DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of 1-11 in the reply filed on 9/14/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 06/08/2026 and 09/14/2026 has/have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation " wherein an accelerated high-temperature storage period, which is measured by charging the lithium secondary battery up to SOC 100% at a temperature of about 70°C for 1-day intervals, is about 15 days or more “. This limitation renders the claim indefinite because it defines the battery by a testing condition and result rather than the structural boundaries making the physical scope unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Douke US20150372263A1. Total Materia is cited as evidentiary support for claim 7
Regarding claim 1, Douke discloses a pouch for a secondary battery, comprising:
a barrier layer; a base material layer disposed on one surface of the barrier layer a sealant layer disposed on the other surface of the barrier layer, (The battery packaging material according to the present invention includes a laminate including at least a base material layer 1, a metal layer 3 and a sealant layer 4 in this order [Para 0070]);
the sealant layer comprising: a first sealant layer disposed directly in contact with the other surface of the barrier layer; and a second sealant layer disposed on the first sealant layer (The sealant layer 4 may be formed of a plurality of layers. [Para 104], the first sealant layer is a layer containing an acid-modified polyolefin and situated on the metal layer side [Para 0133] The second sealant layer is a layer which contains a polyolefin and which is laminated on the first sealant layer [Para 0145]),
the sealant layer has a melt flow rate (MFR) of about 8.5 g/10 min to about 14.0 g/10 min or less, which is measured at a temperature of about 230°C under a load condition of about 2.16 kg (the melt flow rate (MFR) of the sealant layer 4 at 230° C. is preferably 1.5 to 25 g/10 minutes [Para. 0017])
and a total thickness of the sealant layer is in a range of about 45 μm to about 100 μm (The thickness of the sealant layer 4 is, for example, 12 to 120 μm, preferably 18 to 80 μm, further preferably 20 to 60 μm [Para 0121]. The thickness of the first sealant layer 4a in Example 21Ba is 15 µm. The thickness of the second sealant layer 4b in Example 21Ba is 15 µm. The thickness of the third sealant layer in Example 21Ba is 15 µm [Para 0369] which inherently provides a total combined sealant layer thickness spanning up to 45 µm, within the claimed range of about 45 µm to about 100 µm ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select applicants claimed range of about 8.5 g/10 min to about 14.0 g/10 min because Douke teaches overlapping ranges for the melt flow rate (MFR) of the sealant layer (specifically 1.5 to 25 g/10 minutes at 230° C, measured in accordance to JIS K7210), and in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 2, the Applicant is advised that the limitation “wherein the first sealant layer and the second sealant layer have a co-extruded structure” is a product-by-process limitation. Co-extrusion is a process and does not appear to further limit the structure of the first sealant layer and the second sealant layer. There is no apparent difference between the apparatus as claimed and the prior art as taught by Douke [see MPEP 2113]. Examiner notes, however, that Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the first sealant layer and the second sealant layer have a co-extruded structure (When the sealant layer 4 is formed of two layers, for example, there is a method in which the adhesive layer 5 and one of the sealant layers 4 are co-extruded onto the metal layer 3 [Para 0315]).
Regarding claim 3, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the first sealant layer comprises an acid-modified polyolefin resin (The first sealant layer 4 a is a layer containing a polyolefin resin [Para 0268] the first sealant layer is a layer containing an acid-modified polyolefin and situated on the metal layer side [Para 0133] Examples of the resin that can be included as necessary in addition to a polyolefin resin in the first sealant layer 4 a include acid-modified polyolefin resins.[Para 0270] ).
Regarding claim 4, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the second sealant layer comprises a polyolefin resin (The second sealant layer is a layer which contains a polyolefin and which is laminated on the first sealant layer [Para 0145] The second sealant layer 4 b contains at least one of a polyolefin resin [Para 0280]).
Regarding claim 5, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein a ratio of a thickness of the second sealant layer to a thickness of the first sealant layer is in a range of about 0.8 to about 1.2 (the thickness of the first sealant layer 4 a in Example 16A is 15 µm. The thickness of the second sealant layer 4 b in Example 16A is 15 µm, which inherently discloses thickness ranges that yield a thickness ratio encompassing 1.0, thereby falling within the claimed range of about 0.8 to about 1.2 [Para 0357]).
Regarding claim 6, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the first sealant layer has a thickness of about 25 μm to about 80 μm, and the second sealant layer has a thickness of about 20 μm to about 80 μm (metal layer 3 side to laminate the first sealant layer (thickness: 25 μm) and the second sealant layer (thickness: 25 μm) on the metal layer 3. [Para 0341]).
