DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-8, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al).
Concerning claim 1, Kamura discloses a display device comprising (Figs. 8C-8E and 21 [0171]-[0181], [0346]-[0361], [0390]-[0407] ):
a substrate (21, Fig. 21) including a light emitting area (oval region in annotated Fig. 21 above) and a light blocking area (rectangular regions in annotated Fig. 21 above) that surrounds the light emitting area; a first bank structure (3) on the substrate corresponding to the light blocking area and having a first opening (oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 28) that corresponds to the light emitting area, a second bank structure (13) disposed on the first bank structure overlapping the first bank structure , and having a second opening (the region directly above the oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 13) that corresponds to the light emitting area wherein each of the first bank structure and the second bank structure has a concave portion (Fig. 8C) on an upper surface (Fig. 8C and [0392]),
Kamura does not disclose the concave portion is formed to prevent a gap defect, wherein a same organic material is accommodated inside each of the concave portion and the opening of the first bank structure .wherein the organic material accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the organic material accommodated inside the opening of the first back structure are isolated from each other, or wherein a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the first bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion, of the first bank structure. However, Son discloses a configuration (Fig. 6F as seen below)
in which a bank structure (1400) is etched to form a concave portion (BS) such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure. Son discloses that during the formation of such configuration a subsequently formed organic layer material (170a) can also be formed on the lower part of the bank recess and separated from the sidewall of the bank recess, whereby the organic layer material on the lower part of the bank recess and the organic layer located on the bank can be physically spaced apart from each other. Consequently, the organic layer can be divided between adjacent subpixels based on the bank recess making it therefore possible to prevent lateral leakage of current ([0050]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the recess of Yang such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure, wherein a same organic material is accommodated inside each of the concave portion and the opening of the first bank structure wherein the organic material accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the organic material accommodated inside the opening of the first back structure are isolated from each other, as disclosed by Son in order to form a display device without lateral leakage of current.
Continuing to claim 3, Kamura in view Son discloses wherein the concave portion of the first bank structure is spaced apart from an upper surface of the substrate (Kamura 8C, note that the concave portion does not reach the upper surface of the substrate).
Considering claim 4, Kamura in view Son discloses further comprising an organic light emitting diode disposed in the first opening (Kamura [0390]), wherein the organic light emitting diode comprises: a lower electrode (Kamura 25); a light emitting layer (Kamura 26) disposed on the lower electrode; and an upper electrode (Kamura 27) disposed on the light emitting layer (Kamura [0395]-[0397] and Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 5, Kamura in view Son discloses further comprising a color converting layer (Kamura 142, 152, 162) disposed in the second opening, wherein the color converting layer comprises: a wavelength converting particle (Kamura [0182]-[0183]); and a resin portion (Kamura [0182]).
Pertaining to claim 6, Kamura in view Son discloses wherein the second bank structure includes a light blocking material (Kamura [0175]).
As to claim 7, Kamura in view Son discloses further comprising: a color filter layer (Kamura 141, 151, and 161) overlapping the color converting layer (Kamura Fig. 21); and a light blocking layer (Kamura 12 [0348]) overlapping the second bank structure (Kamura Fig. 21).
Referring to claim 8, Kamura in view Son disclose wherein the color filter layer (Kamura 141, 151, 161) is disposed between the color converting layer (Kamura 142, 152, 162) and a second substrate (Kamura 11), and wherein the light blocking layer is disposed between the second bank structure and the second substrate.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20220052130 (Gao).
Pertaining to claim 2, Kamura in view Son discloses forming the concave portion in the bank (Yang Fig. 1).
The configuration of Kamura in view Son (as described in reference to Fig. 8C of Kamrua) does not disclose does not disclose wherein the concave portion reaches an upper surface of the first substrate. However, Kamura discloses several different bank configuration and Gao discloses a configuration of the bank structure used in a display device such that the concave portion 132 is open to the substrate (Fig. 4B) and organic layers are subsequently printed over ([0055]). In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore, absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the concave portion such that it reaches an upper surface of the substrate in view of the invention of Gao.
Claim(s) 9-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al) and US 20220310721 (Ma et al).
