DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim and Specification Status
The Examiner acknowledges the amendment to claim 1 in the Applicant’s response dated 18 August 2026. The claim amendment has been addressed below.
The Examiner acknowledges the cancellation of claims 11-12, 14-15, 17, 19 and 22-23 in the Applicant’s response dated 18 August 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 18, 20-21 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamazaki et al. (US 2017/0236844 A1; hereinafter “Yamazaki”), in view of Tutt et al. (US 2012/0178225 A1; hereinafter “Tutt”), and in further view of Yamakawa et al. (US 2016/0020327 A1; hereinafter “Yamakawa”), and in further view of Miyairi (US 9530856 B2; hereinafter “Miyairi”).
Regarding Claim 1, Yamazaki teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (108, Fig. 15A, para [0275] describes an oxide semiconductor film 108);
a first insulating layer over and in contact with the semiconductor layer (110, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes an insulating film 110 which can be seen as over and in contact with semiconductor layer 108 in Fig. 15A and Fig. 15B);
a metal oxide layer over and in contact with the first insulating layer (112_1, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes a metal oxide layer 112_1 which is over and in contact with the first insulating layer 110),
a conductive layer in contact with the metal oxide layer (112_2, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes a conductive film 112_2 which is describes as over the metal oxide layer 112_1 and is shown as being in contact with the metal oxide layer 112_1 in Fig. 15A and Fig. 15B);
a second insulating layer over and in contact with the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (116, Fig. 15A, para [0139] describes a second insulating film layer 116 wherein Fig. 15A and Fig. 15B depicts the second insulating layer 116 is over the first insulating layer 110 and in contact with at least a side portion of the first insulating layer 110 and wherein the second insulating layer is over and in contact with the conductive layer 112_2); and
wherein the second insulating layer covers the first insulating layer and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer (116, Fig. 15A, para [0139] describes the second insulating film layer 116 wherein Fig. 15A and Fig. 15B depicts wherein the second insulating layer 116 covers at least side surfaces of the first insulating layer 110 and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer 112_2),
wherein the conductive layer is over the first insulating layer (Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes wherein conductive layer 112_2 is over insulating layer 110),
wherein the metal oxide layer is between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes metal oxide layer 112_1 over insulating layer 110 and further wherein conductive layer 112_2 is over metal oxide layer 112_1),
wherein the semiconductor layer comprises a first region (108i, Fig. 15A, para [0275] describes a channel region 108i), a pair of second regions (108f, Fig. 15A, para [0275] describes regions 108f between channel region 108i and source and drain regions 108s and 108d), and a pair of third regions (108s and 108d, Fig. 15A, para [0275] describes source region 108s and drain region 108d),
wherein the first region overlaps with the metal oxide layer and the conductive layer (Fig. 15A, para [0139] describes wherein channel region 108i overlaps with conductive film 112 comprising metal oxide layer 112_1 and conductive layer 112_2),
wherein the pair of third regions sandwich the first region and the pair of second regions and do not overlap with the conductive layer (Fig. 15A, para [0275]-[0276] describes regions 108f between channel region 108i and source and drain regions 108s and 108d wherein source and drain regions do not overlap with conductive layer 112_2),
wherein the third regions each comprise a portion having lower resistance than the first region (para [0277] describes wherein third regions 108d and 108s have lower resistance than the first region 108i),
wherein the second regions each comprise a portion having higher resistance than the third regions (paras [0276]-[0277] describes wherein second regions 108f have higher resistance than third regions 108d and 108s), and
wherein each of the semiconductor layer and the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium, and zinc (112_1 and 108, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes wherein the metal oxide layer 112_1 may comprise an oxide conductive film containing indium, gallium and zinc and para [0310] describes wherein the semiconductor layer 108 may be an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide comprising indium, gallium and zinc wherein both the metal oxide layer 112_1 and the semiconductor layer 108 may be comprised of the same indium, gallium and zinc material layers).
Yamazaki fails to disclose wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer.
However, Tutt teaches a transistor, wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (120, Fig. 1, para [0026] and [0034], describes a first electrically conductive material layer which can be comprised of metal oxide materials including indium) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (130, 180, Fig. 1, para [0026], [0028], and [0034], describes a second electrically conductive material layer, functioning as a gate electrode, which can be comprised of any suitable gate materials including indium, wherein the overhang 180 demonstrates the end portion of the second metal oxide layer 120 is on an inner side than an end portion of the second conductive layer 130).
Tutt further discloses wherein said end portion of the metal oxide layer being on an inner side of an end portion of the conductive layer creates an overhang. This overhang shortens the channel path and provides the advantage of reducing or preventing ungated regions in the transistor (para [0020] and para [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki with Tutt to include the end portion of the metal oxide layer being on an inner side of an end portion of the conductive layer in order to provide the advantage of enabling an overhang which provides the advantage of reducing or preventing ungated regions in a transistor (Tutt, para [0020] and para [0026]).
