DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is in response to applicant's amendment/response filed on 08/20/2026, which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-5, 13, 16-18, 20, 23 and 27-28 have been amended.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15, 20-25, 27 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamhi et al (US 20160180590 A1) in view of Christen et al (US 20170061702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kamhi discloses a computer-implemented method for progressive computer-simulated reality (Kamhi [0020], “a method … The method augments the real people and objects in sync with their real-time dynamic positions based on their movements (e.g., virtual butterflies follow (exemplary progressive computer-simulated reality) the gestures of the people in the field of view of the world facing camera).”), the method comprising:
receiving, by a computer vision system of a visual output device, a live video feed of a location in a physical, real-world environment (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3A illustrates a display screen 300 of a mobile device (receiving, by a computer vision system of a visual output device) showing a video of a portion of a table top 310 … and a toy ramp 314 resting on the table top 310 (live video feed of a location in a physical, real-world environment).”; [0033], “The 3D video camera 514 is configured to capture images and depth information of the environment of the augmented reality device 500 including, … capturing … video images”);
detecting, associated with the location in the physical, real-world environment, a first trigger being a non-visual location based trigger based on one of a radio-frequency signal, a real-time location system (RTLS), a location-based services (LBS), and a geolocation signal (Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger)”; [0035], “The location data 610 (trigger) allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location … virtual 3D models of historic people or objects may be automatically selected (reads on a detected trigger) … based on the user's current location (e.g., as determined by a global position system (GPS) device (exemplary trigger on a geolocation signal) or other location device of the augmented reality device 500).”);
initiating presentation, on the visual output device in response to detecting the first trigger, of a first computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location by presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location (Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger for initiating presentation)”; [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video of a 3D virtual environment with a virtual house 316, virtual trees 318, and virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user in a photo-realistic manner (augmented video presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location).”; [0035], “The location data 610 (trigger) allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location … virtual 3D models of historic people or objects may be automatically selected (reads on a detected trigger) … based on the user's current location (e.g., as determined by a global position system (GPS) device (exemplary trigger on a geolocation signal) or other location device of the augmented reality device 500).”).
detecting a second trigger in the first computer-simulated reality environment based on at least one of a user response, a gesture, an eye gaze and a biometric signal characteristic of a user (Kamhi [0039], “Once the type of augmentation is chosen … The augmented virtual 3D objects interact with the physical objects in the scene (first computer-simulated reality environment) in a natural way … if the person waves his hands (exemplary second trigger based on a gesture in the augmented environment), a virtual birds follows his hands”)
Kamhi does not disclose
dynamically or selectively shifting presentation, in response to detecting the second trigger, from the first computer-simulated reality environment to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed reality environment using a custom script to continuously adjust the content in real time based on the user response and characteristics of the user
However, Christen discloses
dynamically or selectively shifting presentation, in response to detecting the second trigger, from the first computer-simulated reality environment to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed reality environment using a custom script to continuously adjust the content in real time based on the user response and characteristics of the user (Christen [0015], “location to which the presentation transitions (transitions from a first computer-simulated reality environment to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed-reality environment) may be selected in another suitable manner, such as by a pointing gesture input (exemplary second trigger within a first computer-simulated reality environment presentation) … the view may transition from that of FIG. 2A (exemplary first computer-simulated reality environment presentation) to a first-person perspective at this location of intersection (to a second computer-simulated reality environment/mixed-reality environment).”; [0017], “FIG. 2C shows the perspective of the user once the transition (transitioning/dynamically shifting presentation from the first computer-simulated reality environment) has been completed to the first-person virtual reality view 202c of the model (to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed-reality environment).”; [0019], “detecting a trigger to determine a location at which a user gaze (exemplary second trigger based on eye gaze) intersects a displayed virtual model … The trigger may be any suitable input … Example of triggers include … a gesture command (gesture) … logic device (e.g., a processor) of the HMD device that indicates a program-triggered transition (using a custom script to continuously adjust the content in real time based on the user response and characteristics of the user).”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamhi with Christen to utilize a second trigger and user characteristic to switch to a different reality viewing experience. This would have enhanced Kamhi by providing users with an ability to enjoy a variety of simulated reality experience.
Regarding claim 2, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the live video feed further comprises receiving the live video feed on one of a tablet and a smartphone adapted as part of an augmented reality system (Kamhi [0019], “a user may hold a tablet or smartphone with a world facing 3D camera … video capture includes augmentation”).
