DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the amendment and request for continued examination received on 07/27/2026.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Election/Restrictions
Claim(s) 38-41 is/are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed and there is a serious search and/or examination burden for the reasons detailed in the final rejection mailed on 05/15/2026.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claim(s) 38-41 is/are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 21-22, 25, and 37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0186843 A1, Hosaka et al.; 06/2017; (“Hosaka”).
Regarding Claim 1. Hosaka discloses A device (Figure 40A), comprising:
a substrate (#102, Figure 40A, substrate);
a thin film transistor (TFT) (#100F, Figure 40A, oxide semiconductor thin film transistor) disposed over the substrate (Figure 40A, the transistor is over #102), the TFT being a single top gate TFT (Figure 40A, the transistor comprises only one top gate #112, which functions as a gate according to [0467]) comprising:
a metal oxide channel (#108, Figure 40A, oxide semiconductor film which includes a channel functionality according to [0572]) having a first metal oxide layer (#108_3, Figure 40A, oxide semiconductor film), a second metal oxide layer (#108_2, Figure 40A, oxide semiconductor film), and a third metal oxide layer (#108_1, Figure 40A, oxide semiconductor film), the third layer metal oxide disposed closer to the substrate than the first metal oxide layer and the second metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #108_1 is closer to #102 than #108_2 and #108_3), the second metal oxide layer disposed on the third metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #108_2 is disposed on #108_1), the first metal oxide layer disposed on the second metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #108_3 is disposed on #108_2), the second metal oxide layer separating the first metal oxide layer from the third metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #108_2 is separating #108_3 from #108_1), the second metal oxide layer ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide target whose atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 4:2:4.1 is used as the oxide semiconductor film 108_2”) having a greater electron mobility than the first metal oxide layer and the third metal oxide layer ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide target whose atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 1:3:2 is used as the oxide semiconductor film 108_1/3”) ([0587]-[0589], #108_2 provides the greatest mobility as the primary path through which electrons travel), the electron mobility of the second metal oxide layer being greater than or equal to 30 cm2/V·s ([0393], H1 is an example of a film utilizing In : Ga : Zn in a 4:2:4.1 ratio and [0398]-[0402], H1 is shown in Figure 30A and “the field-effect mobility of 30 cm2/V·s or higher which is shown in FIG. 30A”), wherein the second metal oxide layer comprises indium (In), zinc (Zn), and oxygen (O) ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide target whose atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 4:2:4.1 is used as the oxide semiconductor film 108_2”, i.e. #108_2 comprises indium, zinc, and oxygen as it is an oxide semiconductor film);
a gate insulator layer (#110, Figure 40A, gate insulating film according to [0468]) disposed contacting a top surface of the first metal oxide layer of the metal oxide channel (Figure 40A, #110 is disposed contacting a top surface of #108_3);
a gate electrode (#112, Figure 40A, conductive film functioning as a gate electrode according to [0467]) disposed on the gate insulator layer (Figure 40A, #112 is disposed on #110);
a buffer layer (#104, Figure 40A, insulating film that improves the interface with the oxide semiconductor film, according to [0484], as a buffer layer) disposed on and in contact with the substrate (Figure 40A, #104 is disposed on and in contact with #102), the buffer layer disposed below the metal oxide channel and in direct contact with the third metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #104 is disposed below #108 and is in direct contact with #108_1);
a single inter-layer dielectric (ILD) layer (#116, Figure 40A, insulating film, Examiner notes that [0466] states “The transistor 100 may further include an insulating film 118 over the insulating film 116”, use of the word “may” is interpreted by the examiner to envision an embodiment that may not include #118 such that #116 is the only dielectric layer between the source/drain and the channel region) disposed over and in contact with the gate insulator layer, the gate electrode, sidewalls of the metal oxide channel and a top surface of the first metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #116 is disposed over and in contact with #110, #112, sidewalls of #108_1-#108_3, and a top surface of #108_3);
a source electrode (#120a, Figure 40A, conductive film functioning as a source electrode according to [0467]) disposed directly on and in contact with an upper horizontal surface of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, as described above, #118 may not be present, such that #120a would be disposed directly on and in contact with the upper horizontal surface of #116), the source electrode contacting the top surface of the first metal oxide layer of the metal oxide channel by a first via through the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120a contacts a top surface of #108_3 by a first via through #116), wherein the source electrode is disposed in the first via of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120a is disposed in the first via through #116), and wherein the single ILD layer extends from the top surface of the first metal oxide layer along the first via to a bottom surface of the source electrode (Figure 40A, #120a is observed to have narrowing tapered sidewalls, which may be interpreted as part of the bottom surface of #120a, as it traverses through the via such that #116 extends from the top surface of the metal oxide channel along the first via to the bottom surface of #120a, this is particularly the case if #118 is not present as envisioned by the use of the word “may” described above); and
a drain electrode (#120b, Figure 40A, conductive film functioning as a drain electrode according to [0467]) disposed directly on and in contact with the upper horizontal surface of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, as described above, #118 may not be present, such that #120b would be disposed directly on and in contact with the upper horizontal surface of #116), the drain electrode contacting the top surface of the first metal oxide layer of the metal oxide channel by a second via through the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120b contacts a top surface of #108_3 by a second via through #116), wherein the drain electrode is disposed in the second via of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120b is disposed in the second via through #116), and wherein the single ILD layer extends from the top surface of the first metal oxide layer along the second via to a bottom surface of the drain electrode (Figure 40A, #120b is observed to have narrowing tapered sidewalls, which may be interpreted as part of the bottom surface of #120b, as it traverses through the via such that #116 extends from the top surface of the metal oxide channel along the first via to the bottom surface of #120b, this is particularly the case if #118 is not present as envisioned by the use of the word “may” described above).
