DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2021 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15, 16, 18 and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US PG Pub 2010/0284155 to Stoize et al (hereinafter Stoize).
Regarding Claim 1, Stoize discloses a package structure, comprising:
a first die (120, Fig. 6);
an encapsulant (104) encapsulating the first die;
a redistribution structure (200) disposed over and electrically connected to the first dies comprising a dielectric laver (Printed circuit boards by definition are formed of a dielectric material with internal wiring. Typically, the dielectric material consists of a ceramic or polyimide); and
a securing element (500), penetrating through the dielectric laver of the redistribution structure, the encapsulant and an outer peripheral edge corner of the first die and completely electrically isolated from the first die (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 2, Stoize discloses the package structure of Claim 1 further comprising an electrical device (400) over the first die, wherein the securing element further penetrates the electrical device.
Regarding Claim 15, Stoize discloses a method of manufacturing a package structure, comprising:
providing a package comprising a first die (120, Fig. 6), an encapsulant (104) encapsulating the first die and a redistribution structure (200) disposed over and electrically connected to the package and comprising a dielectric laver (Printed circuit boards by definition are formed of a dielectric material with internal wiring. Typically, the dielectric material consists of a ceramic or polyimide);
forming a first hole (253/53) in the package, the first hole penetrating an outer peripheral edge corner of the first die and the dielectric laver of the redistribution structure (Fig. 6); and
inserting a securing element (500) into the first hole, wherein the securing element is completely electrically isolated from the first die (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 16, Stoize discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the package further comprises a second die adjacent to the first die, and the first hole further penetrates an outer peripheral edge corner of the second die (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 18, Stoize discloses the method of Claim 15 further comprising an electrical device (400) comprising a second hole (453), wherein the securing element further inserts into the second hole.
Regarding Claim 20, Stoize discloses the method of Claim 15, wherein the first hole is formed by removing the outer peripheral edge corner of the first die and a portion of the encapsulant (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 21, Stoize discloses the package structure of Claim 1, wherein a gap is formed between the securing element and the first die, and the gap surrounds the securing element (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 22, Stoize discloses the method of Claim 16, wherein the first hole is formed by removing the outer peripheral edge corners of the first die and the second die and a portion of the encapsulant (Fig. 6).
Regarding Claim 23, Stoize discloses the package structure of Claim 1, wherein the securing element is electrically isolated from the redistribution structure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10-14 are allowed.
Claims 4, 6, 7, 19, 24 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Claim 8 recites a package structure, comprising:
a first die encapsulated by an encapsulant;
a redistribution structure over a first side of the first die, the redistribution structure comprising a dielectric layer and a plurality of redistribution conductive patterns in the dielectric layer;
a screw, penetrating the dielectric layer of the redistribution structure, the encapsulant and an outer peripheral edge corner of the first die; and
a seal ring in the dielectric layer, electrically insulated from the redistribution conductive patterns, wherein the seal ring comprises a plurality of first conductive layers and a plurality of first conductive vias between the plurality of first conductive layers.
Stoize does not disclose a seal ring in the dielectric layer of the redistribution structure. While seal rings were known in the art, prior to the invention, they are not typically used in printed circuit boards and would not have been an obvious modification of Stoize. Claims 10-14 depend on Claim 8 and are allowable for at least the reasons above.
Claims 6, 7 and 19 are similarly allowable for the reasons above.
Claim 4 requires a plurality of solder regions, wherein the redistribution structure is electrically connected to and disposed between the plurality of solder regions and the first die. The solder regions of Stoize are between the redistribution structure and the first die. It would not have been an obvious modification to move them to satisfy Applicant’s embodiment.
Claim 24 requires the securing element be in direct contact with the first die. It is not an obvious modification of Stoize for the securing element to be in a hole which exposes the first die, thereby making the securing element directly contact the first die.
Conclusion
/DAVID C SPALLA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893