DETAILED ACTION
Acknowledgements
This is a first office action on the merits in response to the application filed March 31, 2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 1-20 are examined below.
Based on a comparison of the PGPub US 2026/0228724 A1 with applicant’s originally submitted specification, the PGPub appears to be a fair and accurate record of the applicant’s specification. Therefore, references to applicant’s specification will typically be made by this examiner as references to the PGPub. Unless otherwise noted, references to applicant’s specification as published via PGPub will be in the format [####], and references to applicant’s specification as filed will be in the format ¶## or by page and line number.
The notations in the immediately preceding paragraph apply to any future office actions from this examiner.
Examiner Request
Applicant is requested to indicate where in the specification there is support for amendments to claims should applicant amend. The purpose of this is to reduce potential 35 USC 112(a) or 35 USC 112, 1st paragraph issues that can arise when claims are amended without support in the specification. Examiner thanks applicant in advance. See also relevant portions of MPEP 2163.II.A:
With respect to newly added or amended claims, applicant should show support in the original disclosure for the new or amended claims. See, e.g., Hyatt v. Dudas, 492 F.3d 1365, 1370, n.4 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (citing MPEP § 2163.04 which provides that a "simple statement such as ‘applicant has not pointed out where the new (or amended) claim is supported, nor does there appear to be a written description of the claim limitation ‘___’ in the application as filed’ may be sufficient where the claim is a new or amended claim, the support for the limitation is not apparent, and applicant has not pointed out where the limitation is supported."); see also MPEP § 714.02 and § 2163.06 ("Applicant should ... specifically point out the support for any amendments made to the disclosure."); and MPEP § 2163.04 ("If applicant amends the claims and points out where and/or how the originally filed disclosure supports the amendment(s), and the examiner finds that the disclosure does not reasonably convey that the inventor had possession of the subject matter of the amendment at the time of the filing of the application, the examiner has the initial burden of presenting evidence or reasoning to explain why persons skilled in the art would not recognize in the disclosure a description of the invention defined by the claims.").
Priority
This application is a divisional application. See MPEP § 201.06. In accordance with MPEP § 609.02 A. 2 and MPEP § 2001.06(b) (last paragraph), the examiner has reviewed and considered the prior art cited in the prior-filed application(s). Also in accordance with MPEP §2001.06(b) (last paragraph), all documents cited or considered ‘of record’ in the prior-filed application(s) are now considered cited or ‘of record’ in this application. Additionally, applicant is reminded that a listing of the information cited or ‘of record’ in the prior-filed application(s) need not be resubmitted in this application unless applicant desires the information to be printed on a patent issuing from this application. See MPEP §609.02 A. 2. Finally, applicant is reminded that the prosecution history of the prior-filed application(s) is relevant in this application. See e.g., Microsoft Corp. v. Multi-Tech Sys., Inc., 357 F.3d 1340, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1815, 1823 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (holding that statements made in prosecution of one patent are relevant to the scope of all sibling patents).
Information Disclosure Statement
The attached information disclosure statement is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 12, and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: where applicant recites “indicating of,” it appears that applicant intends to recite “indicative of” or similar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Regarding claims 1-20, the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Representative claim 1 recites receiving a signed message, retrieving data to verify the signed message, verifying the signed message, and approving a payment based at least in part on the verification, which constitutes a certain method of organizing human activity (specifically, a commercial interaction). Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the additional elements beyond the abstract idea simply link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment (signcryption over a computer network). Because the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application, claim 1 is “directed to” an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the additional elements identified above represent only well-understood, routine, and conventional technology (or placeholders for such) when compared with the court decisions listed in MPEP § 2106.05(d). Viewing the additional elements as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the additional elements in the claim are not sufficient to amount to an inventive concept. Because claim 1 is directed to an abstract idea and fails to recite an inventive concept, it is patent ineligible.
Independent claims 8 and 15 contain limitations similar to claim 1 and are therefore rejected using the same rationale.
The dependent claims when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101. The additional limitations added by these claims fail to either integrate the claims into a practical application or add an inventive concept, because they serve to further narrow the abstract idea without integrating it into a practical application (claims 4, 6, 11, 13, and 18), add additional elements that simply further link to a particular technological environment (claims 2, 3, 5, 7, 9, 10, 12, 14, 16, 17, 19, and 20), and/or amount to additional extrasolution activity (claims 7, 14, and 20). Viewing the additional elements of the dependent claims as a combination does not add anything further than the individual elements. Therefore, the dependent claims neither practically integrate the abstract idea nor constitute an inventive concept, and these claims are also rejected as patent ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st Paragraph
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter that was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites: “generating, by the beneficiary computing system, a signcrypting verification event journal entry comprising information related to at least one of the digitally signed cross-border message, the public key of the intermediate computing system, a public/private key pair of the beneficiary computing system, or a result of the unsigncryption.” Regarding this limitation, applicant’s disclosure discusses only: “the distributed repository 510 stores an event entry generated by a financial institution in the end-to-end cross-border payment authentication system 10. The event journal entry can capture a verification process result of a digital signature, the generation or encapsulation of a cross-border payment message, or other information. In some arrangements, the distributed repository 510 is a private blockchain.” Because applicant is silent regarding recording “a result of the unsigncryption” or any encryption keys, one of ordinary skill in the art would not understand how the inventor intended the function of generating the journal entry to be performed, and the specification fails to describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail such that one skilled in the art would reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing. See MPEP 2161.01.