The combination of Yamazaki and Tutt fail to disclose an insulating region, wherein the insulating region is adjacent to the metal oxide layer, between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer, wherein the pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the insulating region and the conductive layer.
However, Yamakawa teaches a semiconductor device comprising:
an insulating region (23, 23T and IR, Fig. 19, annotated Fig. 19, para [0122] describes an insulating film 23 wherein an upper portion 23T of the insulating film 23 comprises an insulating region IR),
wherein the insulating region is adjacent to the metal oxide layer (IR, annotated Fig. 19, depicts wherein upon modifying Yamazaki with Yamakawa to add the insulating region IR as shown in annotated Fig. 19, Yamazaki’s metal oxide’s width will be reduced to an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer wherein the insulating region IR will be adjacent to the metal oxide layer 112_1 of Yamazaki) between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (see annotated Fig. 19 below), and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer (15 and IR, annotated Fig. 19 depicts wherein upon modifying Yamazaki with Yamakawa to add the insulating region IR as shown in annotated Fig. 19, Yamazaki’s metal oxide’s width will be reduced to an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer and the insulating region IR will be on either side of the metal oxide layer 112_1 of Yamazaki putting it between the high-resistance film 15 constituting a second insulating film of Yamakawa as described in para [0070] and between the metal oxide layer 112_1 and second insulating layer 116 of Yamazaki),
wherein the pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the insulating region and the conductive layer (IR, annotated Fig. 19, wherein the modified region will be above the second region, overlapping).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki and Tutt with Yamakawa to further disclose a gate insulating film comprising a thick-film corner section comprising an insulating region, wherein the insulating region is adjacent to a metal oxide layer, between the first insulating layer and a conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and a second insulating layer, wherein the pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the insulating region and the conductive layer in order to provide the advantage of providing a “U” shaped insulator as disclosed by Yamakawa to suppress the electric field on the active layer, improving reliability of the thin film transistor (Yamakawa, para [0005], [0107] and [0111]).
Furthermore, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, and Yamakawa fails to disclose wherein the first insulating layer covers a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer in a channel length direction.
Yamazaki does disclose a wherein the first insulating layer covers a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer (110, Fig. 15B depicts wherein first insulating layer 110 covers the top and side of semiconductor layer portion 108i).
However, Miyairi teaches a semiconductor device comprising, a first insulating layer (160, Fig. 2B, column 24, lines 57-59, describe a gate insulating film) covers a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer (130, Fig. 2B, column 8, lines 53-56, describe an oxide semiconductor 130 comprised of three layers 131, 132, 133) in a channel length direction (Fig. 2B, and Fig. 2C, column 8, lines 43-44, and column 24, lines 57-59, describe a gate insulating film 160 covering the oxide semiconductor 133 on a top and side surface in a channel length direction).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki and Tutt and Yamakawa with Miyairi to further disclose a first insulating layer covering a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer in a channel length direction in order to provide the advantage of preventing impurity elements from reaching the semiconductor layers, improving reliability of the semiconductor device (Miyairi, Column 9, lines 16-20).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the insulating region (Yamakawa, 33L, Fig. 21, para [0125], wherein the insulating region is described as a low-dielectric constant section) has a relative dielectric constant different from a relative dielectric constant of the first insulating layer (Yamakawa, para [0126] and para [0129], describes the differing dielectric constant relaxes the electric field of the device, improving reliability).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the insulating region comprises a gap (Yamakawa, 33L, Fig. 21, para [0126] and para [0129], describes that the low-dielectric constant section 33L of the gate insulating film 33 may be formed of, air, in other words, an air gap, which relaxes the electric field of the device, improving reliability).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises an oxide or a nitride (Yamazaki, para [0236] describes wherein first insulating layer 110 may be comprised of an oxide or nitride), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises an oxide or a nitride (Yamazaki, para [0246] describes wherein the second insulating layer may comprise silicon nitride oxide).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Yamazaki, para [0236] describes wherein first insulating layer 110 may comprise a silicon oxide film), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Yamazaki, para [0246] describes wherein second insulating layer 116 may comprise silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Yamazaki, para [0236] describes wherein first insulating layer 110 may comprise a silicon oxide film), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon and nitrogen (Yamazaki, para [0246] describes wherein second insulating layer 116 may comprise silicon oxynitride).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a third insulating layer (Yamazaki, 118, Fig. 15A, para [0141] describes a third insulating film 118), wherein the third insulating layer is in contact with a top surface of the second insulating layer (Yamazaki, Fig. 15A depicts wherein third insulating layer 118 is in contact with a top surface of the second insulating layer 116), and wherein the third insulating layer comprises a nitride (Yamazaki, para [0247] describes wherein third insulating film 118 may be comprised of silicon nitride oxide).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the third insulating layer comprises silicon and nitrogen (Yamazaki, para [0247] describes wherein third insulating film 118 may be comprised of silicon nitride oxide).