Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “reel assembly” in claims 1, 5, and 12; “anchor assembly”, “static load assembly”, “guide assembly”, and “dynamic load assembly” in claims 1, 6-9, 12, 17-18; and “width adjustment assembly” in claim 15.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The term “assembly” followed by functional language is a generic placeholder for the phrase “means for”. For examination purposes, “reel assembly” in claims 1, 5, and 12 is construed as a ratchet-controlled reel (Specification, Paragraph 40). For examination purposes, “anchor assembly” in claims 1, 6-9, 12, 17-18 is construed as a “static load assembly” (Specification, Paragraph 45, locking bearing), “guide assembly” (Specification, Paragraph 45, guide rod), and “dynamic load assembly” (Specification, Paragraph 48, constant force spring). For examination purposes, “width adjustment assembly” in claim 15 is interpreted as rails and attachment sliders (Specification, Paragraph 41).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 12, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A).
Regarding claim 1, Wang discloses an apparatus (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: table 2,3 emergency/surgical and foldable bed-chair comprising a backrest upper surface 3 with flexible strap 24 that goes into slot hole 23 of block 22 of backrest 3 behind upper surface backrest 3 and block 22. The strap 24 is then connected to a controlled ratchet reel 26 gear 33 that is also anchored via static linear slide 27,30,32 as well as dynamic spring 31 ) , comprising: a backrest 3; and at least one restriction assembly 24 comprising: a flexible strap 24 configured to wrap around a subject abutting a front of the backrest 3 ; a reel assembly 26,33 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: back-controlled ratchet reel 26-gear 33; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) disposed behind the backrest 3 and configured to tighten the flexible strap 24 wrapped around the subject; and an anchor assembly 27,30,31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above ) configured to hold the reel assembly apart from the backrest 3.
Regarding claim 2, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the backrest comprises at least one opening 23 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6) configured to permit the flexible strap 24 to pass therethrough.
Regarding claim 4, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the reel assembly 26,33 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: back-controlled ratchet reel 26-gear 33)comprises a ratcheting reel assembly 26,33.
Regarding claim 5, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the reel assembly 26,33 is configured to permit adjustment of a width (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: width of strap against user is adjusted when tightened and loosened accordingly by reel 26 gear 33) of the flexible strap 24 to conform to a width of the subject.
Regarding claim 6, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the anchor assembly 27,30,31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3) comprises a static load assembly 32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear rack movement and fixing via teeth of rack 32 ; this is an equivalent structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) configured to fix the reel assembly 26,33 into a fixed position relative to the backrest 3.
Regarding claim 7, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses a guide assembly 27,30 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above ) configured to enable movement of the reel assembly 26,33 toward and away from the backrest 3; wherein the static load assembly 32 is configured to lock the reel assembly 26,33 into the fixed position along the guide assembly 27,30.
Regarding claim 12, Wang discloses an apparatus (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: table 2,3 emergency/surgical and foldable bed-chair comprising a backrest upper surface 3 with flexible strap 24 that goes into slot hole 23 of block 22 of backrest 3 behind upper surface backrest 3 and block 22. The strap 24 is then connected to a controlled ratchet reel 26 gear 33 that is also anchored via static linear slide 27,30,32 as well as dynamic spring 31 ) , comprising: a backrest 3; and at least one restriction assembly 24 comprising: a flexible strap 24 configured to wrap around a subject abutting a front of the backrest 3 ; a guide assembly 27,30 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from and behind the upper surface backrest 3; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above ) disposed behind the backrest 3; a reel assembly 26,33 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: back-controlled ratchet reel 26-gear 33; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) disposed behind the backrest 3 and configured to tighten the flexible strap 24 wrapped around the subject; and an anchor assembly 31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above ) configured to hold the reel assembly 22,33 apart from the backrest 3.
Regarding claim 14, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further disclose wherein the reel assembly 26,33 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: back-controlled ratchet reel 26-gear 33; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) comprises: a first attachment assembly 22 ((Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: reel 26 gear 33 attaches to strap 24 within first block 22) configured to connect to the flexible strap 24; and wherein the first attachment assembly 22 comprises a ratchet assembly 26,33 configured to reel the flexible strap 24 in to apply tension to the flexible strap 24.
Regarding claim 17, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the anchor assembly 27,30,31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3) comprises a static load assembly 32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear rack movement and fixing via teeth of rack 32 ; this is an equivalent structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) configured to fix the reel assembly 26,33 into a fixed position relative to the guide assembly 27,30 and thereby relative to the backrest 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A), as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, in view of Porter et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130269711).
Regarding claim 3, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the flexible strap comprises a pressure sensor.
Porter teaches an analogous apparatus (Paragraphs 20, 23, 33 and Figures 1 and 7: supine patient support assembly with backboard 13 having flexible strap 43 with attached pressure sensor 56,60) wherein the flexible strap 43 comprises a pressure sensor 56,60.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible strap of Wang, to additionally include a pressure sensor, as taught by Porter, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced flexible strap what indicated the pressure generated by the strap against the torso against the backrest to optimize user strap tightness and comfort control (Porter, Paragraph 33).
