DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
This office action is in response to applicant’s arguments/remarks and amendments filed on 06/17/2026. Claims 1, 14, 21, and 23 have been amended. No Claims have been cancelled. No Claims have been newly added. Accordingly, claims 1-6, 8-19, 21, and 23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s arguments/remarks, filed on 06/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-6, 9-19, and 21 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al US 2016/0025505 A1 (hence Oh), Levinson US 2018/0136644 A1 (hence Levinson), Annapureddy et al US 2014/0278074 A1 (hence Annapureddy), and Fields et al US 9,847,043 B1 (hence Field) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Oh et al US 2016/0025505 A1 (hence Oh), Levinson US 2018/0136644 A1 (hence Levinson), Annapureddy et al US 2014/0278074 A1 (hence Annapureddy), and Poeppel et al US 2024/0071150 A1 (hence Poeppel) as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-19, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh et al US 2016/0025505 A1 (hence Oh), in view of Levinson US 2018/0136644 A1 (hence Levinson), Annapureddy et al US 2014/0278074 A1 (hence Annapureddy), and Poeppel et al US 2024/0071150 A1 (hence Poeppel).
In re claims 1 and 21, Oh discloses an apparatus and method for generating a global path for an autonomous vehicle and teaches the following:
receiving, by one or more computing devices, information identifying a plurality of different driving difficulties encountered by vehicles while operating along one or more routes in the autonomous driving mode (Fig.1, #20, #30, and Paragraphs 0025-0026, “receive traffic information”, “the traffic information includes a road traffic status (traffic congestion status), accident information, road control information, weather information, autonomous driving failure probability information, nation, and the like”),
storing in memory, by the one or more computing devices, the information in association with metadata while each of the plurality of vehicles was operating in the autonomous driving mode (Paragraph 0035 “a traffic information center collects information related to the autonomous driving failure”, by virtue of data collection, the data storing is implicit, Table 1 and Paragraphs 0052-0053);
evaluating, by the one or more computing devices, the information and the metadata in view of a plurality of route options for a particular vehicle other than the plurality of vehicles (Paragraphs 0010-0011 “evaluate a difficulty of driving in each of the candidate paths in each section according to driving environment recognition rates of the one or more recognized sensors” and “a difficulty of driving in each of the candidate paths in each section based on ….. autonomous driving failure probability information of each section), Paragraph 0015 “a difficulty of driving may be evaluated based on driving environment recognition rates of the one or more sensors, traffic congestion, weather information, and autonomous driving failure probability information”, Paragraph 0027 “evaluates difficulty of driving”, Paragraph 0035 “evaluates a difficulty of driving in consideration of autonomous driving failure probability information of each section” and “analyzes the collected information to calculate and manage autonomous driving failure probability information”, Fig.2, S14 and Paragraph 0045 “evaluates the candidate paths based on the measured sensor recognition rates and traffic information”);
and selecting, by the one or more computing devices based on the evaluating, one of the plurality of route options, whereby the particular vehicle is controlled using the selected one of the plurality of route options while operating in the autonomous driving mode (Paragraph 0013 “selecting any one of the one or more candidate paths, as an autonomous driving path, based on the results of the difficulty of driving in each section”, Fig.2, S15, and Paragraph 0046)
However, Oh discloses the traffic information receiver is configured to receive traffic information provided from a traffic information center (Paragraph 0026) but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
receiving information from a plurality of vehicles configured to operate in an autonomous mode
storing metadata that identifies a time when each of the different driving difficulties occurred, and
wherein the information identifies at least one indication of severity respective of each of the plurality of the different driving difficulties, the respective indication of severity determined by a computing device of any of the plurality of vehicles
Nevertheless, Levinson discloses an application that applies artificial intelligence and/or machine-learning techniques to predict an optimal course of action (or a subset of courses of action) for an autonomous vehicle system (Abstract) and teaches the following:
receiving information from a plurality of vehicles configured to operate in an autonomous mode (Abstract, “The application may use aggregated sensor data from multiple autonomous vehicles to assist in identifying events or conditions that might affect travel (e.g., using semantic scene classification)”, Fig.2, and Paragraph 0055)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Oh reference to include using aggregated sensor data from multiple autonomous vehicles, as taught by Levinson, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to predict an optimal course of action (or a subset of courses of action) for an autonomous vehicle system (Levinson, Abstract)
