DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, set A-oxide, set B-spray forming, set C- iron/iron alloy (claims 1-9) in the reply filed on April 10, 2024 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I-argon in the reply filed on October 3, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-67 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
With respect to claim 9, the 112f claim interpretation has been withdrawn since claim 9 has been amended to remove the “means plus function” language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2012/0082844) in view of Harada et al. (U.S. 2008/0029300) or Sun et al. (U.S. 2004/0134565).
Referring to Figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0028]-[0060], Takahashi et al. disclose a system for producing a soft magnetic material having a core- shell structure, the system, comprising: a gas supply configured to supply at least one gas (par.[0073], i.e. oxygen-containing atmosphere, inert gas); and a furnace configured to receive the at least one gas (pars.[0071]-[0072]); wherein a flow of the at least one gas is configured to be varied to provide a shell on a particle in the furnace (par.[0076], i.e. switching atmospheres of nitrogen and air or turning on or off).
Takahashi et al. is silent on a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material.
Referring to paragraphs [0033]-[0043], Harada et al. teach a system for producing a soft magnetic material having a core-shell structure having a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle, the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material since the structure exhibits high saturation magnetic flux density, high resistance, and high thermal stability (pars.[0056],[0089]). Referring to paragraphs [0070]-[0071], Sun et al. teach a system for producing a soft magnetic material having a core-shell structure having a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle, the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material since the structure exhibits high saturation magnetic flux density, high resistance, and high thermal stability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the core-shell structure of Takahashi et al. to have a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle, the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material as taught by Harada et al. or Sun et al. since the core-shell structure would exhibit high saturation magnetic flux density, high resistance, and high thermal stability.
The resulting apparatus of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. would yield a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle in the furnace the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material.
With respect to claim 2, the system of Takahashi et al. further includes wherein the gas supply comprises an oxygen source (par.[0073]).
With respect to claim 3, the system of Takahashi et al. further includes wherein the furnace comprises at least one heater configured to heat the particle (par.[0072]).
With respect to claim 8, the system of Takahashi et al. further includes wherein the gas supply is further configured to deliver argon (par.[0073]); to the furnace to purge the furnace.
Claim(s) 4-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (U.S. 2012/0082844) in view of Harada et al. (U.S. 2008/0029300) or Sun et al. (U.S. 2004/0134565) as applied to claims 1-3 and 8 above, and further in view of King et al. (U.S. 2019/0062914).
The teachings of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. have been discussed above.
Takahashi et al. is silent on a flow controller through which the at least one gas is fed to the furnace.
Referring to paragraphs [0207]-[0208], King et al. teach a system wherein a flow controller (i.e. mass flow controller) through which the at least one gas is fed to the furnace in order to regulate the flow of the gas into the furnace for the desired process conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. with a flow controller as taught by King et al. in order to regulate the flow of the gas into the furnace for the desired process conditions.
With respect to claim 5, the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. and King et al. further comprising a pressure sensor (i.e. sensing device) downstream of the flow controller and upstream of the furnace (King et al.-pars.[0182], [0187], [0207]-[0208]).
With respect to claim 6, the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. fail to teach a system controller, the system controller comprising at least one processor and at least one memory having software, the system controller being configured to adjust and control the supply of the at least one gas through the flow controller and being configured to control a temperature in the furnace.
Referring to paragraphs [0163]-[0166],[0181]-[0182],[0187], [0204],[0207]-[0208]), King et al. teach a system wherein a system controller (par.[0181]) comprising at least one processor and at least one memory having software, the system controller being configured to adjust and control the supply of the at least one gas through the flow controller (pars. [0182],[0208]) and being configured to control a temperature in the furnace (pars.[0182], [0204]) in order to achieve the desired process conditions. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. to have a system controller comprising at least one processor and at least one memory having software, the system controller being configured to adjust and control the supply of the at least one gas through the flow controller and being configured to control a temperature in the furnace as taught by King et al. in order to achieve the desired process conditions. The modified system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. and King et al. yields a system controller comprising at least one processor and at least one memory having software, the system controller being configured to adjust and control the supply of the at least one gas through the flow controller and being configured to control a temperature in the furnace.
With respect to claim 7, the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. and King et al. further includes wherein adjustment and control of the supply of the at least one gas through the flow controller and control of the temperature of the furnace is based on at least a pressure from the pressure sensor, the temperature in the furnace, or one or more of temperature or flow rate of the at least one gas (King et al.-pars.[0163]-[0166],[0181]-[0182],[0187], [0204],[0207]-[0208]).
With respect to claim 9, the system of Takahashi et al. in view of Harada et al. or Sun et al. and King et al. further comprising at least one valve to control the flow of the at least one gas from the gas supply (King et al.-pars. [0207]-[0208]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because new references Harada et al.’300 or Sun et al.’565 teach a shell chemically bonded to a core defined by a particle in the furnace, the core comprising iron and the shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ikari’664 and Yang’023 teach a core comprising iron and a shell comprising a substantially non-iron oxide material.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Michelle CROWELL/Examiner, Art Unit 1716
/SYLVIA MACARTHUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716