Claims 14 and 20 contain language similar to claim 7 as discussed in the immediately preceding paragraph, and for reasons similar to those discussed above, claims 14 and 20 are also rejected as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over "Information technology — Security techniques — Signcryption" ISO/IEC 29150 (reference A35 on the IDS submitted August 21, 2026, hereafter “ISO/IEC 29150”) in view of Yacobi (US 5,872,844 A).
ISO/IEC 29150 discloses as follows:
Claim
Limitation
ISO/IEC 29150
1,8,15
receiving, by a beneficiary computing system from an intermediate computing system, a digitally signed cross-border message, wherein the digitally signed cross-border message is signed using at least one of a signedData cryptographic message syntax, detached signedData cryptographic message syntax, or signcryptedData cryptographic message syntax
"ciphertext X," section 9.6
1,8,15
retrieving, by the beneficiary computing system, a public key of the intermediate computing system or an originating computing system
"a recipient's public and private key pair …, a sender's public key," section 9.6
1,8,15
verifying at least one of the digitally signed cross-border message or the intermediate computing system comprising determining, by the beneficiary computing system, at least one of
"unsigncryption algorithm," section 8
1,8,15
whether a digital signature and a hash of the digitally signed cross-border message is verified recursively
1,8,15
whether a digital signature and a detached content of the digitally signed cross-border message is verified recursively
1,8,15
or whether unsigncryption [and path validation] of the intermediate computing system is successful
2,9,16
wherein determining whether unsigncryption and path validation of the intermediate computing system is successful comprises unsigncrypting, by the beneficiary computing system, the digitally signed cross-border message using the public key of the intermediate computing system and a public/private key pair of the beneficiary computing system
An unsigncryption algorithm SC Unsigncrypt performs a sequence of operations on an input and outputs either (ACCEPT, a plaintext) or (REJECT, NULL). The input shall consist of 1) a ciphertext, 2) a recipient's public and private key pair, 3) a sender's public key, 4) a label and 5) an option.ACCEPT and REJECT in the output are symbolic values that indicate the acceptance and rejection of validity of the ciphertext in the input, respectively, and NULL is the null string
3,10,17
wherein the beneficiary computing system unsigncrypts the digitally signed cross-border message using an unsigncryption algorithm, and wherein inputs of the unsigncryption algorithm comprises digitally signed cross-border message, the public key of the intermediate computing system, and the public/private key pair of the beneficiary computing system
4,11,18
in response to determining that the unsigncryption is invalid, rejecting, by the beneficiary computing system, the digitally signed cross-border message
5,12,19
in response to determining that the unsigncryption is invalid, outputting, by the beneficiary computing system, a symbolic value indicating of the digitally signed cross-border message being rejected and a null string indicative of the unsigncryption being unsuccessful.
6,13
in response to determining that the unsigncryption is valid, the digitally signed cross-border message is accepted
7,14,20
generating, by the beneficiary computing system, a signcrypting verification event journal entry comprising information related to at least one of the digitally signed cross-border message, the public key of the intermediate computing system, a public/private key pair of the beneficiary computing system, or a result of the unsigncryption
ISO/IEC 29150 fails to explicitly disclose but Yacobi teaches:
Claim
Limitation
Yacobi (US 5,872,844 A) discloses
1,8,15
determining … whether … path validation of the intermediate computing system is successful
"The payee electronic wallet verifies the signatures of the issuer and each payer in the transferability chain to ensure that they are valid (i.e., certificates not expired or revoked), and that the assets themselves have not expired. If all is positive, the payee accepts the assets as a valid payment and the assets are transferred from the payer's wallet"
1,8,15
approving, by the beneficiary computing system, a cross-border payment based at least in part on verifying the at least one of the digitally signed cross-border message or the intermediate computing system
7,14,20
generating, by the beneficiary computing system, a signcrypting verification event journal entry comprising information related to at least one of the digitally signed cross-border message, the public key of the intermediate computing system, a public/private key pair of the beneficiary computing system, or a result of the unsigncryption
"historical registry of signatures of all the wallets that have handled and transferred the electronic asset"
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify ISO/IEC 29150 to include the path validation, transaction approval, and record keeping of Yacobi in order to achieve the predictable result of creating a useful payment system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,106 in view of Yacobi (US 5,872,844 A). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they differ merely in terminology, nonfunctional descriptive material, intended use, etc. Those limitations not explicitly disclosed in the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,154,106 would be obvious in view of the transaction approval taught by Yacobi as detailed above.
Citation of Relevant Prior Art
All references listed on form PTO-892 are cited in their entirety. The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Rosati (US 2012/0239777 A1) discloses a payment scheme that can include signcryption.
Zheng (US 6,396,928 B1) discloses signcryption.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMIE KUCAB whose telephone number is (571)270-3025. The examiner can normally be reached Monday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. ET. The examiner’s email address is Jamie.Kucab@USPTO.gov. See MPEP 502.03 regarding email communications. Following is the sample authorization for electronic communication provided in MPEP 502.03.II: “Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with the undersigned and practitioners in accordance with 37 CFR 1.33 and 37 CFR 1.34 concerning any subject matter of this application by video conferencing, instant messaging, or electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file.” Without such an authorization in place, an examiner is unable to respond via email.
/JAMIE R KUCAB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3699