DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7-13, 15-16, and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ken Matsubara (WO02017/110545) in which we considered U.S.
Patent Application: 2019/0006069, here after Matsubara) as its legal English translation,
further in view of Minoru Yamasaki et al (U. S. Patent: 5626962, here after Yamasaki). Michio Yamashita et al (U. S. Patent: 4601876 is used as evidence for inherency).
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected. Matsubara teaches a method of producing a coating treatment solution comprising a solution containing a metal element M and iron, the metal element becoming divalent cations, the coating treatment solution being used for forming a ferrite film having a spinel type crystal structure MFe2O4 on a surface of a
soft magnetic material, comprising steps of:
preparing a first solution which contains the metal element M and iron, the metal
element M containing at least manganese (Mn);
adding an alkaline solution to the first solution, the second solution having a pH
within a range of 6 to 10; and producing the coating treatment solution by using the
second solution [abstract, 0045, 0049, 0057-0058]. Matsubara also teaches spraying
the solution on substrate [0011]. Although Matsubara does not teach pH of 9-12,
however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have
selected the portion of [overlapping range] that corresponds to the claimed range. In re
Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made have a method of
making a solution for ferrite coating on particles as Matsubara teaches the pH of the
second solution is 9-10, because one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the
portion of overlapping range that corresponds to the claimed range. Matsubara does not
teach preparing the second solution in a non-oxidizing atmosphere. Yamasaki teaches
non-oxidizing atmosphere for each addition and stirring for producing spinel ferrite
coating causes gradually changing of the coercive force with passage of reaction time
[column 9 lines 55-60], therefore there would be a better control over the reaction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the
invention was made have a method of making a solution for ferrite coating on particles
as Matsubara teaches where mixing and preparing solution is done in no-oxidizing
atmosphere, because it helps gradually changing of the coercive force with passage of
reaction time. Adding an alkaline solution to the first solution in non-oxidizing
atmosphere prevents generating ferrite particles and metal hydroxide ions of Mn will be
generated. Spraying the second solution to the surface of the soft magnetic material
causing the metal hydroxide ions to be adhered on the surface of the soft magnetic
material, where metal hydroxide ions adhered on the surface of the soft magnetic
material to be oxidized by ambient oxygens, resulting in the oxidized metal hydroxide
ions being changed to the ferrite film having the spinel type crystal structure MFe2O. Yamasaki teaches non-oxidizing atmosphere, which means the amount of oxygen is at the most 3 ppm [see Yamashita column 2 lines 40-41].
Claim 2 is rejected for the same reason claim 1 is rejected above. For the same
reason as Yamasaki teaches each addition and stirring is preferred in a non-oxidizing
atmosphere (see claim 1 rejection above).
Claims 7-8 are rejected as Matsubara teaches the first solution and the second
solution are an aqueous solution, and the second solution has a pH of 6-10[0057].
Overlapping ranges are prima facie evidence of obviousness. Although it does not teach
pH of 7-12, however it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to
have selected the portion of [overlapping range] that corresponds to the claimed range.
In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549 (CCPA 1974). Therefore, it would have been obvious to
one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made have a method of
making a solution for ferrite coating on particles as Matsubara teaches the pH of the
second solution is 9-10, because one having ordinary skill in the art to have selected the
portion of overlapping range that corresponds to the claimed range.
Claims 9-10 are rejected. Matsubara teaches the coating treatment solution
further contains urea [0083]. Although Matsubara does not teach to add urea to reach
pH 9-12, however it is to the skill of an ordinary skill in art to adjust the ratio of alkaline
solution and urea to reach to pH of 9-10. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one
of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made have a method of
making a solution for ferrite coating on particles as Matsubara teaches where the pH of
the solution is adjusted with ratio of alkaline solution and urea to reach to pH of 9-10,
because it is to the skill of an ordinary skill in art to adjust the ratio of alkaline solution
and urea to reach to pH of 9-10.
Claim 11 is rejected as Matsubara teaches contacting the coating solution with
soft magnetic material forms a ferrite film of the spinel type crystal structure MFe204 on
a surface of the soft magnetic material [0055, 0059].
Claim 12 is rejected as Matsubara teaches the soft material is a soft magnetic
particle and the coating material is a magnetic core powder made of the soft magnetic
particles, surfaces of which are covered with the ferrite film [abstract lines 1-4].