Nevertheless, Annapureddy discloses providing navigation guidance to vehicles through crowdsourcing data from a plurality of vehicles (Abstract) and teaches the following:
storing metadata that identifies a time when each of the different driving difficulties occurred (Abstract, “crowdsourcing data includes on board diagnostics data (OBD) correlated with time stamps and GPS locations of a vehicle”, Paragraph 00027, “The crowdsourcing server 102 may be configured to data-mine the crowdsourcing data, constructing tables of road segments and associated fuel consumption, acceleration and deceleration, average speed, segment entry and exit, and unusual events such as sudden braking, swerving and impacts, in order to gather trip data and route conditions for certain road segments”, and Paragraph 0028, “a personal navigation device (PND) may be configured to read OBD2 data from vehicle 104 (for example over Bluetooth) and packages the OBD2 data with onboard GPS location and time data. The PND may then upload the packaged information to the crowdsourcing server 102”, and Paragraph 0048, “The crowdsourcing data includes on board diagnostics data (OBD) correlated with time stamps”, and Fig.5)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Oh reference to include timestamp with the collected data, as taught by Annapureddy, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide navigation guidance for a vehicle that avoids road hindrances (Annapureddy, Paragraph 0005).
Nevertheless, Poeppel discloses a method including obtaining, by one or more computing devices on-board an autonomous vehicle, data indicative of one or more parameters associated with the autonomous vehicle (Abstract) and teaches the following:
wherein the information identifies at least one indication of severity respective of each of the plurality of the different driving difficulties, the respective indication of severity determined by a computing device of any of the plurality of vehicles (Paragraph 0044 “the vehicle computing system 108 can include one or more computing device(s) 110 on-board the vehicle 102”, and Paragraph 0068 “the computing device(s) 110 can be configured to determine a level of severity 140 of the fault 134 based, at least in part, on one or more characteristic(s) 138 of the fault 134 (e.g., type, potential risk, location on vehicle)”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Oh reference to include a metadata of an event including its severity, as taught by Poeppel, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to one or more of the actions to take the autonomous vehicle out-of-service based at least in part on the fault (Poeppel, Paragraph 0004).
In re claim 14, Oh discloses an apparatus and method for generating a global path for an autonomous vehicle and teaches the following:
controlling, by one or more processors, driving operations operation of the vehicle in the autonomous driving mode (Abstract, “method for generating a global path for an autonomous vehicle”, “a sensor module including one or more sensors installed in the vehicle”, Paragraphs 0023-0024, and Paragraph 0027 “The difficulty evaluator 40 evaluates difficulty of driving based on recognition rates (driving environment recognition rates) of the sensors constituting the sensor module 10 and traffic information”);
receiving, by the one or more processors while the vehicle is operating in the autonomous driving mode, sensor information from a perception system of the vehicle regarding objects or conditions in an external environment of the vehicle (Paragraph 0027);
generating, by the one or more processors according to the received sensor information, information identifying a plurality of driving difficulties encountered by the vehicle while operating along one or more routes in the autonomous driving mode, wherein the at least one type of difficulty includes at least one of a sensor difficulty for a sensor of the perception system or a roadway condition impacting autonomous driving (Paragraphs 0027, 0033-0036);
receiving, by the one or more processors from a remote system, information identifying different difficulties encountered by a plurality of vehicles other vehicles other than the first vehicle (Paragraph 0009 “traffic information may include a road traffic state, accident information, road control information, weather information, and autonomous driving failure probability information”, Fig.1, #20, #30, and Paragraphs 0025-0026, “receive traffic information”, “the traffic information includes a road traffic status (traffic congestion status), accident information, road control information, weather information, autonomous driving failure probability information, nation, and the like”, “Paragraphs 0035 “a traffic information center collects information related to the autonomous driving failure such as a location, a node number, a failure cause (recognition/control), and the like”);
and controlling, by the one or more processors, the operation of the vehicle in the autonomous driving mode according to the generated information and the information received from the remote system (Fig.2, S15, and Paragraph 0046)
However, Oh doesn’t explicitly teach that one or more other vehicles while operating in the autonomous driving mode, and a time when each of the different difficulties occurred and with at least one indication of severity of each of the plurality of the different driving difficulties
Nevertheless, Levinson, Annapureddy, and Poeppel disclose said limitations as recited above with respect to claims 1 and 21 above.