Regarding claim 3, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the live video feed further comprises receiving the live video feed on one of a pair of smart glasses and a head-mounted display (Christen [0012], “a user 102 is wearing a HMD device 104, such that the user can view the real-world environment (live video feed) mixed with virtual imagery”).
Regarding claim 4, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising executing the custom script locally on the visual output device to minimize latency (Kamhi [0030], “the memory device 516 may store various data and software used during operation of the augmented reality device 500 such as operating systems, applications (executing the custom script locally on the visual output device), programs, libraries, and drivers.”).
Regarding claim 5, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first trigger is a non-visual location based trigger associated with one of a publication, an object and a surface in the location (Kamhi [0015], “the creation of an augmented video clip … is triggered only by the detection … objects in the scene.”).
Regarding claim 6, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second trigger is a digital trigger based on the characteristic of the user (Christen [0019], “detecting a trigger to determine a location at which a user gaze (user characteristic) intersects a displayed virtual model … The trigger may be any suitable input … Example of triggers (trigger based on a user characteristic) include … a gesture command … logic device (e.g., a processor) of the HMD device that indicates a program-triggered transition.”).
Regarding claim 7, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second computer-simulated reality environment includes 360-degree immersive content (Christen [0021], “the virtual model may be centered at the location the user is viewing and scaled to a life-sized view to provide the immersive first-person perspective and bring the user into the model”).
Regarding claim 8, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the piece of content is presented as a virtual overlay that remains aligned with the location (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video … virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user (a virtual overlay that remains aligned with the location) in a photo-realistic manner.”).
Regarding claim 9, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the system supports multi-user shared experiences (Kamhi [0014], “AR module allow the mobile device to create instant contextual video clips that can be shared by the user.”).
Regarding claim 10, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising presenting a virtual element as an overlay aligned to the location (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video … virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user (presenting a virtual element as an overlay aligned to the location) in a photo-realistic manner.”).
Regarding claim 11, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein a gesture-based user interface is used for interaction via camera-tracked gestures or eye-gaze analysis (Kamhi [0027], “gestures of a user's hand 416. In this example, the balls 410, 412, 414 follow the user's hand 416 as it moves left, right, up, and/or down within the 3D camera's field of view,”).
Regarding claim 12, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the dynamic shifting further comprising shifting from augmented reality to virtual reality or from augmented reality to mixed reality (Christen [0015], “the view may transition (shifting) from that of FIG. 2A (from augmented reality) to a first-person perspective at this location of intersection.”; Christen [0017], “FIG. 2C shows the perspective of the user once the transition has been completed to the first-person virtual reality (to virtual reality) view 202c of the model.”).
Regarding claim 13, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the custom script adapts in real time based on data (Christen [0019], “the HMD device that indicates a program-triggered transition … location may be determined continuously”; [0033], “a computing system to perform analysis of the real world three dimensional environment”).
Regarding claim 14, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the visual output device is in wireless communication with a secondary device (Christen [0037], “the method 800 may also include delivering, either automatically or in response to a user request, the augmented video to a mobile video sharing service (the visual output device is in wireless communication with a secondary device).”).
Regarding claim 15, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the virtual environments are anchored to the location when the visual output device is temporarily moved away and returned (Christen [0012], “as the user 102 moves around the table 106, the user may view the virtual model 108 from different perspectives, as if the virtual model 108 were physically located on the table top surface (virtual environments are anchored to the location when the visual output device is temporarily moved).”).
Claim 20 recites a computing system which corresponds to the function performed by the method of claim 1. As such, the mapping and rejection of method 1 above is considered applicable to the computing system of claim 20.
Additionally, Kamhi discloses
A computing system (Kamhi [0012])
one or more processors (Kamhi [0029], “a processor”);
memory storing instructions (Kamhi [0030], “the memory device 516 may store various data and software used during operation”); and
one or more sensors including at least a camera (Kamhi [0033], “device comprising an electronic image sensor”).
Regarding claim 21, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20, wherein a visual output device is a head-mounted display (Christen [0019], “the HMD device that indicates a program-triggered transition).
Regarding claim 22, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the system includes radio-frequency receivers for trigger detection Kamhi [0035], “The location data 610 allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location … virtual 3D models of historic people or objects may be automatically selected (reads on a detected trigger) … based on the user's current location (e.g., as determined by a global position system (GPS) device (comprising an RF receiver)).
