DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments and the accompanying arguments with respect to the gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer overlapping the drain electrode and not overlapping the source electrode have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
In reference to claim 10, the claim requires “the first wire is connected to the gate electrode.” As written, only a single transistor is claimed, and a single transistor that includes the first wire connected to the gate electrode and the gate electrode and the drain electrode forming a first capacitance and the bias electrode and the gate electrode forming a second capacitance, as required by the combination of claims 1 and 10, is not disclosed. As disclosed, the capacitance is a feature of transistor T1 in Applicant’s Figure 2, and the first wire connected to the gate is a feature of either transistor T2 (first wire SL) or T3 (first wire SSL).
In reference to claim 11, the claim is unsupported due to its dependence on unsupported claim 10. Claim 11 further requires “the second wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode,” which similar to claim 10, mixes features of transistor T1 and transistor T2 or T3. A single transistor connected to the first wire, the second wire, and having the claimed capacitances is not disclosed.
In reference to claim 13, the claim requires “the connection conductive layer comprises an island shape.” This conflicts with the requirement of claim 1 that “the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,” in lines 47-49. A connection conductive layer that extends as required by claim 1 and is an island shape as required by claim 13 is not disclosed. Claims 1 and 13 mix features of embodiments of Applicant’s Figures 3 and 7 which are mutually exclusive configurations of the connection conductive layer BML.
Claims 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In reference to claim 10, the claim requires “the first wire is connected to the gate electrode.” As addressed above, only a single transistor is claimed and a single transistor including all of the features required of claims 1 and 10 is not disclosed. It is therefore unclear as to how many, or to which, transistor(s) claim 10 refers, as the claim includes features of transistor T1 and T2 or T3 but only claims a single transistor.
For purposes of examination, the claim has been interpreted to mean the first wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode.
In reference to claim 11, claim 11 depends on claim 10 and is indefinite due to its dependence on indefinite claim 10. Claim 11 further requires “the second wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode,” which similar to claim 10, mixes features of transistor T1 and transistor T2 or T3, such that it is unclear as to how many, or to which, transistor(s) claim 11 refers.
For purposes of examination, the claim has been interpreted to mean the second wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode of a second transistor.
In reference to claim 13, the claim requires “the connection conductive layer comprises an island shape” which conflicts with the requirement of claim 1 that “the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,” in lines 47-49. Therefore, the configuration of the connection conductive layer in claim 13 is unclear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5, 10-14, 16, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0125506) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723), Song (US 2001/0046003), Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), Ozaki et al. (US 2005/0078235), and Li et al. (US 2007/0298631).
In reference to claim 1, Kim in view of Kim discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. Song in view of Wang, Ozaki, and Li show the prior art contained a known technique that is applicable to the base device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, to apply the display repair technique of Song in view of Wang, Ozaki, and Li to the particular display of Kim in view of Kim.
Kim (US 2017/0125506), hereafter “Kim,” discloses a display device, with reference to Figures 10 and 11, including teaching
a substrate including a display area and a non-display area,
a display element over the display area, the display element including a pixel electrode 231, an intermediate layer 434, and an opposite electrode 436, paragraph 181,
a thin film transistor disposed between the substrate and the display element and connected to the display element, the thin film transistor including a semiconductor layer 416, a gate electrode 420, a source electrode 422, and a drain electrode 424, paragraph 181, 277, and 278,
a first wire, anode line 107, connected to the thin film transistor and extending in a first direction, x-direction, paragraphs 130, 136, and 205,
a second wire, data lines 110, disposed above the first wire and extending in a second direction, y-direction, crossing the first direction (data lines being the same material as power lines 104, power lines 104 cross over gate lines 108 as seen in Figure 10, gate lines in the same layer as anode voltage lines, therefore the data lines are above the first wire anode lines);
a power line 104 disposed on a same layer as and separated from the second wire, data lines 110, extending in the second direction, Y in Figure 10, and being connected to the opposite electrode, Figure 12 and paragraphs 128 and 169,
a connection conductive layer, conductor directly on 410 in Figure 11 (includes 1126, 1010, and 106), disposed below the first wire 107, paragraphs 268 and 278,
a first insulating layer 412 disposed between the connection conductive layer and the second wire;
a second insulating layer 414 disposed between the first wire and the second wire, paragraphs 280, 286, and 128
a bias electrode 1126 disposed between the substrate 410 and the semiconductor layer 416 and overlapping the semiconductor layer, the connection conductive layer 1010 and the bias electrode 1126 are disposed on a same layer, paragraph 278,
a third wire, 108 in Figure 10, disposed on a same level as the first wire 107, the third wire extending in the first direction, x-direction, paragraph 136, and
the gate electrode (1125 configured as the capacitor electrode 425 in Figure 4, paragraphs 191 and 282) and the drain electrode 424 form a first capacitance, and the bias electrode 1126 and the gate electrode (1125 configured as the capacitor electrode 425 in Figure 4) form a second capacitance, paragraph 279.