In re claims 2 and 15, Annapureddy teaches the following:
wherein the information includes a vehicle signal identifier for each one of the different driving difficulties that identifies a specific signal sent by a respective one of the one or more vehicles (Paragraph 0030 “vehicle identification number (VIN) can be extracted from OBD2 data”, the motivation to combine has been provided above)
In re claim 3, Annapureddy teaches the following:
wherein the vehicle signal identifier is either (i) included with the specific signal sent by the respective vehicle, (ii) assigned by the one or more computing devices, or (iii) composed from a combination of information from the respective vehicle and the one or more computing devices (Paragraph 0030)
In re claims 4 and 16, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the metadata includes location information identifying a location at which each one of the different driving difficulties was encountered (Paragraph 0035 and Table 1)
In re claims 5 and 17, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the location information includes at least one of a regional identifier, a street identifier, or a road segment identifier (Table 1 and Paragraph 0035)
In re claim 6, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the location information includes geographical coordinates (Paragraphs 0024 “GPS” and Paragraph 0035 “location”)
In re claim 9, Oh teaches the following:
generating a prediction model identifying which road segments are likely to present difficulty based on the information stored in the memory (Figure 3 and Paragraphs 0036-0037, 0045, and 0053-0055)
In re claim 10, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the information stored in the memory includes a signal type indicating a driving difficulty encountered by each of the one or more vehicles that transmitted corresponding information (Paragraph 0009 and Paragraph 0026)
In re claims 11 and 18, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the different driving difficulties is one or more of an extended wait to make a turn or other maneuver, an unprotected turn, a rapid brake application, an unprotected lane crossing, or a driving difficulty resulting from a driving environment (Paragraphs 0009, 0015, and 0026, “ a road traffic status (traffic congestion status), accident information, road control information, weather information, autonomous driving failure probability information, nation, and the like”)
In re claims 12 and 19, Oh teaches the following:
wherein the different driving difficulties include one or more of a fault response, a need for a human driver to take manual control, or a request for assistance from a remote operator (Paragraph 0026 “autonomous driving failure probability information”)
In re claim 13, Oh teaches the following:
transmitting the selected route option to a particular vehicle (Abstract, and Paragraph 0035)
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Levinson, Annapureddy, and Poeppel, and further in view of Urano et al US 2017/0123434 A1 (hence Urano).
In re claim 8, the combination of Oh in view of Levinson, Annapureddy, and Poeppel discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but doesn’t explicitly teach the following:
weighting one or more values based on temporal information associated with each one of the different driving difficulties
Nevertheless, Urano discloses an autonomous driving system that performs autonomous driving control of a vehicle (Abstract) and teaches the following:
weighting one or more values based on temporal information associated with each one of the different driving difficulties (Paragraphs 0133-0134)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skills in the art at the time the invention was filed to have modified the Oh reference to include weighting the difficulty based on temporal information, as taught by Urano, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to improve accuracy of objects that affects operation of a vehicle based on a time of the day (Urano, Paragraph 0135).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 23 is allowed.
Conclusion
/RAMI KHATIB/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3669