Detailed Correspondence
Response to Amendment
Applicants’ submission, filed on 05/22/2026, addressing rejection of claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8-10, 12, and 21-25 from the non-final office action (12/03/2025), by amending claims 1, 10, 12-13, 17, and 24-25 is entered and will be addressed below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 13-17 and 19-20 remain withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention Group II and Species A2-A3, B2-B5, and C2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
The previously amendment claim 1 recites “the separate tube having a diameter greater than 1 millimeter such that gas is flowable therethrough at a rate of 0.1 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm) or greater“, as flow rate depends on pressure and gas viscosity, it is considered an intended use. An apparatus that is capable of this flow rate is considered read into the claim.
The “a measurement assembly” of claim 1 (similarly for claims 10 and 12) is not considered under 112(f) as it is structurally modified by “comprising a separate tube connecting an interior space of the distribution assembly with a pressure sensor”. Note separate tube inclusive separate from any previous named components of claim 1 or the tube having separate portions.
Claim 21 “wherein the second portion of the separate tube is arranged outside of the heater” seems to be contradictory to “a heating arrangement at least partially arranged around the second portion of the separate tube” of claim 5, however, claim 1 does not have a definition of the boundary between the second portion and the third portion. Claims 5 and 21 will be examined with different boundary between the second portion and the third portion.
Likewise, the “a first portion of the first tube arranged in a space between the first distribution pipe and the first heater “ of claim 10 is not the “a first portion comprising a first end connected with the interior space of the distribution pipe“ of claim 1, rather, it is corresponding to the third portion of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 12, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Martini et al. (US 20100233353, hereafter ‘353), in view of Li (US 20120009728, hereafter ‘728), FUKUMORI (US 20120192793, hereafter ‘793), and Loan et al. (US 6136725, hereafter ‘725). (US 20070089524 is evidenced for optical diaphragm gauge is a mechanical gauge).
‘353 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 1: FIG. 1B illustrates a side view of the evaporator shown in FIG. 1A ([0039], includes the claimed “An evaporation source”), the vapor streams out of the distribution pipe onto a substrate 320 ([0046], includes the claimed “for deposition of evaporated material on a substrate, comprising”):
The crucible 300 can be filled with the organic material in solid or liquid form. The crucible is then heated to a temperature at which the material partly changes its state of aggregation into vapor ([0045], includes the claimed “a crucible for material evaporation”);
The distribution pipe 100 is typically connected with a feeding unit such as a crucible 300 for feeding the distribution pipe with organic vapor. In the present embodiment the distribution pipe is connected to the crucible via a supply tube 310. Typically, the distribution pipe includes between 15 and 100, typically between 20 and 30 nozzle outlets ([0040], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “an essentially vertical distribution pipe with a plurality of outlets oriented laterally for providing the evaporated material to the substrate, the distribution pipe being in fluid communication with the crucible via a connection duct”; note the supply tube 310 is “a connection duct”, same as Applicants’ connection duct 113 being narrower than the crucible);
a pressure measurement device 12 including a plug 14 in which the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is provided (Figs. 6A-6B, alternative to the pressure measurement device 10 of Fig. 1B, includes the claimed “and a measurement assembly comprising a separate tube connecting an interior space of the distribution pipe with a pressure sensor to measure a vapor pressure of the evaporated material in the interior space of the distribution pipe, the separate tube comprising a first portion comprising a first end connected with the interior space of the distribution pipe, a second portion arranged outside the distribution pipe, the pressure sensor located outside of the distribution pipe and connected to a second end of the second portion arranged outside the distribution pipe, and a third portion, the third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion” as shown in illustration 1 below),
The whole measuring cell arrangement can be protected with a cover 29 surrounding it. In some examples, the measuring port 5 with the measuring vacuum chamber 26 and its membrane 2 is not directly exposed to the evaporation tube where aggressive conditions exist. In this case the port 5 is connected to a flange 40 with the interior of the evaporator tube by a baffle cavity 42 including a protection plate 41 as a baffle ([0065], in other words, aggressive vapor is indirectly connected to membrane 2 through the flange/tube 40, includes the claimed “wherein the separate tube is configured to transmit the vapor pressure of the evaporated material from the interior space of the distribution pipe to the pressure sensor via gas flow through the separate tube“, see also [0068]);
In a further embodiment, which may be combined with any other embodiment described herein, the light feeding means 37, 37' of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is connected to the analyser of the evaporator. The analyser of one example includes an interferometer, a spectrometer and a lamp, as illustrated in FIG. 7. Thereby, light can be fed into and out of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 and analysed ([0055], the spectrometer is the claimed “pressure sensor” which is clearly outside of the distribution pipe 100 as Fig. 7 is the top portion of Fig. 5, and Fig. 5 is the measurement device 12 of Fig. 6, includes the claimed “the pressure sensor located outside of the distribution pipe and connected to a second end of the second portion arranged outside the distribution pipe“).