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the metal oxide layer (Yamazaki, 112_1) is less likely to transmit oxygen and hydrogen than the first insulating layer (Yamazaki, 112_1 and 110, Fig. 15A, para [0236] describes a first insulating layer 110 wherein the first insulating layer may be comprised of silicon oxide such as described for the first insulating layer of the instant application and wherein para [0268] describes the second metal oxide layer may comprise a metal oxide material such as the metal oxide layer of the instant application wherein the structure recited in Yamazaki is substantially identical to that of the claims, therefore claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present (please see MPEP 2112.01 (I))).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a crystallinity (Yamazaki, 112_1, Fig. 15A, para [0268] and para [0112] describes a crystal structure of a metal oxide such as found in metal oxide layer 112_1 wherein said crystal structure will comprise a crystallinity).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the third regions each comprise a first element (Yamazaki, 108s and 108d, Fig. 15A, para [0146] describes source and drain regions 108s and 108d comprising a first element), and wherein the first element is one or more selected from boron, phosphorus, aluminum, and magnesium (Yamazaki, 108s and 108d, Fig. 15A, para [0146] describes wherein source and drain regions 108s and 108d comprise a first element such as boron or phosphorous).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Yamazaki, Tutt, Yamakawa, and Miyairi discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Yamazaki fails to explicitly disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a lower end portion of the metal oxide layer is on an inner side than an upper end portion of the metal oxide layer.
However, Miyairi teaches a similar semiconductor device wherein a lower end portion of the metal oxide layer (171 and LEP, annotated Fig. 2B, column 9, lines 7-20 describe wherein a metal oxide layer is formed between conductive film 170 and surrounding gate insulating film 160 and insulating film 180 wherein said metal oxide layer would comprise a lower end portion LEP as shown in annotated Fig. 2B) is on an inner side than an upper end portion of the metal oxide layer (171 and UEP, annotated Fig. 2B, column 9, lines 7-20 describe wherein a metal oxide layer is formed between conductive film 170 and surrounding gate insulating film 160 and insulating film 180 wherein said metal oxide layer would comprise an upper end portion LEP as shown in annotated Fig. 2B wherein lower end portion LEP is on an inner side than an upper end portion UEP of the metal oxide layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki, Tutt, and Yamakawa with Miyairi to further disclose a semiconductor device comprising lower end portions of a metal oxide layer on an inner side of upper end portions of a metal oxide layer in order to provide the advantage of providing a metal oxide layer that conforms to the shape of a gate conductive film so as to prevent Cu in the Cu-X gate conductive film from reaching the oxide semiconductor layer through surrounding insulating films which would decrease the semiconductor device reliability (Miyairi, column 9, lines 7-20).
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 5742363 A; hereinafter “Bae”), in view of Liao et al. (US 2010/0133544 A1; hereinafter “Liao”), and in further view of Yamazaki et al. (US 2017/0236844 A1; hereinafter “Yamazaki”).
Regarding Claim 1, Bae discloses a semiconductor device comprising:
a semiconductor layer (3a, Fig. 5A and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 33-37, describe an active layer 3a with source and drain regions);
a first insulating layer over and in contact with the semiconductor layer (4, Fig. 5A and Fig. 5H, column 4, line 61-64 describe a gate insulating layer 4 which can be seen as over and in contact with semiconductor layer 3a in Fig. 3);
a metal layer over and in contact with the first insulating layer (5a, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, line 38, describe a lower gate electrode 5a which can be seen as over and in contact with the first insulating layer 4 in Fig. 5C);
a conductive layer in contact with the metal layer (5b, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, line 38, describe an upper gate electrode 5b which can be seen in contact with metal layer 5a in Fig. 3);
a second insulating layer over and in contact with the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (7, Fig. 5E and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 38-41 describe an interlayer insulating layer 7 which is over and in contact with the first insulating layer 4a and the conductive layer 5b as shown in Fig. 3); and
wherein the first insulating layer covers a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer in a channel length direction (4, Fig. 5A and Fig. 5H, column 4, line 61-64 describe a gate insulating layer 4 which can be seen covering a top surface and a side surface of the semiconductor layer 3a in a channel length direction as shown in Fig. 5H), and
wherein the second insulating layer covers the first insulating layer and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer (7, Fig. 5E and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 38-41 describe the interlayer insulating layer 7 which covers at least a top surface and a side surface of the first insulating layer 4 and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer 5b as shown in Fig. 3),
wherein the conductive layer is over the first insulating layer (5b, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 37-39, describes a first insulating layer 4, then a lower gate electrode 5a, and then upper gate electrode 5b being sequentially formed resulting in the conductive layer 5a being over the first insulating layer 4)
wherein the metal layer is between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (5a, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 37-39 describe wherein the metal layer 5a is between the first insulating layer 4 and the conductive layer 5b),
wherein an end portion of the metal layer is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (5b, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 46-51, describes the conductive layer 5b, being wider than the metal layer 5a, thus resulting in an end portion of the metal layer 5a being on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer 5b as seen in Fig. 3).