Regarding claim 13, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the flexible strap comprises a pressure sensor.
Porter teaches an analogous apparatus (Paragraphs 20, 23, 33 and Figures 1 and 7: supine patient support assembly with backboard 13 having flexible strap 43 with attached pressure sensor 56,60) wherein the flexible strap 43 comprises a pressure sensor 56,60.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flexible strap of Wang, to additionally include a pressure sensor, as taught by Porter, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced flexible strap what indicated the pressure generated by the strap against the torso against the backrest to optimize user strap tightness and comfort control (Porter, Paragraph 33).
Claims 8-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A), as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, in view of Shavell et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20170158457).
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the anchor assembly 27,30,31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3) comprises a dynamic load assembly 31 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: biasing spring 31; this is an equivalent structure to the constant force spring as defined in the 35 USC 112f analysis above) configured to apply a biasing load to the reel assembly 26,33 in a direction away from the backrest 3 to hold the reel assembly 26,33 apart from the backrest 3.
However, Wang fails to explicitly disclose the dynamic load assembly configured to apply a constant load to the reel assembly.
Shavell teaches an analogous reel assembly (Paragraphs 35-36 and Figure 2: reel spool 104 for strap 1002 attached to a constant force spring 204 for providing restoring force) and an analogous dynamic load assembly 204 comprises a constant analogous biasing load via a constant force spring 204.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biasing spring of the dynamic load assembly of Wang, so that the spring is a constant force spring for applying a constant load, as taught by Shavell, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced dynamic load assembly that has a constant force spring for providing restoring forces throughout all winding movements and amounts for desirable control (Shavell, Paragraphs 35-36).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wang in view of Shavell discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the dynamic load assembly 31 (Wang, Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: biasing spring 31) comprises a constant force spring (Shavell, Paragraphs 35-36 and Figure 2: reel spool 104 for strap 1002 attached to a constant force spring 204 for providing restoring force) configured to apply the constant load.
Regarding claim 8, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the anchor assembly 27,30,31,32 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: static linear slide rod 27,30 and rack 32 as well as dynamic spring 31 holding ratchet reel 26-gear 33 away from upper surface backrest 3) comprises a dynamic load assembly 31 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: biasing spring 31; this is an equivalent structure to the constant force spring as defined in the 35 USC 112f analysis above) configured to apply a biasing load to the reel assembly 26,33 in a direction away from the backrest 3 and along the guide assembly 27,30 to hold the reel assembly 26,33 apart from the backrest 3.
However, Wang fails to explicitly disclose the dynamic load assembly configured to apply a constant load to the reel assembly.
Shavell teaches an analogous reel assembly (Paragraphs 35-36 and Figure 2: reel spool 104 for strap 1002 attached to a constant force spring 204 for providing restoring force) and an analogous dynamic load assembly 204 comprises a constant analogous biasing load via a constant force spring 204.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the biasing spring of the dynamic load assembly of Wang, so that the spring is a constant force spring for applying a constant load, as taught by Shavell, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced dynamic load assembly that has a constant force spring for providing restoring forces throughout all winding movements and amounts for desirable control (Shavell, Paragraphs 35-36).
Claims 10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A), as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, in view of Yasuda et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20240215559)
Regarding claim 10, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a displacement sensor configured to measure displacement of the reel assembly.
Yasuda teaches an analogous reel assembly 1 (Paragraphs 31, 34, and Figure 2, reel spool 1; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) and analogous anchor assembly 4 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 2: restoring dynamic spring 4 attached to spool 1) wherein a displacement sensor 7 (Paragraphs 34, 49-50 and Figure 2: sensor detector 7 measures movement, distance, and torque of reel) configured to measure displacement of the analogous reel assembly 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel assembly of Wang, so that there is additionally a displacement sensor configured to measure displacement of the reel assembly, as taught by Yasuda, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced reel assembly that detects movement of the reel assembly from a biasing spring acting on the reel assembly to provide desired control and operation of the reel dependent on movement, distance, angle, and torque calculated (Yasuda, Paragraphs 34 and 49-50).
Regarding claim 19, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a displacement sensor configured to measure displacement of the reel assembly.
Yasuda teaches an analogous reel assembly 1 (Paragraphs 31, 34, and Figure 2, reel spool 1; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) and analogous anchor assembly 4 (Paragraph 31 and Figure 2: restoring dynamic spring 4 attached to spool 1) wherein a displacement sensor 7 (Paragraphs 34, 49-50 and Figure 2: sensor detector 7 measures movement, distance, and torque of reel) configured to measure displacement of the analogous reel assembly 1.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the reel assembly of Wang, so that there is additionally a displacement sensor configured to measure displacement of the reel assembly, as taught by Yasuda, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced reel assembly that detects movement of the reel assembly from a biasing spring acting on the reel assembly to provide desired control and operation of the reel dependent on movement, distance, angle, and torque calculated (Yasuda, Paragraphs 34 and 49-50).
Claims 11 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A), as applied to claims 1 and 12, respectively, in view of Zeller (U.S. Patent No. 5285797).
Regarding claim 11, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one restriction assembly comprises: a chest restriction assembly configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly and the abdomen restriction assembly are configured to operate independently of each other.