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (1st portion &
1st end in
Interior space)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (2nd portion &
2nd end outside)][AltContent: rect][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Separate tube = 1st portion + 2nd portion + 3rd portion)][AltContent: textbox (Pressure
sensor)][AltContent: arrow]
‘353 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 1: (1A) a heater disposed around the distribution pipe;
(1B) the separate tube having a diameter greater than 1 millimeter such that gas is flowable therethrough at a rate of 0.1 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm) or greater,
(1C) (a third portion) arranged in a space between the distribution pipe and the heater,
(1D) the measurement assembly further comprising a purge gas introduction device connected to the second portion of the separate tube arranged outside the distribution pipe between the pressure sensor and the distribution pipe, (1E) wherein the purge gas introduction device includes a mass flow controller connected to an inert gas source, wherein the mass flow controller is configured to reduce or stop the purge gas flow.
‘728 is analogous art in the field of Several of the layers are formed by physical vapor deposition method with the desired materials in vacuum chambers. For preparing the absorber of a solar cell, however, the deposited vapor is volatilized by several materials melted in crucibles to evaporate and deposit on a thin foil ([0007], 3rd sentence), a crucible 312 ([0031]), The cover member 320 covers the end of the pipe 318 which is located in the second chamber 300 (Fig. 2, [0032], 2nd sentence, corresponding to distribution pipe 100 of ‘353). ’728 teaches that The heat treatment device 310 includes a second heat device 319. The second heat device 319 is located on the outside of the pipe 318 ([0030], Fig. 2 shows the second heat device 319 is space apart and surrounds the cover member 320), for the purpose of even deposition ([0030], last sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a heat device space apart and surrounding the distribution pipe 100 of ‘353, as taught by ‘728 (therefore, the third portion of the separate pipe arranged in a space between the distribution pipe and the heater, the limitations of 1A and 1C, see illustration 2 below), for the purpose of even deposition, as taught by ‘728 ([0030], last sentence).
In case Applicants argue that motivation to combine due to the even distribution is because cracking of selenium of ‘728, not the organic material used in ‘353. The examiner notes that the material used in the crucible is an intended use. Furthermore, to prevent condensation of organic material used in ‘353 is a well-known motivation to combine.
‘353 teaches that In a typical measuring cell with an external diameter of about 5 mm to about 50 mm, typically about 38 mm ([0058]) but is silent on the diameter of the flange 40.
‘793 is analogous art in the field of FILM FORMING APPARATUS (title), a vaporizer and supplied into a deposition and polymerization chamber ([0005], last sentence). ’793 teaches that with reference to FIG. 2, the pressure gauge 51 is disposed in the course of the purge gas supplying passage 52 through which purge gas flows from the purge gas supplying unit 50 into the exhaust passage 55. A pipe diameter of the purge gas supplying passage 52 is set to be small in the portion where the pressure gauge 51 is disposed ([0077]), FIG. 14 shows a temporal dependency of the pressure measured by the monitoring pressure gauge 54, a temporal dependency of the pressure measured by the pressure gauge 51 when a flow rate of purge gas from the purge gas supplying unit 50 is 10 sccm, and a temporal dependency of the pressure measured by the pressure gauge 51 when a flow rate of purge gas from the purge gas supplying unit 50 is 0 sccm ([0129]), In a region IV surrounded by a dashed line in FIG. 15, it is assumed that purge gas is supplied into the first exhaust passage 56 through a supplying pipe IV having a pipe diameter (inner diameter) corresponding to the pipe diameter D(m) of the purge gas supplying passage 52a and a length corresponding to the pipe length L(m) of the purge gas supplying passage 52a. However, in FIG. 15, in order to distinguish the present embodiment from the above-described first embodiment, the inner diameter D(m) and the length L(m) are replaced with D2 and L2, respectively ([0136]), Inner diameter: D=D2=0.010 m ([0141], or 10 mm).
