Detailed Action
This office action is in response to the request for continued examination filed on July 21st, 2026. Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are pending.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 21st, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues (pgs. 10-13, “Remarks”) that Harada and the other cited references fail to teach the limitations presented in amended Claims 1, 10, and 17.
However, as seen below, the additional limitations are rejected by a new interpretation of Park.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Therefore, Claim 1 is rejected by Harada, Yuasa, and Park. Claim 10 is rejected by Harada, Yuasa, Park, and Suzuki. Claim 17 is rejected by Harada, Yuasa, and Park.
Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive and are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Rejection Note: Italicized claim limitations indicate that the corresponding limitations are addressed with a secondary reference/embodiment in an obviousness analysis.
Claims 1, 3-6, 17, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al. (2017/0170004 A1; hereinafter Harada) in view of Yuasa et al. (2013/0280919 A1; hereinafter Yuasa) and Park et al. (2011/0300716 A1; hereinafter Park).
Regarding Claim 1, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches:
A film-forming method of forming an oxide film ([0049], silicon oxide) on a substrate ([0049], 200) inside a chamber ([0022], 201), the film-forming method comprising:
adsorbing a raw material gas ([0027], precursor containing gas) for forming the oxide film (silicon oxide) onto the substrate (200) by supplying the raw material gas into the chamber ([0027], 201); and
oxidizing ([0030]-[0034]) the raw material gas adsorbed onto the substrate (200) with oxygen-containing radicals ([0103]) produced by supplying a hydrogen gas ([0031], hydrogen containing gas) and an oxygen gas ([0030], first O-containing gas) into the chamber (201) via a shower head ([0149], 303S, see fig. 7) while preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas; and
continuously supplying an inert gas ([0032], nitrogen gas is supplied into the lines containing hydrogen and O-containing gases) into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S) in a counter-flow manner during a film formation process (see fig. 4), wherein
the adsorbing the raw material gas and the oxidizing the raw material gas are alternately repeated ([0106]), wherein
purging an interior of the chamber (201) with the inert gas ([0084], [0107], nitrogen gas) is performed after ([0050]-[0051], [0084]-[0085], purge gas of N2 is introduced after step 1 and before step 2) the adsorbing the raw material gas and after ([0102], purge gas N2 continues after step 2) the oxidizing the raw material gas, wherein,
in the oxidizing the raw material gas, a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time ([0102], the supply of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas is stopped and the flow rate of both is reduced to zero, both the flow rates of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas can be described as gradually decreasing to zero over this period of time).
Harada doesn’t explicitly teach preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas.
However, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0061], [0220]). Yuasa also teaches that preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas generates the proper amount of the reactive species and less unwanted byproducts such as H2O ([0061]) and that the use of a pre-reaction process reduces costs and improves productivity ([0121]-[0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the preheating of oxygen and hydrogen of Yuasa to reduce cost and improve productivity.
Harada doesn’t teach in the oxidizing the raw material gas, a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time
However, Park (fig. 3A) teaches in the oxidizing the raw material gas ([0092], silicon dioxide may be formed), a supply partial pressure ([0073], controls partial pressure distribution) of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas ([0036], gas source may be non-precursor gases, [0058], hydrogen gas may be used, [0092], silicon dioxide may be formed, therefore oxygen gas may be used) starts to decrease at an initial stage ([0048], starting at t2) of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time (see fig. 3A). Park also teaches this method improves thickness uniformity ([0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the partial pressure control of Park to improve thickness uniformity.
Regarding Claim 3, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the film-forming method of Claim 1, wherein the substrate (200) is heated to a temperature of 400 to 700 degrees C ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 4, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the film-forming method of Claim 1, wherein that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated to a temperature of 200 to 500 degrees C ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 5, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the film-forming method of Claim 4, wherein that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated to a temperature of 400 to 500 degrees C ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 6, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the film-forming method of Claim 1, wherein that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are supplied into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S, see fig. 7). Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated inside the shower head ([0220], 409).