Claims 13 and 21 are rejected for the same reason claim 1 is rejected. Matsubara teaches a coating treatment solution comprising a solution containing iron and Mn, the metal element becoming divalent cations, and the coating treatment solution being used for forming a ferrite film having a spinel type crystal structure MFe204 on a surface of a soft magnetic material, and the coating treatment solution having a pH of 6-10[abstract, 0045, 0057 also see claim 1 rejection above]. Yamasaki teaches non-oxidizing atmosphere, which means the amount of oxygen is at the most 3 ppm [see Yamashita column 2 lines 40-41]. Yamasaki teaches non-oxidizing atmosphere for each addition and stirring for producing spinel ferrite coating causes gradually changing of the coercive force with passage of reaction time [column 9 lines 55-60], and oxidizing in air later on which in fact result on forming spinel type crystal structure. Mastubara teaches heat treatment under pressure of 2x10-2 Pa [0062], which in fact has oxygen concentration of less than 4 ppm, therefore the oxygen dissolved concentration is less than 4 ppm.
Claims 15-16 are rejected. Matsubara, and Yamasaki teach the limitation of
claims 1, and 13 and teach adding alkaline solution (for example NaOH, 0083) to adjust
pH, which in fact is adjusted that matches with metal hydroxide ions (MnOH+).
Claim 18 is rejected. Matsubara, and Yamasaki teach the limitation of claims 1,
and teach the second solution having the pH within the range of 9 to 10, and Matsubara
teaches (enabling) the ferrite film to be a manganese-zinc ferrite [0045, claim 6] film
formed on the surface of the soft magnetic material.
Claim 19 is rejected for the same reason claim 18 is rejected above. Matsubara
and Yamasura teach producing a coating treatment solution wherein the second
solution has a pH of 9 and the manganese-zinc ferrite film formed on the surface of the
soft magnetic material [see claim 18 rejections above], but dos not teach manganese
concentration of 8 mass percent of the manganese-zinc ferrite film and a zinc
concentration of 1 mass percent of the manganese-zinc ferrite film. However, it is to the
skill of an ordinary skill in art to adjust ratio of manganese precursor (manganese
chloride) and zinc precursor (zinc chloride), so the film meets the current claim limitation.
Claims 5-6, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Ken Matsubara (WO002017/110545) in which we considered U.S. Patent Application:
2019/0006069, here after Matsubara) as its legal English translation, further in view of
Minoru Yamasaki et al (U. S. Patent: 5626962, here after Yamasaki), and Mitsuru
Odahara et al (WO02013/054700, here after Odahara).
Claims 5-6 are rejected. Matsubara teaches heat treatment under no-oxidizing
atmosphere [0062], and Yamasura teach preparing the second solution in a non-
oxidizing atmosphere [see claim 1 rejection above], but doesn't teach a solvent to be
used for preparing of the solutions is bubbled by using an inert gas in the non-oxidizing
atmosphere. Odahara teaches forming M ferrite (Zn ferrite) on metal particles [abstract],
by forming water solution of iron chloride and water solution of M chloride and then mix
them together [0025]. Odahara teaches carrying bubbling nitrogen gas in solution of M
chloride and iron chloride to prevent oxidation [0026]. Therefore, it would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made have a
method of making a solution for ferrite coating on particles as Matsubara, and Yamasaki
teach where the solution is bubbled by using an inert gas and in the non-oxidizing
atmosphere, because it further prevents reaction of the liquid from oxidation.
Claim 17 is rejected. Matsubara does not teach dissolving metal salt including
metal element M (Zn or Mn) in solvent, and dissolving metal salt including Fe in solvent
and mixing solution. Odahara teaches forming M ferrite (Zn ferrite) on metal particles
[abstract], by forming water solution of iron chloride and water solution of zinc chloride
and then mix them together [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of
ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made have a method of making a
solution for ferrite coating on particles as Matsubara, and Yamasaki teach wherein the
first solution is made by method of Odahara, because it is suitable method for making
ferrite coating on metal powders.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant argument regarding controlled low-oxygen condition is not persuasive, the applicant only shows low oxygen pressure result which would be expected from combination of the above references, and does not stablish any criticality. The applicant argues the references do not teach the concentration of oxygen is less than 5% or 10%. The examiner disagrees, as Yamasaki teaches non-oxidizing atmosphere it means there is no oxygen in atmosphere (less than 5%) and at the most would be 3 ppm( see claim rejection above).
/TABASSOM TADAYYON ESLAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1718