Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, line 13, filed 09 April 2026, with respect to the rejection of Claims 16-22, 26-30, and 38-40 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of Jindal (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Jindal; Claims 32-34, 36, and 41 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of further in view of Jindal (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Jindal, and further in view of Kodera et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0205936 A1), hereinafter Kodera; and Claims 42-43 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of further in view of Jindal (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Jindal, and further in view of Lee et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0304815 A1), hereinafter Lee; have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nam et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-1579852 B1), hereinafter Nam.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 16-22, 26-30, and 38-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of Nam et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-1579852 B1), hereinafter Nam.
6. Regarding Claims 16-22 and 39, Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012]) a substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012 and 0033]) a plurality of alternately stacked first reflective layers and second reflective layers formed over the substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) an absorption layer comprising an absorber over the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0054]) forming a pattern in the absorption layer. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the absorber having a thickness ranging from 35.5 nm to 39.5 nm. Hassan teaches (Paragraph [0034]) a capping layer formed between the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers and the absorption layer. Hassan teaches (Paragraph [0034]) the capping layer comprises ruthenium. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012 and 0033]) the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers includes a plurality of pairs of molybdenum and silicon layers. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the absorption layer has a thickness of 38.5 nm.
7. Regarding Claims 26-30, 38, and 40, Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012]) a substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012 and 0033]) a plurality of alternately stacked first reflective layers and second reflective layers formed over the substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) forming an absorption layer over the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0054]) forming a pattern in the absorption layer. Hassan teaches (Paragraph [0034]) forming a capping layer between the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers and the absorption layer. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012 and 0033]) the plurality of alternately stacked first and second reflective layers includes a plurality of pairs of molybdenum and silicon layers. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the absorber has a thickness ranging from 27.5 nm to 31.5 nm. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the absorber has a thickness of 30.5 nm.
8. Hassan however fails to specifically disclose forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer. Furthermore, Hassan however fails to specifically disclose the black border extending from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber comprising an alloy including Te and In. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.065 to 0.085. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the alloy further comprises at least one of Sb, Co, Sn, and Ni. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.070 to 0.080. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.085 to 0.105. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.090 to about 0.100.
9. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0011]) forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0021-0027]) the black border extends from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0022]) the black border region extending in to the substrate prevents radiation overlap and over exposure of the design circuit elements at the edges and corners.
10. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Qi to comprise forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer and for the black border extends from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Doing so would result in prevention of radiation overlap and over exposure of the design circuit elements at the edges and corners, as recognized by Qi.
11. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber is comprising an alloy including Te and In. Nam teaches (Paragraph [0012]) the alloy further comprises Ni. Nam teaches (Paragraph [0038]) the use of the absorber alloys therein disclosed have a high extinction coefficient, excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance.
12. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Nam wherein the absorber is comprising an alloy including Te and In; and the alloy further comprises Ni. Doing so would result in an absorber with ahigh extinction coefficient as well as excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance, as recognized by Nam.
13. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.065 to 0.085. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.070 to 0.080. Nam teaches (Paragraph [0038]) the use of the absorber alloys therein disclosed have a high extinction coefficient, excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance.
14. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Nam wherein the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02; the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.065 to 0.085; the absorption layer has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00; and the absorption layer has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.070 to 0.080. Doing so would result in an absorber with ahigh extinction coefficient as well as excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance, as recognized by Nam.
15. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.085 to 0.105. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.090 to about 0.100.
16. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Nam wherein the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.87 to 1.02; the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.085 to 0.105; the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.90 to 1.00; and the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.090 to about 0.100. Doing so would result in an absorber with ahigh extinction coefficient as well as excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance, as recognized by Nam.
17. Claims 32-34, 36, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of further in view of Nam et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-1579852 B1), hereinafter Nam, and further in view of Kodera et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0205936 A1), hereinafter Kodera.