wherein the semiconductor layer comprises a first region (FR and 3a, annotated Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 34-37, describe a channel region 3a comprising a first region FR), a pair of second regions (10, Fig. 3, column 4, lines 34-37, describe an offset region 10), and a pair of third regions (TR and 3a, annotated Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 34-37, describe a source and drain region of the semiconductor layer 3a comprising third regions TR),
wherein the first region overlaps with the metal layer and the conductive layer (FR, annotated Fig. 5H depicts wherein first region FR overlaps with metal layer 5a and conductive layer 5b),
wherein the pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the conductive layer (10, Fig. 3 depicts wherein offset regions 10 comprising a pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the conductive layer 5b
wherein the pair of third regions are sandwich the first region and the pair of second regions (TR, annotated Fig. 5H depicts wherein the pair of third regions TR sandwich the first region FR and pair of second regions 10) and do not overlap with the conductive layer (TR and 5b, annotated Fig. 5H, column 7, lines 14-19, describes the second region 10 being the width of the difference between the conductive layer 5b and metal layer 5a, resulting in the third region TR not overlapping with conductive layer 5b),
wherein the third regions each comprise a portion having lower resistance than the first region (TR, annotated Fig. 5H, column 5, lines 36-39, describes the third regions TR being source and drain regions formed though ion-doping, wherein it is known in the art that the source and drain regions would have lower resistance than the first region, or channel region), and
wherein the second regions each comprise a portion having higher resistance than the third regions (10, Fig. 3, column 8, lines 26-30, describes the offset regions 10 as LDD or lightly doped drain regions, which are well known in the art to have a higher resistance than the source and drain regions).
Bae fails to explicitly disclose an insulating region, and wherein the insulating region is adjacent to the metal oxide layer, between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer, and wherein the pair of second regions overlap with the insulating region, and wherein the metal layer comprises a metal oxide.
However, Liao teaches a similar semiconductor device comprising:
a metal oxide layer over and in contact with a first insulating layer (240b, Fig. 2E, para [0030] describes a first layer comprised of a metal oxide material such as ITO);
an insulating region (C, Fig. 2E, para [0040], describes recesses R that become cavities C, wherein the cavities are vacuum cavities with a dielectric constant substantially equal to 1, acting as an insulating region),
wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer is between the first insulating layer and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer (240a and 240b, Fig. 2E, para [0039] describes the cavity C which puts an end portion of the metal oxide layer 240a between a first insulating layer 230 and a top surface and a side surface of the conductive layer 240b),
wherein the insulating region (C, Fig. 2E, para [0040]) is adjacent to the metal oxide layer (240b, Fig. 2E, para [0030] describes a first conductive layer 240a that may be comprised of a metal oxide ITO), between the first insulating layer (230, Fig. 2E, para [0043] describes a gate insulating layer 230), and the conductive layer (240b, Fig. 2E, para [0033] describes a second conductive layer 240b wherein Fig. 2E depicts the insulating region C being adjacent to the metal oxide layer 240a, and between the first insulating layer 230 and the second conductive layer 240b), and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer (250, Fig. 2E, para [0039] describes a dielectric layer 250 wherein the insulating region C is between the metal oxide layer 240a and the second insulating layer 250), and
wherein the pair of second regions sandwich the first region and overlap with the insulating region and the conductive layer (upon modifying Bae with the insulating region of Liao, the region of the insulating layer 7 that overlaps with the offset region 10 of Bae, will be comprised of the insulating region C of Liao, overlapping the insulating region C of Liao with the offset region 10 of Bae), and
wherein the metal comprises a metal oxide (240a, Fig. 2E, para [0030], describes the first conductive layer 240a is made of ITO (indium tin oxide) which is a metal oxide).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae with Liao to disclose a semiconductor device comprising an insulating region, and wherein the insulating region is adjacent to a metal oxide layer, between a first insulating layer and a conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and a second insulating layer, and wherein a pair of second regions overlap with the insulating region in order to provide the advantage of providing an insulating region which may resolve the problem of the short channel effect by reducing leakage current in the TFT device (Liao, para [0009] and para [0021]) and to further disclose wherein a metal layer comprises a metal oxide in order to provide the advantage of providing an etch selectivity with respect to a metal oxide layer and an overlying conductive layer so that a recess may be formed to provide an insulating region (Liao, para [0031]).
