DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. [US 2009/0116014] in view of Segawa [US 2016/0223321] and Sho [US 2017/0263508].
For claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 10, 11, 13-15, and 17 Smith teaches a method comprising:
illuminating a target (overlay target may be the structures of any active feature that includes overlying layers, where the displacement of one layer relative to another may be used to determine alignment, see [0056]-[0057] and Figs. 14 and 15) comprising a feature in photoresist (active features may be formed from photoresist, see [0056]) of a formed, or being formed, functional integrated circuit (active features 104), with illumination radiation from a radiation source (illumination from light source, see [0033] and [0054]) of an optical instrument;
detecting diffracted radiation from the target (light reflected from a surface that is incident on the camera, see [0033] and [0054] and Figs. 3, 5, and 6); and
determining a parameter of a manufacturing process (overlay) from an asymmetry determined with respect to a central position (asymmetry to overlay error using measured center relative zero, see [0039]-[0050], see Figs. 7-9) in a distribution of optical characteristic values (intensity, see Fig. 10) versus position (X) obtained from the detected radiation,
wherein the target comprises a first structure in a first layer (active features may be formed from photoresist, see [0056]); and
a second structure in a second layer underlying the first layer (active feature of a bottom layer 108), and wherein the first structure comprises a feature in a photoresist overlying a feature of a formed, or being formed, functional integrated circuit (see [0056]-[0057]).
Smith fails to explicitly teach the first structure comprises at least a lithographically formed and to-be-etched-open opening in photoresist overlying a feature of a formed, or being formed, functional integrated circuit and a diffraction structure, wherein a top of the diffraction structure is spaced apart from, and below, a bottom of the feature and a cross-sectional dimension of at least part of the feature is smaller than a distance between two adjacent elements of the diffraction structure; wherein the second structure comprises at least two lithographically formed elements of a grating and a top of the elements is spaced apart from, and below a bottom of a groove opening configured to diffract radiation, and wherein the elements of the grating of the second structure are 2 longitudinal bars.
Segawa teaches the target (see Figs. 3A-3E and [0020]) comprises: a first structure (B*) in a first layer (R1); and a second structure (A*) in a second layer underlying the first layer (see Fig. 3A), wherein the second structure comprises at least two lithographically formed elements of a grating (A2 and A1) and a top of the elements is spaced apart from and below a bottom of a groove (by length H, see Fig. 3A), and a cross-sectional dimension of at least part of the feature is smaller than a distance between two adjacent elements of the diffraction structure (relationship between B* and two parallel elements A* shown in Figs. 3D and 3E); the grating configured to diffract radiation (inherent feature of a bar shaped marks A*), and wherein the first structure comprises at least a lithographically formed and to-be-etched-open opening in photoresist overlying (opening in resist R1) a feature of a formed, or being formed, functional integrated circuit (SK layered body, see Figs. 6-9), the feature configured to diffract radiation, and wherein the elements of the grating of the second structure are 2 longitudinal bars (see Fig. 3E).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the active structure as taught by Segawa as the overlay target as taught by Smith in order to determine alignment of the features of the word line region to ensure accurate positioning of the device features to produce an operational device.
Smith and Ogawa fail to explicitly teach at least one side of the feature is angled along a thickness of the photoresist
Sho teaches a target (see Figs. 2A and 2B) comprising a to-be-etched-open feature in photoresist of a formed, or being formed, functional integrated circuit (forming a 3D memory device, see [0022]) and a diffraction structure( MK1-1), wherein a top of the diffraction structure is below a bottom of the feature (see Fig. 2B) and at least one side of the feature is angled along a thickness of the photoresist (angle of resist layer 42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the photoresist side of a target as taught by Sho in the photoresist structure as taught by Smith or Segawa because process conditions and film stress of the resist introduce asymmetries in the photoresist during manufacturing of the 3D device.
For claim 2, Smith teaches the asymmetry is calculated as an integral of the distribution (see equations of Fig. 10 and [0047]-[0050]).
For claims 18 and 19, in the combination, Segawa teaches a plurality of layers between the top of the elements and the bottom of the opening (SK, see Fig. 3A) and the integrated circuit comprises a 3D-NAND memory device (see [0033]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-9 and 20 remain allowed.
Claims 5, 12, and 16 remain objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3, and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Segawa, previously cited in the Office Action mailed on August 24, 2024, is relied upon to teach the salient features of the claims.
Conclusion
/Steven H Whitesell/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759