In short, ‘793 uses example of D=D2 at 10 mm to derive flow rate and length of downstream pipe, however, the upstream portion at 52a is smaller than 10 mm at upstream of pressure gauge 51 ([0077]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a purge gas with an inner diameter of 10 mm and flow rate capability of 10 sccm, at taught by ‘793, to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353, particularly as the diameter of the flange 40 (the limitations of 1B and 1D), for the purpose of purging the pressure gauge.
‘725 is analogous art in the field of Method For Chemical Vapor Deposition Of A Material On A Substrate (title), dispensing a precursor to a vaporizer positioned within a vaporization chamber and delivering a vapor to a process chamber without a carrier gas (abstract). ’725 teaches that a showerhead 72 (col. 8, line 20, corresponds to the distribution pipe), A pressure sensor 34 is preferably positioned in the vapor outlet 32 for measuring the vapor pressure in the vaporization chamber 26 (Fig. 1A, col. 6, lines 13-15), pressures sensors 48, 50 (col. 6, lines 41-42), a process gas subsystem 150 supplies additional reactant, purge and other process gases to the process chamber 70. The illustrated subsystem 150 includes sources of argon 152, helium 154, and nitrous oxide (N2O) 156. Gas flow from each of these sources is regulated by a plurality of valves 162/164/169 and 161/163/168 with a mass flow controller 165/166/167 (Fig. 1B, col. 7, lines 61-67, note the purge gas 152, 154 are connected between the pressure sensor 48 and 50 and the showerhead 72).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an inert purge gas along with a mass flow controller of ‘725 between the spectrometer and the distribution pipe 100 in Fig. 7 of ‘353 (the limitations of 1D and 1E), for the purpose of purging the process gas, as taught by ‘725 (col. 7, line 62).
‘353 also teaches some limitations of:
Claim 12: FIG. 4 is a cross sectional side view on an embodiment of a coating installation. FIG. 4 shows the organic evaporator of embodiments within a coating chamber 500 that is typically evacuated by one or more vacuum pumps (not shown) during operation ([0047]), the vapor streams out of the distribution pipe onto a substrate 320 ([0046], includes the claimed “A deposition apparatus for applying material to a substrate, comprising: a vacuum chamber”);
FIG. 1B illustrates a side view of the evaporator shown in FIG. 1A ([0039], includes the claimed “An evaporation source provided in the vacuum chamber” and as shown in Fig. 4),
The crucible 300 can be filled with the organic material in solid or liquid form. The crucible is then heated to a temperature at which the material partly changes its state of aggregation into vapor ([0045], includes the claimed “the evaporation source having a crucible for material evaporation”);
The distribution pipe 100 is typically connected with a feeding unit such as a crucible 300 for feeding the distribution pipe with organic vapor. In the present embodiment the distribution pipe is connected to the crucible via a supply tube 310. Typically, the distribution pipe includes between 15 and 100, typically between 20 and 30 nozzle outlets ([0040], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “an essentially vertical distribution pipe with a plurality of outlets oriented laterally for providing evaporated material to the substrate, the distribution pipe being in fluid communication with the crucible via a connection duct”; note the supply tube 310 is “a connection duct”, same as Applicants’ connection duct 113 being narrower than the crucible);
a pressure measurement device 12 including a plug 14 in which the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is provided (Figs. 6A-6B, alternative to the pressure measurement device 10 of Fig. 1B, includes the claimed “and a measurement assembly for measuring a vapor pressure in the distribution pipe, the measurement assembly comprising a separate tube” and “ the separate tube comprising a first portion having a first end, a second portion having a second end, and a third portion connecting the first portion and the second portion, the first end is arranged in an interior space of the distribution pipe, and the second end is connected to a pressure sensor to measure the vapor pressure of the evaporated material in the interior space of the distribution pipe” as shown in illustration 1 above),
The whole measuring cell arrangement can be protected with a cover 29 surrounding it. In some examples, the measuring port 5 with the measuring vacuum chamber 26 and its membrane 2 is not directly exposed to the evaporation tube where aggressive conditions exist. In this case the port 5 is connected to a flange 40 with the interior of the evaporator tube by a baffle cavity 42 including a protection plate 41 as a baffle ([0065], in other words, aggressive vapor is indirectly connected to membrane 2 through the flange 40, includes the claimed “configured to transmit the vapor pressure of the evaporated material from the interior space of the distribution pipe to the pressure sensor via gas flow through the separate tube“, see also [0068]);
In a further embodiment, which may be combined with any other embodiment described herein, the light feeding means 37, 37' of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is connected to the analyser of the evaporator. The analyser of one example includes an interferometer, a spectrometer and a lamp, as illustrated in FIG. 7. Thereby, light can be fed into and out of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 and analysed ([0055], the spectrometer is the claimed “pressure sensor” and is clearly outside of the distribution pipe 100 as Fig. 7 is the top portion of Fig. 5, and Fig. 5 is the measurement device 12 of Fig. 6, includes the claimed “the pressure sensor located outside of the distribution pipe and connected to the second portion of the tube arranged outside the distribution pipe “).
