DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to applicant’s filing dated 11/18/2025. Claims 1, 3, 11, 13, 21 and 22 have been amended. Claims 2 and 12 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-22 are currently pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/18/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-22 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Billy-Jay Smart, US 20050005833 A1, in view of Kubertschak et al., US 20200025873 A1, in view of Tomita K, JP6664171 B2 and in view of ZHAO XIANGMO et al., CN106204705B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11 and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Billy-Jay Smart, US 20050005833 A1, in view of Kubertschak et al., US 20200025873 A1, in view of Tomita K, JP6664171 B2, and in view of ZHAO XIANGMO et al., CN106204705B, hereinafter referred to as Smart, Kubertschak, Tomita and Xiangmo, respectively.
Regarding claim 1, Smart discloses a system comprising:
a logic device configured to communicate with a perimeter ranging system mounted to a mobile structure and to provide docking assist for the mobile structure, wherein the logic device is configured to (Automatically docking a vessel – See at least ¶12):
receive perimeter sensor data from the perimeter ranging system (The distance detector 106 provides a measurement of distance between the vessel 108 and an object in the detection area of the detector – See at least ¶24).
Smart fails to explicitly disclose convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map; determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure.
However, Kubertschak teaches:
convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map (convert the fused sensor data into an object list representation or a fences representation or an occupancy grid representation – See at least ¶21. Sensor measurement from all sensors of the same kind are, on the hand, assembled into a uniform point cloud – See at least ¶44. Examiner notes the claimed polar height map is construed as a point cloud defined in applicant’s specification in the detailed section);
determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure (in a further advantageous embodiment, the preprocessing mechanism is designed to convert the fused sensor data into an object list representation or a fences representation or an occupancy grid representation. Such a conversion can take place either in addition to the representation of the sensor data as a 3D point cloud or as an alternative thereto. The databases and/or representations can then also be established depending on the nature of the sensors of the sensor arrangement – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map; determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
The combination of Smart and Kubertschak fails to explicitly disclose generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, wherein the maneuverability display view provides visual feedback situational awareness to a pilot of the mobile structure for the docking assist.
However, Tomita teaches generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, wherein the maneuverability display view provides visual feedback situational awareness to a pilot of the mobile structure for the docking assist (marine vessel maneuvering control unit 250 includes a monitor 254, a starboard steering gear operating lever 255, a portside steering gear operating lever 256, various setting switches for the starboard steering gear 257, and various setting switches for the portside steering gear. The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit (auto pilot) 205 are provided – See at least ¶29. The display screen of the monitor 254 includes a first image area 254a for displaying the electronic chart and the ship's position and attitude, a second image area 254b for displaying various setting modes, and a third image area 254c for displaying the commanded motion direction in vector – See at least ¶30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle.
The combination of Smart, Kubertschak and Tomita fail to disclose wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell.
However, Xiangmo teaches wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell (Construct a polar grid map, map the 3D point cloud data after filtering the dangling obstacle point into a polar coordinate grid map, and then segment out from the 3D point cloud data in the polar coordinate grid map. Mapping the non-ground point cloud data into a 3D voxel grid – See at least Summary Paragraph, Steps 3 and Steps 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell, as taught by Xiangmo, to eliminate anomalies and improve inspection accuracy.
Regarding claim 3, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold; and assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map.
