DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse in the reply filed on 9/3/2026 is acknowledged:
Specification
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
This application contained polynucleotide and/or polypeptide sequence information. Applicant is required to review the specification for compliance with the above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover administering an agent comprising (a) an antigen- binding domain that selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7 and (b) an IGF-1 polypeptide that is coupled to the antigen-binding domain.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited genus of agents, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Courts have stated that “[i]n claims involving [non-genetic] chemical materials, generic formulae usually indicate with specificity what the generic claims encompass. One skilled in the art can distinguish such a formula from others and can identify many of the species that the claims encompass. Accordingly, such a formula is normally an adequate description of the claimed genus.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997), cert. denied, 523 U.S. 1089 (1998). (emphasis added).
There is no such specificity here, nor could one skilled in the art identify particular agents encompassed by the claims. Specifically, Applicant fails to disclose any other agents, besides those identified in the specification and claims, and in relation to the above, these disclosed species or subgenre do not represent the substantial variety covered by the genus of the claimed agents
With regard to the functional definition of selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7 or an IGF-1 polypeptide, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of peptides to see if the compounds can perform the required functions. In this connection, the specification contains no generics structural characteristics of those peptides or compounds that selectively bind to a mammalian ITGA7 or have IGF-1 functionality, besides those peptides instantly disclosed. See In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
The Examiner acknowledges that a working example or exemplified embodiment is not necessarily a requirement for description. However, where a generic claim term is present in a claim, as in the present application, and defined only by functional characteristics, the specification must convey enough information, e.g., via sufficient representative examples, to indicate invention of species sufficient to constitute the genus. Enzo Biochem, Inc. v. Gen-Probe Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 967 2 (Fed. Cir. 2002). The written description requirement “requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention.” Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F.3d 1559, 1568 (Fed. Cir. 1997); see also Novozymes A/S v. DuPont Nutrition Biosciences APS, 723 F.3d 1336, 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2013) (“A patent...‘is not a reward for the search, but compensation for its successful conclusion.’ ... For that reason, the written description requirement prohibits a patentee from ‘leaving it to the ... industry to complete an unfinished invention.’” (citations omitted)).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited agents comprising (a) an antigen- binding domain that selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7 and (b) an IGF-1 polypeptide that is coupled to the antigen-binding domain.
Claims 1, 4-17, 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover antigen binding domains which embrace ligands that are not antibodies, or antigen-binding fragments thereof.
To satisfy the written-description requirement, the specification must describe every element of the claimed invention in sufficient detail so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the inventor possessed the claimed invention at the time of filing. Vas-Cath, 935 F.3d at 1563; see also Lockwood v. American Airlines, Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that “the inventor invented the claimed invention”); In re Gosteli, 872 F.2d 1008, 1012 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“the description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed”).
With regard to the recited antigen-targeting moieties, the following applies:
Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 94 USPQ2d 1161 (Fed. Cir. 2010) states that “...a generic claim may define the boundaries of a vast genus of chemical compounds...the question may still remain whether the specification, including the original claim language, demonstrates that the applicant invented species sufficient to support a claim to a genus”. See page 1171.
The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, reduction to drawings, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
See also Fujikawa v. Wattanasin, 93 F.3d 1559, 1571, 39 USPQ2d 1895, 1905 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (a “laundry list” disclosure of every possible moiety does not constitute a written description of every species in a genus because it would not “reasonably lead” those skilled in the art to any particular species.
Amgen, Inc. v. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co., Ltd., 927 F.2d 1200, 1206, 18 USPQ2d 1016, 1021 (Fed. Cir. 1991) states that “it is well established in our law that conception of a chemical compound requires that the inventor be able to define it so as to distinguish it from other materials, and to describe how to obtain it”.
A description of a genus may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the genus or structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus, so that one of skill in the art can “visualize or recognize” the members of the genus (Emphasis added). Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly & Co., 119 F3d 1559, 1569, 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1406 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. The disclosure of only one species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure “indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us].” See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004)(“[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated.”). “A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed.” In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
In Regents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly (43 USPQ2d 1398-1412), the court held that a generic statement which defines a genus of nucleic acids by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. The court indicated that, while applicants are not required to disclose every species encompassed by a genus, the description of the genus is achieved by the recitation of a representative number of species falling within the scope of the claimed genus. At section B(i), the court states, "An adequate written description of a DNA ... requires a precise definition, such as by structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties, not a mere wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention."