The combination of Bae and Liao fail to explicitly disclose wherein each of the semiconductor layer and the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium, and zinc.
However, Yamazaki teaches a similar semiconductor device wherein each of the semiconductor layer and the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium, and zinc (112_1 and 108, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes wherein the metal oxide layer 112_1 may comprise an oxide conductive film containing indium, gallium and zinc and para [0310] describes wherein the semiconductor layer 108 may be an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide comprising indium, gallium and zinc wherein both the metal oxide layer 112_1 and the semiconductor layer 108 may be comprised of the same indium, gallium and zinc material layers).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae and Liao with Yamazaki to disclose a semiconductor device wherein the metal oxide layer comprises the same material as the semiconductor layer in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a same material for multiple layers in a semiconductor device simplifying a device manufacturing process and reducing manufacturing costs through the reduction of materials needed during manufacturing,
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the insulating region has a relative dielectric constant different from a relative dielectric constant of the first insulating layer (Liao, C, Fig. 2E para [0046], describes the dielectric constant of the insulating region C, to be substantially equal to one, while the first insulating layer 230, has a relatively high dielectric constant).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising wherein the insulating region comprises a gap (Liao, C, Fig. 2E, para [0046], describes wherein the dielectric constant of the insulating region C is substantially equal to one, wherein the dielectric constant of air is substantially equal to one, therefore the insulating region of Liao comprises a gap).
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises an oxide or a nitride (Bae, Fig. 5H, column 6, lines 16-17, describes wherein the first insulating layer 4 may comprise a silicon oxide), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises an oxide or a nitride (Bae, 7, Fig. 5H, column 6, lines 16-17, describes the second insulating layer 7 may comprise a silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Bae, 4, Fig. 5H, column 6, lines 16-17, describes wherein the first insulating layer 4 may comprise a silicon oxide).
Bae fails to explicitly disclose wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen.
However, Yamazaki teaches a similar semiconductor device, wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Yamazaki, para [0246] describes wherein second insulating layer 116 may comprise silicon oxynitride).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae and Liao with Yamazaki to explicitly disclose wherein the second insulating layer may comprise silicon and oxygen in order to provide the advantage of increasing the carrier density in the source and drain regions in contact with the second insulating layer (Yamazaki, para [0246]).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the first insulating layer comprises silicon and oxygen (Bae, 4, Fig. 5H, column 6, lines 16-17, describes wherein the first insulating layer 4 may comprise a silicon oxide), and wherein the second insulating layer comprises silicon and nitrogen (Bae, 7, Fig. 5H, column 6, lines 16-17, describes the second insulating layer 7 may comprise a silicon nitride).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, further comprising a third insulating layer (Yamazaki, 118, Fig. 15A, para [0141] describes a third insulating layer 118), wherein the third insulating layer is in contact with a top surface of the second insulating layer (Yamazaki, Fig. 15A depicts third insulating layer 118 in contact with a top surface of second insulating layer 116), and wherein the third insulating layer comprises a nitride (Yamazaki, para [0247] describes wherein third insulating layer 118 may comprise a silicon nitride oxide).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 8, wherein the third insulating layer comprises silicon and nitrogen (Yamazaki, para [0247] describes wherein third insulating layer 118 may comprise a silicon nitride oxide).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the metal oxide layer (Yamazaki, 112_1) is less likely to transmit oxygen and hydrogen than the first insulating layer (Yamazaki, 112_1 and 110, Fig. 15A, para [0236] describes a first insulating layer 110 wherein the first insulating layer may be comprised of silicon oxide such as described for the first insulating layer of the instant application and wherein para [0268] describes the second metal oxide layer may comprise a metal oxide material such as the metal oxide layer of the instant application wherein the structure recited in Yamazaki is substantially identical to that of the claims, therefore claimed properties or functions are presumed to be present (please see MPEP 2112.01 (I))).
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teach the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein the metal oxide layer comprises a crystallinity (Yamazaki, 112_1, Fig. 15A, para [0268] and para [0112] describes a crystal structure of a metal oxide such as found in metal oxide layer 112_1 wherein said crystal structure will comprise a crystallinity).
Regarding Claim 21, the combination Bae, Liao and Yamazaki disclose all the limitations of claim 1.
Bae fails to explicitly disclose wherein the third regions each comprise a first element, and wherein the first element is one or more selected from boron, phosphorus, aluminum, and magnesium.