However, Kubertschak teaches:
determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold ( Laser scanners additionally provide their 3D data in the form of 3D point clouds, which can be readily fused into a common 3D point cloud, and this makes it possible to construct the very same database on which algorithms developed for the expensive 360° laser scanner operate – See at least ¶17. The invention moreover concerns a procedure for 360° capture of the surroundings of a motor vehicle, wherein several sensors of the same kind provide sensor data concerning a respective coverage zone in respective synchronized time steps, and where the respective coverage zones furthermore make available an overall coverage zone, which covers a range of the surroundings over a complete angle around the motor vehicle at a pre-determined distance from the motor vehicle – See at least ¶32. These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone 18. This full detection zone 18 extends over a complete angle around the motor vehicle 10 and thus covers 360° of the environment and/or the surroundings 16 around the motor vehicle 10 – See at least ¶40); and
assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map (These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone 18. This full detection zone 18 extends over a complete angle around the motor vehicle 10 and thus covers 360° of the environment and/or the surroundings 16 around the motor vehicle 10, at least starting from a predetermined distance from the motor vehicle 10. It is by means of these multiple sensors 12 a and their respective detection zones 18 a that the entire field of vision of a 360° 3D laser scanner can be approximated – See at least ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold; and assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 4, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, determine an inferred non-water edge based on historical non-water edges determined based on a prior polar height map; render the historical non-water edges with a different characteristic compared to the inferred non-water edge; and wherein the characteristic of the historical non-water edges is extinguished as a function of time.
However, Kubertschak teaches identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, determine an inferred non-water edge based on historical non-water edges determined based on a prior polar height map; render the historical non-water edges with a different characteristic compared to the inferred non-water edge; and wherein the characteristic of the historical non-water edges is extinguished as a function of time (However, the displacement and draught of the vessel may change, depending upon its current load conditions for example. Accordingly, the displacement and/or draught of the vessel, or variations therein, may be monitored by a water sensor strip positioned on the vessel such that it bisects the waterline. The strip may be positioned in the vertical plane and may run from a highest waterline to a lowest waterline. The system is therefore updated as to the prevalent displacement and/or draught of the vessel. Such updates may occur continually, or periodically and/or upon the start-up of the system, for example – See at least ¶35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, as taught by Cyberstalk, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 5, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device.
However, Kubertschak teaches wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device (To accomplish this as economically as possible, the sensor arrangement 12 of the motor vehicle 10 comprises several sensors 12 a of the same kind. These sensors 12 a can, for example, be configured as cameras, as radars, etc. It is of particular advantage if the sensors 12 a are simple laser scanners. These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone – See at least ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 6, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach a user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the logic device is configured to: receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure.
However, Tomita teaches:
receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure (The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit (auto pilot) 205 are provided – See at least ¶29);
determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map (marine vessel maneuvering control unit 250 includes a monitor 254. The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit – See at least ¶29) and
provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure (The automatic guidance marine vessel maneuvering unit 205 commands the own ship's own ship's own direction command speed and lateral hull command speed on the basis of the guide route information – See at least ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a target linear and/or angular velocity for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the user pilot control signals and a maximum maneuvering thrust of the navigation control system; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target linear and/or angular velocity, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target linear and/or angular velocity.
However, Tomita teaches determining a target linear and/or angular velocity for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the user pilot control signals and a maximum maneuvering thrust of the navigation control system; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target linear and/or angular velocity, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target linear and/or angular velocity (In order to determine the operation amount of these actuators, it is necessary to grasp the exact position of the ship and the motion state of the ship (speed in the bow-tail line direction, speed in the lateral direction of the hull, turning angular speed). In order to collect these pieces of information, the sensor unit 203 detects the heading, the angular velocity of the turning, the speed in the aft direction and the lateral speed of the hull, the ship's position, and the heading of the bow using the GPS compass 251 and the electronic chart system. Among these information, the angular velocity and the ship speed are measured by the time differential amount of the position information – See at least ¶44).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 8, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track.
However, Tomita teaches determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track (By the way, in the case of maneuvering while maintaining the ship position and heading, it is required to realize special movements such as lateral movement, diagonal forward / backward movement, and high maneuvering accuracy such as position and speed. For this reason, the ship operator must collect a wide variety of information in order to realize the desired motion of the ship, either during normal voyage or while maintaining the ship position, and operate the ship based on that information – See at least ¶8. In particular, when maneuvering in a specific water area such as in a harbor, for example, when waiting for an incoming signal at a harbor, at the time of landing, or at the time of berthing, the operator should check the condition of the maneuvering area, the ship and other targets and quays. In order to satisfy the required hull motion by visually collecting information such as the relative position of the ship, the attitude of the ship, and the motion state of the ship, and operating the rudder and propeller (propeller) intricately based on this information – See at least ¶9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 9, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters.