Regarding Claim 4. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide layer and the third metal oxide layer are selected from the group consisting of In-Sn-O, In-Ga-O, In-Zn-O, In-Zn-Sn-O, In-Ga-Zn-O, In-Ga-Sn-O, In-Ga-Zn-Sn-O, and combinations thereof ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a . . . atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is used as . . .108_1 . . . and an oxide semiconductor film formed using a . . . atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 1:3:2 is used as . . . 108_3”, i.e. all three layers of #108 are formed from In-Ga-Zn-O).
Regarding Claim 5. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein each layer of the metal oxide channel has a thickness from about 0.5 nm to about 50 nm ([0393], Sample H1 described above as functioning as the second metal oxide layer has a thickness of approximately 40 nm, and according to [0458], the overall thickness of the entire film (comprising all three layers) is 3nm to 60 nm such that the first and third layers made of the same material as described above are necessarily around 10 nm thick).
Regarding Claim 9. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the TFT has a threshold voltage of about -0.5 V to about 2.5 V (Figure 30A, [0400]-[0402], sample H1, which functions as the channel of the transistor as #108_2 as described above (see [0585]), is observed to have a threshold voltage of approximately 0 V).
Regarding Claim 21. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide layer and the third metal oxide layer include Ga ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a . . . atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is used as . . .108_1, . . . an oxide semiconductor film formed using a . . . atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 1:3:2 is used as . . . 108_3”, i.e. #108_1 and #108_3 include Ga).
Regarding Claim 22. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the first metal oxide layer includes In, Ga, and Zn ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a . . . atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 1:3:2 is used as . . . 108_3”, i.e. #108_3 includes In, Ga, and Zn).
Regarding Claim 25. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the third metal oxide layer has a larger concentration of Ga than the second metal oxide layer ([0580], “an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide target whose atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 1:3:2 is used as the oxide semiconductor film 108_1, an oxide semiconductor film formed using a metal oxide target whose atomic ratio of In to Ga and Zn is 4:2:4.1 is used as the oxide semiconductor film 108_2”, i.e. #108_1 has a greater Ga concentration (50% by the ratio above) then #108_2, (around 20% by the ratio above)).
Regarding Claim 37. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1, wherein the single ILD layer comprises silicon oxide or silicon nitride ([0500], “the insulating film 116, for example, a nitride insulating film can be used. The nitride insulating film can be formed using silicon nitride”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of US 2017/0186843 A1, Hosaka et al.; 06/2017; (“Hosaka”) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of US 2016/0071983 A1; Yamazaki, Shunpei et al.; 09/2014; (“Yamazaki”).
Regarding Claim 6. Hosaka discloses The device of claim 1.
Hosaka does not appear to disclose that the TFT has an electron mobility of about 35 cm2/V·s to about 70 cm2/V·s.