However, Yamazaki teaches a similar semiconductor device wherein the third regions each comprise a first element (Yamazaki, 108s and 108d, Fig. 15A, para [0146] describes source and drain regions 108s and 108d comprising a first element), and wherein the first element is one or more selected from boron, phosphorus, aluminum, and magnesium (Yamazaki, 108s and 108d, Fig. 15A, para [0146] describes wherein source and drain regions 108s and 108d comprise a first element such as boron or phosphorous).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae and Liao with Yamazaki to explicitly disclose wherein the third regions comprise one or more of boron, phosphorus, aluminum, and magnesium in order to provide the advantage of cutting a bond between a metal element and oxygen in the semiconductor layer or oxygen is bonded to the impurity element so that an oxygen vacancy is formed, creating a higher carrier density and increasing conductivity in the semiconductor device (Yamazaki, para [0148]).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 5742363 A; hereinafter “Bae”), in view of Liao et al. (US 2010/0133544 A1; hereinafter “Liao”), in further view of Yamazaki et al. (US PgPub 2017/0236844 A1) and in further view of Miyairi (US 9530856 B2; hereinafter “Miyairi”).
Regarding Claim 24, the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki discloses all the limitations of claim 1.
Bae, Liao and Yamazaki fail to explicitly disclose the semiconductor device according to claim 1, wherein a lower end portion of the metal oxide layer is on an inner side than an upper end portion of the metal oxide layer.
However, Miyairi teaches a similar semiconductor device wherein a lower end portion of the metal oxide layer (171 and LEP, annotated Fig. 2B, column 9, lines 7-20 describe wherein a metal oxide layer is formed between conductive film 170 and surrounding gate insulating film 160 and insulating film 180 wherein said metal oxide layer would comprise a lower end portion LEP as shown in annotated Fig. 2B) is on an inner side than an upper end portion of the metal oxide layer (171 and UEP, annotated Fig. 2B, column 9, lines 7-20 describe wherein a metal oxide layer is formed between conductive film 170 and surrounding gate insulating film 160 and insulating film 180 wherein said metal oxide layer would comprise an upper end portion LEP as shown in annotated Fig. 2B wherein lower end portion LEP is on an inner side than an upper end portion UEP of the metal oxide layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki, Tutt, and Yamakawa with Miyairi to further disclose a semiconductor device comprising lower end portions of a metal oxide layer on an inner side of upper end portions of a metal oxide layer in order to provide the advantage of providing a metal oxide layer that conforms to the shape of a gate conductive film so as to prevent Cu in the Cu-X gate conductive film from reaching the oxide semiconductor layer through surrounding insulating films which would decrease the semiconductor device reliability (Miyairi, column 9, lines 7-20).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 August 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The Applicant argues on page 6, lines 9-18 and page 8, lines 1-2 of the Applicant’s remarks that Yamazaki fails to teach that an end portion of the metal oxide layer is “on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer” and instead teaches away by describing a structure that extends outward beyond the gate electrode layer and furthermore that Yamazaki fails to teach the specified insulating region situated in an overhang area under the conductive layer. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As described above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. The Examiner relies upon prior art of record Tutt, to disclose wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (Tutt, 120, Fig. 1, para [0026] and [0034], describes a first electrically conductive material layer which can be comprised of metal oxide materials including indium) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (130, 180, Fig. 1, para [0026], [0028], and [0034], describes a second electrically conductive material layer, functioning as a gate electrode, which can be comprised of any suitable gate materials including indium, wherein the overhang 180 demonstrates the end portion of the second metal oxide layer 120 is on an inner side than an end portion of the second conductive layer 130). Furthermore, Applicant has not provided any evidence that the primary reference, Yamazaki, teaches away by describing a structure that extends outward beyond the gate electrode layer. The argument that Yamazaki teaches away is a mere allegation wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki with Tutt with a reasonable expectation of success to include the end portion of the metal oxide layer being on an inner side of an end portion of the conductive layer in order to provide the advantage of enabling an overhang which provides the advantage of reducing or preventing ungated regions in a transistor (Tutt, para [0020] and para [0026]). With respect to the Applicant’s argument that Yamazaki also fails to teach the specified insulating region situated in an overhang area under the conductive layer, the Examiner relies upon prior art of record, Yamakawa to teach an insulating region (Yamakawa, 23, 23T and IR, Fig. 19, annotated Fig. 19, para [0122] describes an insulating film 23 wherein an upper portion 23T of the insulating film 23 comprises an insulating region IR) and further the language of an insulating region situated in an overhang area under the conductive layer is not recited in claim 1 and therefore has no patentable weight.
