DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Invention II in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that it would not be a search burden. This is not found persuasive because the claims require different and distinct structural limitations that would require different text/class searching.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “locking mechanism” in claims 52-53.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. “Locking mechanism” has been described in the specification so any thing that can stop and hold the propeller as seeing as an equivalent of a “locking mechanism”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the blade" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 38-39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Duffy (US PgPub #2022/0161926).
For Claims 38, 42-43, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose a lift apparatus for a vertical take off and landing aircraft, comprising: a lift propeller (112); an engine (200) configured to rotate the lift propeller; a support structure (330) configured to support the engine and the lift propeller; and a controller (802) configured to control the engine during forward flight of the aircraft in a cruise configuration; wherein: the controller is configured to position the lift propeller in a stationary position at a predetermined clocking angle defined by a first reference axis (122) of the lift propeller and a second reference axis (123); and wherein: the first reference axis comprises one of a longitudinal axis of a blade of the lift propeller; the second reference axis comprises one of a longitudinal axis of the aircraft or a longitudinal axis of the support structure; and the pretermined angle is 5 degrees.
For Claim 39, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the lift propeller comprises a two-blades propeller, and the first reference axis comprises the longitudinal axis of the blade of the lift propeller.
For Claim 44, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose a VTOL aircraft (100).
For Claim 52, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the lift propeller comprises a locking mechanism (322) configured to lock the lift propeller at the predetermined clocking angle when operating in the cruise configuration.
For Claim 53, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the locking mechanism is configured to adjust the predetermined clocking angle.
For Claim 54, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the lift propeller comprises at least three propeller blades.
For Claim 55, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the predetermined clocking angle is in a direction of rotation of the lift propeller.
For Claim 56, the figures and paragraph [0120] of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the lift propeller is configured to be stowed in the predetermined clocking angle by the controller.
Claim(s) 38, 42-43, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wiegman (US PgPub #2023/0027852).
For Claims 38, 42-43, and 57 the figures and paragraph [0026] of Wiegman ‘852 disclose a lift apparatus for a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, comprising: a lift propeller (104); an engine (216) configured to rotate the lift propeller; a support structure configured to support the engine and the lift propeller; and a controller (200) configured to control the engine during forward flight of the aircraft in a cruise configuration; wherein: the controller is configured to position the lift propeller in a stationary position at a predetermined clocking angle defined by a first reference axis of the lift propeller and a second reference axis; and wherein: the first reference axis comprises one of a longitudinal axis of a blade of the lift propeller; the second reference axis comprises one of a longitudinal axis of the aircraft or a longitudinal axis of the support structure; and the pretermined angle is greater or less than -10 or +10 degrees.
Claim(s) 38 and 40-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Long (US Patent #12122503).
For Claims 38, 42-43, the figures, claim 13, column 5, line 61 thru column 6, line 4, and columns 13-14 of Duffy ‘926 disclose a lift apparatus for a vertical takeoff and landing aircraft, comprising: a lift propeller (101 and 301); an engine configured to rotate the lift propeller; a support structure (106) configured to support the engine and the lift propeller; and a controller (802) configured to control the engine during forward flight of the aircraft in a cruise configuration; wherein: the controller is configured to position the lift propeller in a stationary position at a predetermined clocking angle defined by a first reference axis (122) of the lift propeller and a second reference axis (123); and wherein: the first reference axis comprises a line bisecting two longitudinal axes of two blades of the lift propeller; the second reference axis comprises one of a longitudinal axis of the aircraft or a longitudinal axis of the support structure; and the pretermined angle is 10 degrees.
For Claim 40, the figures, claim 13, and columns 13-14 of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the lift propeller comprises a four-bladed propeller, and the first reference axis comprises the line bisecting tow longitudinal axes of the two blades of the lift propeller.
For Claim 41, the figures, claim 13, and columns 13-14 of Duffy ‘926 disclose that the two blades of the lift propeller comprise tow adjacent blades of the lift propeller.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892. Each of the additional references disclose aircraft with lift propellers that can be locked at an angle with respect to the longitudinal axis of the aircraft or a longitudinal axis of a support structure.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 8/6/2026