However, Tomita teaches the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters (The thrust system 100 includes a propeller propulsion device 101 composed of a single propeller propeller arranged at the stern of a hull 110, two high lift rudders 102 and 103 arranged behind the propeller, and high lift rudders 102 and 103. Driven steering gears 104, 105, rudder control devices (servo amplifiers) 106, 107 for controlling the steering gears 104, 105, a bow thruster 108 arranged on the bow side of a hull 110, and a thruster for controlling the bow thruster 108 – See at least ¶22. The marine vessel manipulating system 200 is stored in the marine vessel maneuvering control unit 250, and includes a command unit 201, a hull motion control unit 202, and a sensor unit 203 – See at least ¶23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 10, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a relative velocity of and/or a range to a navigation hazard disposed within a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard.
However, Tomita teaches determining a relative velocity of and/or a range to a navigation hazard disposed within a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard (The marine vessel maneuvering system includes a command unit and a hull motion control unit. In the vessel maneuvering support mode, which is equipped with a sensor unit, commands the command movement direction, command turning angular velocity – See at least ¶13. In the marine vessel manipulating device of the present invention, the marine vessel manipulating system has a changeover switch for switching the marine vessel maneuvering assist mode for maneuvering by the command unit and the automatic maneuvering mode for maneuvering by the automatic guidance maneuvering unit. The present invention is characterized by instructing the ship's motion control unit by instructing the hull motion control unit based on the current position information of the own ship, the guide route information – See at least ¶16. The control force estimation unit 208 obtains the hull control force necessary to realize the command movement direction, the bow-stern direction command speed, and the hull lateral direction command speed based on the hull fluid force, the deviation, and the declination angle, and the thrust distribution unit 209. Distributes the hull control force to the target thruster thrust and the target thruster thrust, and obtains the bow-stern direction static constant velocity and the stern lateral movement static constant velocity at the target thruster thrust. And the stern lateral movement static velocity and the bow lateral movement static velocity are adjusted based on the command turning angular velocity – See at least ¶41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 11, Smart discloses a method comprising:
receiving perimeter sensor data from the perimeter ranging system (The distance detector 106 provides a measurement of distance between the vessel 108 and an object in the detection area of the detector – See at least ¶24).
Smart fails to explicitly disclose convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map; determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure.
However, Kubertschak teaches:
convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map (convert the fused sensor data into an object list representation or a fences representation or an occupancy grid representation – See at least ¶21. Sensor measurement from all sensors of the same kind are, on the hand, assembled into a uniform point cloud – See at least ¶44. Examiner notes the claimed polar height map is construed as a point cloud defined in applicant’s specification in the detailed section);
determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure (in a further advantageous embodiment, the preprocessing mechanism is designed to convert the fused sensor data into an object list representation or a fences representation or an occupancy grid representation. Such a conversion can take place either in addition to the representation of the sensor data as a 3D point cloud or as an alternative thereto. The databases and/or representations can then also be established depending on the nature of the sensors of the sensor arrangement – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of convert a cartesian point cloud corresponding to the perimeter sensor data to a polar height map; determine a pair of polar range maps based on the polar height map, wherein the polar range maps comprise: a polar non-water object map associated with ranges to one or more perspective edges of non-water objects, and a polar vessel perimeter map associated with ranges to a perspective edge of the mobile structure, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
The combination of Smart and Kubertschak fails to explicitly disclose generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, wherein the maneuverability display view provides visual feedback situational awareness to a pilot of the mobile structure for the docking assist.
However, Tomita teaches generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, wherein the maneuverability display view provides visual feedback situational awareness to a pilot of the mobile structure for the docking assist (marine vessel maneuvering control unit 250 includes a monitor 254, a starboard steering gear operating lever 255, a portside steering gear operating lever 256, various setting switches for the starboard steering gear 257, and various setting switches for the portside steering gear. The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit (auto pilot) 205 are provided – See at least ¶29. The display screen of the monitor 254 includes a first image area 254a for displaying the electronic chart and the ship's position and attitude, a second image area 254b for displaying various setting modes, and a third image area 254c for displaying the commanded motion direction in vector – See at least ¶30).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and the polar vessel perimeter map, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle.