Regarding claim 23, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the automated custom script is stored in the memory and executed locally (Kamhi [0030], “the memory device 516 may store various data and software used during operation of the augmented reality device 500 such as operating systems, applications (executing the automated custom script locally on the visual output device), programs, libraries, and drivers.”).
Regarding claim 24, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20 wherein the system further comprises biometric sensors (Cristen [0046], “natural user input (NUI) componentry … NUI componentry may include … eye tracker (biometric sensors)”).
Regarding claim 25, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20, wherein the piece of content is presented as a virtual overlay that remains aligned with detected location (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video … virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user (a virtual overlay that remains aligned with the location) in a photo-realistic manner.”).
Claim 27 recites a non-transitory computer-readable medium which corresponds to the function performed by the method of claim 1. As such, the mapping and rejection of method 1 above is considered applicable to the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 27.
Additionally, Kamhi discloses
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions (Kamhi [0030], “the memory device 516 may store various data and software used during operation”)
one or more processors (Kamhi [0029], “a processor”);
one or more sensors including at least a camera (Kamhi [0033], “device comprising an electronic image sensor”).
Regarding claim 28, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the medium of claim 27, wherein the instructions cause the device to execute the custom script locally (Kamhi [0030], “the memory device 516 may store various data and software used during operation of the augmented reality device 500 such as operating systems, applications (executing the automated custom script locally on the visual output device), programs, libraries, and drivers.”).
Claims 16-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamhi et al (US 20160180590 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Kamhi discloses a computer-implemented method for location-triggered computer-simulated reality (Kamhi [0020], “a method … The method augments the real people and objects in sync with their real-time dynamic positions based on their movements (e.g., virtual butterflies follow (computer-simulated reality) the gestures of the people in the field of view of the world facing camera).”; [0035], “The context module 524 is configured to automatically select … virtual 3D models … The context data 600 includes one or more data elements including location data (location-triggered)”), the method comprising:
receiving, by a computer vision system of a visual output device, a live video feed of a location in a physical, real-world environment (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3A illustrates a display screen 300 of a mobile device (receiving, by a computer vision system of a visual output device) showing a video of a portion of a table top 310 … and a toy ramp 314 resting on the table top 310 (live video feed of a location in a physical, real-world environment).”; [0033], “The 3D video camera 514 is configured to capture images and depth information of the environment of the augmented reality device 500 including, … capturing … video images”);
detecting a non-visual location based trigger based on one of a radio-frequency signal, a real-time location system (RTLS), a location-based services (LBS), and a geolocation signal (Kamhi [0035], “The location data 610 allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location … virtual 3D models of historic people or objects may be automatically selected (reads on a detected trigger) … based on the user's current location (e.g., as determined by a global position system (GPS) device (exemplary trigger on a geolocation signal) or other location device of the augmented reality device 500).”); and
initiating presentation, on the visual output device, in response to detecting the non-visual location based trigger a computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location by presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location (Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger for initiating presentation)”; [0035], “The location data 610 (trigger) allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location … virtual 3D models of historic people or objects may be automatically selected (reads on a detected trigger) … based on the user's current location (e.g., as determined by a global position system (GPS) device (exemplary trigger on a geolocation signal) or other location device of the augmented reality device 500).”).
Kamhi does not expressly disclose trigger
However, Kamhi [0035] as cited above reads on and suggests a trigger causes the context module to select virtual 3D models. This would have been done to allow flexibility in selecting 3D models based on different conditions as necessary.
Regarding claim 17, Kamhi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein receiving the live video feed further comprises receiving the data using one of a tablet and a smartphone adapted as part of an augmented reality system (Kamhi [0019], “a user may hold a tablet or smartphone with a world facing 3D camera … video capture includes augmentation”).
Regarding claim 19, Kamhi discloses the method of claim 16, wherein the computer-simulated reality environment provides real-time task guidance aligned to physical objects in the environment (Kamhi [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video … virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user (presenting a virtual element as an overlay aligned physical objects in the environment) in a photo-realistic manner.”).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamhi in view of Christen.
Regarding claim 18, Kamhi discloses the method of claim 16, but does not disclose wherein receiving the live video feed further comprises receiving the data using one of a pair of smart glasses and a head-mounted display.