18. Regarding Claims 32-34, 36, and 41, Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012]) a semiconductor substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraph [0034]) forming a photoresist layer over the semiconductor substrate. Hassan teaches (Paragraph [0034]) selectively exposing the photoresist layer to actinic radiation that is reflected off a reflective mask. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) a patterned absorber. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the absorber has a thickness ranging from 50 nm to 55 nm. Hassan teaches (Paragraphs [0009-0012, 0035, and 0057-0058]) the patterned absorber has a thickness of 53 nm.
19. Hassan however fails to specifically disclose forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer. Furthermore, Hassan however fails to specifically disclose a conductive layer disposed over a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the semiconductor substrate. Furthermore, Hassan however fails to specifically disclose the conductive layer is made of chromium nitride or TaB having a thickness of 25 mm to 150 mm. Furthermore, Hassan however fails to specifically disclose the black border extending from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber comprising an alloy of alloy including Te and In. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the alloy further comprises at least one of Sb, Co, Sn, and Ni. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.895 to 0.950. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0600 to 0.0610. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.944 to 0.945. Furthermore, Hassan fails to explicitly teach the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0603 to 0.0607.
20. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0011]) forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0021-0027]) the black border extends from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Qi teaches (Paragraph [0022]) the black border region extending in to the substrate prevents radiation overlap and over exposure of the design circuit elements at the edges and corners.
21. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Qi to comprise forming a black border surrounding the pattern in the absorption layer and for the black border extends from the absorption layer into the substrate to a depth below a surface of the substrate. Doing so would result in prevention of radiation overlap and over exposure of the design circuit elements at the edges and corners, as recognized by Qi.
22. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber is comprising an alloy including Te and In. Nam teaches (Paragraph [0012]) the alloy further comprises Ni. Nam teaches (Paragraph [0038]) the use of the absorber alloys therein disclosed have a high extinction coefficient, excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance.
23. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Nam wherein the absorber is comprising an alloy including Te and In; and the alloy further comprises Ni. Doing so would result in an absorber with ahigh extinction coefficient as well as excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance, as recognized by Nam.
24. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.895 to 0.950. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0600 to 0.0610. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.944 to 0.945. Nam teaches (Paragraphs [0039-0042]) absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0603 to 0.0607.
25. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Nam wherein the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 895 to 0.950; the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0600 to 0.0610; the absorber has an index of refraction ranging from 0.944 to 0.945; and the absorber has an extinction coefficient ranging from 0.0603 to 0.0607. Doing so would result in an absorber with ahigh extinction coefficient as well as excellent etching selectivity and chemical resistance, as recognized by Nam.
26. Kodera teaches (Paragraph [0049]) a conductive layer disposed over a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the semiconductor substrate. Kodera teaches (Paragraph [0049]) the conductive layer is made of chromium nitride. Kodera teaches (Paragraph [0049]) a thickness of the conductive layer greater than 10 nm can achieve preferable conductivity for electrostatic chucking.
27. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan to incorporate the teachings of Kodera to comprise a conductive layer disposed over a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface of the semiconductor substrate, wherein the conductive layer is made of chromium nitride. Doing so would result in preferable conductivity for electrostatic chucking, as recognized by Kodera.
28. Claims 42-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hassan et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0011499 A1), hereinafter Hassan, in view of Qi et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2017/0315438 A1), hereinafter Qi, and further in view of further in view of Nam et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 10-1579852 B1), hereinafter Nam, and further in view of Lee et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2016/0304815 A1), hereinafter Lee.
29. Regarding Claims 42 and 43, Hassan in view of Qi in further view of Nam teaches all limitations of Claims 16 and 26. However, Hassan in view of Qi in further view of Nam fails to explicitly teach the capping layer having a thickness of 3.5 nm.
30. Lee teaches (Paragraph [0021]) the capping layer having a thickness of 3.5 nm. Lee teaches (Paragraph [0006]) the masks therein can achieve the needed performance levels.
31. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hassan in view of Qi in further view of Nam to incorporate the teachings of Lee to comprise the capping layer having a thickness of 3.5 nm. Doing so would result in masks with the needed performance levels, as recognized by Lee.
Conclusion
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737