However, Yamazaki discloses a similar TFT (Figure 4A) wherein the channel comprises a plurality of layers (#101, #102, and #103) composed of oxide semiconductor materials ([0092]) wherein the middle oxide semiconductor layer has a greater electron mobility than the upper and lower oxide semiconductor layers ([0131], the energy gap of #102 is smaller than #101 and #103, such that the mobility of #102 is greater than #101 and #103 based on [0020]) wherein the TFT has an electron mobility of about 35 cm2/V·s to about 70 cm2/V·s (Figures 24 and 26 show example transistors of the given structure wherein one of the oxide layers in each graph has a bulk mobility of 35 cm2/V·s such that the transistor as a whole may have a mobility within the required range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a TFT with an electron mobility in the range of 35 cm2/V·s to about 70 cm2/V·s, as was done in Yamazaki, for the device of Hosaka since it is clear that through modifying the materials and their ratios of the corresponding oxide semiconductor layers that the bulk mobility may be changed (see [0138]-[0143] of Hosaka and [0490]-[0492], “the difference in the field-effect mobility shown in FIGS. 24 and 26 became remarkable depending on the oxide semiconductor materials and the stack order of layers of the oxide semiconductor stacked layer . . . electrical characteristics (the field-effect mobility and the off-state current in this example) of a transistor can be changed variously by a stacked layer of oxide semiconductor layers whose band gaps are different from each other without changing the structure of the transistor. . . electrical characteristics of a transistor can be adjusted with high accuracy, providing the transistor with appropriate electrical characteristics”) to meet the requirements of the user and achieve higher field effect mobility transistors such that this limitation is considered both routine optimization and overlapping ranges; see MPEP 2144.05.II and 2144.05.I).
Response to Arguments/Amendments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 1 and corresponding arguments, see pages 7-8 of the remarks, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by US 2017/0186843 A1, Hosaka et al.; 06/2017; (“Hosaka”), along with its dependent claims, have been fully considered. As indicated in the interview summary mailed on 07/17/2026, the proposed amendments appeared to overcome the Hosaka reference, pending further search and consideration. Regrettably, upon further consideration of the Hosaka reference, it is the examiner’s interpretation that the reference does disclose all of the limitations of amended claim 1 and the rejection is maintained.
Hosaka discloses A device (Figure 40A) which includes a single inter-layer dielectric (ILD) layer (#116, Figure 40A, insulating film, Examiner notes that [0466] states “The transistor 100 may further include an insulating film 118 over the insulating film 116”, use of the word “may” is interpreted by the examiner to envision an embodiment that may not include #118 such that #116 is the only dielectric layer between the source/drain (#120a/b) and the channel region (#108)) disposed over and in contact with the gate insulator layer, the gate electrode, sidewalls of the metal oxide channel and a top surface of the first metal oxide layer (Figure 40A, #116 is disposed over and in contact with #110, #112, sidewalls of #108_1-#108_3, and a top surface of #108_3), and the source and drain electrodes (#120a/#120b, Figure 40A, conductive films functioning as a source/drain electrodes according to [0467]) are disposed directly on and in contact with an upper horizontal surface of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, as described above, #118 may not be present based on [0466], such that #120a/#120b would be disposed directly on and in contact with the upper horizontal surface of #116), the source/drain electrodes contacting the top surface of the first metal oxide layer of the metal oxide channel by a first/second via through the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120a/#120b contact a top surface of #108_3 by a first/second via through #116, respectively), wherein the source/drain electrodes are disposed in the first/second via of the single ILD layer (Figure 40A, #120a/#120b are disposed in the first/second via through #116), and wherein the single ILD layer extends from the top surface of the first metal oxide layer along the first via to a bottom surface of the source/drain electrodes (Figure 40A, #120a/#120b are observed to have narrowing tapered sidewalls, which may be interpreted as part of the bottom surface of #120a/#120b, as it traverses through the via such that #116 extends from the top surface of the metal oxide channel along the first/second via to the bottom surface of #120a/#120b, this is particularly the case if #118 is not present as envisioned by the use of the word “may” described above). For these reasons, it is the examiner’s interpretation that Hosaka discloses all of the limitations of amended claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 4-5, 9, 21-22, 25, and 37 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2017/0186843 A1, Hosaka et al.; 06/2017; (“Hosaka”).
Claim(s) 6 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious in view of US 2017/0186843 A1, Hosaka et al.; 06/2017; (“Hosaka”) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of US 2016/0071983 A1; Yamazaki, Shunpei et al.; 09/2014; (“Yamazaki”).
Applicant’s request for rejoinder of claims 38-41 and corresponding remarks, see page 8 of the remarks, filed 07/27/2026, with respect to the allowability of the claims for their similar subject matter to claim 1 have been fully considered. However, as described above, claim 1 stands rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 and claim(s) 38-41 stand withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
Conclusion
/TYLER J WIEGAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2812