Regarding Claim 17, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches:
A method of performing an oxidation process ([0049], silicon oxide) on a substrate ([0049], 200) inside a chamber ([0022], 201), the method comprising:
Supplying a hydrogen gas ([0031], hydrogen containing gas) and an oxygen gas ([0030], oxygen containing gas) into the chamber (201) via a shower head ([0149], 303S, see fig. 7) while preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas;
Oxidizing ([0030]-[0034]) a surface of the substrate (200) with oxygen-containing radicals ([0103]) produced by the preheated hydrogen gas and the preheated oxygen gas; and
continuously supplying an inert gas ([0032], nitrogen gas is supplied into the lines containing hydrogen and O-containing gases) into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S) in a counter-flow manner during a film formation process (see fig. 4), wherein
The supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and the oxidizing the surface of the substrate (200) are alternately repeated ([0095]-[0098], the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas are first supplied and then the oxidizing process starts, [0106], this process is repeated), wherein
purging an interior of the chamber (201) with the inert gas ([0084], [0107], nitrogen gas) is performed after ([0102], purge gas N2 continues after step 2) the oxidizing the raw material gas, wherein,
in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate (200), a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time ([0102], the supply of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas is stopped and the flow rate of both is reduced to zero, both the flow rates of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas can be described as gradually decreasing to zero over this period of time), and wherein
in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate, partial pressures of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are changed by changing at least one of a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the counter-flow manner via the shower head, a flow rate of the hydrogen gas via the shower head, or a flow rate of the oxygen gas via the shower head.
Harada doesn’t explicitly teach preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and oxygen-containing radicals produced by the preheated hydrogen gas and the preheated oxygen gas.
However, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0061], [0220]) and oxygen-containing radicals ([0061], atomic oxygen) produced by the preheated hydrogen gas and the preheated oxygen gas ([0061]). Yuasa also teaches that preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas generates the proper amount of the reactive species and less unwanted byproducts such as H2O ([0061]) and that the use of a pre-reaction process reduces costs and improves productivity ([0121]-[0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the preheating of oxygen and hydrogen of Yuasa to reduce cost and improve productivity.
Harada doesn’t teach in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate, a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time and in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate, partial pressures of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are changed by changing at least one of a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the counter-flow manner via the shower head, a flow rate of the hydrogen gas via the shower head, or a flow rate of the oxygen gas via the shower head.
However, Park (fig. 3A) teaches in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate ([0092], silicon dioxide may be formed), a supply partial pressure ([0073], controls partial pressure distribution) of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas ([0036], gas source may be non-precursor gases, [0058], hydrogen gas may be used, [0092], silicon dioxide may be formed, therefore oxygen gas may be used) starts to decrease at an initial stage ([0048], starting at t2) of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time (see fig. 3A), and wherein, in the oxidizing the surface of the substrate ([0092], silicon dioxide may be formed), partial pressures ([0073], controls partial pressure distribution) of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0036], gas source may be non-precursor gases, [0058], hydrogen gas may be used, [0092], silicon dioxide may be formed) are changed by changing at least one of a flow rate of the inert gas supplied in the counter-flow manner, a flow rate of the hydrogen gas, or a flow rate of the oxygen gas ([0048]-[0049], gas flow may increase or decrease and gas pressure decreases). Park also teaches this method improves thickness uniformity ([0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the partial pressure control of Park to improve thickness uniformity.
Regarding Claim 19, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the method of Claim 17, wherein that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated to a temperature of 400 to 500 degrees C ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 20, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the method of Claim 17, wherein that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are supplied into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S, see fig. 7). Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches that the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated inside the shower head ([0220], 409).
Claims 2, 7-8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada, Yuasa, and Park, in further view of Suzuki et al. (2012/0269969 A1; hereinafter Suzuki).
Regarding Claim 2, Harada doesn’t teach the film-forming method of Claim 1, wherein the supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease by filling a filling tank, which is provided in a gas supply pipe configured to change the supply partial pressure, with the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber, and opening a valve provided at a downstream side of the filling tank in a gas supply path to supply the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas from the filling tank.
However, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches the supply partial pressure of the at least one of the gases starts to decrease by filling a filling tank ([0044], 180 is filled with gas), which is provided in a gas supply pipe ([0044], 20L) configured to change the supply partial pressure ([0044], fills 180 with a certain amount of gas), with the at least one of the gases at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber ([0054], pressure of process tube 1 is lower), and opening a valve ([0045], 20C) provided at a downstream side of the filling tank (180) in a gas supply path (20L) to supply the at least one of the gases from the filling tank (180). Suzuki also teaches a buffer tank can retain a predetermined amount of gas ([0028]) and reduce a process time ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the buffer tank of Suzuki to reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the buffer tank of Suzuki for the hydrogen gas and oxygen gas of Harada to similarly reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas.
Regarding Claim 7, Harada doesn’t teach the film-forming method of Claim 1, wherein a supply partial pressure of the raw material gas is changed to be relatively high at an initial supply stage and to gradually decrease over time.
However, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches a supply partial pressure of the raw material gas ([0044], DCS) is changed to be relatively high at an initial supply stage and to gradually decrease over time ([0044], fills 180 with a certain amount of gas). Suzuki also teaches this approach reduces a process time ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the raw material gas pressure of Suzuki to reduce process time.
