DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is in response to the Amendment filed on 14 October 2025. Claims 1, 3, 4, 9-12, and 22 are pending in the application. Claims 2, 5-8 and 13-21 have been cancelled.
This application is a divisional of application Serial No. 15/520,330, filed on 19 April 2017, now US Patent 10,316,407, which is a national stage application under 35 U.S.C. 371 of PCT/US2015/027045, filed on 23 October 2015, which claims benefit of provisional application 62/068,248, filed on 24 October 2014.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. 15/520,330, filed on 19 April 2017.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 14 January 2021 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Patent 10,316,407 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
In light of Applicant’s Amendment, the rejection of claims 1 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 12, and 22 are again rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scantlin et al., the article entitled “The Borane-Catalyzed Condensation of Trisilazane and N-Methyldisilazane”, in view of Sanchez et al., US 2016/0237099, both of record.
Scantlin et al. disclose a composition comprising a silicon precursor selected from the group of bis(disilylamino)silane (N,N’-disilyltrisilazane), see “Borane-Catalyzed Condensations” on page 3082 and Table I on page 3083.
Claim 11 requires the silicon precursor contain greater than, or equal to, 3 ppm, and less than 5 ppm, of halide ions. Although Scantlin et al. are silent about whether or not the bis(disilylamino)silane (N,N’-disilyltrisilazane) contains halide ions, Sanchez et al. teach the synthesis of silicon precursors containing less than 5 ppm of halide ions by using starting reactants, catalyst and optional solvents which are halogen free, see paragraph [0045]. The method of Sanchez et al. provides trisilylamine and tridisilylamine compounds containing less than 5 ppm of halide ions, thereby yielding a silicon nitride film which is not contaminated with chlorine or aminohalogens, see paragraphs [0002]-[0005]. Therefore, in order to obtain a high-quality silicon nitride film, it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the precursor used in the composition for depositing the silicon nitride film should contain less than 5 ppm of halide ions.
Claim 11 requires a solvent, wherein the solvent has a boiling point and wherein the difference between the boiling point of the solvent and that of the silicon precursor compound is 30oC or less. Sanchez et al. disclose halogen free amine substituted trisilylamine and tridisilylamine compounds and a method of their preparation. Furthermore, Sanchez et al. disclose that the solvent is selected so that its boiling point differs from the boiling point of the silicon precursor compound by about 10° C, see paragraph [0057]. In light of the teachings of Sanchez, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the silicon precursor disclosed by Sanchez et al. could have been used in the known reaction of Scantlin et al., thereby yielding a composition comprising a solvent (used in the synthesis process of Sanchez et al.), wherein the difference between the boiling point of the solvent and that of the silicon precursor compound is 30oC or less, since solvents are known to effect reaction rates, thereby providing control over the chemical reaction of Scantlin et al.
With respect to claim 12, in light of the teachings of Sanchez et al., it would have been obvious to the skilled artisan that the halide ions could comprise chloride ions, see paragraph [0045] of Sanchez et al.
With respect to claim 22, Sanchez et al. disclose in paragraph [0057] that the solvent can be toluene, xylene, mesitylene, and naftalene, which are aromatic hydrocarbons.
Claim Objections
In light of Applicant’s Amendment, the objection to claim 22 has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 10 are allowable over the prior art of record.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, 4, 9, and 10 have been found persuasive.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 14 October 2025 with respect to claims 11, 12, and 22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued that the solvents referenced in paragraph [0008] of Sanchez refer to the synthesis of compounds having silicon-nitrogen bonds rather than the deposition process for depositing silicon nitride or silicon oxide. Sanchez et al. disclose halogen free amine substituted trisilylamine and tridisilylamine compounds and a method for their preparation using solvents having a boiling point, wherein the difference between the boiling point of the solvent and that of the silicon precursor compound is 40° C or less. The use of the silicon precursor synthesized by the process of Sanchez using the claimed solvent would yield a composition comprising the silicon precursor and the solvent. The claim, as presently written, does not preclude introduction of the solvent into the claimed composition via the synthesis of the silicon precursor having silicon-nitrogen bonds. For this reason, the rejection of claims 11, 12, and 22 as being unpatentable over Scantlin et al. in view of Sanchez et al. has been maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
(toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
MARY A. WILCZEWSKI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2898
/MARY A WILCZEWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898