The Applicant argues on page 7, lines 3-21 and page 8, lines 1-5 of the Applicant’s remarks that the prior art of record, Tutt, does not teach a metal oxide layer (comprising indium, gallium and zinc the same as in the semiconductor layer) is positioned inward of an end of an overhanging conductive layer or where there is an insulating region provided adjacent to such a metal oxide layer material in the overhang area. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. The Examiner relies upon prior art of record Tutt, to disclose wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (Tutt, 120, Fig. 1, para [0026] and [0034], describes a first electrically conductive material layer which can be comprised of metal oxide materials including indium) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (130, 180, Fig. 1, para [0026], [0028], and [0034], describes a second electrically conductive material layer, functioning as a gate electrode, which can be comprised of any suitable gate materials including indium, wherein the overhang 180 demonstrates the end portion of the second metal oxide layer 120 is on an inner side than an end portion of the second conductive layer 130), not wherein the metal oxide layer is comprised of indium, gallium and zinc, as this limitation is taught by the primary reference Yamazaki. Tutt describes a first electrically conductive material layer which can be comprised of metal oxide materials including indium and one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine the teachings of Yamazaki with Tutt to include the end portion of the metal oxide layer being on an inner side of an end portion of the conductive layer in order to provide the advantage of enabling an overhang which provides the advantage of reducing or preventing ungated regions in a transistor (Tutt, para [0020] and para [0026]) wherein a metal oxide layer comprising indium such as found in the prior art of record, Tutt, does not exclude the possibility of a metal oxide layer comprising indium, gallium and zinc as taught by Yamazaki and furthermore Tutt is not relied upon to teach the limitations of claim 1 reciting wherein each of the semiconductor layer and the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium, and zinc.
The Applicant argues on page 8, lines 6-18 of the Applicant’s remarks that because the first conductive layer (metal oxide layer) and second conductive layer (gate electrode layer) of Tutt are taught to be conductive with conductive functionality to serve as a gate, one would not have looked to Tutt’s structure for usage with a metal oxide composition of indium, gallium and zinc, as taught by Yamazaki. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The claims of the instant application do not require the metal oxide layer to be made of a semiconductor metal oxide material such as indicated for the semiconductor layer as described in claim 1. Furthermore, para [0075] of the instant application described wherein the metal oxide layer may be a conductive metal oxide containing indium such as indium tin oxide, or a metal oxide such as a zinc oxide containing gallium and further comprising indium as described in para [0018]. Therefore, as disclosed in the disclosure of instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use either an indium containing metal oxide layer such as indium tin oxide as taught by Tutt, or an indium gallium zinc oxide layer for the metal oxide layer as taught by Yamazaki.
The Applicant argues on page 8, lines 19-23 and page 9, lines 1-5 of the Applicant’s remarks that prior art of record, Yamakawa also fails to teach or suggest wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (comprising indium, gallium and zinc) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer, or wherein an insulating region is adjacent to such a metal oxide layer in an overhang area, between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer and further that Miyairi does not appear to overcome the above deficiencies. The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. Prior art of record, Tutt, teaches wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (120, Fig. 1, para [0026] and [0034], describes a first electrically conductive material layer which can be comprised of metal oxide materials including indium) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (130, 180, Fig. 1, para [0026], [0028], and [0034], describes a second electrically conductive material layer, functioning as a gate electrode, which can be comprised of any suitable gate materials including indium, wherein the overhang 180 demonstrates the end portion of the second metal oxide layer 120 is on an inner side than an end portion of the second conductive layer 130) and Yamazaki teaches wherein the metal oxide layer may comprise an oxide conductive film containing indium, gallium and zinc in para [0268]. Yamakawa further teaches an insulating region (Yamakawa, 23, 23T and IR, Fig. 19, annotated Fig. 19, para [0122] describes an insulating film 23 wherein an upper portion 23T of the insulating film 23 comprises an insulating region IR), wherein the insulating region is adjacent to the metal oxide layer (Yamakawa, IR, annotated Fig. 19, depicts wherein upon modifying Yamazaki with Yamakawa to add the insulating region IR as shown in annotated Fig. 19, Yamazaki’s metal oxide’s width will be reduced to an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer wherein the insulating region IR will be adjacent to the metal oxide layer 112_1 of Yamazaki) between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer (Yamakawa, see annotated Fig. 19), and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer (Yamakawa, 15 and IR, annotated Fig. 19 depicts wherein upon modifying Yamazaki with Yamakawa to add the insulating region IR as shown in annotated Fig. 19, Yamazaki’s metal oxide’s width will be reduced to an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer and the insulating region IR will be on either side of the metal oxide layer 112_1 of Yamazaki putting it between the high-resistance film 15 constituting a second insulating film of Yamakawa as described in para [0070] and between the metal oxide layer 112_1 and second insulating layer 116 of Yamazaki). Furthermore, claim 1 does not require “wherein an insulating region is adjacent to such a metal oxide layer in an overhang area” as described in the Applicant’s argument and therefore has no patentable weight. Additionally, Miyairi is not relied upon to teach the above mentioned claim limitations, wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer (comprising indium, gallium and zinc) is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer, or wherein an insulating region is adjacent to such a metal oxide layer in an overhang area, between the first insulating layer and the conductive layer, and between the metal oxide layer and the second insulating layer, which are taught in combination by Yamazaki, Tutt and Yamakawa.