‘353 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 12: (12A) a heater disposed around the distribution pipe;
(12B) the separate tube having a diameter greater than 1 millimeter such that gas is flowable therethrough at a rate of 0.1 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm) or greater,
(12C) the third portion is arranged in a space between the distribution pipe and the heater,
(12D) the measurement assembly further comprising a purge gas introduction device connected to the portion of the tube arranged outside the distribution pipe between the pressure sensor and the distribution pipe, (12E) wherein the purge gas introduction device includes a mass flow controller connected to an inert gas source, wherein the mass flow controller is configured to reduce or stop the purge gas flow.
‘728 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a heat device space apart and surrounding the distribution pipe 100 of ‘353, as taught by ‘728 (therefore, the third portion of the separate pipe arranged in a space between the distribution pipe and the heater, the limitations of 12A and 12C, see illustration 2 above), for the purpose of even deposition, as taught by ‘728 ([0030], last sentence).
‘793 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted an inner diameter of 10 mm and flow rate capability of 10 sccm, at taught by ‘793, to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353 (the limitations of 12B and 12D), for the purpose of purging the pressure gauge.
‘725 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an inert purge gas along with mass flow controller of ‘725 to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353 (the limitations of 12D and 12E), for the purpose of purging the process gas, as taught by ‘725 (col. 7, line 62).
‘353 further teaches the limitations of:
Claim 3: Figs. 6A-6B shows the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is partly inside and partly outside of the evaporation tube 100, particularly the flange 40 is inside the evaporation tube 100 (includes the claimed “wherein the first portion of the separate tube arranged in the interior space of the distribution pipe”, see also illustration 1 above).
Claim 5: The measuring cell of the embodiment as shown in FIG. 5 is surrounded by a holder 28 and a heater 30. With this heater 30 the cell can be heated above the condensation temperature of the involved substances of the vacuum process to be measured ([0063], includes the claimed “the measurement assembly further comprising a heating arrangement at least partially arranged around the second portion of the separate tube”, alternatively, the boundary between and second portion and the third portion can be redefined to be within the imported heater from ‘728, see illustration 2 above).
Claims 6 and 25: the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is a diaphragm gauge with optical readout (evidenced by US 20070089524, [0042], and diaphragm gauge is a mechanical gauge, includes the claimed “wherein the pressure sensor is a pressure sensor selected from the group consisting of: a mechanical pressure sensor, a capacitive pressure sensor and a thermal conductivity/convection vacuum gauge”).
The combination of ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 further teach the limitations of:
Claim 8: a flow rate of purge gas from the purge gas supplying unit 50 is 10 sccm ([0129], is capable of the claimed “wherein the purge gas introduction device is configured for providing a purge gas flow Q' of 0.1 sccm < Q'< 1.0 sccm”).
Claim 21: the illustration 2 above shows the claimed “wherein the second portion of the separate tube is arranged outside of the heater”.
Claim 23: a pressure measurement device 12 including a plug 14 in which the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is provided ([0053], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “wherein the pressure sensor is a precision diaphragm gauge”).
Alternatively, claims 1, 3, 5-6, 8, 12, 21, 23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, in view of ‘728, ‘793, ‘725 and Lenz et al. (US 20160097127, hereafter ‘127). (US 20070089524 is evidenced for optical diaphragm gauge is a mechanical gauge).
Regarding to independent claims, during a previous interview, Applicants questioned that location of the evaporator, distribution pipe and the pressure sensor of ‘353 are different than the vaporizer 26, pressure sensor 48 and showerhead 72 of ‘725.
