DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “controller” in claim 1-lines 12 and 13, and claim 4-line 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ventzek et al., US 2020/0058470 in view of Ishii et al., US 5,571,366.
With respect to independent claim 1, Ventzek et al. shows the invention as claimed including a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 210; a substrate support 19 having a lower electrode and configured to support a substrate which is placed thereon in the chamber (paragraph 0053); a radio frequency power source 20 configured to generate radio frequency power which is supplied to generate plasma from a gas in the chamber, the radio frequency power having a first frequency 13.56 MHz; a bias power source 30 electrically connected to the lower electrode; and a controller 250 configured to control the radio frequency power source, wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to supply the radio frequency power in a first partial period in the each cycle (see, for example, modified Figs. 4-5 below) and set a power level of the radio frequency power in a second partial period in the each cycle (see, for example, modified Figs. 4-5 below) to a power level reduced from a power level of the radio frequency power in the first partial period; (see, for example, Figs. 1-13, and their descriptions, Fig. 2 and modified Figs. 4-5 are shown below).
Ventzek et al. further discloses that the bias power source applies a pulsed negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode in each cycle that is defined by a second frequency lower than the first frequency, wherein the second frequency is within the claimed range (see, for example, paragraphs 0075 and 0129). Additionally, Ventzek et al. clearly discloses that the pulse could be a single pulse (see, for example, paragraph 0037). Furthermore, and this notwithstanding, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Ventzek et al. is capable of applying the claimed single pulse of negative direct-current voltage as claimed if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
With respect to the limitation of the bias power source periodically applying the pulsed negative dc voltage “at a cycle that has a time length of a reciprocal of a second frequency lower than the first frequency, the second frequency being not less than 50 kHz and not more than 27 MHz”, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Ventzek et al. is capable of applying the pulsed dc voltage at the claimed cycle and at the claimed frequency if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
With respect to the substrate support having the lower electrode and an electrostatic chuck provided on the lower electrode, Ishii et al. discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising a substrate support 4 having a lower electrode 4c and an electrostatic chuck 12 provided on the lower electrode, and configured to support a substrate W which is placed thereon in a chamber 2 (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Ventzek et al., as to comprise the claimed substrate support configuration because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently hold the substrate.
With respect to claims 3-4, it should be noted that the first partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is not applied to the lower electrode, and the second partial period is a period in which the pulsed negative direct-current voltage is applied to the lower electrode; and wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to stop supply of the radio frequency power in the second partial period (see, for example, modified Figs. 4-5 above, and Figs. 6, 9, 11, and 13, and their descriptions).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Negishi et al., US 2005/0048787, as evidence by Hayashi et al., JP 2001-358129, and in view of Ishii et al., US 5,571,366.
With respect to independent claim 1, Negishi et al. shows the invention as claimed including a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 101; a substrate support having a lower electrode 109 configured to support a substrate 110 which is placed thereon in the chamber; a radio frequency power source 106/108/111 configured to generate radio frequency power which is supplied to generate plasma from a gas in the chamber, the radio frequency power having a first frequency (450MHz/13.56 MHz/800KHz, respectively); a bias power source 129 electrically connected to the lower electrode and configured to periodically apply a pulsed direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at a cycle that is defined by a second frequency lower than the first frequency; and a controller 130 configured to control the radio frequency power source, wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to supply the radio frequency power in a first partial period in the cycle (see modified Fig. 9 below) and set a power level of the radio frequency power in a second partial period in the cycle (see modified Fig. 9 below) to a power level reduced from a power level of the radio frequency power in the first partial period; (see, for example, Figs. 7 and 9, and their descriptions, Fig. 7 and modified Fig. 9 are shown below).
With respect to the bias power source configured to periodically apply a single pulse negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at a cycle that has a time length of a reciprocal of a second frequency lower than the first frequency, the second frequency being not less than 50 kHz and not more than 27 MHz, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Negishi et al. is capable of periodically applying the claimed pulsed negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at the claimed cycle and at the claimed frequency, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should further be noted that, as evidence by Hayashi et al. (see, for example, Figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 3-4 are shown below), a bias DC power source can be used to apply both a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode or a single pulse of positive direct-current voltage to the lower electrode.