Concerning claim 9, Kamura discloses a display device comprising (Figs. 8C-8E and 21 [0171]-[0181], [0346]-[0361], [0390]-[0407] ):
a substrate (21, Fig. 21) including a light emitting area (oval region in annotated Fig. 21 above) and a light blocking area (rectangular regions in annotated Fig. 21 above) that surrounds the light emitting area; a first bank structure (3) on the substrate corresponding to the light blocking area and having a first opening (oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 28) that corresponds to the light emitting area, a second bank structure (13) disposed on the first bank structure, overlapping the first bank structure , and having a second opening that corresponds to the light emitting area (the region directly above the oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 13) wherein each of the first bank structure and the second bank structure has a concave portion (Fig. 8C) on an upper surface (Fig. 8C and [0392]),
Kamura does not disclose the concave portion is formed to prevent a gap defect, wherein the bank structure includes a first portion and a second portion that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion ,wherein a same organic material is accommodated inside each of the concave portion and the opening of the first bank structure .wherein the organic material accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the organic material accommodated inside the opening of the first back structure are isolated from each other, or wherein a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the first bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion, of the first bank structure. However, Son discloses a configuration (Fig. 6F as seen below)
in which a bank structure (1400) is etched to form a concave portion (BS) such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure. Son discloses that during the formation of such configuration a subsequently formed organic layer material (170a) can also be formed on the lower part of the bank recess and separated from the sidewall of the bank recess, whereby the organic layer material on the lower part of the bank recess and the organic layer located on the bank can be physically spaced apart from each other. Consequently, the organic layer can be divided between adjacent subpixels based on the bank recess making it therefore possible to prevent lateral leakage of current ([0050]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the recess of Yang such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure, wherein a same organic material is accommodated inside each of the concave portion and the opening of the first bank structure wherein the organic material accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the organic material accommodated inside the opening of the first back structure are isolated from each other, as disclosed by Son in order to form a display device without lateral leakage of current.
Additionally, Ma discloses a display device in which a bank structure (2 + 3) is formed between light emitting areas (Fig. 2) and a concave portion is formed in the bank such that the bank structure includes a first portion (2) and a second portion (3) that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion (Fig. 2). Ma discloses that this configuration is beneficial because it is able to reduce the probability of scratching the spacer without any influence on the support force from the spacer, and prevent the encapsulation reliability from being adversely affected by the resultant debris from the spacer, thereby to improve the yield of the display panel ([0071]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the process of making the bank structure of Kamura such that the bank structure includes a first portion and a second portion that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion as disclosed by Ma in order to reduce the probability of scratching the spacer without any influence on the support force from the spacer, and prevent the encapsulation reliability from being adversely affected by the resultant debris from the spacer, thereby to improve the yield of the display panel.
Continuing to claim 10, Kamura in view Son and Ma wherein the concave portion of the first bank structure reaches an upper surface of the first portion of the first bank structure (Ma Fig. 2).
Considering claim 11, Kamura in view Son and Ma discloses the first bank configuration.
The disclosed configuration of Kamura in view of Son and Ma does not disclose wherein the concave portion of the first bank structure is spaced apart from an upper surface of the substrate. However, Kamura discloses several different bank configuration (Fig. 8C) with concave upper surfaces in which the concave portion is spaced apart from an upper surface of the substrate.. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.). See MPEP 2144.04 IV B. Therefore, absent evidence that the claimed configuration is significant it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the concave portion such that it is spaced apart from an upper surface of the substrate in view of the other embodiments of Kamura.
According to claim 12, Kamura in view Son and Ma discloses further comprising an organic light emitting diode disposed in the first opening (Kamura [0390]), wherein the organic light emitting diode comprises: a lower electrode (Kamura 25); a light emitting layer (Kamura 26) disposed on the lower electrode; and an upper electrode (Kamura 27) disposed on the light emitting layer (Kamura [0395]-[0397] and Fig. 21).
Regarding claim 13, Kamura in view Son and Ma discloses further comprising a color converting layer (Kamura 142, 152, 162) disposed in the second opening, wherein the color converting layer comprises: a wavelength converting particle (Kamura [0182]-[0183]); and a resin portion (Kamura [0182]).
Pertaining to claim 14, Kamura in view Son and Ma discloses wherein the second bank structure includes a light blocking material (Kamura [0175]).
As to claim 15, Kamura in view Son and Ma discloses further comprising: a color filter layer (Kamura 141, 151, and 161) overlapping the color converting layer (Kamura Fig. 21); and a light blocking layer (Kamura 12 [0348]) overlapping the second bank structure (Kamura Fig. 21).
Referring to claim 16, Kamura in view Son and Ma disclose wherein the color filter layer (Kamura 141, 151, 161) is disposed between the color converting layer (Kamura 142, 152, 162) and a second substrate (Kamura 11), and wherein the light blocking layer is disposed between the second bank structure and the second substrate.
