DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
A request for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 was filed in this application after a decision by the Patent Trial and Appeal Board, but before the filing of a Notice of Appeal to the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit or the commencement of a civil action. Since this application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114 and the fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the appeal has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114 and prosecution in this application has been reopened pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant’s submission filed on 12 November 2025 has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
The sheets of drawings should be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1. The drawing sheet numbering must be clear and larger than the numbers used as reference characters to avoid confusion. The number of each sheet should be shown by two Arabic numerals placed on either side of an oblique line, with the first being the sheet number and the second being the total number of sheets of drawings, with no other marking. See Page(s) 1-14.
Figures 12 and 14 are photographs but do not show the invention more clearly than they can be done by India ink drawings and otherwise comply with the rules concerning such drawings. Furthermore, the photographs must be of sufficient quality so that all details in the photographs are reproducible in the printed patent. The Office will accept photographs in utility and design patent applications, however, if photographs are the only practicable medium for illustrating the claimed invention. For example, photographs or photomicrographs of: electrophoresis gels, blots (e.g., immunological, western, Southern, and northern), autoradiographs, cell cultures (stained and unstained), histological tissue cross sections (stained and unstained), animals, plants, in vivo imaging, thin layer chromatography plates, crystalline structures. If the subject matter of the application admits of illustration by a drawing, the examiner may require a drawing in place of the photograph. Refer to 37 CFR 1.84(b)(1).
Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 and depending claims 2, 5-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “from end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion”. While there is support for the environment encapsulation portion comprising layers of “SiO2” and “SiN” [0052], multiple layers “having a same type of material” [0051], or multiple “passivation” layers [0051], there is no disclosure that covers the scope of multiple “dielectric” layers that “include” the end portions of the at least on EE portion. The disclosure of “layers of dielectrics” [0109] in the originally filed specification is directed to a different embodiment that does not contain an “environment encapsulation portion”.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “above dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion”. While there is support for the environment encapsulation portion comprising layers of “SiO2” and “SiN” [0052], multiple layers “having a same type of material” [0051], or multiple “passivation” layers [0051], there is no disclosure that covers the scope of multiple “dielectric” layers that “include” the end portions of the at least on EE portion. The disclosure of “layers of dielectrics” [0109] in the originally filed specification is directed to a different embodiment that does not contain an “environment encapsulation portion”.
Claim 11 and depending claims 12-13, 15-20, are 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim recites “above dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion”. While there is support for the environment encapsulation portion comprising layers of “SiO2” and “SiN” [0052], multiple layers “having a same type of material” [0051], or multiple “passivation” layers [0051], there is no disclosure that covers the scope of multiple “dielectric” layers that “include” the end portions of the at least on EE portion. The disclosure of “layers of dielectrics” [0109] in the originally filed specification is directed to a different embodiment that does not contain an “environment encapsulation portion”.
Claims 5, 7, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claims recite “the top surface of the supplemental pad is free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion”. While there is support for “the top surface of the supplemental pad is free of the at least one environment encapsulation portion” [041], there is no explicit disclosure of the supplemental pad being free of “the dielectric layers that include” the at least one EE portion.
Claim 1 and depending claims 2, 5-10, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation “the device comprising:…at least one environment encapsulation portion…wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions arranged on the pad…end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion”, which is unclear. In particular, it is unclear if the environment encapsulation portion itself is made up of dielectric layers or if a larger collection of dielectric layers has the end portions of the environment encapsulation portion as a portion of it. For purposes of examination, the claim will be read as “at least one environment encapsulation portion comprising a plurality of dielectric layers…wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions of the plurality of dielectric layers arranged on the pad…wherein the side surface of the supplemental pad are configured to extend vertically to the top surface of the supplemental pad from the end portions of the dielectric layers
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation “the device comprising:…at least one environment encapsulation portion…wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions arranged on the pad…end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion” , which is unclear. In particular, it is unclear if the environment encapsulation portion itself is made up of dielectric layers or if a larger collection of dielectric layers has the end portions of the environment encapsulation portion as a portion of it. For purposes of examination, the claim will be read as “at least one environment encapsulation portion comprising a plurality of dielectric layers…wherein a top surface of the supplemental pad is arranged above the dielectric layers of of the plurality of dielectric layers arranged on the pad…wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers of of the plurality of dielectric layers arranged on the pad and at least portions of the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically along the same axis above the end portions of the dielectric layers
Claim 11 and depending claims 12-13, 15-20, are 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim recites the limitation “the process comprising:…providing at least one environment encapsulation portion…arranging the supplemental pad to include side surfaces that extend vertically above dielectric layers that include the at least on environment encapsulation portion…configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion to include end portions arranged on the pad and configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to extend vertically to a top surface of the supplemental pad above end portions of the dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion such that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically above the end portions of the dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion…arranging the top surface of the supplemental pad above the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion”, which is unclear. In particular, it is unclear if the environment encapsulation portion itself is made up of dielectric layers or if a larger collection of dielectric layers has the end portions of the environment encapsulation portion as a portion of it. For purposes of examination, the claim will be read as “providing at least one environment encapsulation portion comprising a plurality of dielectric layers…arranging the supplemental pad to include side surfaces that extend vertically above the dielectric layers of dielectric layers of the at least one environment encapsulation portion to include end portions arranged on the pad and configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to extend vertically to a top surface of the supplemental pad above the end portions of the dielectric layers of
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-13, 15, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Huang et al. (U.S. 8,836,133).