With respect to the substrate support having the lower electrode and an electrostatic chuck provided on the lower electrode, Ishii et al. discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising a substrate support 4 having a lower electrode 4c and an electrostatic chuck 12 provided on the lower electrode, and configured to support a substrate W which is placed thereon in a chamber 2 (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Negishi et al., as to comprise the claimed substrate support configuration because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently hold the substrate.
With respect to claims 3-4, it should be noted that the first partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is not applied to the lower electrode, and the second partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is applied to the lower electrode; and wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to stop supply of the radio frequency power in the second partial period (see, for example, modified Fig. 9 above, and the description of Fig. 9).
Claim(s) 1 and 3-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al., US 6,335,535, as evidenced by Hayashi et al., JP 2001-358129, and in view of Ishii et al., US 5,571,366.
With respect to independent claim 1, Miyake et al. shows the invention as claimed including a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 30; a substrate support 31 having a lower electrode, and configured to support a substrate which is placed thereon in the chamber; a radio frequency power source 41 configured to generate radio frequency power which is supplied to generate plasma from a gas in the chamber, the radio frequency power having a first frequency; a bias power source 44 electrically connected to the lower electrode and configured to periodically apply a pulsed direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at a cycle that is defined by a second frequency lower than the first frequency; and a controller 47 configured to control the radio frequency power source, wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to supply the radio frequency power in a first partial period in the cycle and set a power level of the radio frequency power in a second partial period in the cycle to a power level reduced from a power level of the radio frequency power in the first partial period (see, for example, Figs. 2-3B, and their descriptions, Fig. 2 and modified Figs. 3A-3B are shown below).
With respect to the bias power source configured to periodically apply a single pulse negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at a cycle that has a time length of a reciprocal of a second frequency lower than the first frequency, the second frequency being not less than 50 kHz and not more than 27 MHz, it should be noted that such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Miyake et al. is capable of periodically applying the claimed pulsed negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode at the claimed cycle and at the claimed frequency, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, it should further be noted that, as evidence by Hayashi et al. (see, for example, Figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 3-4 are shown below), a bias DC power source can be used to apply both a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode or a single pulse of positive direct-current voltage to the lower electrode.
With respect to the substrate support having the lower electrode and an electrostatic chuck provided on the lower electrode, Ishii et al. discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising a substrate support 4 having a lower electrode 4c and an electrostatic chuck 12 provided on the lower electrode, and configured to support a substrate W which is placed thereon in a chamber 2 (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Miyake et al., as to comprise the claimed substrate support configuration because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently hold the substrate.
With respect to claims 3-4, it should be noted that the first partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is not applied to the lower electrode, and the second partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is applied to the lower electrode; and wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to stop supply of the radio frequency power in the second partial period (see, for example, modified Figs. 3A-3B above, and their descriptions).
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Papasouliotis et al., US 2011/0309049 in view of Ishii et al., US 5,571,366.
With respect to independent claim 1, Papasouliotis et al. shows the invention as claimed including a plasma processing apparatus comprising: a chamber 102; a substrate support 144 having a lower electrode and configured to support a substrate which is placed thereon in the chamber (paragraph 0053); a radio frequency power source 130 configured to generate radio frequency power which is supplied to generate plasma from a gas in the chamber, the radio frequency power having a first frequency; a bias power source 148 electrically connected to the lower electrode; and a controller 152 configured to control the radio frequency power source, wherein the controller controls the radio frequency power source to supply the radio frequency power in a first partial period TP1/306 in the each cycle and set a power level of the radio frequency power in a second partial period TP2/308 in the each cycle to a power level reduced from a power level of the radio frequency power in the first partial period; (see, for example, Figs. 1 and 3A-3B, and their descriptions, Figs. 3A-3B are shown below).
