction container 14 corresponds to the reference volume of Suwa) to a vacuum state (paragraph [0040]); pressurizing an HVAC line set (refrigerant piping 3 Fig. 4 corresponds to the HVAC line set of Suwa) to a predetermined pressure (paragraph [0040] where the value of the pressure when “the space inside the refrigerant piping 3” is sealed corresponds to the predetermined pressure) through at least one port (Fig. 4 where the port that connects pipe 3a to on-off valve 1a corresponds to the at least one port of Suwa); isolating the pressurized HVAC line set (paragraph [0040]); opening a valve (on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0040]) to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume (paragraph [0040]); measuring a pressure drop (understood to be the change in pressure as the pressure goes from P5 to P6 as described in paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5); and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040]) based on the predetermined pressure (paragraph [0040]), the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume (disclosed “container volume V5” in paragraph [0040]) to accurately calculate the amount of refrigerant to be charged (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Suwa to include “the method is a method for determining line set volume and comprises performing a volume measurement operation by: evacuating the reference volume to a vacuum state; pressurizing the HVAC line set to a predetermined pressure through the at least one port; isolating the pressurized HVAC line set; opening a valve to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume; measuring a pressure drop; and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set based on the predetermined pressure, the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume” in view of the teachings of Misawa to accurately calculate the amount of refrigerant to be charged.
Regarding claim 20, the combined teachings teach wherein the reference volume is a reference volume chamber (inner volume of gas suction container 14 Fig. 4 of Misawa).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa and Misawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Pearl et al. (US 20160290694 A1, herein after referred to as Pearl).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach further comprising a vacuum sensor (pressure sensors 17 and 18 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0040] of Suwa) configured to monitor vacuum levels (paragraphs [0040] to [0043] of Suwa) during the vacuum mode (paragraphs [0040] to [0043] of Suwa), wherein the controller is configured to maintain evacuation (paragraph [0042] of Suwa) until the vacuum sensor indicates a vacuum level (disclosed “initial confirmation pressure” in paragraph [0042] of Suwa) below a predetermined threshold (understood to be any pressure value above the disclosed “initial confirmation pressure” in paragraph [0042] of Suwa).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the vacuum sensor is a micron vacuum sensor”.
However, Pearl teaches a vacuum sensor (the disclosed “accurate gauge” in paragraph [0004] corresponds to the vacuum sensor of Suwa) is a micron vacuum sensor (disclosed “micron gauge” in paragraph [0004]) to effectively measure vacuum (paragraph [0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “the vacuum sensor is a micron vacuum sensor” in view of the teachings of Pearl to effectively measure vacuum.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the controller is further configured to isolate the vacuum connection after achieving the predetermined threshold (paragraph [0042] of Suwa) and monitor the micron vacuum sensor for a specified duration (disclosed “completion time” in paragraph [0043] of Suwa) to verify that the vacuum level does not exceed an allowable threshold (paragraph [0043] of Suwa where a pressure falling “below the completion confirmation pressure” would exceed the allowable threshold).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa and Misawa as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Van Steenburgh, Jr. et al. (US 5465590, herein after referred to as Van).
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “further comprising a purge temperature sensor positioned proximate to the vent and configured to monitor temperature during the purge mode”.
However, Van teaches further comprising a purge temperature sensor (thermostat 80 Fig. 1) positioned proximate to a vent (Fig. 1 where air outlet conduit 54 corresponds to the vent of Suwa) and configured to monitor temperature (Col. 8 lines 40-48) during a purge mode (the purging process described in Col. 8 lines 40-48 corresponds to the purge mode of Suwa) to open the purge valve at a predetermined temperature (Col. 8 lines 39-42).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the apparatus of the combined teachings to include “further comprising a purge temperature sensor positioned proximate to the vent and configured to monitor temperature during the purge mode” in view of the teachings of Van to open the purge valve at a predetermined temperature.
Furthermore, it is understood, claim 9 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configure to...”. The Applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa, in view of McManus (US 5098006), and in further view of Misawa.
Regarding claim 16, Suwa teaches a method (the method illustrated in Figs. 10-16) for analyzing and charging an HVAC line set (inlet and outlet lines of refrigerant unit 31 Fig. 8) using a unified apparatus (refrigerant work support device 1 Fig. 1) having at least one port (ports 131-132 Fig. 7-8 and paragraph [0021]), a reference volume (recovery cylinder 26 Fig.8), and a plurality of electronically controlled valves (valves SV1-SV7 Fig. 7 and paragraph [0020]), the method comprising: connecting the at least one port to a high-pressure side (high-pressure service port 312 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]) or a low-pressure side of the HVAC line set (low-pressure service port 311 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0021]); performing a purge operation (step S337 Fig. 11 and paragraph [0035]) by operating the plurality of electronically controlled valves to flow an inert gas (disclosed “nitrogen” in paragraph [0035]) through the HVAC line set at a first predetermined pressure (disclosed “set airtight pressurization pressure” in paragraph [0035]) via the at least one port (paragraph [0035] and Fig. 8); performing a leak test operation (Airtightness Test Fig. 11) by pressurizing the HVAC line set to a third predetermined pressure (disclosed “airtight pressurization pressure” in paragraph [0034]) higher than a second predetermined pressure (the disclosed pressure value of “zero” in paragraph [0034]) and monitoring for pressure decay (paragraphs [0035] to [0036]) over a specified time period (disclosed “airtight pressurization time” in paragraph [0035]); performing a vacuum operation (vacuuming Fig. 13) by evacuating the HVAC line set through a vacuum connection (port 133 Fig. 8 and paragraphs [0038] to [0044]) and monitoring vacuum levels (paragraphs [0038] to [0044]); and performing a charge operation (Refrigerant Charging Fig. 14) by introducing a refrigerant (paragraph [0047]) into the HVAC line set (paragraph [0047]).
