DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claim 16-17, 19-26, and 28-39 are under examination.
Claim 1-15, 18 and 27 are cancelled.
Claim 16-17, 19-26 and 28-29 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 01/27/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Withdrawn Rejection
The 112 second paragraph rejection set forth in previous office action has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16-17, 19-26, and 28-39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The 112, first paragraph rejection of new matter of recitation of “…unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones” in claim 16 and 25 is maintained. The limitation is not supported in the specification as originally filed. Applicant notes the support found in the specification, page 20, lines 7-15 and Example 1. The Examiner disagrees. While contrary for support of the new limitation “…unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones”, the specification as filed on page 20, line 9-15, are directed flavorings are encapsulated; there is no mention of the polymethoxyflavones as unencapsulated. Additionally, the specification as filed page 18, line 16-33 to page 19, line 1-34, pg. 20, line 1-4, and Example 1, do not support the polymethoxyflavones as unencapsulated; hence the limitation is new matter.
In response to Applicant’s remarks, pg. 6-5; the recitation of “…unencapsulated…” is in other words considered as negative limitation wherein the instant specification as filed on page 20, line 9-15, are directed flavorings are encapsulated. The instant specification does not disclose alternative elements, for example “encapsulated or unencapsulated” but rather the instant claim discloses as filed on page 20, line 9-15, are directed flavorings are encapsulated.
See MPEP 2173.05 (i), [a]ny negative limitation or exclusionary proviso must have basis in the original disclosure. If alternative elements are positively recited in the specification, they may be explicitly excluded in the claims. See In re Johnson, 558 F.2d 1008, 1019, 194 USPQ 187, 196 (CCPA 1977) ("[the] specification, having described the whole, necessarily described the part remaining."). See also Ex parte Grasselli, 231 USPQ 393 (Bd. App. 1983), aff’d mem., 738 F.2d 453 (Fed. Cir. 1984). In describing alternative features, the applicant need not articulate advantages or disadvantages of each feature in order to later exclude the alternative features. See Inphi Corporation v. Netlist, Inc., 805 F.3d 1350, 1356-57, 116 USPQ2d 2006, 2010-11 (Fed. Cir. 2015). The mere absence of a positive recitation is not basis for an exclusion….Any claim containing a negative limitation which does not have basis in the original disclosure should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Applicant is required to remove new matter in response to this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16, 19-20, 22-25, 28-29 and 31-37 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Green (US 20150125557 A1, Applicant’s IDS submitted on 01/15/2026).
Regarding claim 16, 24, 25, and 34-37, with respect to when reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the limitation “[a] method of enhancing mouthfeel of a flavored product” recited in claim 16, and “[a] method of reducing a bitter taste of a flavored product” in claim 25, are not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Green discloses a method of adding, incorporating a crystalline powder of Ortanique peel polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) (‘557, [0006]) into food (‘557, [0007], [0024], [0048], [0073]-[0076]) in an effective amount (‘557, [0082]). Green disclose the polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) comprising sinensetin, tangeratin, tetramethylscutellarein and hexamethyl-o-quercetagetin (‘557, [0039]).
With respect to the limitations of “…and wherein the one or more polymethoxyflavones enhances the mouthfeel of the flavored product…” as recited in claim 16; and “…wherein the one or more polymethoxyflavones reduce the bitter taste of the flavored product…” as recited in claim 25; Green uses like materials, polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) comprising sinensetin, tangeratin, tetramethylscutellarein and hexamethyl-o-quercetagetin (‘557, [0039]) in a like manner in effective amounts in the food as claimed; it would therefore be expected that Green’s food will have the same characteristics claimed, “enhances the mouthfeel of the flavored product” in claim 16; and “reduces the bitter taste of the flavored product …”, absent a showing of unexpected results.
Regarding claim 19, 20, 24, 28, 29 and 33, Green discloses the food (flavored product) includes fruit juices and sodas (‘557, [0076]). Fruit juices is well known to contain fructose (sweetener).
Regarding claim 22. 23, 31 and 32, Green discloses the food (flavored product) containing the Ortanique peel polymethoxylated flavones extract including heptamethoxyflavone (sweetness enhancer/flavone).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17, 21, 26, 30, 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Green (US 20150125557 A1).
Regarding claim 17, 26, 38 and 39, Green discloses the claimed invention as discussed above. Green disclose the polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) comprising the tetramethylscutellarein and the hexamethyl-o-quercetagetin (‘557, [0039]). Green does not explicitly disclose the effective amount in a concentration as cited in claim 17, 26, 38 and 39, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust amounts of the polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) in the food (flavored product) including the cited amounts to achieve a desired therapeutic effect (‘557, [0082]), absent a clear and convincing argument or evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 21 and 30, Green discloses the food (flavored product) includes the fruit juices and sodas (‘557, [0076]), wherein the fruit juices contains natural sweetener, fructose. Green is silent on the sweetener is aspartame. However it is well known in the food art, aspartame is known to provide sweetness to beverages such as fruit juices without added calories. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivate to use well-known commercially available sweetener, aspartame in Green’s fruit juices to promote sweetness without additional calories from sweeteners for a desired customer market.
Response to Arguments
Applicant asserts “…Green does not disclose "introducing one or more unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones to a flavored product having a perceived lack of a mouthfeel" or "introducing one or more unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones to a flavored product having a bitter taste" as recited by Claims 16 and 25, respectively…”.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Green clearly discloses the method of adding, incorporating (introducing) a crystalline powder of Ortanique peel polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) (‘557, [0006]) into food (‘557, [0007], [0024], [0048], [0073]-[0076]) in an effective amount (‘557, [0082]). With respect to the limitations of “…and wherein the one or more polymethoxyflavones enhances the mouthfeel of the flavored product…” as recited in claim 16; and “…wherein the one or more polymethoxyflavones reduce the bitter taste of the flavored product…” as recited in claim 25; Green uses like materials, polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) comprising sinensetin, tangeratin, tetramethylscutellarein and hexamethyl-o-quercetagetin (‘557, [0039]) in a like manner in effective amounts in the food as claimed; it would therefore be expected that Green’s food will have the same characteristics claimed, “enhances the mouthfeel of the flavored product” in claim 16; and “reduces the bitter taste of the flavored product …”, absent a showing of unexpected results.
Applicant asserts “ …Green does not anticipate the recited hexamethoxyquercetogetin of the instant Claims 35 and 37. Therefore, Claims 35 and 37 are not anticipated by Green for this additional reason…”.
Applicant is not are not persuasive. Green clearly teaches hexameth-o-quercetogetin of the instant Claims 35 and 37, see inserted [0039] herein
In response to Applicant’s remarks to “effective amounts” the instant claim 16, 19-25, and 28-37, Green discloses the method of adding, incorporating (introducing) the Ortanique peel polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) (‘557, [0006]) into food (‘557, [0007], [0024], [0048], [0073]-[0076]) in an effective amount (‘557, [0082]). However, Green does not explicitly disclose the effective amount in a concentration as cited in claim 17, 26, 38 and 39, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust amounts of the polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) in the food (flavored product) including the cited amounts to achieve a desired therapeutic effect (‘557, [0082]), absent a clear and convincing argument or evidence to the contrary. Green clearly discloses the method of adding, incorporating (introducing) a crystalline powder of Ortanique peel polymethoxylated flavones extract (unencapsulated polymethoxyflavones) (‘557, [0006]) into food (‘557, [0007], [0024], [0048], [0073]-[0076]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792