Papasouliotis et al. further discloses that the bias power source applies a single pulse negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode in each cycle that is defined by a second frequency (see, for example, Fig. 3B above), and further discloses that the second frequency can be different from the first frequency (see, for example, paragraph 0102). Furthermore, such limitations are directed to method limitations instead of apparatus limitations and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Papasouliotis et al. is capable of applying the claimed single pulse of negative direct-current voltage, and having the second frequency being lower than the first frequency, as claimed if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
With respect to the limitation of the bias power source periodically applying the pulsed negative dc voltage “at a cycle that has a time length of a reciprocal of a second frequency lower than the first frequency, the second frequency being not less than 50 kHz and not more than 27 MHz”, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Papasouliotis et al. is capable of applying the pulsed dc voltage at the claimed cycle and at the claimed frequency if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
With respect to the substrate support having the lower electrode and an electrostatic chuck provided on the lower electrode, Ishii et al. discloses a plasma processing apparatus comprising a substrate support 4 having a lower electrode 4c and an electrostatic chuck 12 provided on the lower electrode, and configured to support a substrate W which is placed thereon in a chamber 2 (see, for example, Fig. 1 and its description, Fig. 1 is shown below).
Therefore, in view of this disclosure, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the apparatus of Papasouliotis et al., as to comprise the claimed substrate support configuration because such configuration is known and used in the art as a suitable configuration to effectively and efficiently hold the substrate.
With respect to claim 3, it should be noted that the first partial period is a period in which the pulsed direct-current voltage is not applied to the lower electrode, and the second partial period is a period in which the pulsed negative direct-current voltage is applied to the lower electrode, (see, for example, Figs. 3A-3B above).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 6, and 8-9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,361,947. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant claimed invention are encompassed by, broader than and/or generic to the claims of the US Patent 11,361,947. Therefore, under a one-way obviousness type double patenting test a prima facie case of obviousness have been established.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 6 of the response/remarks, filed 06/30/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 under the 35 U.S.C. 112-first paragraph, have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection under the 35 U.S.C. 112-first paragraph of claims 1 and 3-4 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pages 7-8 of the response/remarks, filed 06/30/2025, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Ventzek et al. in view of Ishii, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Negishi et al. in view of Ishii, and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection over Miyake et al. in view of Ishii, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the primary reference of Ventzek et al. does not disclose the bias power source periodically applying a single pulse of the negative dc voltage to the lower electrode in each cycle. The examiner respectfully disagrees and contends that, as stated in the above rejection, Ventzek et al. discloses that the pulsing of the negative dc voltage to the lower electrode could be a single pulse (see, for example, paragraph 0037). Additionally, and this notwithstanding, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Ventzek et al. is capable of applying the claimed single pulse of negative direct-current voltage as claimed if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it.
Applicant argues that Negishi et al. discloses a cycle wherein a sequence of pulses of positive DC voltage is applied, and therefore, it fails to disclose the bias power source applying a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage. However, as stated in the above rejection, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Negishi et al. is capable of periodically applying the claimed pulsed negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, as stated in the above rejection, it should further be noted that, as evidence by Hayashi et al. (see, for example, Figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 3-4 are shown below), a bias DC power source can be used to apply both a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode or a single pulse of positive direct-current voltage to the lower electrode.
Applicant argues that Miyake et al. merely describes a positive bias source which supply a pulse of a positive DC voltage to the susceptor electrode, and therefore, it fails to disclose the bias power source applying a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage. However, as stated in the above rejection, such limitation is directed to a method limitation instead of an apparatus limitation, and since an apparatus is being claimed as the instant invention, the method teachings are not considered to be the matter at hand, since a variety of methods can be done with the apparatus. The method limitations are viewed as intended uses which do not further limit, and therefore do not patentably distinguish the claimed invention. The bias power source of the apparatus of Miyake et al. is capable of periodically applying the claimed pulsed negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode, if the method to be performed within the apparatus requires it. Additionally, as stated in the above rejection, it should further be noted that, as evidence by Hayashi et al. (see, for example, Figs. 1-4, and their descriptions, Figs. 3-4 are shown below), a bias DC power source can be used to apply both a single pulse of negative direct-current voltage to the lower electrode or a single pulse of positive direct-current voltage to the lower electrode.
Therefore, for the above reasons, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 over Ventzek et al. in view of Ishii, the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 over Negishi et al. in view of Ishii, and the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 1 and 3-4 over Miyake et al. in view of Ishii, are respectfully maintained.
Additionally, it should be noted the new grounds of rejection over the Papasouliotis et al. (US 2011/0309049) reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Iwata et al., US 2015/0069910 is cited for its teachings of a plasma processing apparatus comprising a rf power source, a bias power source, and a controller configured to control the rf power source and bias power source.
/LUZ L ALEJANDRO MULERO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1716
March 20, 2026