Regarding Claim 1, Huang et al. discloses a device configured with a pad structure having environmental protection, the device comprising:
a semiconductor body portion (semiconductor portion 82, Figure 4);
a pad (pad 88, Figure 4);
at least one environment encapsulation portion (environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
a supplemental pad (supplemental pad 92, Figure 4);
the pad being arranged on the semiconductor body portion; and
the supplemental pad being arranged on the pad,
wherein the supplemental pad includes side surfaces that extend vertically above the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, Figure 4);
wherein a top surface of the supplemental pad is arranged above the at least one environment encapsulation portion (top surface 106, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions arranged on the pad (end portions of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); and
wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are configured to extend vertically to the top surface of the supplemental pad from end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion such that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically above the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, end portions of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4, the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 2, Huang et al. further discloses where the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35); the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are connected to a bottom surface of the supplemental pad through an inflection point (side surfaces 104, bottom surface of 92 adjacent to 88, inflection point adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); the inflection point of the supplemental pad being arranged adjacent the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (inflection point of 92 adjacent to opening 98, end portion of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); and the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, environment encapsulation portion 94, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 3, Huang et al. discloses a device configured with a pad structure having environmental protection, the device comprising:
a semiconductor body portion (semiconductor portion 82, Figure 4);
a pad (pad 88, Figure 4);
at least one environment encapsulation portion (environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
a supplemental pad (supplemental pad 92, Figure 4);
the pad being arranged on the semiconductor body portion; and
the supplemental pad being arranged on the pad,
wherein the supplemental pad includes side surfaces that extend vertically above the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, Figure 4);
wherein a top surface of the supplemental pad is arranged above dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (top surface 106, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions arranged on the pad (end portions of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); and
wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are configured to extend vertically to the top surface of the supplemental pad from the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion such that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically above the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
wherein the side surface of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and
wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes the end portions arranged on the pad and at least portions of the side surface of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically along the same axis above the end portions of the dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6).
Regarding Claim 5, Huang et al. further discloses a secondary pad arranged between the semiconductor body portion and the pad (Column 8, Lines 37-44), wherein the secondary pad and the pad are arranged below the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (pad and secondary pad 88, Figure 4); and wherein the top surface of the supplemental pad is free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN deposited in a step 306 and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 6, Huang et al. further discloses that the pad includes a top surface and side surfaces (pad 88, Figure 4); the at least one environment encapsulation portion is configured to partially contact and cover the side surfaces of the pad (environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and the side surfaces of the supplemental pad extend along a vertical axis above the top surface of the pad and the side surfaces are free of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, pad 88, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN deposited in a step 306 and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 7, Huang et al. further discloses wherein: the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AlN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35); the at least one environment encapsulation portion is configured to partially contact and partially cover a top surface of the pad and leave a central portion of the top surface free of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (pad 88, environment encapsulation portion 94, Figure 4); and the supplemental pad includes a bottom surface configured to contact the top surface of the pad in the central portion (supplemental pad 92, Figure 4); and the top surface of the supplemental pad is fere of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 8, Huang et al. further discloses wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises multiple layers of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38); and wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 9, Huang et al. further discloses that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion; and the supplemental pad is structured, arranged, and configured to release stress and reduce damage to the at least one environment encapsulation portion during bonding of a bonding wire to the pad structure (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94, Figure 4). The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation of "the supplemental pad is structured, arranged, and configure to release stress and reduce damage…during bonding of a bonding wire to the pad structure" does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Huang et al. who teaches the structure as claimed. The claim language does not require the presence of a bonding wire, only that the pad structure can have a bond wire bonded to it and that said pad structure can release stress/reduce damage during said hypothetical bonding.
Regarding Claim 10, Huang et al. further discloses that the semiconductor body portion comprises a substrate, a source, a gate, and a drain (Column 10, Lines 54-65); the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35).