‘127 is analogous art in the field of SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR MEASURING ENTRAINED VAPOR (title), chemical vapor deposition (CVD) processes ([0004], 4th sentence). ’127 teaches that a first pressure sensor 170 ([0039]), In FIG. 3C, valves 190 and 192 can selectively connect, disconnect or purge lines to the pressure sensor(s) ([0040], 4th sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged a dedicated purge gas line for the pressure sensor, as taught by ‘127, between the pressure spectrometer part of the pressure measurement device and the distribution pipe 100 of ‘353, for the purpose of purging pressure sensor, as taught by ‘127 ([0040], 4th sentence).
The rejection of claims 3, 5-6, 8, 12, 21, 23, and 25 are discussed above.
Alternatively, claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Kamadaet al. (US 20130209666, hereafter ‘666).
In case Applicants argue that it is not clear where the membrane 2 of Fig. 5 is located in Fig. 6 in ‘353 (for claim 3 regarding to tube location), and it is not clear whether membrane 2 is a mechanical sensor (of claim 6).
‘666 is analogous art in the field of EVAPORATING APPARATUS (title), the vacuum gauge 46 is provided to communicate with the inside of the evaporating head 22 (Fig. 6(a), [0087]). ’666 teaches that The vacuum gauge 46 may be implemented by, e.g., a capacitance manometer (hereinafter, simply referred to as "CM") ([0086], 5th sentence, Fig. 6(a) shows the tube of the vacuum gauge 46 (the horizontal dotted line) partly inside the evaporating head 22).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a capacitance manometer of ‘666 as the pressure gauge 7 of ‘367 (or replacing the optical diaphragm gauge of ‘353), for its suitability with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07. Furthermore, to have rearranged the pressure gauge 7 to a gas supply pipe 5 that extend into the showerhead 30 of ‘367, as shown in Fig. 6(a) of ‘666. It has been held that rearranging parts of an invention only involves routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C.
Alternatively, claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Arno et al. (US 6759018, hereafter ‘018).
In case Applicants argue that “wherein the purge gas introduction device is configured for providing a purge gas flow Q' of Q' of 0.1 sccm < Q'< 1.0 sccm“ of claim 8 is not an intended use of the apparatus.
‘018 is analogous art in the field of In point of use wet scrubbing abatement of semiconductor off-gases, various applications require the removal of hydride gas, acid gas, and entrained solids … such as certain CVD (chemical vapor deposition) processes (col. 1, lines 27-33). ’018 teaches that Concerning the aforementioned problem of solids formation and occlusion in pressure sensing ports of the scrubber system, a small purge of inert gas such as nitrogen may be employed to maintain the pressure sensing ports free of solids deposits, by flowing the inert gas at suitable pressure and flow rate through the pressure sensing ports. This purge must be low enough so that back-pressure is not imposed on the pressure sensing device, since this will cause an inaccurate pressure reading. The purge gas flow must however be large enough to combat any diffusion of condensable gases that are present, or passage of particulates into the pressure sensing port. The inert purge gas can also be heated when condensable gases are present, as this will further inhibit solids formation at the port (col. 24, line 62 to col. 25, line 8), The gas is introduced in line 402 and flows into the entry tube 404 equipped at an upper portion thereof with a photohelic port 406. The photohelic port may be heated by flow of nitrogen or other suitable gas at elevated temperature, or alternatively at ambient temperature, therethrough (e.g., in an interior passage of the port, or in a jacket circumscribing the port), to prevent the port from clogging (Fig. 6, col. 20, lines 57-64). ‘018 also shows heater 720 surrounding line 716 (Fig. 12, see also heater 811 for line 810 in Fig. 13).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have reduced the purge gas flow rate of ‘793, to a dedicated small heated purge flow of an inert gas, as taught by ‘018, to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353, for the purpose of preventing solid deposit to the pressure sensing port, as taught by ‘018 (col. 24, lines 62-66). As ’018 teaches that the purge must be low enough to prevent back pressure and large enough to combat diffusion of condensable gas, the purge gas flow rate is clearly an effect parameter.
It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 223 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Minamino et al. (US 20070128368, hereafter ‘368).
‘353 teaches that In a typical measuring cell with an external diameter of about 5 mm to about 50 mm, typically about 38 mm ([0058]) but is silent on the diameter of the flange 40. ‘793 teaches supplying pipe IV having an inner diameter of 10 mm as an example ([0141]).
The combination of ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 9: wherein the separate tube has an outer diameter D of 1.0 mm < D < 7.5 mm.