Suwa teaches the invention as described above but fails to explicitly teach “performing the purge operation during brazing operations”.
However, McManus teaches performing a purge operation (the disclosed “gas purge” in Col. 2 lines 16-27 corresponds to the purge operation of Suwa) during brazing operations (Col. 2 lines 16-27) to prevent oxidation (Col. 2 lines 16-27).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of Suwa to include “performing the purge operation during brazing operations” in view of the teachings of McManus to prevent oxidation.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “performing a volume measurement operation by: evacuating the reference volume to a vacuum state; pressurizing the HVAC line set to the second predetermined pressure through the at least one port; isolating the pressurized HVAC line set; opening a valve to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume; measuring a pressure drop; and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set based on the second predetermined pressure, the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume; performing the charge operation based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set”.
However, Misawa teaches performing a volume measurement operation (the measurement steps described in paragraph [0040]) by: evacuating a reference volume (paragraph [0040] and Fig. 4 where gas suction container 14 corresponds to the reference volume of Suwa) to a vacuum state (paragraph [0040]); pressurizing an HVAC line set (refrigerant piping 3 Fig. 4 corresponds to the HVAC line set of Suwa) to a second predetermined pressure (paragraph [0040] of Misawa where the value of the pressure when “the space inside the refrigerant piping 3” is sealed corresponds to the second predetermined pressure of Suwa) through at least one port (Fig. 4 where the port that connects pipe 3a to on-off valve 1a corresponds to the at least one port of Suwa); isolating the pressurized HVAC line set (paragraph [0040]); opening a valve (on-off valve 43 Fig. 4 and paragraph [0040]) to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume (paragraph [0040]); measuring a pressure drop (understood to be the change in pressure as the pressure goes from P5 to P6 as described in paragraph [0040] and Fig. 5); and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set (disclosed “volume V7” in paragraph [0040]) based on the second predetermined pressure (paragraph [0040]), the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume (disclosed “container volume V5” in paragraph [0040]); performing the charge operation based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set (paragraph [0040]) to accurately calculate the amount of refrigerant to be charged (paragraph [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “performing a volume measurement operation by: evacuating the reference volume to a vacuum state; pressurizing the HVAC line set to the second predetermined pressure through the at least one port; isolating the pressurized HVAC line set; opening a valve to fluidly connect the pressurized HVAC line set to the evacuated reference volume; measuring a pressure drop; and calculating a volume of the HVAC line set based on the second predetermined pressure, the pressure drop, and a known volume of the reference volume; performing the charge operation based on the calculated volume of the HVAC line set” in view of the teachings of Misawa to accurately calculate the amount of refrigerant to be charged.
Regarding claim 18, the combined teachings teach wherein performing the vacuum operation further comprises: monitoring (paragraphs [0040] to [0043] of Suwa) a micron vacuum sensor (pressure sensors 17 and 18 Fig. 8 and paragraph [0040] of Suwa) until a vacuum level (disclosed “initial confirmation pressure” in paragraph [0042] of Suwa) below a predetermined threshold (understood to be any pressure value above the disclosed “initial confirmation pressure” in paragraph [0042] of Suwa) is achieved (paragraph [0042] of Suwa); isolating the vacuum connection from the HVAC line set (paragraph [0043] of Suwa); and monitoring the vacuum level for a specified duration (disclosed “completion time” in paragraph [0043] of Suwa).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suwa, McManus, and Misawa as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (CN213764362U, herein after referred to as Yu).
Regarding claim 17, the combined teachings teach wherein performing the purge operation further comprises regulating the inert gas to a predetermined pressure (disclosed “set airtight pressurization pressure” in paragraph [0035] of Suwa).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to explicitly teach “the method further comprises monitoring temperature and pressure during the brazing operations”.
However, Yu teaches a method (the method described in paragraph [40] corresponds to the method of Suwa) further comprises monitoring temperature (paragraph [40]) and pressure (paragraph [40]) during brazing operations (paragraph [40]) to ensure operational safety (paragraph [40]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effectively filed date to modify the method of the combined teachings to include “the method further comprises monitoring temperature and pressure during the brazing operations” in view of the teachings of Yu to ensure operational safety.
Conclusion
/SAMBA NMN GAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763