Kim does not disclose, in plan view and cross-sectional view, the gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer overlaps the drain electrode and does not overlap the source electrode.
Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723) discloses a display device including teaching in plan view and cross-sectional view, a gate electrode, 102 in Figures 6 and 7, overlapping the semiconductor layer 104 overlaps the drain electrode 106 and does not overlap the source electrode 108, paragraph 60. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer to overlap the drain electrode and not overlap the source electrode in plan view and cross-sectional view. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrange the capacitor such that the emission area overlaps the transistors and capacitor, paragraph 78.
Song (US 2001/0046003), hereafter “Song,” discloses a display apparatus and a method for repairing a display apparatus comprising: a substrate including a display area and a non-display area;
a display element over the display area;
a thin film transistor disposed between the substrate and the display element and connected to the display element, the thin film transistor including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode, paragraphs 5, 43-46, and 48;
a first wire 22 connected to the thin film transistor and extending in a first direction, paragraph 43;
a second wire 62 disposed above the first wire and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction, paragraph 46;
a connection conductive layer 90 disposed below the first wire, extending in the second direction, and overlapping a cross portion where the first wire and the second wire cross each other, paragraph 41;
a first insulating layer 100 disposed between the connection conductive layer and the second wire, paragraph 42;
a second insulating layer 30 disposed between the first wire and the second wire, paragraph 44, and
first and second connection contact holes B defined in the first and second insulating layers, the first and second connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire,
a third wire, 25 in Figure 4, disposed on a same level as the first wire 22, the third wire extending in the first direction, paragraph 61,
the first and second connection contact holes include a conductive material penetrating the first and second insulating layers, paragraph 57,
the connection conductive layer 90 (94) overlaps a further cross portion where the third wire 25 and the second wire 62 cross each other.
Song does not disclose the first and second connection contact holes predefined as through holes and disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween,
third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the first and second connection contact holes predefined as through holes include conductive material including a same material as the second wire
the connection conductive layer decreases resistance of the second wire in case that the second wire is not severed in the cross portion, and
in case that the second wire is severed in the cross portion, the second wire includes a first portion overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), hereafter “Wang,” discloses a display device including teaching the first and second connection contact holes, V1 and V2 in Figure 2, predefined as through holes and are disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween,
the first and second connection contact holes predefined as through holes include conductive material including a same material as the second wire, DL, Figures 11C to 11D and paragraph 67,
a connection conductive layer RL that decreases resistance of the second wire DL in case that the second wire is not severed, paragraphs 54 and 67, and
structure such that, in case that the second wire is severed, the second wire includes a first portion (between CP1 and CP2 in Figure 9) overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole V1, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole V2, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween, paragraph 60.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first and second connection contact holes to be predefined as through holes and disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween, the first and second connection contact holes predefined as through holes include conductive material including a same material as the second wire, the connection conductive layer to decrease resistance of the second wire in case that the second wire is not severed and in case that the second wire is severed, the second wire includes a first portion overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to repair an open circuit at or near the cross portion, as in OC in Figure 1, and paragraphs 38 and 39 of Wang.
Song in view of Wang is silent regarding the second wire being severed in the cross portion.
Ozaki et al. (US 2005/0078235) discloses a method for repairing defects in a display device including teaching severing a second wire, 220 in Figures 4a and 4b, in a cross portion (with wire 218, Figures 3a and 3b), paragraphs 71 and 72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the second wire to be severed in the cross portion. One would have been motivated to do so in order to cut the second wire without damaging an underlying wire, paragraph 72.