‘368 is analogous art in the field of Method For Production Of Functional Film, Substrate Conveyance Apparatus, And Functional Film Produced With The Method (title), electro-optic panel represented by a silver halide photosensitive material for general and industrial use, heat-sensitive material, heat development photosensitive material, photo-resist, a liquid crystal display (hereinafter, referred to as a LCD) and Organic electroluminescence (hereinafter, referred to as an organic EL) are produced by a process wherein an organic solvent-based or water-based coating solution is applied by a coater onto a belt-like substrate being continuously conveyed so that a coated layer surface is formed, and the belt-like substrate carrying the coated layer is then dried in a drying apparatus ([0004]). ’368 teaches that The SUS-made tube having an outer diameter of 1 mm and an inner diameter of 0.5 mm was inserted between the floating support units and the substrate. Then the static pressure was measured by a Manostar Gauge. This measurement value was a static pressure of the back pressure ([0245], last two sentences).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a 1 mm OD tube (or in a range between 1 mm OD to 10 mm inner diameter of ‘793), as taught by ‘368, as the outer diameter of the flange 40 of ‘353, for its suitability for gas pressure measurement with predictable results. The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. MPEP 2144.07.
Claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, in view of ‘728, Aulbach et al. (US 20080226271, hereafter ‘271), ‘793, and ‘725.
‘353 teaches some limitations of:
Claim 10: FIG. 1B illustrates a side view of the evaporator shown in FIG. 1A ([0039], includes the claimed “An evaporation source”), the vapor streams out of the distribution pipe onto a substrate 320 ([0046], includes the claimed “for deposition of a plurality of evaporated materials on a substrate, comprising”):
The crucible 300 can be filled with the organic material in solid or liquid form. The crucible is then heated to a temperature at which the material partly changes its state of aggregation into vapor ([0045], includes the claimed “a first crucible for evaporation of a first material”);
The distribution pipe 100 is typically connected with a feeding unit such as a crucible 300 for feeding the distribution pipe with organic vapor. In the present embodiment the distribution pipe is connected to the crucible via a supply tube 310. Typically, the distribution pipe includes between 15 and 100, typically between 20 and 30 nozzle outlets ([0040], 2nd sentence, includes the claimed “a first essentially vertical distribution pipe with a plurality of outlets oriented laterally for providing the first evaporated material to the substrate, the first distribution pipe being in fluid communication with the first crucible via first connection duct”; note the supply tube 310 is “a connection duct”, same as Applicants’ connection duct 113 being narrower than the crucible);
a pressure measurement device 12 including a plug 14 in which the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is provided (Figs. 6A-6B, alternative to the pressure measurement device 10 of Fig. 1B, includes the claimed “and a measurement assembly comprising a separate tube arrangement, the separate tube arrangement having a first tube and a second tube, the first tube connecting a first interior space of the first distribution pipe with a pressure sensor to measure a vapor pressure of the evaporated material in the interior space of the first distribution pipe”),
The whole measuring cell arrangement can be protected with a cover 29 surrounding it. In some examples, the measuring port 5 with the measuring vacuum chamber 26 and its membrane 2 is not directly exposed to the evaporation tube where aggressive conditions exist. In this case the port 5 is connected to a flange 40 with the interior of the evaporator tube by a baffle cavity 42 including a protection plate 41 as a baffle ([0065], in other words, aggressive vapor is indirectly connected to membrane 2 through the flange 40, includes the claimed “the separate tube arrangement configured to transmit the vapor pressure of the evaporated material from the interior space of the distribution pipe to the pressure sensor via gas flow through the separate tube“, see also [0068]);
In a further embodiment, which may be combined with any other embodiment described herein, the light feeding means 37, 37' of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 is connected to the analyser of the evaporator. The analyser of one example includes an interferometer, a spectrometer and a lamp, as illustrated in FIG. 7. Thereby, light can be fed into and out of the optical diaphragm gauge 10 and analysed ([0055], the spectrometer is the claimed “pressure sensor”, which is clearly outside of the distribution pipe 100 as Fig. 7 is the top portion of Fig. 5, and Fig. 5 is the measurement device 12 of Fig. 6, includes the claimed “the pressure sensor located outside of the first distribution pipe“).