Claim(s) 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al) and US 20200239713 (Kanesaka et al).
Pertaining to claim 17, Kamura discloses a method of manufacturing a display device, the method comprising (Figs. 8C-8E and 21 [0171]-[0181], [0346]-[0361], [0390]-[0407] ):
preparing a substrate (21, Fig. 21) including a light emitting area (oval region in annotated Fig. 21 above) and a light blocking area (rectangular regions in annotated Fig. 21 above) that surrounds the light emitting area; forming a first bank structure (3) disposed on the substrate and having a first opening (oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 28) wherein the first opening corresponds to the light emitting area of the substrate , a second bank structure (13) disposed on the first bank structure overlapping the first bank structure , and having a second opening, wherein the second opening corresponds to the light emitting area of the substrate (the region directly above the oval region in annotated Fig. 21, note that an opening is formed between adjacent bank structures 13) forming a concave portion on an upper surface of each of the first bank structure and the second bank structure has a concave portion (Fig. 8C) on an upper surface (Fig. 8C and [0392]),
Kamura does not disclose the concave portion is formed to prevent a gap defect, applying an ink into the first opening, and drying or curing the ink, wherein the ink applied into the first opening is accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the opening of the first bank structure , wherein a first portion of the ink accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and a second portion of the ink accommodated inside the first opening are isolated from each other, or wherein a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the first bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion, of the first bank structure. However, Son discloses a configuration (Fig. 6F as seen below)
in which a bank structure (1400) is etched to form a concave portion (BS) such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure. Son discloses that during the formation of such configuration a subsequently formed organic layer material (170a) can also be formed on the lower part of the bank recess and separated from the sidewall of the bank recess, whereby the organic layer material on the lower part of the bank recess and the organic layer located on the bank can be physically spaced apart from each other. Consequently, the organic layer can be divided between adjacent subpixels based on the bank recess making it therefore possible to prevent lateral leakage of current ([0050]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the recess of Kamura such that a width of an upper part of the concave portion, which levels with the upper surface of the bank structure is greater than a width of a portion of the upper surface, which is not the concave portion of the bank structure, wherein a same organic material is accommodated inside each of the concave portion and the opening of the first bank structure wherein the organic material accommodated inside the concave portion of the first bank structure and the organic material accommodated inside the opening of the first back structure are isolated from each other, as disclosed by Son in order to form a display device without lateral leakage of current.
Additionally, Kamura discloses forming an organic light emitting layer, but does not disclose that it is an ink. Kanesaka discloses a light emitting layer, formed as an ink and subsequently dried, that is suitable for use in display devices that that contains a wavelength conversion material for a light emitting device ([0393]). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the light emitting containing a wavelength conversion material ink that is subsequently dried of Kanesaka as the organic layer in Kamura because it is a known suitable material for use in a light emitting device.
As to claim 18, Kamura in view of Son and Kanesaka disclose wherein the ink contains an organic light emitting material (Kanesaka [0309] and [0393]).
Concerning claim 19, Kamura in view of Son and Kanesaka the ink contains a wavelength converting particle (Kanesaka [0393]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al) and US 20200239713 (Kanesaka et al) as applied to claim 17 above, and further in view of US 20220310721 (Ma et al).
As to claim 20, Kamura in view of Son and Kanesaka disclose forming the bank structure.
Kamura in view of Son and Kanesaka does not disclose wherein the bank structure includes a first portion and a second portion that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion or that the area that surrounds the light emitting area is a light blocking area. However, Ma discloses a display device in which a bank structure (2 + 3) is formed between light emitting areas (Fig. 2) and a concave portion is formed in the bank such that the bank structure includes a first portion (2) and a second portion (3) that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion (Fig. 2). Ma discloses that this configuration is beneficial because it is able to reduce the probability of scratching the spacer without any influence on the support force from the spacer, and prevent the encapsulation reliability from being adversely affected by the resultant debris from the spacer, thereby to improve the yield of the display panel ([0071]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the bank structure of Kamura in view of Son and Kanesaka such that the bank structure includes a first portion and a second portion that is disposed on the first portion and includes the concave portion as disclosed by Ma in order to reduce the probability of scratching the spacer without any influence on the support force from the spacer, and prevent the encapsulation reliability from being adversely affected by the resultant debris from the spacer, thereby to improve the yield of the display panel.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-12, filed 06/11/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 9, and 17 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20160372528 (Kamura et al) in view of US 20210183972 (Son et al).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VALERIE N NEWTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2823 03/16/26
/CHAD M DICKE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2897