DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 through 13, 15, 16 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the backside BEOL structure" in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The precedent in line 10 recites “a first backside BEOL structure”.
Claims 10 through 13, 15, 16 and 27 depend from and incorporate claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 through 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0139880) in view of Chen (US 2020/0058632) in view of Bhagavat (US 2014/0145300).
Regarding claim 1.
Lee teaches an integrated circuit structure, comprising: a semiconductor device, comprising: a backside BEOL structure (fig 5c:230; [para 0052]) comprising a power/ground interconnect (fig 5c:232; [para 0034,0052]); a front end of line (FEOL) structure (fig 5c:ID2; [para 0050]) disposed over the backside BEOL structure (fig 5c:230; [para 0052]) and comprising a device (fig 5c:212; [para 0050]) and a power/ground contact (fig 5c; [para 0034,0050]) connecting the device (fig 5c:ID2:0034,0050]), the power/ground interconnect (fig 5c:232; [para 0034,0052]) connecting the power/ground contact (fig 5c; [para 0034,0050]), a carrier substrate (fig 5b:400; [para 0051]) attached to the front side BEOL structure (fig 5c:222; [para 0048,0051])
Lee does not teach an encapsulating dielectric material is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure, and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material
Chen teaches a dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020]) laterally encapsulating the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]) and the front side BEOL structure (fig 1b:200; [para 0020]), wherein a lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]), and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an encapsulating layer with lateral side surfaces coplanar with lateral side surfaces of the BEOL structures in order to facilitate singulation of the devices using cutting (Chen; [para 0037])
Lee does not teach an adhesive bonding layer on the carrier
Bhagavat teaches a carrier substrate (fig 7hL:714; [para 0074]) attached through an adhesive layer (fig 7h:713; [para 0074]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an adhesive for the carrier substrate in order that the bond will be temporary making removal of the carrier easier (paragraph 74)
Regarding claim 2.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches the front side BEOL structure is free of power/ground interconnect connecting the power/ground contact (fig 5c).
Regarding claim 3.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches a base substrate (fig 5a:211; [para 0050]) disposed between the FEOL structure (fig 5c:ID2; [para 0050]) and the backside BEOL structure (fig 5c:230; [para 0052]) and a through substrate via (fig 5c:241; [para 0051]) extending through the base substrate (fig 5c:211; [para 0050]) and connecting the power/ground contact (fig 5c:222p; [para 0051])
Regarding claim 4.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches a power/ground terminal disposed (fig 5e:321; [para 0054]) on the backside BEOL structure (fig5c,5e:230; [para 0052]) and connecting the power/ground interconnect (fig 5c:232; [para 0054]).
Regarding claim 5.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches an I/O terminal disposed on a bonding surface of the front side BEOL structure (fig 5c:222; [para 0048,0051]) and connecting an I/O contact on the FEOL structure (fig 5c,d:ID2; [para 0050]).
Regarding claim 6.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches the FEOL structure (242) is in contact with the backside BEOL structure (fig 5c:230; [para 0052]), and the front side BEOL structure (fig 5c:222; [para 0048,0051]).
Regarding claim 7.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee teaches an I/O terminal disposed on a bonding surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 5c:230; [para 0052]) and connecting an I/O contact on the FEOL structure (fig 5c:242; [para 0039,0051]).
Regarding claim 8
Lee in view of Chen in view of Bhagavat teaches the integrate circuit structure as claimed in claim 1, further:
Lee does not teach in the embodiment a dielectric material covering side structures of the FEOL and the front side BEOL.
Lee teaches a second embodiment wherein the dielectric material (fig 8:310; [para 0066]) covers a side surfaceof the FEOL structure, and a side surface of the front side BEOL structure (fig 7,8; [para 0035.0066]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a dielectric over front and side surface in order to encapsulate and thereby protect the fabricated structure from contamination and damage.
Claim(s) 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Lee (US 2022/0139880) in view of Chen (US 2020/0058632)
Regarding claim 9.
Lee teaches a stacked integrated circuit structure, comprising: a first integrated circuit (fig 6a:100; [para 0064]) comprising: a first FEOL structure comprising a first device (fig 6a:id1; [para 0042]) and a first power/ground contact (fig 6a,8141; [para 0060]) connecting the first device (fig 6a:id1; [para 0042]); a first front side BEOL structure disposed over a front side of the first FEOL structure; and a first backside BEOL structure (fig 6a,8:330; [para 0060]) in contact with a backside of the first FEOL structure;
a second integrated circuit (fig 6a:200; [para 0057]) stacked over the first integrated circuit (fig 6a:100; [para 0057]) and bonded with the first front side BEOL structure (fig 6a,8; [para 0060]); and a dielectric material (fig 6a,8:310; [para 0060]) laterally encapsulating the first FEOL structure and the first front side BEOL structure,
Lee does not teach an encapsulating dielectric material is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure, and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material
Chen teaches a dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020]) laterally encapsulating the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]) and the front side BEOL structure (fig 1b:200; [para 0020]), wherein a lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]), and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an encapsulating layer with lateral side surfaces coplanar with lateral side surfaces of the BEOL structures in order to facilitate singulation of the devices using cutting (Chen; [para 0037])
Regarding claim 10
Lee in view of Chen the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9, further:
Lee teaches the first integrated circuit further comprises the dielectric material (fig 6a,8:310; [para 0060]) covering side surfaces of the first FEOL structure, and the first front side BEOL structure (fig 6a,8; [para 0066]).
Regarding claim 11.
