DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on August 13, 2025 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Objections
Regarding claim 1, “and buffer relative refractive index” should be changed to “and a buffer relative refractive index; and” for grammatical purposes.
Regarding claim 7, the amendment of the preamble has reduced it to “of.” which renders the claim grammatical incorrect and unclear as to whether all or only some of the claimed features are required. For the purposes of examination, “of.” will be examined as “further comprising at least one of”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Hirano et al. (US 2013/0077925 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hirano discloses an optical fiber (Fig. 1) comprising: a glass core (paragraph 0011) defined by a central core region (core region to radial position r1) surrounded by an outer core region (core region to radial position r3), wherein the central core region has a centerline dip, wherein the centerline dip has a centerline width of 2 to 3 microns (Table II, Example 9 discloses a centerline width radius r1 of 1 micron, which corresponds to a centerline width of 2 microns), wherein the outer core region has a core parameter alpha in a range of 3-8 (paragraph 0040); and a trench region (Fig. 7b, Fig. 8); wherein the optical fiber further comprises a buffer clad region between the outer core region and the trench region, wherein the buffer clad region has at least one of a buffer thickness and a buffer relative refractive index (see annotated Fig. 7b below which shows a buffer cladding with a thickness and a relative refractive index), and wherein the optical fiber further comprises an outer cladding region as the outermost layer, disposed radially outward of the trench region, wherein the outer cladding region has at least one of an outer cladding thickness and an outer cladding relative refractive index (see annotated Fig. 7b below which shows an outer cladding with a thickness and a relative refractive index).
Still regarding claim 1, Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the centerline relative refractive index and the trench relative refractive index. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed relative refractive indexes in order to reduce transmission loss resulting in a higher quality signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, Hirano further discloses the optical fiber having a small macro-bend loss in paragraph 0057. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the macro-bend losses. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed losses in order to minimize transmission loss resulting in a higher quality signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, Hirano further discloses the mode field diameter at a wavelength of 1550 nanometers in paragraph 0063. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the mode field diameter at a wavelength of 1310 nanometers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed mode field diameter in order to reduce splice loss, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Still regarding claim 1, Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the cable cutoff wavelength less than or equal to 1260 nanometers. However, as Hirano further discloses a standard optical fiber of the ITU-T G.652 series having a cable cutoff wavelength less than or equal to 1260 nanometers in paragraph 0006, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed cable cutoff wavelength in order to comply with industry standards, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 4, Hirano further discloses the outer core region having an outer core width in a range from 2.7 to 4.6 microns and the central core has a thickness greater than 0 and less than 3 microns in Table II, Example 9. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the maximum relative refractive index in range of 0.3 to 0.4. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed relative refractive index in order to reduce transmission loss resulting in a higher quality signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 5, Hirano discloses the glass core has a core thickness of 3.5 to 6 micrometers in Table II, Example 9.
Regarding claim 7, Hirano further discloses the optical fiber further comprising at least one of a buffer clad region, a trench region and an outer cladding region in Fig. 7b and Fig. 8. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the relative refractive indexes. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed relative refractive indexes in order to reduce transmission loss resulting in a higher quality signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 8, Hirano further discloses the optical fiber splices with standard single mode fiber in paragraphs 0012 and 0039. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating full compatibility with the claimed categories of fibers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have full compatibility with the claimed categories of fibers in order to have a wider range of use and applicability.
Regarding claim 9, Hirano further discloses the optical fiber having small attenuation in paragraph 0064. Hirano teaches the claimed invention except for specifically stating the attenuation at 1310 nanometers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to arrive at the claimed attenuation in order to reduce transmission loss resulting in a higher quality signal, and since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, August 13, 2025, with respect to claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
As shown above in annotated Fig. 7b, Hirano further discloses the amended features of a buffer clad region and an outer cladding region.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general or clerical nature should be directed to the Technology Center 2800 receptionist at telephone number (571) 272-1562.
Chris H. Chu
/CHRIS H CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874 November 13, 2025