DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe)” does not appear to have support in the originally filed disclosure and is not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey possession. Specifically, the disclosure recites “the first material layers 132 comprise silicon (Si),” and “the second material layers 134 comprises silicon germanium (SiGe),” (see [0045] of Applicant’s originally filed disclosure). There does not appear to be a disclosure of the layers “consisting of” the materials recited, which would be understood to preclude additional elements/materials to an extent which is not supported by the original disclosure, nor is the preclusion of additional elements/materials described with sufficient particularity in the original disclosure to convey the inventor had possession of the claimed invention at the time of filing.
Note the dependent claims do not cure the deficiencies of the claims on which they depend.
Claims 1-3 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe)” is unclear because it appears to contain a typographical error which renders the meaning of the limitation indefinite. It is additionally unclear as to how “one silicon (Si) layer” and “one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer” are related to the previously recited “plurality of silicon (Si) layers” and “plurality of silicon germanium (SiGe) layers.”
Regarding claim 1, the limitation “the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe)” is unclear as to the proper scope of “consisting of.” Specifically, it is noted that the specification does not provide a disclosure of the layers “consisting of” the claimed materials, but rather merely discloses “comprising.” As “consisting of” would be understood to preclude additional elements/materials to an extent which is not supported by or described in the original disclosure, the scope of the term cannot be ascertained.
Regarding claim 11, the limitation “wherein forming the plurality of dielectric material layers in the plurality of second openings” is unclear as to how it is related to the “forming a dielectric material in each of the plurality of second openings to form a plurality of dielectric material layers,” recited in claim 1.
Note the dependent claims necessarily inherit the indefiniteness of the claims on which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gardner et al. (US 20210111183; herein “Gardner”) in view of Cho et al. (US 20150303060; herein “Cho”), Cheng et al. (US 20180294157; herein “Cheng”), and Hollister et al. (US 20130316518; herein “Hollister”).
Regarding claim 1, Gardner discloses in Figs. 1-13and related text a method of forming a 3D memory device, the method comprising:
a substrate (102);
depositing a plurality of silicon (Si) layers and a corresponding plurality of silicon germanium (SiGe) layers alternatingly arranged in a plurality of stacked pairs (e.g. stack of pairs of 104/106), each stacked pair of the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe) (see [0033]-[0034]).
Gardner does not explicitly disclose
treating a surface of the substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2);
forming a wetting layer on the surface of the substrate; and
the depositing by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process on the wetting layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches a method of forming a device comprising
treating a surface of the substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2) (240, see [0019] and [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gardner by treating a surface of a substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2), as taught by Cheng, in order to improve adhesion of subsequent layers (see [0037]).
In the same field of endeavor Cho teaches in Fig. 1A-B, 2A-C and related text a method of forming a device comprising
forming a wetting layer (3, see [0061], [0063], [0064] at least) on the surface of the substrate (1/5, see [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gardner by forming a wetting layer on the surface of the substrate, as shown by Cho, in order to improve morphology of deposited layers (see Cho [0064] at least). The limitation “depositing…on the wetting layer,” is taught by the combination of the forming the wetting layer on the substrate prior to deposition of subsequent layers, as shown by Cho, and the stack of pairs being formed on the substrate, as shown by Shimabukuro.
In the same field of endeavor, Hollister teaches a method of forming a device comprising
the depositing by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process (see [0006] at least).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Gardner by having the depositing by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process, as taught by Hollister, in order to achieve smooth layers desirable for applications employing stacks such as 3D memory fabrication (see [0003], [0006]).
Regarding claim 3, the combined device further shows wherein the surface of the substrate (Gardner: 102) further comprises a semiconductor layer, a sacrificial layer, or combinations thereof (see [0032]).