Regarding claim 7, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the barrier layer comprises an aluminum alloy layer (the metal layer 3 is a layer which is intended to improve the strength of the packaging material, and also functions as a barrier layer. Specific examples of the metal that forms the metal layer 3 include metal foils such as those of aluminum, stainless steel and titanium. [Para 0096] It is preferred to use soft aluminum, for example annealed aluminum (JIS A8021P-O) or (JIS A8079P-O) [Para 0096]). Total Materia is cited as evidentiary support demonstrating that JIS A8021 is recognized as standard designations for aluminum alloys.
Regarding claim 8, Douke discloses the pouch of claim 1, wherein the base material layer comprises polyethylene, polypropylene, polycarbonate, polyethylene terephthalate, polyvinyl chloride, acrylic polymer, polyacrylonitrile, polyimide, polyamide, cellulose, aramid, nylon, polyester, polyparaphenylene benzobisoxazoles, polyarylates, Teflon, or a combination thereof (The material that forms the base material layer 1 is not particularly limited as long as it has insulation quality. Examples of the material that forms the base material layer 1 include polyesters, polyamides, epoxy resins, acrylic resins, fluororesins, polyurethanes, silicon resins, phenols, polyether imides, and polyimides and mixtures, copolymers and the like thereof. Specific examples of the polyester include polyethylene terephthalate, polycarbonate. Specific examples of the polyamide include aliphatic polyamides such as nylon 6 [Para 0081-0083]).
Regarding claim 9, Douke discloses a lithium secondary battery comprising: an electrode assembly, in which a positive electrode, a separator, and a negative electrode are stacked; an electrolyte; and the pouch of claim 1, wherein the pouch defines a cup part accommodating the electrode assembly and the electrolyte (a battery element including at least a positive electrode, a negative electrode and an electrolyte is covered with the battery packaging material [Para 0329] The type of secondary battery to which the battery packaging material according to the present invention is applied is not particularly limited, and examples thereof include lithium ion batteries [Para 0330] The battery includes a separator [Para 0391]).
Regarding claim 10, Douke discloses the lithium secondary battery of claim 9, wherein cell vent resistance of the lithium secondary battery is about 7.7 bars or more at a temperature of about 60°C
As to the specific output energy density as claimed in claim 10, it is found to be an inherent characteristic of the battery comprising all the claimed elements. Since the prior art does disclose a lithium secondary battery comprising substantially the same elements or components as that of the applicant, it is contended that the battery of the prior art inherently provides the claimed vent resistance.
Accordingly, products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties, and thus, the claimed property (i.e. the specific output energy density), is necessarily present in the prior art material. The courts have held that “products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112. In the instant case, the materials and structure of the prior art are substantially identical to the material claimed and thus inherently possess the same properties.
Regarding claim 11, Douke discloses the lithium secondary battery of claim 9, wherein an accelerated high-temperature storage period, which is measured by charging the lithium secondary battery up to SOC 100% at a temperature of about 70°C for 1-day intervals, is about 15 days or more (the battery packaging material containing an electrolytic solution in its internal space maintains lamination strength and prevents delamination between the metal layer 3 and the sealant layer 4 due to the heat generated during storage at high temperature or charge-discharge of the battery at 85°C [Para 0326], which inherently imparts thermal and electrolyte durability to withstand an accelerated high-temperature storage period of about 15 days or more at about 70°C).
The limitations “wherein an accelerated high-temperature storage period… is about 15 days or more " is a functional recitation. Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does [MPEP 2114(II)]. A functional recitation of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2114. In this case, Douke discloses substantially identical structural layers and materials; it inherently possesses the capability of performing this intended use. Reference is also made to the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b)
Double Patenting
Claim 1-11 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-13 of U.S. Application No. 18/545,407. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because.
Instant claim 1 is anticipated by claims 1, 2 and 8 of '407 which teaches A pouch for a secondary battery, comprising: a barrier layer; a base material layer disposed on one surface of the barrier layer; and a sealant layer disposed on the other surface of the barrier layer, the sealant layer comprising: a first sealant layer disposed directly in contact with the other surface of the barrier layer; and a second sealant layer disposed on the first sealant layer, and the sealant layer has a melt flow rate (MFR) of about 14.0 g/10 min or less, which is measured at a temperature of about 2300C under a load condition of about 2.16 kg.
Instant claim 2 is anticipated by claims 3 of '407
Instant claim 3 is anticipated by claim 4 of '407
Instant claim 4 is anticipated by claims 5 of '407
Instant claim 5 is anticipated by claims 6 of '407
Instant claim 6 is anticipated by claims 7 of '407
Instant claim 7 is anticipated by claims 9 of '407
Instant claim 8 is anticipated by claims 10 of '407
Instant claim 9 is anticipated by claims 11 of '407
Instant claim 10 is anticipated by claims 12 of '407
Instant claim 11 is anticipated by claims 13of '407
Conclusion
/CALEB U ORJI/Examiner, Art Unit 1713
/JOSHUA L ALLEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1713