Zeller teaches an analogous apparatus (Col. 3, lines 15-30 and Figure 3: patient backboard 10 with slots 40 for chest restriction strap 42 and slots 44 for abdomen restriction strap 46 that are independently applied and tightened) with an analogous backrest 10 wherein the at least one analogous restriction assembly 42,46 (Col. 3, lines 15-30, Col. 4, lines 21-27, and Figure 3: strops 42,46 and each of their respective fasteners form an assembly; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) comprises: a chest restriction assembly 42 configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly 46 configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly 42 and the abdomen restriction assembly 46 are configured to operate independently of each other.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction assembly comprising the flexible strap and reel-anchor of Wang, so that the at least one restriction assembly comprises: a chest restriction assembly configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly and the abdomen restriction assembly are configured to operate independently of each other, as taught by Zeller, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced restriction assembly that has the flexible straps independently span around the patient’s chest and abdomen for desirable increased restraint of the patient’s entire torso against the backrest (Zeller, Col. 3, lines 15-30).
Regarding claim 20, Wang discloses the invention as described above but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the at least one restriction assembly comprises: a chest restriction assembly configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly and the abdomen restriction assembly are configured to operate independently of each other.
Zeller teaches an analogous apparatus (Col. 3, lines 15-30 and Figure 3: patient backboard 10 with slots 40 for chest restriction strap 42 and slots 44 for abdomen restriction strap 46 that are independently applied and tightened) with an analogous backrest 10 wherein the at least one analogous restriction assembly 42,46 (Col. 3, lines 15-30, Col. 4, lines 21-27, and Figure 3: strops 42,46 and each of their respective fasteners form an assembly; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) comprises: a chest restriction assembly 42 configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly 46 configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly 42 and the abdomen restriction assembly 46 are configured to operate independently of each other.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the restriction assembly comprising the flexible strap and reel-anchor of Wang, so that the at least one restriction assembly comprises: a chest restriction assembly configured to wrap around a chest of the subject; and an abdomen restriction assembly configured to wrap around an abdomen of the subject; wherein the chest restriction assembly and the abdomen restriction assembly are configured to operate independently of each other, as taught by Zeller, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced restriction assembly that has the flexible straps independently span around the patient’s chest and abdomen for desirable increased restraint of the patient’s entire torso against the backrest (Zeller, Col. 3, lines 15-30).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 109498343 A), as applied to claim 12, in view of Decorme et al. (U.S. Patent Pub. No. 20130126696).
Regarding claim 15, Wang discloses the invention as described above and further disclose wherein the reel assembly 26,33 (Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: back-controlled ratchet reel 26-gear 33; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) comprises: a first attachment assembly 22 ((Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: reel 26 gear 33 attaches to strap 24 within first block 22) configured to connect to the flexible strap; a second attachment assembly 22 ((Page 5/21, Paragraph 1 and Figures 1-2 and 6: reel 26 gear 33 attaches to strap 24 within second block 22) configured to connect to the flexible strap 24.
However, Wang fails to explicitly disclose a width adjustment assembly configured to enable adjustment of a width between the first attachment assembly and the second attachment assembly.
Decorme teaches a similar apparatus (Paragraphs 61, 63, 87 and Figures 1-3: flexible restraint strap 20 that connects to sliding anchors 32 on a width adjustment rail 18 as well as a winder reel 120 that is also mountable on the rail 18) comprising an analogous rest 14 (Paragraphs 61, 63, 87 and Figures 1-3: chair rest 14) and a restriction assembly with an analogous flexible strap 20 and an analogous reel assembly 120 attached with a width adjustment 18 (Paragraphs 61, 63, 87 and Figures 1-3: width adjustment rail 18 and sliders 32,132; this is the structure as defined by the 35 USC 112f analysis above) assembly configured to enable adjustment of a width between the analogous strap first attachment assembly 32 and the analogous strap second attachment assembly 132.
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary level of skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the first and second attachment assembly of the reel assembly of Wang, so that there is a width adjustment assembly configured to enable adjustment of a width between the first attachment assembly and the second attachment assembly, as taught by Decorme, in order to provide an improved apparatus with an enhanced strap attachment that allows for sliding width adjustment of the strap to incrementally and accurately increase tightness of the restraint flexible strap (Decorme, Paragraphs 61, 63, 87).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wang in view of Decorme discloses the invention as described above and further discloses wherein the width adjustment assembly 18 (Decorme, Paragraphs 61, 63, 87 and Figures 1-3: width adjustment rail 18 and sliders 32,132) comprises a width adjustment rail 18; and wherein the first attachment assembly (Wang: first reel block 22; Decorme: slider 32) and the second attachment assembly (Wang: second reel block 22; Decorme: reel mounted slider 132) are slidably connected to the width adjustment rail 18 (Decorme, Paragraphs 61, 63, 87 and Figures 1-3) in a manner effective to permit the adjustment of a distance therebetween to adjust the width.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dufek (US 20180325717 A1) teaches an apparatus with a restraint strap.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL MILO/
Art Unit 3786
/OPHELIA A HAWTHORNE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786