Lee in view of Chen the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9, further:
Lee the first integrated circuit (fig 6a:100; [para 0064]) further comprises a first I/O terminal on a bonding surface of the first front side BEOL structure bonded with second integrated circuit (fig 6a,8:200; [para 0023,0056]).
Regarding claim 12.
Lee in view of Chen the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9, further:
Lee teaches the second integrated circuit (fig 6a,8:200; [para 0056]) comprises: a second FEOL structure comprising a second device (fig 6a:ID2; [para 0061]]) and a second power/ground contact (fig 6a:222; [para 0050]) connecting the second device (fig 6a:ID2; [para 0061]); a second front side BEOL structure disposed on a front side of the first front side BEOL structure; and a second backside BEOL structure (fig 6a,8:340; [para 0056]) disposed on a backside of the first front side BEOL structure where the second power/ground contact is disposed (fig 8).
Regarding claim 13.
Lee in view of Chen the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9, further:
Lee teaches the second integrated circuit comprises: a base substrate (fig 6a,8:211; [para 0050]); a second FEOL structure disposed over the base substrate; and a second BEOL structure disposed over and electrically connecting the second FEOL structure, wherein the second BEOL structure is bonded with the first front side BEOL structure (fig 8; [para 0060,0065]).
Regarding claim 27.
Lee in view of Chen the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9, further:
Lee teaches the second integrated circuit (fig 6a:200; [para 0059]) is attached to the first front side BEOL structure and a top surfaced of the dielectric material (fig 6a:310; [para 0060]).
Claim(s) 15 and16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0139880) in view of Chen (US 2020/0058632) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Park (US 2016/0351472).
Regarding claim 15.
Lee in view of Chen teaches the stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 9,
Lee in view of Chen does not teach an additional semiconductor device positioned between the first and second integrated circuits.
Park teaches providing an additional semiconductor device (fig 11:620; [para 0164]) between a first integrated circuit (fig 11:620; [para 0164]) and a second integrated circuit (fig 11:620; [para 0164]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an additional semiconductor device in order to provide additional semiconductor device functions. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 16.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Park teaches he stacked integrated circuit structure as claimed in claim 15, further:
Park teaches the semiconductor device comprises: an intermediate base substrate; a plurality of intermediate I/O terminals (fig 11:650; [para 0166]) on two opposite sides of the intermediate base substrate (fig 11:620; [para 0166]); and an intermediate through via (fig 11:622; [para 0166]) extending through the intermediate base substrate (fig 11:620; [para 0166]) and connecting the plurality of intermediate I/O terminals (fig 11:650; [para 0166]), wherein the plurality of intermediate I/O terminals are connected to a first I/O terminals of the first integrated circuit (fig 11:620; [para 0166]) and a second I/O terminals of the second integrated circuit (fig 11:620; [para 0166]) respectively.
Claim(s) 25, 22, 23, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2022/0139880) in view of Chen (US 2020/0058632) in view of Yu (US 2015/0303174)
Regarding claim 25.
Lee teaches an integrated circuit structure, comprising: [a semiconductor die, wherein each of the semiconductor die comprises]: a FEOL structure comprising a device (fig 6a,8:Id1; [para 0042]) and a power/ground contact connecting the device; and a front side BEOL structure disposed over a front side of the FEOL structure (fig 8a,8; [para 0024,0026]); a dielectric material (fig 6a:310; [para 0058]) [surrounding the of semiconductor die]; and a backside BEOL structure (fig 8:330; [para 0060]) in contact with a back side of the FEOL structure of each of the semiconductor die and in contact with the dielectric material (fig 8; [para 0031]).
Lee does not teach an encapsulating dielectric material is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure, and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material
Chen teaches a dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020]) laterally encapsulating the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]) and the front side BEOL structure (fig 1b:200; [para 0020]), wherein a lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is substantially coplanar with a lateral side surface of the FEOL structure (fig 1b:300; [para 0019]), and an opposite lateral side surface of the backside BEOL structure (fig 1L:900; [para 0035]) is coplanar with a lateral side surface of the dielectric material (fig 1b:400; [para 0020])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an encapsulating layer with lateral side surfaces coplanar with lateral side surfaces of the BEOL structures in order to facilitate singulation of the devices using cutting (Chen; [para 0037])
Lee does not teach a plurality of semiconductor die arranged side by side.
Yu teaches adjacent stacks of semiconductor die (fig 13a:104a,b; [para 0088]) with dielectric (12c:124; [para 0084]) in a gap therebetween (fig 13a; [para 0088,0088]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to encapsulate multiple stacks of die in order to increase the functionality of the device by providing more operating device Duplication of Parts. In reHarza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
Regarding claim 22.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Yu teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 25, further:
Lee teaches the front side BEOL structure is free of power/ground interconnect connecting the power/ground contact (fig 8; [para 0030,0031]).
Regarding claim 23.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Yu teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 25, further:
Lee teaches the semiconductor device comprises a carrier (fig 6a:340; [para 0056]) disposed on a bonding surface of the front side BEOL structure (fig 8; [para 0035,0056).
Regarding claim 24.
Lee in view of Chen in view of Yu teaches the integrated circuit structure of claim 25, further:
Lee teaches the dielectric material (fig 6a:310; [para 0060]) laterally encapsulating the FEOL structure and the front side BEOL structure and covering a side surface of each layer of the FEOL structure (fig 8; [para 0030,0035]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 25 are moot over newly applied reference Chen (US 2020/0058632) in combination with Lee (US 2022/0139880)
Conclusion
/D.J.G/Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817 February 12, 2026