The Applicant argues on page 9, lines 10-13 and page 10, lines 1-7 of the Applicant’s remarks that there is no teaching of Bae of having a layer of a material comprising indium, zinc and gallium for the alleged structure 5a being inward of conductive layer 5b or having it be of the same material composition as its semiconductor layer. The Applicant further argues that Bae has no teaching of an insulating region situated as claimed adjacent to such a metal oxide layer of specified composition. As indicated above, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. The Examiner relies upon the combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki to teach wherein the metal layer comprises a metal oxide (Liao, 240a, Fig. 2E, para [0030], describes the first conductive layer 240a is made of ITO (indium tin oxide) which is a metal oxide) and an insulating region (Liao, C, Fig. 2E, para [0040], describes recesses R that become cavities C, wherein the cavities are vacuum cavities with a dielectric constant substantially equal to 1, acting as an insulating region) wherein the insulating region (Liao, C, Fig. 2E, para [0040]) is adjacent to the metal oxide layer (Liao, 240b, Fig. 2E, para [0030] describes a first conductive layer 240a that may be comprised of a metal oxide ITO). The combination of Bae and Liao teach the limitation wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer wherein Bae teaches an end portion of the metal layer is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (Bae, 5b, Fig. 5C and Fig. 5H, column 4, lines 46-51, describes the conductive layer 5b, being wider than the metal layer 5a, thus resulting in an end portion of the metal layer 5a being on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer 5b as seen in Fig. 3) and Liao further teaches wherein an end portion of the metal oxide layer is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer (Liao, 240a, Fig. 2E, para [0030], describes the first conductive layer 240a is made of ITO (indium tin oxide) which is a metal oxide wherein the metal oxide layer 240a is on an inner side than an end portion of the conductive layer 240b). The combination of Bae, Liao and Yamazaki teaches wherein each of the semiconductor layer and the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium, and zinc (112_1 and 108, Fig. 15A, para [0268] describes wherein the metal oxide layer 112_1 may comprise an oxide conductive film containing indium, gallium and zinc and para [0310] describes wherein the semiconductor layer 108 may be an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide comprising indium, gallium and zinc wherein both the metal oxide layer 112_1 and the semiconductor layer 108 may be comprised of the same indium, gallium and zinc material layers). As described above, the claims of the instant application do not require the metal oxide layer to be made of a semiconductor metal oxide material such as indicated for the semiconductor layer as described in claim 1. Furthermore, para [0075] of the instant application described wherein the metal oxide layer may be a conductive metal oxide containing indium such as indium tin oxide, or a metal oxide such as a zinc oxide containing gallium and further comprising indium as described in para [0018]. Therefore, as disclosed in the disclosure of instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use either an indium containing metal oxide layer such as indium tin oxide as taught by Liao, or an indium gallium zinc oxide layer for the metal oxide layer as taught by Yamazaki.
The Applicant argues on page 10, lines 8-20 and page 11, lines 1-9 of the Applicant’s remarks that there is no motivation to have predictable led to look to prior art of record, Liao or Yamazaki in combination with Bae. As described above, the claims of the instant application do not require the metal oxide layer to be made of a semiconductor metal oxide material such as indicated for the semiconductor layer as described in claim 1. Furthermore, para [0075] of the instant application described wherein the metal oxide layer may be a conductive metal oxide containing indium such as indium tin oxide, or a metal oxide such as a zinc oxide containing gallium and further comprising indium as described in para [0018]. Therefore, as disclosed in the disclosure of instant application, one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success to use either an indium containing metal oxide layer such as indium tin oxide as taught by Liao, or an indium gallium zinc oxide layer for the metal oxide layer as taught by Yamazaki. Furthermore, Applicant has not provided any evidence that the primary reference, Yamazaki, teaches away by describing a structure that extends outward beyond the gate electrode layer. The argument that Yamazaki teaches away is a mere allegation wherein it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Yamazaki with Bae and Liao with a reasonable expectation of success to include the end portion of the metal oxide layer being on an inner side of an end portion of the conductive layer in order to provide the advantage of enabling an offset structure to be used reducing leakage current in a semiconductor device and prevent an electrical short thus improving the performance of the thin film transistor and increasing the yield in the fabrication of the thin film transistor (Bae, column 6, lines 23-27). Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Bae and Liao with Yamazaki to disclose a semiconductor device wherein the metal oxide layer comprises indium, gallium and zinc and the semiconductor layer comprises indium, gallium and zinc with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide the well-known advantage of providing a same material for multiple layers in a semiconductor device simplifying a device manufacturing process and reducing manufacturing costs through the reduction of materials needed during manufacturing.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER MICHAEL MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 /JULIO J MALDONADO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2898