Regarding Claim 11, Huang et al. discloses a process of forming a device with a pad structure having environmental protection, the process comprising:
providing a semiconductor body portion (semiconductor body portion 82, Figure 4);
arranging a pad on the semiconductor body portion (pad 88, Figure 4);
providing at least one environment encapsulation portion at least partially on the pad (environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6);
arranging a supplemental pad on the pad (supplemental pad 92, Figure 4);
arranging the supplemental pad to include side surfaces that extend vertically above dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, Figure 4);
configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion to include end portions arranged on the pad and configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to extend vertically to a top surface of the supplemental pad above end portions of the dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion such that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically above the end portions of the dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, end portions of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); and ,
arranging and structuring the top surface of the supplemental pad to bond to a bonding wire (top surface 106, Figure 4); andPage 6 of 15DOCKET NO.: 099077.025660PATENT
arranging the top surface of the supplemental pad above the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (top surface 106, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6, the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation of "arranging and structuring the top surface…to bond to a bonding wire " does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Huang et al. who teaches the structure as claimed. The claim language does not require the presence of a bonding wire, only that the top surface of the supplemental pad is capable of having one bonded to it.
Regarding Claim 12, Huang et al. further discloses configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to connect to a bottom surface of the supplemental pad through an inflection point (side surfaces 104, bottom surface of 92 adjacent to 88, inflection point adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); arranging the inflection point of the supplemental pad to be adjacent the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (inflection point of 92 adjacent to opening 98, end portion of 94 adjacent to opening 98, Figure 4); and configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to be at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6), wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35).
Regarding Claim 13, Huang et al. further discloses configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion to include the end portions arranged on the pad and arranging at least portions of the side surfaces of the supplemental pad vertically along the same axis above end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion, wherein the configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to be at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, end portions of 94 adjacent to opening 98, pad 88, Figure 4).
Regarding Claim 15, Huang et al. further discloses providing a secondary pad arranged between the semiconductor body portion and the pad (Column 8, Lines 37-44); wherein the secondary pad and the pad are arranged below the end portions at least a portion of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (pad and secondary pad 88, Figure 4), wherein the configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to be at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (environment encapsulation portion 94, supplemental pad 92, Figure 4); and wherein the providing at least one environment encapsulation portion further comprises depositing the at least one environment encapsulation portion using a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process or an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer formed via ALD and a passivation formed via CVD processes, Column 11, Lines 24-40).
Regarding Claim 16, Huang et al. further discloses configuring the pad to include a top surface and side surfaces (pad 88, Figure 4); arranging the at least one environment encapsulation portion to partially contact and cover the side surfaces of the pad (environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to extend along a vertical axis above the top surface of the pad and the side surfaces are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (side surfaces 104, pad 88, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6), wherein the providing at least one environment encapsulation portion further comprises depositing the at least one environment encapsulation portion using a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process or an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer formed via ALD and a passivation formed via CVD processes, Column 11, Lines 24-40).
Regarding Claim 18, Huang et al. further discloses configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion with multiple layers of SiN, AIO, SiO,SiO2, and/or AIN (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38)l wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers, Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38).
Regarding Claim 19, Huang et al. further discloses arranging, structuring, and configuring the supplemental pad to release stress and reduce damage to the at least one environment encapsulation portion during bonding of a bonding wire to the pad structure, wherein the configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to be at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6). The Examiner notes that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 181 USPQ 641 (CCPA); In re Minks, 169 USPQ 120 (Bd Appeals); In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967); In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). See MPEP § 2114. The recitation of "the supplemental pad is structured, arranged, and configure to release stress and reduce damage…during bonding of a bonding wire to the pad structure" does not distinguish the present invention over the prior art of Huang et al. who teaches the structure as claimed. The claim language does not require the presence of a bonding wire, only that the pad structure can have a bond wire bonded to it and that said pad structure can release stress/reduce damage during said hypothetical bonding.
Regarding Claim 20, Huang et al. further discloses providing a substrate, a gate, a source, and a drain (Column 10, Lines 54-65), wherein the providing at least one environment encapsulation portion further comprises depositing the at least one environment encapsulation portion using a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process or an atomic layer deposition (ALD) process (the environment encapsulation portion may comprise a conformal layer formed via ALD and a passivation formed via CVD processes, Column 11, Lines 24-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. 8,836,133), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Mieczkowski et al. (U.S. 9,991,399).
