Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments, see page 10, line 16, filed 05 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of Independent Claim 1 and its Dependent Claims 3-8, 10, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement, have been fully considered and, in light of the claim amendments made, are persuasive. The rejection of Independent Claim 1 and its Dependent Claims 3-8, 10, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement has been withdrawn.
2. Applicant’s arguments, see page 11, line 4, filed 05 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of Claims 1, 3-8, 10, and 23 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; and in view of Nonaka et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0335692 A1), hereinafter Nonaka; and further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0227037 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; and further in view of Baek et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2020/0081346 A1), hereinafter Baek; Claims 11-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; in view of Nonaka et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0335692 A1), hereinafter Nonaka; further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0227037 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; and further in view Yoon et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 2013-0078782 A), hereinafter Yoon; and Claims 21-22 and 25 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; and further in view of Huang et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2009/0214959 A1), hereinafter Huang; and further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0202158 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama 2; and further in view Yoon et al. (Korean Patent Publication No. KR 2013-0078782 A), hereinafter Yoon; have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Angelopoulos et al. (United States Patent No. US 7,361,444 B1), hereinafter Angelopoulos.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1, 3-8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; and in view of Nonaka et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0335692 A1), hereinafter Nonaka; and further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0227037 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; and further in view of Angelopoulos et al. (United States Patent No. US 7,361,444 B1), hereinafter Angelopoulos.
6. Regarding Claims 1, 3-8, and 10, Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) forming a photoresist under-layer comprising a photoresist under-layer composition over a semiconductor substrate. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) forming a photoresist layer comprising a photoresist composition over the photoresist under-layer. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) selectively exposing the photoresist layer to actinic radiation. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) developing the photoresist layer to form a pattern in the photoresist layer. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0054]) wherein the photoresist under-layer composition comprises a solvent. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a polymer. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a photoactive compound. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a solvent. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a metal-containing photoresist. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) wherein the portion of the photoresist selectively exposed to actinic radiation is removed during the developing.
7. Furthermore, Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0069-0087]) a second heating and a third heating of the structure formed. (See also [0086] Fig 8 and 9 for multiple baking steps) However, Zi fails to explicitly teach a temperature and duration for the heatings. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical." Herein, the claim limitations limit to very broad temperatures ranges and broad durations and thus has not shown that the claimed ranges are of a critical nature.
8. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to have a second heating at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes; and a third heating at a temperature of 100 oC to 200 oC for 10 seconds to 10 minutes. Given that Zi teaches the heatings, the workable ranges of the temperatures and durations would have been discovered through routine optimization by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
9. Zi fails to explicitly teach a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes.
10. Nonaka teaches (Paragraphs [0055 and 0059-0060]) a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes. Nonaka teaches (Paragraphs [0055 and 0059-0060]) the first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer crosslinks and hardens the photoresist under-layer
11. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Nonaka to comprise a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes. Doing so would result in a crosslinking and hardening of the photoresist under-layer, as recognized by Nonaka.
12. Zi fails to explicitly teach a thermal acid generator. Zi fails to explicitly teach a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Zi fails to explicitly teach the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application. Zi fails to explicitly teach the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups, the polymer having crosslinking groups, and the polymer in the photoresist composition are different polymers. Zi fails to explicitly teach one of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyacrylate or polymethylmethacrylate based polymer and another of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyhydroxystyrene based polymer. Zi fails to explicitly teach wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Zi fails to explicitly teach a thermal acid generator selected from Claim 23 of the present application.
13. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0064]) a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0059]) the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0036]) wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0067]) the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups, the polymer having crosslinking groups, and the polymer in the photoresist composition are different polymers. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0192-0197 and 0246-0251]) one of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyacrylate or polymethylmethacrylate based polymer and another of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyhydroxystyrene based polymer. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0062]) wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0034]) said polymer has good adhesiveness with a photoresist layer, inhibits loss of thickness during etching and fast etching.
14. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Hatakeyama to comprise a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application; the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups, the polymer having crosslinking groups, and the polymer in the photoresist composition are different polymers; one of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyacrylate or polymethylmethacrylate based polymer and another of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups or polymer having crosslinking groups is a polyhydroxystyrene based polymer; wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; and wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Doing so would result in good adhesiveness with a photoresist layer, inhibits loss of thickness during etching and fast etching, as recognized by Hatakeyama.
15. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) a thermal acid generator. Baek teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 1 of the present application. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50]) the thermal acid generator therein serve as acid catalysts for enhanced the crosslinking of the resin.
16. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Angelopoulos to comprise a thermal acid generator and the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 1 of the present application. Doing so would result in enhanced crosslinking, as recognized by Angelopoulos.
17. Claims 11-18 and 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; in view of Nonaka et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2014/0335692 A1), hereinafter Nonaka; further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2008/0227037 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama; and further in view Angelopoulos et al. (United States Patent No. US 7,361,444 B1), hereinafter Angelopoulos.
18. Regarding Claims 11-18 and 26, Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) forming a photoresist under-layer comprising a photoresist under-layer composition over a semiconductor substrate. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) forming a photoresist layer comprising a photoresist composition over the photoresist under-layer. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) selectively exposing the photoresist layer to actinic radiation. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) developing the photoresist layer to form a pattern in the photoresist layer. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0054]) wherein the photoresist under-layer composition comprises an alcohol or a polymer having crosslinking groups. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) wherein the photoresist under-layer composition comprises a photobase generator. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) wherein the photoresist under-layer composition comprises a solvent. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a polymer. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a photoactive compound. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist composition comprises a solvent. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) wherein the portion of the photoresist selectively exposed to actinic radiation is removed during the developing.
19. Furthermore, Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0069-0087]) a second heating and a third heating of the structure formed. (See also [0086] Fig 8 and 9 for multiple baking steps) However, Zi fails to explicitly teach a temperature and duration for the heatings. MPEP § 2144.05(II) states: "Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical." Herein, the claim limitations limit to very broad temperatures ranges and broad durations and thus has not shown that the claimed ranges are of a critical nature.
20. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to have a second heating at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes; and a third heating at a temperature of 100 oC to 200 oC for 10 seconds to 10 minutes. Given that Zi teaches the heatings, the workable ranges of the temperatures and durations would have been discovered through routine optimization by a person having ordinary skill in the art.
21. Zi fails to explicitly teach a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes.
22. Nonaka teaches (Paragraphs [0055 and 0059-0060]) a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes. Nonaka teaches (Paragraphs [0055 and 0059-0060]) the first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer crosslinks and hardens the photoresist under-layer
23. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Nonaka to comprise a first heating of the photoresist under-layer before forming the photoresist layer at a temperature of 40 oC to 140 oC for 10 seconds to 5 minutes. Doing so would result in a crosslinking and hardening of the photoresist under-layer, as recognized by Nonaka.
24. Zi fails to explicitly teach a thermal acid generator. Zi fails to explicitly teach a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Zi fails to explicitly teach the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application. Zi fails to explicitly teach wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Zi fails to explicitly teach a thermal acid generator selected from Claim 23 of the present application.
25. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0064]) a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0059]) the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0036]) wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraph [0062]) wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Hatakeyama teaches (Paragraphs [0034]) said polymer has good adhesiveness with a photoresist layer, inhibits loss of thickness during etching and fast etching.
26. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Hatakeyama to comprise a polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; the crosslinking groups are at least one of those shown in Claim 1 of the present application; wherein the pendant acid-labile groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having pendant acid-labile groups; and wherein the crosslinking groups are 20 wt.% to 80 wt.% of the polymer having the crosslinking groups. Doing so would result in good adhesiveness with a photoresist layer, inhibits loss of thickness during etching and fast etching, as recognized by Hatakeyama.
27. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) a thermal acid generator. Baek teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 11 of the present application. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50]) the thermal acid generator therein serve as acid catalysts for enhanced the crosslinking of the resin.
28. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Angelopoulos to comprise a thermal acid generator and the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 11 of the present application. Doing so would result in enhanced crosslinking, as recognized by Angelopoulos.
29. Claims 21-22 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zi et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2018/0040474 A1), hereinafter Zi; and further in view of Huang et al. (United States Patent Publication US 2009/0214959 A1), hereinafter Huang; and further in view of Hatakeyama et al. (United States Patent Publication No. US 2012/0202158 A1), hereinafter Hatakeyama 2; and further in view Angelopoulos et al. (United States Patent No. US 7,361,444 B1), hereinafter Angelopoulos.
30. Regarding Claims 21-22 and 25, Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) forming a photoresist layer comprising a photoresist composition over a semiconductor substrate. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) forming a photoresist over-layer comprising a photoresist over-layer composition over the photoresist layer. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) selectively exposing the photoresist over-layer and photoresist layer to actinic radiation. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0019]) developing the photoresist layer over-layer and photoresist layer to form a pattern in the photoresist layer. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist over-layer is made of a composition comprising a thermal acid generator. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist over-layer is made of a composition comprising a photobase generator. Zi teaches (Paragraph [0054]) wherein the photoresist over-layer is made of a composition comprising an alcohol. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0046-0047]) wherein the photoresist over-layer is made of a composition comprising a solvent. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) wherein the photoresist layer is made of a composition comprising a polymer. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) wherein the photoresist layer is made of a composition comprising a photoactive compound. Zi teaches (Paragraphs [0043-0045]) wherein the photoresist layer is made of a composition comprising a solvent.
31. However, Zi fails to explicitly teach the polymer comprising pendant carboxylic acid groups. Furthermore, Zi fails to explicitly teach the photobase generator is selected from at least one of the photobase generators of Claim 21 of the present application. Furthermore, Zi fails to explicitly teach the pendant carboxylic acid groups are 10 wt.% to 60 wt.% of the polymer having pendant carboxylic acid groups.
32. Huang teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0046]) the polymer having pendant carboxylic acid groups. Huang teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0046]) the pendant carboxylic acid groups are 50 wt.% of the polymer having pendant carboxylic acid groups, wherein the Huang teaches both base soluble groups, such as pendant carboxylic acid groups, and an acid-labile group comprising the polymer and thus, at minimum, Huang teaches a 1:1 ratio of base soluble group, such as pendant carboxylic acid groups, and acid-labile groups. Huang teaches (Paragraphs [0034-0046]) said polymer resists produce patterns with high pattern resolution.
33. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Huang wherein the polymer comprises pendant carboxylic acid groups and the pendant carboxylic acid groups are 50 wt.% of the polymer having pendant carboxylic acid groups. Doing so would have produced patterns with high pattern resolution, as recognized by Huang.
34. Hatakeyama 2 teaches (Paragraphs [0164-0166]) the photobase generator is selected from at least one of the photobase generators of Claim 21 of the present application. Hatakeyama 2 teaches (Paragraph [0093]) said photobase generator allows for both positive- and negative-type photolithography.
35. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Hatakeyama 2 wherein the photobase generator is selected from at least one of the photobase generators of Claim 21 of the present application. Doing so would allow for both positive- and negative-type photolithography, as recognized by Hatakeyama 2.
36. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) a thermal acid generator. The reference also teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50], Fig. 12(d)) the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 21 of the present application. Angelopoulos teaches (Pg. 20, Col. 9, Lines 28-50]) the thermal acid generator therein serve as acid catalysts for enhanced the crosslinking of the resin.
37. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Zi to incorporate the teachings of Angelopoulos to comprise a thermal acid generator and the thermal acid generator selected from Claim 21 of the present application. Doing so would result in enhanced crosslinking, as recognized by Angelopoulos.
.
Conclusion
38. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.D.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/MARK F. HUFF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1737