Song in view of Wang does not disclose
third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
Li et al. (US 2007/0298631), hereafter “Li,” discloses a display device including teaching a connection conductive layer, 506 in Figure 5, extending continuously through display pixels, paragraph 37,
first and second connection contact holes 508 disposed on opposite sides with a cross portion therebetween,
third and fourth connection contact holes 508 predefined as through holes, a second wire 512 extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the third and fourth connection contact holes 508 connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween, paragraphs 36 and 37.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display to comprise third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion, and
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, applying the technique of forming a repair line as a continuous line, as taught by 506, 512 of Li, to the connection conductive layer of Song, in order to be able to repair a defect over the whole length of the wires, as suggested by Li, paragraph 38.
In reference to the third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the connection contact holes being through holes in the first and second insulating layer is taught by Song, and the connection contact holes being predefined through holes is taught by Wang above, and Li teaches the third and fourth contact holes as addressed above. It results naturally from the combination of references that third and fourth connection contact holes are predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers.
In reference to claim 2, Kim discloses the connection conductive layer, layer of 1126 in Figure 11, is between the substrate and the first wire 107, paragraphs 136, 268, and 278, as does Song, Figure 2.
In reference to claim 5, Kim discloses the connection conductive layer 1010 is spaced apart from the bias electrode 1126, implied by feature 1010 in Figures 10 and 12 as a separate feature and the respective electrical connections of 1010 and 1126, paragraphs 267 and 279.
In reference to claim 10, Kim discloses the first wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode, paragraph 205.
In reference to claim 11, Kim discloses the second wire is connected to the source electrode or the drain electrode, paragraphs 71, 72, and 205, as does Song, paragraph 46.
In reference to claim 12, Song discloses the connection conductive layer extends in the second direction, Figure 1 and paragraph 41.
In reference to claim 13, Song discloses the connection conductive layer comprises an island shape 92, 94, paragraphs 41 and 56.
In reference to claim 14, Song discloses a length of the connection conductive layer in the second direction is greater than a length of the cross portion in the second direction, Figure 1.
In reference to claim 16, Kim discloses wherein the second wire comprises a data line, paragraph 86, as does Song, paragraph 46.
In reference to claim 17, Kim discloses an inorganic protection layer, 426 in Figure 12, covering the second wire (layer of 104 in Figure 12, 104 and second wire 110 being at the same layer), paragraphs 128 and 208, as does Song, 70 paragraph 47.
In reference to claim 21, Song discloses the connection conductive layer has a unitary body between the first connection contact hole and the second connection contact hole, Figure 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0125506) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723), Song (US 2001/0046003), Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), Ozaki et al. (US 2005/0078235), and Li et al. (US 2007/0298631). as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Zhao et al. (US 2017/0017129).
In reference to claim 3, Kim does not disclose a buffer layer disposed between the connection conductive layer and the first wire.
Zhao et al. (US 2017/0017129) discloses a display device including teaching a buffer layer, 211 in Figure disposed between the connection conductive layer 201 and the first wire 203, paragraph 41. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a buffer layer to be disposed between the connection conductive layer and the first wire. To do so would have merely been a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results; KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385, (2007). In this case substituting one configuration of insulating layers for another.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Kim (US 2017/0125506) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723), Song (US 2001/0046003), Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), Kang et al. (US 2007/0285594) and Li et al. (US 2007/0298631).
In reference to claim 18, Kim in view of Kim discloses a base display device upon which the claimed invention can be seen as an improvement. Song in view of Wang, Kang, and Li show the prior art contained a known technique that is applicable to the base device. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to apply the known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, to apply the display repair technique of Song in view of Wang, Kang, and Li to the particular display of Kim in view of Kim.
