DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed November 24, 2025 is acknowledged. Non-elected Species, Claims 4-7 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claim 1 has been amended. Claims 1, 3-7 and 9-10 are pending.
Action on merits of claims 1, 3 and 9-10 follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOO et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0312321) of record, in view of HWANG et al. (US. Pub. No. 2011/0169720) of record.
With respect to claim 1, YOO teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus substantially as claimed including:
a base substrate (110);
light emitting structures (153) disposed on an upper surface of the base substrate (110);
a second electrode (160) disposed on the light emitting structure (153);
a sealing substrate (210) which faces the base substrate (110);
first through eighth pixels disposed on the base substrate (110) and arranged in a 4*2 matrix configuration along a first direction and a second direction; and
a camera (700) positioned under the base substrate (110) to take a picture through a transmission window (157),
wherein each of the first through eighth pixels has a width in the first direction (up-down) and a length in the second direction (left-right), and each of the first through eighth pixels has the light emitting structures (150) and a first mirror pattern (220),
wherein the first mirror pattern (220) disposed in the first pixel includes at least three openings (150 RGB) that are aligned with the light emitting structures (150) and one transmission window (157) that is aligned with the camera (700), and includes metal to reflect external light, and
wherein each of the first through eighth pixels includes a thin film transistor including an active pattern (SL), a gate electrode (GE), a source electrode (SE) and drain electrode (DE), and a plurality of insulation layers including a first insulation layer (120) which insulates the active pattern (SL) from the gate electrode (GE), a second insulation layer (121) which insulates the gate electrode (GE) from the source electrode (SE) and the drain electrode (DE), and a third insulation layer (125) which is disposed on the source electrode (SE) and the drain electrode (DE). (See FIG. 2-6).
Thus, YOO is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing the first insulation layer overlaps the transmission window in a third direction, and the second insulation layer and the third insulation layer do not overlap the transmission window in the third direction, and the second electrode directly contacts an upper surface of the first insulation layer in the transmission window.
However, HWANG teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus including:
a base substrate (1);
light emitting structures (223) disposed on an upper surface of the base substrate (1);
a second electrode (222) disposed on the light emitting structure (223);
wherein each of first through eighth pixels includes a thin film transistor (TR) including an active pattern (212), a gate electrode (214), a source electrode (216) and drain electrode (217) and a plurality of insulation layers including a first insulation layer (213) which insulates the active pattern (212) from the gate electrode (214), a second insulation layer (215) which insulates the gate electrode (214) from the source electrode (216) and the drain electrode (217), and a third insulation layer (218) which is disposed on the source electrode and the drain electrode,
wherein the first insulation layer (213) overlaps transmission window (TA) in a third direction which is perpendicular to first and second directions, and the second insulation layer (215) and the third insulation layer (218) do not overlap the transmission window (TA) in the third direction, and
wherein the second electrode (222) directly contacts an upper surface of the first insulation layer (213) in the transmission window (TA). (See FIG. 8-9, ¶ [0076]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention was made to form the transmission window of YOO having the first insulation layer overlaps transmission window and the second electrode directly contacts the upper surface of the first insulation layer in the transmission window as taught by HWANG to increase the optical transmission of the transmission window.
Note that, HWANG teaches: the aperture unit 229 is not limited by FIG. 8 and 9 and may include at least one of the first to fifth apertures formed in the insulating layers in the transmitting region TA, i.e., ….
Therefore, the limitation: wherein the first insulation layer overlaps transmission window in a third direction which is perpendicular to the first and the second directions, and the second insulation layer and the third insulation layer do not overlap the transmission window in the third direction, and wherein the second electrode directly contacts an upper surface of the first insulation layer in the transmission window are met.
With respect to claim 3, the 4*2 matrix of YOO comprises a plurality of 2*2 matrices and wherein each of the plurality of 2*2 matrix includes four pixels, and wherein the transmission window (157) is formed in each 2*2 matrix.
With respect to claim 10, the camera (700) of YOO, is aligned with a center of the transmission window along a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOO’ 321 and HWANG ‘729 as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of YIM et al. (US. Pub. No. 2014/0160411) of record.
YOO, in view of HWANG, teaches the organic light emitting display apparatus as described in claim 1 above including the first mirror pattern (220) which defines at least three openings (150R, G, B) that are aligned with the light emitting structures (LE).
Thus, YOO and SONG are shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of explicitly disclosing a second mirror layer overlapping the first mirror pattern.
However, YIM ‘411 teaches an organic light emitting display apparatus including:
a first mirror pattern (751) which defines at least three opening (R1) each that are aligned with the light emitting structures (ELs), and
a second mirror layer (753) disposed on sealing substrate (400) and overlapping the first mirror pattern (751) and the opening (R1) of the first mirror pattern (751). (See FIG. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to form the mirror patterns of YOO comprising the first mirror layer and second mirror layer as taught by YIM to reflect the external light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim has been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ANH D MAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893