However, Christen discloses
receiving the live video feed using one of a pair of smart glasses and a head-mounted display (Christen [0012], “a user 102 is wearing a HMD device 104, such that the user can view the real-world environment (live video feed) mixed with virtual imagery”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamhi with Christen to include functionality for using HMDs. This would have enhanced Kamhi by enabling users to experience simulated reality using an additional electronic device in a handsfree manner.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kamhi in view of Christen and further view of Monk et al (US 20150279081 A1).
Regarding claim 26, Kamhi in view of Christen discloses the system of claim 20, but does not disclose wherein the system supports multi-user collaboration in the same physical space.
However, Monk discloses
the system supports multi-user collaboration in the same physical space (Monk [0067], “immersive 3-D virtual reality sharing system 100 in a classroom setting (the system supports multi-user collaboration in the same physical space)”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kamhi further with Monk to enable a collocated sharing environment. This would have enhanced Kamhi by enabling users to collaborate in a creative manner in the presence of each other.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pgs. 7-11, applicant argues:
Independent claim 1 recites several elements not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen.
Detecting Non-Visual Location Based Trigger Claim Element
Claim 1 recites "detecting, associated with the location in the physical, real-world environment, a first trigger being a non-visual location based trigger based on one of a radio-frequency signal, a real-time location system (RTLS), a location-based services (LBS), and a geolocation signal" that is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen.
This claim element is not disclosed or suggested by Christen and Christen is not relied on in the office action for this claim element.
Kamhi discloses initiating the augmented reality video (using a trigger) and the trigger is a depth map (generated based on a video) that is used to detect an object in the video (See toy ramp 314 for example in Figures 3A and 3B). Kamhi at 0012. Furthermore, while Kamhi uses location data to select or recommend 3D models for the already initiated augmented video (Kamhi at 0012), Kamhi never discloses that location itself is used as a trigger for the augmented video. Thus, Kamhi does not disclose or suggest the claimed first trigger being a non-visual location based trigger.
Thus, this claim element is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen, alone or in combination.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kamhi does disclose a location based trigger; (Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger)”; [0035], “The location data 610 (trigger) allows the context module to select or recommend a virtual 3D model based on the user's location”).
In other words, Kamhi discloses making 3D virtual objects available for augmenting a real environment based on location data.
Initiate Presentation Claim Element
Claim 1 also recites "initiating presentation, on the visual output device in response to detecting the first trigger, of a first computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location" that is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen.
This claim element is not disclosed or suggested by Christen and Christen is not relied on in the office action for this claim element.
In Kamhi, the augmented reality video in Kamhi (Figure 3B being an example or the birds disclosed in 0039) is initiated by detection of an object in the video using a depth map. Kamhi at 0012 and 0039. Thus, in Kamhi, a depth map is generated based on the video (Figure 3A is an example) and that depth map initiates the augmented video shown in Figure 3B or disclosed in paragraph 0039. Nowhere does Kamhi disclose that the augmented reality is initiated by the claimed first trigger being a non- visual location based trigger. Thus, initiating presentation of the claimed first computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi.
Thus, this claim element is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen, alone or in combination.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kamhi does disclose that the augmented reality is initiated by the claimed first trigger being a non- visual location based trigger
(Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger for initiating presentation)”; [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video of a 3D virtual environment with a virtual house 316, virtual trees 318, and virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user in a photo-realistic manner (augmented video presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location).”
Detecting a Second Trigger and Shifting Presentations Claim Element
Claim 1 also recites "detecting a second trigger in the first computer-simulated reality environment based on at least one of a user response, a gesture, an eye gaze and a biometric signal characteristic of a user" and "dynamically or selectively shifting presentation, in response to detecting the second trigger, from the first computer- simulated reality environment to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed reality environment using a custom script to continuously adjust the content in real time based on the user response and characteristics of the user" that are not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen.
Christen discloses transitioning a presentation based on a user's field of view (Christen at 0015, 0017), but does not disclose the nested triggers (the first non-visual location based trigger that initiates the first computer-simulated reality environment and the second trigger (in the first computer-simulated reality environment) that causes the dynamic or selective shifting from the first computer-simulated reality environment to one of a second computer-simulated reality environment and a mixed reality environment. Furthermore, while Christen discloses that a presentation is transitioned based on a user's field of view (and thus shifts a presentation), Christen fails to disclose using a custom script to continuously adjust the content in real time based on the user response and characteristics of the user. Thus, these claim elements are not disclosed or suggested by Christen.