Here, Applicant desires patent protection for targeting moieties for the claimed antibody-drug conjugates (ADC’s). However, other than antibodies and their functional fragments, the specification does not provide adequate written description of the claimed genus of the targeting moieties within the context of the claimed ADC’s. This is because antibodies are well characterized, functionally and structurally, in the prior art. Specifically, antibodies are heavy (~150 kDa) globular plasma proteins. The size of an antibody molecule is about 10 nm. They have sugar chains (glycans) added to conserved amino acid residues. The basic functional unit of each antibody is an immunoglobulin (Ig) monomer (containing only one Ig unit); secreted antibodies can also be dimeric with two Ig units as with IgA, tetrameric with four Ig units like teleost fish IgM, or pentameric with five Ig units, like mammalian IgM. The Ig monomer is a "Y"-shaped molecule that consists of four polypeptide chains; two identical heavy chains and two identical light chains connected by disulfide bonds. Each chain is composed of structural domains called immunoglobulin domains. These domains contain about 70–110 amino acids and are classified into different categories (for example, variable or IgV, and constant or IgC) according to their size and function. They have a characteristic immunoglobulin fold in which two beta sheets create a "sandwich" shape, held together by interactions between conserved cysteines and other charged amino acids.
Some parts of an antibody have the same functions. The arms of the Y, for example, contain the sites that can bind to antigens (in general, identical) and, therefore, recognize specific foreign objects. This region of the antibody is called the Fab (fragment, antigen-binding) region. It is composed of one constant and one variable domain from each heavy and light chain of the antibody. The paratope is shaped at the amino terminal end of the antibody monomer by the variable domains from the heavy and light chains. The variable domain is also referred to as the FV region and is the most important region for binding to antigens. To be specific, variable loops of β-strands, three each on the light (VL) and heavy (VH) chains are responsible for binding to the antigen. These loops are referred to as the complementarity determining regions (CDRs). 1 There are three CDRs (CDR1, CDR2 and CDR3), arranged non-consecutively, on the amino acid sequence of a variable domain of an antigen receptor. Since the antigen receptors are typically composed of two variable domains (on two different polypeptide chains, heavy and light chain), there are six CDRs for each antigen receptor that can collectively come into contact with the antigen. A single antibody molecule has two antigen receptors and therefore contains twelve CDRs total. There are three CDR loops per variable domain in antibodies.2
However, in contrast to the function of antibodies and their functional fragments, as outlined above, the other targeting moieties covered by the claims are not sufficiently characterized by the specification or state of the art in such a manner that those of ordinary skill would understand that the instant inventors knew how to they would be structurally integrated into the instant agents. In particular, the specification does not provide any examples of the other targeting moieties which function within the context of the claimed agents, and in this way, the specification does not present the requisite examples of ligands and targeting moieties, other than antibodies, given the breadth and variety of these groups covered by the claims. Specifically, the specification does not disclose a sufficient description of a representative number of species, either by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, of those moieties which can be used in the claimed agents.
Moreover, the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed these moieties, which have the structural characteristics, as outlined above, which can properly function in the claimed agents. In this connection, the specification contains no generic structural characteristics of the recited antigen-binding domains. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inodinate number of ligands to see if they bind ITGA7, which is indicative of a lack of written description, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited antigen binding domains that are not antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof.
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The rejected claims cover conjugates comprising peptides that bind to ITGA7 epitopes.
Here, a genus of peptides that can bind to ITGA7 expressed on mammalian muscle cells lack written description because the recited functional definition of the polypeptide does not describe the claimed peptides.
Here, the genus of peptides cannot be adequately described by functional characteristics of preferential binding, even where there is disclosed or known correlations between structure and function.
The Examiner recognizes that the target, ITGA7, may be fully characterized. Previously, disclosing a bonding target, such as ofCS satisfies the written description requirement for a claim to an antibody or protein that binds the target. The Federal Circuit's decisions in Enzo Biochem v. Gen-Probe, Inc., 323 F.3d 956, 964 (Fed. Cir. 2002) and Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F. 3d 1341 (Fed. Cir. 2004) which purportedly set forth what has been called the "newly characterized antigen" test. Also, the PTO's Written Description Training Materials Revision dated March 25, 2008, provide an example (Example 13) embodying the test set forth in Enzo and Noelle.
However, reliance on Enzo and Noelle is misplaced. While the court in Noelle did discuss what is referred to as the "newly characterized antigen" test, the Federal Circuit has recently rejected such a test. Amgen Inc. v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367, 1378-79 (Fed. Cir. 2017). At issue in Amgen was the district court's jury instruction which read:
In the case of a claim to antibodies, the correlation between structure and function may also be satisfied by the disclosure of a newly characterized antigen by its structure, formula, chemical name, or physical properties if you find that the level of skill and knowledge in the art of antibodies at the time of filing was such that the production of antibodies against such an antigen was conventional and routine.