‘353 does not teach the other limitations of:
Claim 10: (10A) a first heater disposed around the first distribution pipe;
(10B) a second crucible for evaporation of a second material;
a second essentially vertical distribution pipe with a plurality of outlets oriented laterally for providing the second evaporated material to the substrate, the second distribution pipe being in fluid communication with the second crucible via a second connection duct; and
(10C) (a measurement assembly comprising a separate tube arrangement) and a purge gas introduction arrangement,
the first tube having a diameter greater than 1 millimeter such that gas is flowable therethrough at a rate of 0.1 standard cubic centimeters per minute (sccm) or greater,
(10D) a first portion of the first tube arranged in a space between the first distribution pipe and the first heater,
(10E) the second tube connecting a second interior space of the second distribution pipe with the pressure sensor, (the pressure sensor located outside of the first) and second distribution pipes,
(10F) and the purge gas introduction arrangement having a first purge gas introduction device connected to the first tube between the pressure sensor and first the distribution pipe and a second purge gas introduction device connected to the second tube between the pressure sensor and the second distribution pipe, (10G) wherein the first purge gas introduction device includes a first mass flow controller connected to a first inert gas source, wherein the first mass flow controller is configured to reduce or stop the purge gas flow into the first tube,
wherein the second purge gas introduction device includes a second mass flow controller connected to a second inert gas source, wherein the second mass flow controller is configured to reduce or stop the purge gas flow into the second tube.
‘728 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added a heat device space apart and surrounding the distribution pipe 100 of ‘353, as taught by ‘728 (therefore, the third portion of the separate pipe arranged in a space between the distribution pipe and the heater, the limitations of 10A and 10D, see illustration 2 above, note the “first portion” of claim 10 is the third portion of claim 1), for the purpose of even deposition, as taught by ‘728 ([0030], last sentence).
‘271 is analogous art in the field of EVAPORATION CRUCIBLE AND EVAPORATION APPARATUS WITH ADAPTED EVAPORATION CHARACTERISTIC (title). ’271 teaches that In FIG. 6, four evaporation crucibles 100 are vertically arranged one above the other ([0070]), The nozzle pipe 710 includes a plurality of openings 712 and redirects the material vapor along horizontal axes towards the substrate 10 (Fig. 7, [0072], 7th sentence).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have duplicated the evaporator of Fig. 6A in vertical direction (the limitations of 10B and 10E), as taught by ‘271, for the purpose of coating several materials, as taught by ‘271. Note it is obvious to use a common pressure sensor for multiple distribution pipes 100 for saving equipment cost.
‘793 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted an inner diameter of 10 mm and flow rate capability of 10 sccm, at taught by ‘793, to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353 (the limitations of 10C and 10F), for the purpose of purging the pressure gauge.
‘725 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have added an inert purge gas along with mass flow controller of ‘725 to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353 (the limitations of 10F and 10G), for the purpose of purging the process gas, as taught by ‘725 (col. 7, line 62).
Claim 24 is rejected for the substantially same reason as claim 6 rejection above.
Alternatively, claims 10 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, in view of ‘728, ‘271, ‘793, ‘725, and ‘127.
During interview, Applicants questioned that location of the evaporator, distribution pipe and the pressure sensor of ‘353 are different than the vaporizer 26, pressure sensor 48 and showerhead 72 of ‘725.
‘127 is analogous art as discussed above.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have arranged a dedicated purge gas line for the pressure sensor, as taught by ‘127, between the pressure spectrometer part of the pressure measurement device and the distribution pipe 100 of ‘353, for the purpose of purging pressure sensor, as taught by ‘127 ([0040], 4th sentence).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127), as being applied to claim 1 rejection above, further in view of Kondo et al. (US 20200393051, hereafter ‘051).
The combination of ‘353, ‘728, ‘793, and ‘725 (optionally with ‘127) does not teach the limitations of:
Claim 22: wherein the separate tube has a volume of about 20 cm3.
Note ‘793 teaches length L2 being 10 mm ([0145]) or up to 40 mm (Fig. 16), much smaller than Applicants’ 1000 mm ([0044]), although ‘793 having extra length in horizontal passage 52 or the diameter slightly larger, it seems ‘793’s volume is smaller than 20 cm3, therefore, a faster pump down time than required by applicants ([0044]).