Kim discloses a display device, with reference to Figures 10 and 11, including teaching
a substrate
a display element over the display area, the display element including a pixel electrode 231, an intermediate layer 434, and an opposite electrode 436, paragraph 181,
a first wire, anode line 107, extending over the substrate in a first direction, x-direction, paragraphs 130, 136, and 205,
a second wire, data lines 110, disposed above the first wire and crossing the first wire (data lines being the same material as power lines 104, power lines 104 cross over gate lines 108 as seen in Figure 10, gate lines in the same layer as anode voltage lines, therefore the data lines are above the first wire anode lines);
a power line 104 disposed on a same layer as and separated from the second wire, data lines 110, extending in the second direction, Y in Figure 10, and being connected to the opposite electrode, Figure 12 and paragraphs 128 and 169,
a connection conductive layer, conductor directly on 410 in Figure 11 (includes 1126, 1010, and 106), disposed below the first wire 107, paragraphs 268 and 278,
a first insulating layer 412 between the connection conductive layer and the second wire;
a second insulating layer 414 between the first wire and the second wire, paragraphs 280, 286, and 128
a thin film transistor including a semiconductor layer 416, a gate electrode 420, a source electrode 422, and a drain electrode 424, paragraph 181, 277, and 278,
a bias electrode 1126 disposed between the substrate 410 and the semiconductor layer 416 and overlapping the semiconductor layer,
a third wire, 108 in Figure 10, disposed on a same level as the first wire 107, the third wire extending in the first direction, x-direction, paragraph 136,
the connection conductive layer 1010 and the bias electrode 1126 are disposed on a same layer, paragraph 278,
the gate electrode (1125 configured as the capacitor electrode 425 in Figure 4, paragraphs 191 and 282) and the drain electrode 424 form a first capacitance, and the bias electrode 1126 and the gate electrode (1125 configured as the capacitor electrode 425 in Figure 4) form a second capacitance, paragraph 279.
Kim does not disclose, in plan view and cross-sectional view, the gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer overlaps the drain electrode and does not overlap the source electrode.
Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723) discloses a display device including teaching in plan view and cross-sectional view, a gate electrode, 102 in Figures 6 and 7, overlapping the semiconductor layer 104 overlaps the drain electrode 106 and does not overlap the source electrode 108, paragraph 60. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the gate electrode overlapping the semiconductor layer to overlap the drain electrode and not overlap the source electrode in plan view and cross-sectional view. One would have been motivated to do so in order to arrange the capacitor such that the emission area overlaps the transistors and capacitor, paragraph 78.
Song discloses a display apparatus and a method for repairing a display apparatus comprising: a substrate including a display area and a non-display area;
a display element over the display area;
a thin film transistor disposed between the substrate and the display element and connected to the display element, the thin film transistor including a semiconductor layer, a gate electrode, a source electrode, and a drain electrode, paragraphs 5, 43-46, and 48;
a first wire 22 connected to the thin film transistor and extending in a first direction, paragraph 43;
a second wire 62 disposed above the first wire and extending in a second direction crossing the first direction, paragraph 46;
a connection conductive layer 90 disposed below the first wire, extending parallel to the second wire, and overlapping a cross portion where the first wire and the second wire cross each other, paragraph 41;
a first insulating layer 100 disposed between the connection conductive layer and the second wire, paragraph 42;
a second insulating layer 30 disposed between the first wire and the second wire, paragraph 44, and
first and second connection contact holes B defined in the first and second insulating layers, the first and second connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire,
a third wire, 25 in Figure 4, disposed on a same level as the first wire 22, the third wire extending in the first direction, paragraph 61,
the first and second connection contact holes include a conductive material penetrating the first and second insulating layers, paragraph 57,
the connection conductive layer 90 (94) overlaps a further cross portion where the third wire 25 and the second wire 62 cross each other.
Song does not disclose the first and second connection contact holes predefined as through holes and disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween,
third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the connection conductive layer decreases resistance of the second wire in case that the second wire is not severed in the cross portion, and
cutting the second wire by irradiating laser to an area between the cross portion and the first and second connection contact holes after forming the cross portion and the first and second connection contact holes, forming a first portion overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
Wang discloses a display device including teaching the first and second connection contact holes, V1 and V2 in Figure 2, predefined as through holes and are disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween,
a connection conductive layer RL that decreases resistance of the second wire DL in case that the second wire is not severed, paragraphs 54 and 67, and
cutting the second wire at an area between the cross portion and the first and second contact holes, forming a first portion (between CP1 and CP2 in Figure 9) overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole V1, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole V2, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween, paragraph 60.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the first and second connection contact holes to be predefined as through holes and disposed on opposite sides with the cross portion therebetween, the connection conductive layer to decrease resistance of the second wire in case that the second wire is not severed and to cut the second wire at an area between the cross portion and the first and second connection contact holes forming a first portion overlapping the cross portion, a second portion separated from the first portion and connected to the first connection contact hole, and a third portion separated from the first portion and connected to the second connection contact hole, the third portion being disposed on an opposite side to the second portion with the first portion therebetween.