Id. at 1376. The Federal Circuit concluded that the instruction was "not legally sound and [was] not based on any binding precedent." Id. In reaching its conclusion the Federal Circuit reviewed the cases which purported to set forth the newly characterized antigen test including Noelle. Id. at 1376-77. The court concluded that in each of the prior cases the reference to the newly characterized antigen test was dicta and not binding precedent. Id.
The Federal Circuit went on to find that the newly characterized antigen test ran afoul of the Federal Circuit's precedent in Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1351 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en bane). Id. at 1378. The court noted that the focus of the inquiry is whether the written description contains enough information about the claimed products. Id. The court held that describing the antigens, which was not the claimed invention, did not satisfy the written description requirement when (“it has been, at the least, hotly disputed that knowledge of the chemical structure of an antigen gives the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding antibodies. See, e.g., J.A. 1241 (549:5-16) (Appellants' expert Dr. Eck testifying that knowing "that an antibody binds to a particular amino acid... does not tell you anything at all about the structure of the antibody [emphasis applied]"); J.A. 1314 (836:9-11) (Appellees' expert Dr. Petsko being informed of Dr. Eck's testimony and responding that "[m]y opinion is that [he's] right"); Centocor, 636 F.3d at 1352 (analogizing the antibody antigen relationship as searching for a key "on a ring with a million keys on it") (internal citations and quotation marks omitted).
In a memo issued in February 2018, USPTO, Clarification of Written Description Guidance For Claims Drawn to Antibodies and Status of 2008 Training Materials, Feb. 22, 2018 (available at https://www.usnto.gov/sites/defauH/files/documents/amgen 22feb2018.pdf) the PTO issued a clarification regarding the law of written description as it applies to antibodies stating:
In view of the Amgen decision, adequate written description of a newly characterized antigen alone should not be considered adequate written description of a claimed antibody to that newly characterized antigen, even when preparation of such an antibody is routine and conventional.
The Memo goes on to state that
"Examples in the 2008 Written Description Training Materials Are Outdated." and should NOT be relied upon as reflecting the current state of the law. Id. at 2. The Memo explains that
USPTO personnel should continue to follow the guidance in the MPEP regarding written description (see, e.g., MPEP 2161.01 and 2163 ), except insofar as MPEP 2163 indicates that disclosure of a fully characterized antigen may provide written descriptive support of an antibody to that antigen.
Id.
The instant claims present the same deficiency as the claims in Amgen where there is no evidence that knowledge of the chemical structure of muscle cell epitopen gives the required kind of structure-identifying information about the corresponding peptides that it binds. As in Amgen, the instant claims attempt to describe ITGA7-binding polypeptides and antibodies by describing the target to which the peptides bind. Moreover, there is nothing else in the disclosure that describes the peptides as required by the test set forth in Ariad.
As stated above, regard to the functional definition the peptides, the specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed (see Vas-Cath at page 1116) because the specification contains almost no information by which a person of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the inventors possessed the all of the recited compounds. At best, it simply indicates that one should test an inordinate number of peptides to see if the compounds can perform the required ITGA7-binding. In this connection, the specification contains no structural or specific functional characteristics of those peptides which bind of the epitopes, besides those peptides with amino acid sequences corresponding to the disclosed SEQ ID NO’s, see In re ’318 Patent Infringement Litigation, 583 F.3d 1317, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2009) (“[A]t the end of the day, the specification, even read in light of the knowledge of those skilled in the art, does no more than state a hypothesis and propose testing to determine the accuracy of that hypothesis. That is not sufficient.”).
Accordingly, the specification lacks adequate written description for the recited polypeptides and antibodies that bind muscle cell ITGA7 epitopes.
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what structures Applicant intends to cover by “IGF-1 variant”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 10-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2020/0399623 based on an application by Baik et al. (Baik).
Baik teaches an agent for selectively targeting a muscle cell, the agent comprising :
(a) an antigen-binding domain that selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7 and
(b) a cargo that is coupled to the antigen-binding domain that selectively binds to the mammalian ITGA7.
See (a multidomain therapeutic protein described herein comprises one or more delivery domain(s) and an enzyme domain ... the multidomain therapeutic protein further comprises a second delivery domain that binds to an internalizing effector. In some embodiments, the second delivery domain binds to (i) an internalizing effector selected from the group consisting of ... integrin alpha-7 (ITGA7) ... at least one of the one or more delivery domain(s) comprises an antigen-binding protein, Para. [0009]; the fusion protein is ... an anti-ITGA7scFv-GAA fusion protein, Para. [0014]).