‘051 is analogous art in the field of a processing process of depositing a film on a substrate by an atomic layer deposition (ALD) method, ([0003]). ’051 teaches that since the distance from the pressure sensor 400 to the valve body and the internal volume is reduced, the response of the feedback control to the adjusting actuator 100 is accelerated to improve the accuracy and speed of the stroke amount adjustment ([0043], 2nd sentence). Therefore, the internal volume is an effect parameter.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the internal volume of the pressure measuring device 12, as taught by ‘051, for the purpose of fast response and accuracy, as taught by ‘051 ([0043], 2nd sentence).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants repeatedly argue that the optical diaphragm measurement device 10 of ‘Martini 353 is not equivalent to the “a separate tube connecting an interior space of the distribution pipe with a pressure sensor”, see the bottom of page 12.
This argument is found not persuasive.
Illustration 1 has clearly label “1st portion”, “2nd portion” and “3rd portion”, as of the claimed “the separate tube comprising: … a first portion …, a second portion …, and a third portion”. The illustration 1 also clearly label the “1st portion & 1st end in interior space”.
Because Applicants’ argument, the examiner adds a statement as where is the separate tube in illustration 1.
Applicants argue that ‘353 cannot be combined with Li ‘728’s heater because ‘353 state that “In the heated measuring cell arrangement it is important that the optical system like the glass fiber becomes not to hot that it will not be destroyed and that the optical accuracy of the system is not badly influenced” [0064], see the 1st paragraph of page 13.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘353 already has a heater 30 in the heated measuring cell arrangement. [0064] is merely describing avoiding the operating temperature too hot. The rest of [0064] already provides a solution “this problem can be solved while setting the fiber 37, 37' with its connector in a distance far away enough from the hot measuring cell that at the fiber the temperature is lower than 100o C”.
As a result of this argument, the examiner modifies the illustration 2 above to reflect the heater location, but there is nothing wrong with previous illustration 2 by operating the imported heater from ‘728 at lower than 100o C.
Applicants argue that there is no motivation to replace the optical fiber path with gas-conductor tube of 10 mm inner diameter of Fukumori ‘793 and purge gas is at entirely different location, see the last complete paragraph of page 13 to the middle of page 12.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The OC has clearly set forth that:
it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have adopted a purge gas with an inner diameter of 10 mm and flow rate capability of 10 sccm, at taught by ‘793, to the pressure measurement device 12 of ‘353 (the limitations of 1B and 1D), for the purpose of purging the pressure gauge.
Nowhere in OC has stated replacing the optical fiber with gas-conductor tube, as Applicants asserted.
To further clarify the rejection, the examiner points out this diameter can be applied to the flange 40 of ‘353 in this OC.
‘353 discloses that the material choice is corrosion resistant to process gases ([0068], refers to the member 2, [0067]). Providing purge gas would have been beneficial to alleviate problem of corrosion.
Note also the diameter range of claim 9 is taught by ‘368, which can also be applied to the claim 1 rejection.
Applicants argue that Loan ‘725 is for the limitation of 1D mass flow controller, but does not cure the deficiency of ‘353, ‘728, and ‘793, see the bottom of page 14.
This argument is found not persuasive.
‘725 is relied upon the limitation of 1E, mass flow controller. It is not for the limitations of 1A-1D which are taught by ‘353, ‘728, and ‘793 as discussed above without deficiency.
Applicants argue that ‘353, ‘728, and ‘793 are disparate arts, see the middle of page 15.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The examiner has clearly set forth why ‘728 and ‘793 are analogous arts. Applicants cannot pick any feature in the reference as different than the primary reference as non-analogous art, as if the references have to teach the same thing to be analogous art.
Applicants argue that none of the reference teach the newly added limitation, see the 2nd last paragraph of page 15.
This argument is found not persuasive.
The primary reference clearly teaches that the flange is a passage for evaporated material in the newly added limitations, as discussed in the rejection above. See also newly cited reference in the conclusion.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20070163713 is cited for pressure detecting means 110 penetrating into gas passage 56 (Fig. 4), This pressure detecting means 110 can be a capacitance manometer or a pressure transducer ([0133]).
US 20010000160 is cited for pressure sensors 75, 59, purge gas 27 and MFC 40, 43 (Fig. 1).
US 20090317547 is cited for “A small purge flow of an inert gas (not shown) may be injected into the pressure sensor 114 and conduit 127 to inhibit vapor from the processing chamber from entering the pressure sensor 114” (Fig. 1 also shows the tube of the pressure sensor is partially in the vacuum chamber, [0018], last sentence).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEATH T CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716