The combination of Smart, Kubertschak and Tomita fail to disclose wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell.
However, Xiangmo teaches wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell (Construct a polar grid map, map the 3D point cloud data after filtering the dangling obstacle point into a polar coordinate grid map, and then segment out from the 3D point cloud data in the polar coordinate grid map. Mapping the non-ground point cloud data into a 3D voxel grid – See at least Summary Paragraph, Steps 3 and Steps 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of wherein the polar height map comprises apolar voxel grid, and wherein a height assigned to each voxel of the polar voxel grid is based on points of the cartesian point cloud that are within a boundary of a corresponding grid cell, as taught by Xiangmo, to eliminate anomalies and improve inspection accuracy.
Regarding claim 13, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold; and assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map.
However, Kubertschak teaches:
determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold (Laser scanners additionally provide their 3D data in the form of 3D point clouds, which can be readily fused into a common 3D point cloud, and this makes it possible to construct the very same database on which algorithms developed for the expensive 360° laser scanner operate – See at least ¶17. The invention moreover concerns a procedure for 360° capture of the surroundings of a motor vehicle, wherein several sensors of the same kind provide sensor data concerning a respective coverage zone in respective synchronized time steps, and where the respective coverage zones furthermore make available an overall coverage zone, which covers a range of the surroundings over a complete angle around the motor vehicle at a pre-determined distance from the motor vehicle – See at least ¶32. These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone 18. This full detection zone 18 extends over a complete angle around the motor vehicle 10 and thus covers 360° of the environment and/or the surroundings 16 around the motor vehicle 10 – See at least ¶40); and
assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map (These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone 18. This full detection zone 18 extends over a complete angle around the motor vehicle 10 and thus covers 360° of the environment and/or the surroundings 16 around the motor vehicle 10, at least starting from a predetermined distance from the motor vehicle 10. It is by means of these multiple sensors 12 a and their respective detection zones 18 a that the entire field of vision of a 360° 3D laser scanner can be approximated – See at least ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of determining, for at least one angle vector of the polar height map, a radial rate of change in voxel height across a series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map is greater than a non-water object height gradient threshold; and assigning a range associated with the series of two or more radially adjacent polar voxels of the polar height map to an angle element of the polar non-water object map that corresponds to the at least one angle vector of the polar height map, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 14, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, determine an inferred non-water edge based on historical non-water edges determined based on a prior polar height map; render the historical non-water edges with a different characteristic compared to the inferred non-water edge; and wherein the characteristic of the historical non-water edges is extinguished as a function of time.
However, Kubertschak teaches identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, determine an inferred non-water edge based on historical non-water edges determined based on a prior polar height map; render the historical non-water edges with a different characteristic compared to the inferred non-water edge; and wherein the characteristic of the historical non-water edges is extinguished as a function of time (However, the displacement and draught of the vessel may change, depending upon its current load conditions for example. Accordingly, the displacement and/or draught of the vessel, or variations therein, may be monitored by a water sensor strip positioned on the vessel such that it bisects the waterline. The strip may be positioned in the vertical plane and may run from a highest waterline to a lowest waterline. The system is therefore updated as to the prevalent displacement and/or draught of the vessel. Such updates may occur continually, or periodically and/or upon the start-up of the system, for example – See at least ¶35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of identify portions of the perimeter sensor data corresponding to a water surface disposed about the mobile structure; determine an estimated water plane orientation relative to an orientation of a perimeter sensor of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the identified water surface portions of the perimeter sensor data; and determine an estimated perimeter sensor height vertically above the water surface disposed about the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the estimated water plane orientation, wherein the determining the polar height map is based, at least in part, on the estimated perimeter sensor height, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 15, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device.