Kamhi discloses birds following a person's hand in the video (Kamhi at 0039) in a different augmentation. Even for this different augmentation, Kamhi discloses:
"Once the type of augmentation is chosen, the rendering of the augmentation into the reality is driven by the people and the objects in the scene (e.g., within the field of view of the 3D video capture device). The augmented virtual 3D objects interact with the physical objects in the scene in a natural way. For example, if the person waves his hands, a virtual birds follows his hands, a virtual monkey climbs on to the shoulder of a person and interacts with the person as it would in real life." (emphasis added) Kamhi at 0039.
Thus, even for the different augmentation, the depth map and detection of the people and objects in the scene are used to initiate the augmented video.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kamhi discloses
(Kamhi [0039], “Once the type of augmentation is chosen … The augmented virtual 3D objects interact with the physical objects in the scene (first computer-simulated reality environment) in a natural way … if the person waves his hands (exemplary second trigger based on a gesture in the augmented environment), a virtual birds follows his hands”).
In other words, an augmented reality presentation is made available, wherein a user is able to generate additional displays based on a gesture, as a second trigger, made at the augmented reality presentation.
Furthermore, the augmented video in Figure 3B and the different augmentation disclosed in paragraph 0039 are each a single augmented video and it is not disclosed in Kamhi that the augmented video in Figure 3B is supplemented with the different augmentation of paragraph 0039. Thus, for either the different augmentation (paragraph 0039) or the augmented video in Figure 3B, the depth map (from the video in Figure 3A) is used to initiate the different augmentation or the augmented video in Figure 3B and, more importantly, there is no second trigger in the augmented video of Kamhi as recited in claim 1 that is detected and triggers a presentation shift. Thus, Kamhi does not disclose or suggest these claim elements.
Thus, these claim elements are not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi and Christen, alone or in combination.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kashi does not use a depth map to initiate an augmented video. Instead, a depth map module is configured to receive depth information from the 3D video camera 514 and to generate a 3D map of the user's environment. See for example, Kashi [0037]. However, the augmented video is initiated based on location data before a corresponding 3D augmented environment is generated. In other words, depth information is used to create the 3D augmented environment not to initiate/trigger it. Additionally, the cited paragraph [0039] from Kamhi does read on an equivalent of a second trigger since a user gesture, hand waving, at a current augmented reality presentation causes a shift to change dynamically.
Independent Claim 16
Independent claim 16 recites several elements not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi.
Detect Non-Visual Location Based Trigger
Claim 16 recites "detecting a non-visual location based trigger based on one of a radio-frequency signal, a real-time location system (RTLS), a location-based services (LBS), and a geolocation signal" that is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi.
While Kamhi discloses using user location data to select or recommend 3D models for the augmented video (Kamhi at 0012), Kamhi never discloses that location itself is used as a trigger. In fact, the trigger in Kamhi to generate the augmented video is the depth map derived from a video as discussed above.
Thus, this element is not found in Kamhi and the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kamhi does disclose that the augmented reality is initiated by the claimed first trigger being a non- visual location based trigger
(Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger)”; [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video of a 3D virtual environment with a virtual house 316, virtual trees 318, and virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user in a photo-realistic manner (augmented video presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location).”
Initiate Presentation of Reality Environment
Claim 16 also recites "initiating presentation, on the visual output device in response to detecting the non-visual location based trigger, of a computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location by presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location" that is not disclosed or suggested by Kamhi.
As discussed above, the augmented reality video in Kamhi (Figure 3B being an example) is initiated by detection of an object in the video using a depth map. Kamhi at 0012. Thus, initiating presentation in response to the non-visual location based trigger of a computer-simulated reality environment anchored to the location is not found in Kamhi and the obviousness rejection should be withdrawn.
The obviousness rejection based on Kamhi should be withdrawn.
Examiner respectfully disagrees:
Kamhi does disclose that the augmented reality is initiated by the claimed first trigger being a non- visual location based trigger
(Kamhi [0018], “embodiments disclosed herein make virtual 3D objects available based on the location (location-based non-visual trigger for initiating presentation)”; [0024], “FIG. 3B illustrates the display screen 300 showing an augmented video of a 3D virtual environment with a virtual house 316, virtual trees 318, and virtual people 320 rendered into the reality of the user in a photo-realistic manner (augmented video presenting a piece of content as a virtual overlay in relation to at least a portion of the location).”
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JITESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612