One would have been motivated to do so in order to repair an open circuit at or near the cross portion, as in OC in Figure 1, and paragraphs 38 and 39 of Wang.
Song in view of Wang does not disclose cutting the second wire by irradiating laser to an area between the cross portion and the at least one connection contact hole, after forming the cross portion and the at least one connection contact hole.
Kang et al. (US 2007/0285594), hereafter “Kang,” discloses a method of repairing a display device including teaching cutting the second wire, DL at CH1 and CH2 in Figure 13, by irradiating laser to an area between the cross portion and the at least one connection contact hole 132a, 132b, after forming the cross portion and the at least one connection contact hole, Figures 11 and 12, paragraphs 101, 102, and 107. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to cut the second wire by irradiating laser to an area between the cross portion and the first and second connection contact hole, after forming the cross portion and the at least one connection contact hole. One would have been motivated to do so in order to repair and isolate a short between signal lines, paragraphs 104 and 108.
Song in view of Wang and Kang does not disclose
third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion,
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
Li discloses a display device including teaching a connection conductive layer, 506 in Figure 5, extending continuously through display pixels, paragraph 37,
first and second connection contact holes 508 disposed on opposite sides with a cross portion therebetween,
third and fourth connection contact holes 508 predefined as through holes, a second wire 512 extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the third and fourth connection contact holes 508 connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween, paragraphs 36 and 37.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for the display to comprise third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes, the second wire extending above and over the first to fourth connection contact holes,
the connection conductive layer extending continuously from a first end of the cross portion to a first end of the further cross portion opposite the first end of the cross portion, and
the third and fourth connection contact holes connecting the connection conductive layer and the second wire and disposed on opposite sides with the further cross portion therebetween.
To do so would have merely been to apply a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results, KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), MPEP 2143 I. D. In this case, applying the technique of forming a repair line as a continuous line, as taught by 506, 512 of Li, to the connection conductive layer of Song, in order to be able to repair a defect over the whole length of the wires, as suggested by Li, paragraph 38.
In reference to the third and fourth connection contact holes predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers, the connection contact holes being through holes in the first and second insulating layer is taught by Song, and the connection contact holes being predefined through holes is taught by Wang above, and Li teaches the third and fourth contact holes as addressed above. It results naturally from the combination of references that third and fourth connection contact holes are predefined as through holes in the first and second insulating layers.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0125506) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723), Song (US 2001/0046003), Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), Kang et al. (US 2007/0285594) and Li et al. (US 2007/0298631), as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Okabe et al. (US 4,894,690).
In reference to claim 19, Song in view of Wang does not disclose before the cutting of the second wire, testing whether the first wire and the second wire are short-circuited or not.
Okabe et al. (US 4,894,690) discloses a method of repairing a display device including teaching before the cutting of the second wire, testing whether the first wire and the second wire are short-circuited or not, col. 2 lines 12-21. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to test whether the first wire and the second wire are short-circuited or not before the cutting of the second wire. One would have been motivated to do so in order to identify the presence and location of defects, id.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2017/0125506) in view of Kim et al. (US 2019/0189723), Song (US 2001/0046003), Wang et al. (US 2018/0294289), Ozaki et al. (US 2005/0078235), and Li et al. (US 2007/0298631). as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wang et al. (US 2019/0013378).
In reference to claim 22, Song does not disclose a planarization layer between the substrate and the thin film transistor, wherein the connection conductive layer is on the planarization layer.
Wang et al. (US 2019/0013378), hereafter “Wang ‘378” discloses an analogous display device including teaching a planarization layer, CSL in Figure 6, between the substrate 110 and the thin film transistor, wherein the connection conductive layer 130 (analogous to layer of 1126 of Kim) is on the planarization layer, paragraph 65.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention for a planarization layer to be between the substrate and the thin film transistor, wherein the connection conductive layer is on the planarization layer. One would have been motivated to do so in order to form other conductive lines (such as CE of Wang ‘378) on the substrate that are electrically isolated from the connection conductive layer, paragraph 65.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R JUNGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897