However, Kubertschak teaches wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device (To accomplish this as economically as possible, the sensor arrangement 12 of the motor vehicle 10 comprises several sensors 12 a of the same kind. These sensors 12 a can, for example, be configured as cameras, as radars, etc. It is of particular advantage if the sensors 12 a are simple laser scanners. These sensors 12 a have respective detection zones 18 a assigned to them, which in sum constitute a full detection zone – See at least ¶40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Smart and include the feature of wherein: the perimeter ranging system comprises one or more imaging modules mounted to the mobile structure configured to capture images of corresponding one or more areas proximate to a perimeter of the mobile structure and including at least a portion of the perimeter of the mobile structure, and to provide the captured images as the perimeter sensor data to the logic device, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 16, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach a user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the logic device is configured to: receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure.
However, Tomita teaches:
receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure (The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit (auto pilot) 205 are provided – See at least ¶29);
determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map (marine vessel maneuvering control unit 250 includes a monitor 254. The class setting unit 258 and the course setting unit 259 of the automatic guidance maneuvering unit – See at least ¶29) and
provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure (The automatic guidance marine vessel maneuvering unit 205 commands the own ship's own ship's own direction command speed and lateral hull command speed on the basis of the guide route information – See at least ¶31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 17, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 16, accordingly, the rejection of claim 16 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a target linear and/or angular velocity for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the user pilot control signals and a maximum maneuvering thrust of the navigation control system; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target linear and/or angular velocity, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target linear and/or angular velocity.
However, Tomita teaches determining a target linear and/or angular velocity for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the user pilot control signals and a maximum maneuvering thrust of the navigation control system; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target linear and/or angular velocity, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target linear and/or angular velocity (In order to determine the operation amount of these actuators, it is necessary to grasp the exact position of the ship and the motion state of the ship (speed in the bow-tail line direction, speed in the lateral direction of the hull, turning angular speed). In order to collect these pieces of information, the sensor unit 203 detects the heading, the angular velocity of the turning, the speed in the aft direction and the lateral speed of the hull, the ship's position, and the heading of the bow using the GPS compass 251 and the electronic chart system. Among these information, the angular velocity and the ship speed are measured by the time differential amount of the position information – See at least ¶44).
Smart discloses automatically assisting a vessel to a docking port based on surrounding data. Kubertschak teaches monitoring the surroundings of a vehicle. Tomita teaches a technique for supporting ship maneuvering.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of generate a maneuverability display view of a docking area for the mobile structure on a display of the user interface for the mobile structure, wherein the maneuverability display view is based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; receive docking assist parameters from the user interface for the mobile structure; determine one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the received docking assist parameters and the determined polar non-water object map and/or polar vessel perimeter map; and provide the one or more docking assist control signals to a navigation control system for the mobile structure, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 18, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 16, accordingly, the rejection of claim 16 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track.
However, Tomita teaches determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track (By the way, in the case of maneuvering while maintaining the ship position and heading, it is required to realize special movements such as lateral movement, diagonal forward / backward movement, and high maneuvering accuracy such as position and speed. For this reason, the ship operator must collect a wide variety of information in order to realize the desired motion of the ship, either during normal voyage or while maintaining the ship position, and operate the ship based on that information – See at least ¶8. In particular, when maneuvering in a specific water area such as in a harbor, for example, when waiting for an incoming signal at a harbor, at the time of landing, or at the time of berthing, the operator should check the condition of the maneuvering area, the ship and other targets and quays. In order to satisfy the required hull motion by visually collecting information such as the relative position of the ship, the attitude of the ship, and the motion state of the ship, and operating the rudder and propeller (propeller) intricately based on this information – See at least ¶9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of determining a target docking track for the mobile structure based, at least in part, on the target docking position and/or orientation and one or more docking safety parameters corresponding to the target docking track; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined target docking track, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure according to the determined target docking track, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 19, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 16, accordingly, the rejection of claim 16 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters.
