DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A in the reply filed on 14 September 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 13-16 and 27-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 14 September 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 17, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 17, the first type pixel (PX1) may have holes larger than openings in the pixel defining layer (PDL), so that light emitted from a light-emitting element may be visually recognized from the side of the display device, consistent with the first operation mode. However, the size of the holes in the second type pixel (PX2) may be relatively small, blocking light at a specific viewing angle. In Figure 10, the hole (OPT1) in PX1 is shown to be larger than the PDL opening, while the hole (OPT1) in PX2 is presented as approximately the size of the PDL opening, and there is no support in the specification for OPT1 in PX2 being larger than the PDL opening. See [0089], [00129], and [00131] of the instant application. For the purpose of examination, "...the plurality of pixel electrodes of the second pixel..." will be evaluated as "...the plurality of pixel electrodes of the first pixel...".
Regarding claim 19, there is no support for each of the plurality of transmission portions does not overlap some openings from among the plurality of openings, and wherein the some openings corresponds to the plurality of pixel electrodes of the second pixel. Because the transmission portions restrict light to only be observed from the front in second type pixels ([00134]), only first type pixels contain openings not overlapped by transmission portions, because the light blocking layer is not disposed in the first type pixels. Therefore, for the purpose of examination, "... plurality of pixel electrodes of the second pixel" will be changed to -- plurality of pixel electrodes of the first pixel--.
Regarding claim 26, there is no support in the specification for "...a size of a first hole of the second pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the second pixel..." to be "...greater than a size of a first hole of the first pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the first pixel". The specification states the opposite in [00131], For the purpose of examination, the limitation will be evaluated as --a size of a first hole of the second pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the first pixel is greater than a size of a first hole of the first pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the second pixel--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 10, and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al (US 20220140041 A1, hereinafter "Lee").
Regarding Claim 1 - Lee discloses a display device, comprising: a substrate (100 [0062] and Fig. 4); a first pixel (P1 [0089] and Fig. 12A) and a second pixel (P2 [0093] and Fig. 12A), each of the first pixel and the second pixel comprising a plurality of pixel electrodes located on the substrate (221A and 221B [0148] and Fig. 11); a plurality of light emitting layers located on the plurality of pixel electrodes (222A and 222B [0148] and Fig. 11); a pixel defining layer comprising a plurality of openings overlapping the plurality of light emitting layers (225 [0146] and Fig. 11); a common electrode located on the plurality of light emitting layers and the pixel defining layer (223 [0148] and Fig. 11); a first light blocking layer located on the common electrode and comprising a plurality of holes overlapping the plurality of openings (LBL [0101] and Fig. 11); and a plurality of light blocking patterns located on the first light blocking layer (LBP [0248] and Fig. 11), and wherein the plurality of light blocking patterns comprises a plurality of transmission portions respectively overlapping the pixel electrodes of the second pixel (BPHw [0254] and Fig. 11), and wherein the first pixel is configured to emit light in a first emission mode (P1 configured to emit in a first mode [0261] and Fig. 12A), and the second pixel is configured to emit light in a second emission mode in which a side visibility is limited (P2 configured to emit in a second mode [0262] and Fig. 12B), and wherein two of the transmission portions corresponding to the second pixel have different areas from each other (Width W1 of P1 is different from W2 of P2 [0099] and Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 2 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein a viewing angle in the first emission mode is greater than a viewing angle in the second emission mode (Wide angle when DA1 and DA2 both emit, narrow when only DA2 emits, [0261-0262] and Figs. 12A and 12B).
Regarding Claim 3 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the second pixel is configured to emit light in both the first emission mode and the second emission mode ([0261] and Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 4 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes of the second pixel comprises a first pixel electrode, a second pixel electrode and a third pixel electrode spaced from each other (221B [0148] and Fig. 11, in each of Pr2, Pg2, and Pb2, as in Fig. 12A), and wherein the plurality of transmission portions comprises: a first transmission portion overlapping the first pixel electrode; a second transmission portion overlapping the second pixel electrode; and a third transmission portion overlapping the third pixel electrode (BPH [0250] and Fig. 11 in each of Pr2, Pg2, and Pb2, as in Fig. 12A), and wherein an area of the first transmission portion, an area of the second transmission portion and an area of the third transmission portion are different from each other (Areas of Pr2, Pg2, and Pb2 shown as different in Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 5 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 4, wherein the area of the third transmission portion is greater than the area of the first transmission portion or the area of the second transmission portion (Area of Pb2 shown larger than areas of Pr2 and Pg2 in Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 10 - Lee further discloses the device of claim 4, wherein a first light emitting element comprising the first pixel electrode is configured to emit a first light, and a second light emitting element comprising the second pixel electrode is configured to emit a second light which is different from the first light, and a third light emitting element comprising the third pixel electrode is configured to emit a third light which is different from the first light and the second light (Pr2 emits red light, Pg2 emits green light, and Pb2 emits blue light [0093] and Fig. 12A).