An agent configured to selectively target a modulator to mammalian cells that express an integrin alpha 7 (ITGA7), the agent comprising: (a) a modulator; and (b) an antigen binding domain that selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7; wherein the modulator is coupled to the antigen-binding domain that selectively binds to the mammalian ITGA7 (a multidomain therapeutic protein described herein comprises one or more delivery domain(s) and an enzyme domain ... the multidomain therapeutic protein further comprises a second delivery domain that binds to an internalizing effector. In some embodiments, the second delivery domain binds to (i) an internalizing effector selected from the group consisting of…integrin alpha-7 (ITGA7) ... at least one of the one or more delivery domain(s) comprises an antigen-binding protein, Para. [0009]; the fusion protein is ... an anti-ITGA7scFv-GAA fusion protein, Para. [0014]);
Baik teaches an agent configured to selectively target a signaling pathway modulator to mammalian muscle cells that express an integrin alpha 7 (ITGA7), the agent comprising: (a) a signaling pathway modulator; and (b) an antigen binding domain that selectively binds to a mammalian ITGA7; wherein the signaling pathway modulator is coupled to the antigen-binding domain that selectively binds to the mammalian ITGA7 (a multidomain therapeutic protein described herein comprises one or more delivery domain(s) and an enzyme domain... the multidomain therapeutic protein further comprises a second delivery domain that binds to an internalizing effector.
In some embodiments, the second delivery domain binds to (i) an internalizing effector selected from the group consisting of ... integrin alpha-7 (ITGA7) ... at least one of the one or more delivery domain(s) comprises an antigen-binding protein, Para. [0009]; the fusion protein is... an anti-ITGA7scFv-GAA fusion protein, Para. [0014]). The structural orientation of the fusion proteins such as these (i.e., fused at eith the amino or carboxy termini) is well within the purview of those of ordinary skill.
The difference between Baik and the claimed inventions is that Baik does not teach the invention with particularity so as to amount to anticipation (See M.P.E.P. § 2131: "[t]he identical invention must be shown in as complete detail as is contained in the ... claim." Richardson v. Suzuki Motor Co., 868 F.2d 1226, 1236, 9 USPQ2d 1913, 1920 (Fed. Cir. 1989). The elements must be arranged as required by the claim, but this is not an ipsissimis verbis test, i.e., identity of terminology is not required. In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990).). However, based on the above, Baik teaches the structural elements of the claimed conjugates with sufficient guidance, particularity, and with a reasonable expectation of success, that the invention would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill (the prior art reference teaches or suggests all the claim limitations with a reasonable expectation of success. See M.P.E.P. § 2143).
Baik may not explicitly teach increasing phosphorylated AKT or increasing muscle mass. However, Baik teaches administration of conjugates that are substantially the same as those claimed. Any observed pharmacological effects, such as those instantly claimed, are an invariable aspect of Baik’s methods, see MPEP 2112.01 (“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. Id.”).
Claims 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U. S. Publication No. 2020/0399623 based on an application by Baik et al. (Baik) in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0094997 based on an application by Gavin et al. (Gavin).
Baik may not explicitly teach the structural limitations of the antigen-binding domain required by the rejected claims. However, these structural features were known at the time of the invention. It is for that proposition that the examiner joins Gavin. Specifically, Gavin teaches an Fc fusion protein comprising an N297G substitution comprising a GGGGSGGGGS (SEQ ID NO: 42) linker and hole and knob mutations (a therapeutically effective amount of an Fe-fusion protein comprising a Fc region ... further wherein the Fc region comprises a substitution at N297; wherein the substitution at N297 is N297G; two GGGGS (SEQ ID NO: 5) linkers, Para. [0188]; Additional mutations that may be made to the IgG1 Fc include those facilitate heterodimer formation amongst Fc-containing polypeptides ... Fc region is engineering to create "knobs" and "holes" which facilitate heterodimer formation of two different Fc-containing polypeptide chains when co-expressed in a cell, Para. [0083]).
As outlined above, Gavin teaches that the particular known technique of engineering antigen-binding domains as required by the dependent claims was recognized as part of the ordinary capabilities of one skilled in the art. In this manner, those of ordinary skill would have recognized that applying the known technique to those constructs that use antigen-binding domains, such as those constructs described by Baik would have yielded predictable results. Accordingly, incorporating these structural features into the instant constructs would have been prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/KARL J PUTTLITZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1646
1 See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Antibody
2 See https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Complementarity-determining_region