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimabukuro et al. (US 9,419,012; herein “Shimabukuro”) in view of Cho, Cheng, and Hollister and Gardner.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Shimabukuro discloses in Figs. 1-9 and related text a method of forming a 3D memory device, the method comprising:
a substrate (10);
depositing a plurality of silicon (Si) layers (e.g. 32, see col. 5 lines 1-8, lines 55-58 and col. 11 line 50-55) and a corresponding plurality of silicon germanium (SiGe) layers (e.g. 42, see col. 5 lines 1-8, lines 55-58 and col. 11 line 50-55) alternatingly arranged in a plurality of stacked pairs (e.g. stack of pairs of 32 and 42), each stacked pair of the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer on one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer;
forming a memory channel (60, see col. 10 para. 4) through the plurality of stacked pairs;
removing each of the plurality of silicon germanium layers (removing 42) from the plurality of stacked pairs to form a plurality of first openings (see Fig. 6);
forming a word line replacement material (46, see col. 12 para. 4 and 6) in each of the plurality of first openings to form a plurality of word lines replacement material layers
removing each of the plurality of silicon (Si) layers (removing 32) from the plurality of stacked pairs to form a plurality of second openings (see Fig. 8); and
forming a dielectric material (74L, see col. 13 line 31-32) in each of the plurality of second openings to form a plurality of dielectric material layers.
Shimabukuro does not explicitly disclose
treating a surface of the substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2);
forming a wetting layer on the surface of the substrate; and
the depositing by a plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process on the wetting layer;
each stacked pair of the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe).
In the same field of endeavor, Cheng teaches a method of forming a device comprising
treating a surface of the substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2) (240, see [0019] and [0037]-[0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shimabukuro by treating a surface of a substrate with a plasma, the plasma comprising one or more of ammonia (NH3), nitrogen (N2) or hydrogen (H2), as taught by Cheng, in order to improve adhesion of subsequent layers (see [0037]).
In the same field of endeavor Cho teaches in Fig. 1A-B, 2A-C and related text a method of forming a device comprising
forming a wetting layer (3, see [0061], [0063], [0064] at least) on the surface of the substrate (1/5, see [0056]-[0057]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shimabukuro by forming a wetting layer on the surface of the substrate, as shown by Cho, in order to improve morphology of deposited layers (see Cho [0064] at least). The limitation “depositing…on the wetting layer,” is taught by the combination of the forming the wetting layer on the substrate prior to deposition of subsequent layers, as shown by Cho, and the stack of pairs being formed on the substrate, as shown by Shimabukuro.
In the same field of endeavor, Gardner teaches a method of forming a device comprising
each stacked pair of the plurality of stacked pairs (104/106) one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe) (see [0033]-[0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shimabukuro by each stacked pair of the plurality of stacked pairs one silicon (Si) layer consisting of silicon (Si) on one silicon germanium (SiGe) layer consisting of silicon germanium (SiGe), as taught by Gardner, in order to employ alternating materials which allow for highly selective etching of the SiGe layers relative to the Si layers (see Garner [0042]).
In the same field of endeavor, Hollister teaches a method of forming a device comprising
depositing silicon and silicon germanium by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process (see [0003] and [0006] at least).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Shimabukuro by having the depositing by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (PECVD) process, as taught by Hollister, in order to achieve smooth layers desirable for applications employing stacks such as 3D memory fabrication (see [0003], [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Shimabukuro further discloses
wherein removing each of the plurality of silicon (Si) layers (removing 32) further comprises:
forming a slit pattern opening (e.g. 79) through the memory stack, a first side of each of the plurality of silicon (Si) layers (32) exposed by the slit pattern opening (see Fig. 5); and
exposing the first side of each of the plurality of silicon (Si) layers (32) to an etchant through the slit pattern opening (see col. 11 para. 2).
Regarding claims 8-10, Shimabukuro further discloses
wherein the word line replacement material (46, see col. 12, lines 4-32) is selected from the group consisting of tungsten (W), molybdenum (Mo), tantalum (Ta), ruthenium (Ru), niobium (Nb), osmium (Os), zirconium (Zr), iridium (Ir), rhenium (Re), titanium (Ti), and combinations thereof (see col. 12, lines 4-32);
wherein the word line replacement material comprises tungsten (see col. 12, lines 29-30);
wherein the word line replacement material further comprises a nitride liner (see col. 12 lines 29-30).
Regarding claims 11, Shimabukuro further discloses
wherein forming the plurality of dielectric material layers in the plurality of second openings comprises depositing the dielectric material into each of the plurality of second openings, wherein an air gap (37) is formed in each of the plurality of second openings.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/29/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above.
Conclusion
/LAUREN R BELL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2896
1/30/2026