Regarding Claim 17 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes of the first pixel comprises a first pixel electrode, a second pixel electrode and a third pixel electrode spaced from each other (Each Pr1, Pg1, and Pb1 contains 221A [0148] and is spaced apart, Figs. 11 and 12A), and wherein the plurality of openings comprises a first opening overlapping the first pixel electrode, a second opening overlapping the second pixel electrode and a third opening overlapping the third pixel electrode (OP1 for Pr1, Pg1, and Pb1 [0151] and Figs. 11 and 12A), and wherein the plurality of holes comprises a first hole overlapping the first pixel electrode, a second hole overlapping the second pixel electrode and a third hole overlapping the third pixel electrode (H1 in Pr1, Pg1, and Pb1 [0102] and Figs. 11 and 12A), and wherein an area of the first hole is greater than an area of the first opening, and an area of the second hole is greater than an area of the second opening, and an area of the third hole is greater than an area of the third opening (Hw1 > OPw1 [0167] and Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 18 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an area of one transmission portion from among the plurality of transmission portions is greater than an area of one hole from among the plurality of holes (BPHw is larger than Hw2, Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 19 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of transmission portions does not overlap some openings from among the plurality of openings, and wherein the some openings correspond to the plurality of pixel electrodes of the first pixel (UH in ULBL only exists in area DA2 [0197]).
Regarding Claim 20 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of color filters which are located on the common electrode (CF [0245] and Fig. 11), and wherein each of the plurality of color filters is located at a corresponding hole from among the plurality of holes (H1 and H2 [0246] and Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 21 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 20, wherein each of the plurality of color filters has a larger area than an area of the corresponding hole (Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 22 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 20, wherein each of the plurality of color filters covers the corresponding hole (Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 23 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: a plurality of touch electrodes between the common electrode and the first light blocking layer (401 is between 223 and LBL [0212] and Fig. 11), and wherein the plurality of touch electrodes fully overlap the first light blocking layer (Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 24 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of light blocking patterns does not overlap the plurality of pixel electrodes of the first pixel (Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 25 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein an inner side of each of the plurality of light blocking patterns is spaced apart from an opening which overlaps a corresponding pixel electrode from among the plurality of pixel electrodes of the second pixel (BPH is centered on (in z-Direction) and wider than OP2 in EDR Direction, as shown in Fig. 11).
Regarding Claim 26 - Lee further discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of pixel electrodes comprises a first pixel electrode and a second pixel electrode which are spaced apart from each other (e.g. 221A of Pr1 spaced apart from 221B of Pr2 as in Figs. 11 and 12A), and wherein a size of a first hole of the second pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the first pixel is greater than a size of a first hole of the first pixel from among the plurality of holes which overlaps the first pixel electrode of the second pixel (Hw1 > Hw2 in Fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 20220140041 A1, hereinafter "Lee"), in view of Hong et al (US 20230215357 A1, hereinafter "Hong").
Regarding Claim 6 - Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 4.
Lee fails to disclose the plurality of light blocking patterns comprises: a first light blocking pattern comprising the first transmission portion; a second light blocking pattern comprising the second transmission portion; and a third light blocking pattern comprising the third transmission portion.
However, Hong discloses the plurality of light blocking patterns comprises: a first light blocking pattern comprising the first transmission portion (210 defines the emission area EA2 of sub-pixel SP1, Hong [0035] and Figs. 1 and 6); a second light blocking pattern comprising the second transmission portion (210 defines EA2 of SP2, Hong [0035] and Figs. 1 and 6); and a third light blocking pattern comprising the third transmission portion (210 defines EA2 of SP3, Hong [0035] and Figs. 1 and 6).
Hong discloses an analogous display to Lee with second pixels having narrow viewing angle. Hong teaches light blocking patterns for the benefit of limiting the viewing angle in the second emission area of each second sub-pixel (Hong [0039-0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lee and Hong to provide light blocking patterns for the benefit of limiting the viewing angle in the second emission area of each second sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 7 - Lee modified by Hong discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
The combination of Lee and Hong further discloses an area of the first light blocking pattern, an area of the second light blocking pattern and an area of the third light blocking pattern are different from each other (The areas of 210 are different due to the incorporation of a different number of EA2 for each sub-pixel, as shown in Hong Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 8 - Lee modified by Hong discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
The combination of Lee and Hong further discloses an area of the first light blocking pattern is different from an area of the second light blocking pattern (The areas of 210 are different due to the incorporation of a different number of EA2 for each sub-pixel, as shown in Hong Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 9 - Lee modified by Hong discloses all the limitations of claim 6.
The combination of Lee and Hong further discloses the plurality of openings comprises: a first opening which is surrounded by the first light blocking pattern; a second opening which is surrounded by the second light blocking pattern; and a third opening which is surrounded by the third light blocking pattern (Hong Fig. 1 shows 210 defines an opening immediately around each EA2, leading to separation between each 210).
Regarding Claim 11 - Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose each of the plurality of light blocking patterns has a circular ring shape.
However, Hong discloses each of the plurality of light blocking patterns has a circular ring shape (210 for SP1 is drawn as having finite width in Fig. 1 around circular EA2 (Fig. 6)).
Hong discloses an analogous display to Lee with second pixels having narrow viewing angle. Hong teaches light blocking patterns having a circular ring shape for the benefit of blocking the light equally in all directions around a circular lens (Hong [0039]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lee and Hong to provide light blocking patterns having a circular ring shape for the benefit of blocking the light equally in all directions around a circular lens.
Regarding Claim 12 - Lee discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Lee fails to disclose the plurality of light blocking patterns are spaced apart from each other.
However, Hong discloses the plurality of light blocking patterns are spaced apart from each other (210 defines EA2 of SP1, SP2, and SP3 separately, Hong [0035] and Figs. 1 and 6).
Hong discloses an analogous display to Lee with second pixels having narrow viewing angle. Hong teaches light blocking patterns for the benefit of limiting the viewing angle in the second emission area of each second sub-pixel (Hong [0039-0040]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider combining the teachings of Lee and Hong to provide light blocking patterns for the benefit of limiting the viewing angle in the second emission area of each second sub-pixel.
Conclusion
/JASON MCDONALD/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898