Regarding Claim 8, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches the film-forming method of Claim 7, wherein the supply partial pressure of the raw material gas (DCS) is changed by filling a filling tank ([0044], 180 is filled with gas), which is provided in a raw material gas supply pipe with the raw material gas (DCS) at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber ([0054], pressure of process tube 1 is lower), and opening a valve ([0045], 20C) provided at a downstream side of the filling tank (180) in a gas supply path (20L) to supply the at least one of the gases from the filling tank (180).
Regarding Claim 18, Harada doesn’t teach the supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease by filling a filling tank, which is provided in a gas supply pipe through which the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas flows, with the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber and opening a valve provided at a downstream side of the filling tank in a gas supply path to supply the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas from the filling tank.
However, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches the supply partial pressure of the at least one of the gases starts to decrease by filling a filling tank ([0044], 180 is filled with gas), which is provided in a gas supply pipe ([0044], 20L) through which the at least one of the gases flows, with the at least one of the gases at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber ([0054], pressure of process tube 1 is lower), and opening a valve ([0045], 20C) provided at a downstream side of the filling tank (180) in a gas supply path (20L) to supply the at least one of the gases from the filling tank (180). Suzuki also teaches a buffer tank can retain a predetermined amount of gas ([0028]) and reduce a process time ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the buffer tank of Suzuki to reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the buffer tank of Suzuki for the hydrogen gas and oxygen gas of Harada to similarly reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas.
Claims 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada in view of Yuasa, Park, and Suzuki.
Regarding Claim 10, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches:
A film-forming apparatus ([0021], fig. 1) for forming an oxide film ([0049], silicon oxide) on a substrate ([0049], 200), comprising: a chamber ([0022], 201) in which the substrate (200) is accommodated;
a stage ([0022], 207) provided inside the chamber (201) and configured ([0022]) to place the substrate (200) thereon;
a shower head ([0149], 303S, see fig. 7) facing the stage (207);
a first heater ([0022], 207) configured to heat ([0072]-[0073]) the substrate (200) placed on the stage (217);
a gas supplier ([0024], 232a-d) configured to supply a raw material gas ([0027], precursor containing gas) for forming the oxide film on the substrate (200), a hydrogen gas ([0031], hydrogen containing gas), and an oxygen gas ([0030], oxygen containing gas);
an exhauster ([0039], exhaust system including 231, 244, 245, 246) configured to exhaust ([0039]) an inside of the chamber (201);
a second heater configured to preheat at least the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas; and
a controller ([0043], 121) configured to control ([0046]) the first heater (207), the gas supplier (232a-d), and the exhauster (231, 244, 245, 246), wherein
the gas supplier includes at least one filling tank provided in at least one pipe configured to supply the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas therethrough and in which the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are filled, and a valve provided at a downstream side of the filling tank in a gas supply path, wherein
the controller (121) controls the gas supplier (232a-d) and the exhauster (231, 244, 245, 246) to: alternately repeat adsorbing ([0050]) the raw material gas onto the substrate (200) by supplying the raw material gas into the chamber (201); and
oxidizing the raw material gas adsorbed onto the substrate (200) with oxygen-containing radicals ([0103]) produced by supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S) while preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas by the second heater; and
continuously supply an inert gas ([0032], nitrogen gas is supplied into the lines containing hydrogen and O-containing gases) into the chamber (201) via the shower head (303S) in a counter-flow manner during a film formation process (see fig. 4), wherein
purging an interior of the chamber (201) with the inert gas ([0084], [0107], nitrogen gas) is performed after ([0050]-[0051], [0084]-[0085], purge gas of N2 is introduced after step 1 and before step 2) the adsorbing the raw material gas and after ([0102], purge gas N2 continues after step 2) the oxidizing the raw material gas, wherein,
in the oxidizing the raw material gas, the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas is supplied from the filling tank to the shower head (303S) such that a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time ([0102], the supply of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas is stopped and the flow rate of both is reduced to zero, both the flow rates of the first O-containing gas and the hydrogen containing gas can be described as gradually decreasing to zero over this period of time)
by filling the filling tank with the at least one of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber and opening the valve.
Harada doesn’t teach a second heater configured to preheat at least the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas into the chamber via the shower head while preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas by the second heater.
However, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches a second heater ([0056], 302) configured to preheat ([0056]) at least the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0061]) and supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0102]) into the chamber ([0041], 201) while preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas ([0061]) by the second heater (302). Yuasa also teaches that preheating the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas generates the proper amount of the reactive species and less unwanted byproducts such as H2O ([0061]) and that the use of a pre-reaction process reduces costs and improves productivity ([0121]-[0123]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the apparatus of Harada to include the preheating of oxygen and hydrogen with a second heater of Yuasa to reduce cost and improve productivity.