Regarding Claim 21, Huang et al. discloses the limitation of claim 1 and further discloses wherein the top surface of the supplemental pad is free of the dielectric layers that include that at least one environment encapsulation portions; and wherein the configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises forming at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35), but does not explicitly disclose a bonding wire or that the bonding wire is attached to the top surface of the supplemental pad. Mieczkowski et al. discloses a similar device wherein a stack comprising a pad and supplemental pad surrounded by an environment encapsulation portion have a bonding wire attached to a top surface of the supplemental pad (Mieczkowski et al., pad 24, supplemental pad 26, environment encapsulation portion 42, Figure 23, Column 13, Lines 1-5). Furthermore, it has been held that a conclusion of obviousness can be drawn from “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results,” such as “bonding a bond wire to a bond pad", in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the device with a bonding wire wherein the bonding wire is attached to the top surface of the supplemental pad in Huang et al. in view of Mieczkowski et al. in order to facilitate outside electrical connection and to yield predictable results.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. 8,836,133), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Mieczkowski et al. (U.S. 9,991,399).
Regarding Claim 17, Huang et al. discloses the limitations of claim 11 and further discloses arranging the at least one environment encapsulation portion to at least partially contact and partially cover a top surface of the pad and forming a central portion of the top surface to be free of the at least one environment encapsulation portion (pad 88, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6); and configuring the supplemental pad to include a bottom surface to contact the top surface of the pad in the central portion (supplemental pad 92, Figure 4), wherein the configuring the at least one environment encapsulation portion comprises forming at least one layer of SiN, AIO, SiO, SiO2, and/or AIN (the passivation layer comprises silicon nitride, Column 11, Lines 33-38. Further, they disclose that the passivation layer may have a conformal layer formed underneath, meaning that the environment encapsulation portion comprises a conformal and a dielectric layer, the conformal layer and therefore the environment encapsulation portion comprising AlN, Column 9, Lines 39-45 and Column 11, Lines 24-35); and wherein the top surface of the supplemental pad is free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion. They further disclose that encapsulation portion is patterned after conformal deposition to form an opening (Column 11, Lines 24-43).
However, they do not explicitly disclose that the environment encapsulation portion is etched. Mieczkowski et al. discloses a similar device wherein an opening is formed in an environment encapsulation portion formed over a pad via etching (Mieczkowski et al., pad 24, environment encapsulation portion 52, Figures 22 and 23, Column 12, Lines 63-67). It is well known in the art to pattern passivation layers by use of etching. Furthermore, it has been held that a conclusion of obviousness can be drawn from “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results,” such as using etching as a patterning technique to form an opening in a dielectric layer, in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form opening by etching in Huang et al. in view of Mieczkowski et al. in order to pattern the environment encapsulation portion and to yield predictable results.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al. (U.S. 8,836,133), as applied to Claim 1 above, in view of Mieczkowski et al. (U.S. 9,991,399).
Regarding Claim 22, Huang et al. discloses the limitation of claim 11 and further discloses configuring the side surfaces of the supplemental pad to be at least partially free of the dielectric layers that include the at least one environment encapsulation portion (supplemental pad 92, environment encapsulation portion 94/conformal dielectric film deposited in a step 306, Figures 4 and 6), but does not explicitly disclose attaching the bonding wire to the top surface of the supplemental pad. Mieczkowski et al. discloses a similar device wherein a stack comprising a pad and supplemental pad surrounded by an environment encapsulation portion have a bonding wire attached to a top surface of the supplemental pad (pad 24, supplemental pad 26, environment encapsulation portion 42, Figure 23, Column 13, Lines 1-5) . Furthermore, it has been held that a conclusion of obviousness can be drawn from “combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results,” such as “bonding a bond wire to a bond pad", in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 420, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to form the device by attaching the bonding wire to the top surface of the supplemental pad in Huang et al. in view of Mieczkowski et al. in order to facilitate outside electrical connection and to yield predictable results.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding Claims 1, 3, and 11, the Applicant argues that the Huang reference fails to disclose "device configured with a pad structure having environmental protection, the device comprising a pad; at least one environment encapsulation portion; a supplemental pad; wherein the at least one environment encapsulation portion includes end portions arranged on the pad; and wherein the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are configured to extend vertically to the top surface of the supplemental pad from end portions of dielectric layers that include the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion such that the side surfaces of the supplemental pad are arranged vertically above the end portions of the at least one environment encapsulation portion" because “HUANG teaches the dielectric film may cover a portion 108 of the top surface 106 of the metal stack 92; and HUANG teaches the dielectric layer 102 may be conformal to the sidewalls 104 of the metal stack 92”. However, the dielectric layer 102 is not used to anticipate the “at least one environment encapsulation portion” and the environment encapsulation portion 94 may comprise a conformal layer comprising AlN and a passivation layer comprising silicon nitride, as well as the conformal layer comprising further multiple layers (Huang et al., Column 9, Lines 39-47, Column 11, Lines 24-38). Therefore the arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Zandra Smith, can be reached at 571-272-2429. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Abbigale Boyle
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/ABBIGALE A BOYLE/Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899