However, Tomita teaches the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters (In order to solve the above-mentioned problem, the ship control device of the present invention includes a thrust system and a ship maneuvering system for controlling the thrust system, and the thrust system includes a propeller propeller composed of a single propeller and a rear part of the propeller. It has two high-lifting rudders arranged in the, a steering machine that drives the high-lifting rudder. The marine vessel maneuvering system includes a control unit. In the vessel maneuvering support mode, commands the command movement direction – See at least ¶13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of the navigation control system comprises one or more of a steering actuator, a propulsion system, and a thrust maneuver system; and the providing the one or more docking assist control signals to the navigation control system comprises controlling the one or more of the steering actuator, propulsion system, and thrust maneuver system to maneuver the mobile structure according to a target linear and/or angular velocity, a target docking track, and/or a target docking track position and/or orientation corresponding to the received docking assist parameters, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 20, Smart and Kubertschak as modified teaches the system of claim 16, accordingly, the rejection of claim 16 above is incorporated.
the combination of Smart and Kubertschak as modified do not explicitly teach determining a relative velocity of and/or a range to a navigation hazard disposed within a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard.
However, Tomita teaches determining a relative velocity of and/or a range to a navigation hazard disposed within a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system based, at least in part, on the polar non-water object map and/or the polar vessel perimeter map; determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard (The marine vessel maneuvering system includes a command unit and a hull motion control unit. In the vessel maneuvering support mode, which is equipped with a sensor unit, commands the command movement direction, command turning angular velocity – See at least ¶13. In the marine vessel manipulating device of the present invention, the marine vessel manipulating system has a changeover switch for switching the marine vessel maneuvering assist mode for maneuvering by the command unit and the automatic maneuvering mode for maneuvering by the automatic guidance maneuvering unit. The present invention is characterized by instructing the ship's motion control unit by instructing the hull motion control unit based on the current position information of the own ship, the guide route information – See at least ¶16. The control force estimation unit 208 obtains the hull control force necessary to realize the command movement direction, the bow-stern direction command speed, and the hull lateral direction command speed based on the hull fluid force, the deviation, and the declination angle, and the thrust distribution unit 209. Distributes the hull control force to the target thruster thrust and the target thruster thrust, and obtains the bow-stern direction static constant velocity and the stern lateral movement static constant velocity at the target thruster thrust. And the stern lateral movement static velocity and the bow lateral movement static velocity are adjusted based on the command turning angular velocity – See at least ¶41).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of determining the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure is greater than a hazard velocity limit and/or the range to the navigation hazard is within a safety perimeter for the mobile structure; and determining the one or more docking assist control signals based, at least in part, on the determined relative velocity of the navigation hazard and/or the determined range to the navigation hazard, wherein the one or more docking assist control signals are configured to cause the navigation control system to maneuver the mobile structure to evade the navigation hazard by decreasing the relative velocity of the navigation hazard towards the mobile structure and/or maintaining or increasing the range to the navigation hazard, as taught by Tomita, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 21, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 1, accordingly, the rejection of claim 1 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach the logic device is further configured to determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system.
However, Kubertschak teaches the logic device is further configured to determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system (a conversion can take place either in addition to the representation of the sensor data as a 3D point cloud or as an alternative thereto. The databases and/or representations can then also be established depending on the nature of the sensors of the sensor arrangement – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of the logic device is further configured to determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Regarding claim 22, Smart as modified teaches the system of claim 11, accordingly, the rejection of claim 11 above is incorporated.
Smart as modified does not explicitly teach determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system.
However, Kubertschak teaches determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system (a conversion can take place either in addition to the representation of the sensor data as a 3D point cloud or as an alternative thereto. The databases and/or representations can then also be established depending on the nature of the sensors of the sensor arrangement – See at least ¶21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Smart and Kubertschak and include the feature of determine a polar voxel grid mapping for the polar height map based, at least in part, on a radial cell length distribution and/or a monitoring perimeter of the perimeter ranging system, as taught by Kubertschak, to provide information about the entire space surrounding the vehicle (See at least ¶3).
Conclusion
/M.M.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3665
/DONALD J WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3665