Harada doesn’t teach in the oxidizing the raw material gas, a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time.
However, Park (fig. 3A) teaches in the oxidizing the raw material gas ([0092], silicon dioxide may be formed), a supply partial pressure ([0073], controls partial pressure distribution) of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas ([0036], gas source may be non-precursor gases, [0058], hydrogen gas may be used, [0092], silicon dioxide may be formed, therefore oxygen gas may be used) starts to decrease at an initial stage ([0048], starting at t2) of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time (see fig. 3A). Park also teaches this method improves thickness uniformity ([0094]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of forming an oxide film of Harada to include the partial pressure control of Park to improve thickness uniformity.
Harada doesn’t teach that the gas supplier includes at least one filling tank provided in at least one pipe configured to supply the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas therethrough and in which the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are filled, and a valve provided at a downstream side of the filling tank in a gas supply path, in oxidizing the raw material gas, the at least one of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas is supplied from the filling tank to the shower head such that a supply partial of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time by filling the filling tank with the at least one of the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber and opening the valve.
However, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches the gas supplier includes at least one filling tank ([0044], 180 is filled with gas) provided in at least one pipe ([0044], 20L) configured to supply the gases therethrough and in which the gases are filled ([0044]), and a valve ([0045], 20C) provided at a downstream side of the filling tank (180) in a gas supply path (20L), wherein when supplying at least one of the gases, supply the at least one of the gases from the filling tank (180) such that a supply partial pressure of the at least one of the hydrogen gas or the oxygen gas starts to decrease at an initial stage of the supplying the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas and gradually decreases over time ([0044], fills 180 with a certain amount of gas) by filling the filling tank with the at least one of the gases at a pressure higher than an internal pressure of the chamber ([0054], pressure of process tube 1 is lower), and opening the valve ([0045], 20C). Suzuki also teaches a buffer tank can retain a predetermined amount of gas ([0028]) and may reduce a process time ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the film-forming apparatus of Harada to include the buffer tank of Suzuki to reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the buffer tank of Suzuki for the hydrogen gas and oxygen gas of Harada to similarly reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas.
Regarding Claim 11, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the first heater (207) is configured to heat the substrate (200) is heated to a temperature of 400 to 700 degrees C ([0075]).
Regarding Claim 12, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the second heater (302) is configured to preheat the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated to a temperature of 200 to 500 degrees C ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 13, Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 12, wherein the second heater (302) is configured to preheat the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas are preheated to a temperature of 400 to 500 degrees C ([0061]).
Regarding Claim 14, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the shower head (303S, see fig. 7) is configured to temporarily store the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas supplied thereto and subsequently, to introduce the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas into the chamber (201). Yuasa (fig. 13) teaches the second heater (302) preheats ([0061], [0220]) the hydrogen gas and the oxygen gas supplied into the shower head (409).
Regarding Claim 15, Suzuki (figs. 1 and 4) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the gas supplier includes a filling tank (180) provided in a pipe (20L) through which the raw material gas ([0044], DCS) is supplied and configured to be filled with the raw material gas ([0044]), and a valve (20C) provided at a downstream side of the filling tank (180) in a gas supply path (20L), and when supplying the raw material gas (DCS), the controller ([0038], 50) controls the filling tank (180) to supply the raw material gas (DCS) such that a supply partial pressure is relatively high at an initial supply stage and gradually decreases over time ([0044], fills 180 with a certain amount of gas) by filling the filling tank with the raw material gas at a pressure higher than the internal pressure of the chamber ([0054], pressure of process tube 1 is lower), and opening the valve ([0045], 20C). Suzuki also teaches a buffer tank can retain a predetermined amount of gas ([0028]) and may reduce a process time ([0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the film-forming apparatus of Harada to include the buffer tank of Suzuki to reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas. Additionally, it would have been obvious to utilize the buffer tank of Suzuki for the raw material gas of Harada to similarly reduce process time and ensure use of predetermined amounts of gas.
Regarding Claim 16, Harada (figs. 1-4) teaches the film-forming apparatus of Claim 10, wherein the gas supplier (232a-d) is configured to supply the inert gas ([0032], nitrogen gas) into the chamber (201), and wherein the controller (121) controls the gas supplier (232a-d) to continuously (see fig. 4) supply the inert gas (nitrogen gas) into the chamber (201) in a counter-flow manner during a film formation process (see fig. 4).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ashihara et al. (2018/0190496 A1) teaches a method for oxidizing a semiconductor. See fig. 4A and paragraph [0165].
/A.H./Examiner, Art Unit 2817
/Kretelia Graham/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2817