Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6-8, 15, 17-18, 20, 21, and 22-23, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KIM (Pub. No.: US 2018/0012876) in view of SATO et al. (Pub. No.: US 2020/0043931) (hereinafter SATO) and further in view of DO (Pub. No.: US 2017/0138549) and another SATO (Pub. No.: US 2015/0206929) (hereinafter `929).
Re claim 1, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches a display device comprising:
a light-emitting element (30, ¶ [0116]);
a first transistor (TFT1, [0120]) configured to transmit a driving current to the light-emitting element;
a second transistor (TFT2, [0121]) configured to transmit a data signal to the first transistor,
a via layer (605, ¶ [0130], note that 605 is the same scenario as via layer 200 of FIG. 10 in Applicant’ specification, ¶ [0152]) between the first and second transistors (TFT1/TFT2) and the light-emitting element (30), the via layer being an organic film selected from acrylic resin, epoxy resin, phenolic resin, polvamide resin, and polvimide resin (605, [0130]); and
an electrode line (12/52) on the via layer (613) connecting the first transistor (TFT1) to the light-emitting element (30),
a first protection film (602, FIG. 18) on a first source electrode ([SE], FIG. 18 [as shown above]) and a first drain electrode [DE] of the first transistor (TFT1);
a first voltage line (614, note that the drain electrode connected to electrical voltage of 5V, therefore, it is considered as the VOLTAGE LINE) on the first protection film (602) and electrically connected to the first transistor (TFT1), the first protection film (602) being between the first source [SE] and drain electrodes [DE] and the first voltage line (614); and
a second protection film (604) on the first voltage line (614) and between the first protection film (602) and the via layer (605),
the first transistor includes a first active layer (611), wherein the first active layer of the first transistor includes an oxide semiconductor (611, [0122]).
the second transistor includes a second active layer containing an organic semiconductor (621, [0122]),
the electrode line comprises a reflective layer (12, [0055]) and an electrode layer (52) on the reflective layer,
the via layer (605) and the first (602) and second (604) protection films defines a contact hole (which later on it was filling up by 613 and 12) penetrating the via layer (613) and the first (602) and second (604) protection films,
at least a portion of the reflective layer (12) is disposed in the contact hole, and
the light-emitting element includes a first conductivity type semiconductor having a first polarity (p-type 34, [0049]);
a second conductivity type semiconductor having a second polarity different from the first polarity (n-type 33, [0048]); and
a third active material layer (35) disposed between the first conductivity type semiconductor (34) and the second conductivity type semiconductor (33).
KIM fails to teach a second active layer containing an oxide semiconductor.
However, KIM discloses a first active layer containing an oxide semiconductor (611, [0122]).
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select the same material for second active region via the first active region on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416, as taught by KIM.
Moreover, KIM fails to teach at least a portion of the electrode layer is disposed in the contact hole.
SATO teaches at least a portion of the electrode layer (162a, FIG. 1, ¶ [0133]) is disposed in the contact hole.
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of miniaturized the foot print of manufacturing the semiconductor device as taught by SATO, [0010].
Additionaly, KIM fails to teach a length of the light-emitting element being in a range of about 4 µm to about 7 µm and an aspect ratio of the light-emitting element being in a range of about 1.2 to about 100
DO teaches a length of the light-emitting element being in a range of about 4 µm to about 7 µm and an aspect ratio of the light-emitting element being in a range of about 1.2 to about 100 ¶ [0076].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of ultilizing the small nano-scale LED devices as taught by DO, [0076].
Finally, KIM/SATO/DO fails to teach a light blocking layer below the first active layer and separated from the first active layer by a buffer layer, and the light blocking layer overlaps a portion of the first voltage line in a plan view.
`929 teaches a light blocking layer (172, FIG. 7, ¶ [0040]) below the first active layer (224) and separated from the first active layer by a buffer layer (165), and the light blocking layer (172) overlaps a portion of the first voltage line (223, note that it is the SAME DRAIN electrode as discloses in KIM, FIG. 18 as 614) in a plan view (by looking down from the top),
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving visibility and response speed as taught by `929 [0005].
Re claim 3, in the combination, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the oxide semiconductor includes indium-gallium-tin oxide (IGTO) or indium-gallium-zinc-tin oxide (IGZTO) [0122].
Re claim 6, KIM, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first active layer includes:
a first conductive region [FCR],
a second conductive region [SCR], and
a channel region [CR] disposed between the first conductive region and the second conductive region.
Re claim 7, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the first transistor further includes:
a third gate electrode (612) disposed on the first active layer;
the first source electrode (614) that is electrically connected to the first conductive region [FCR] through a first contact hole (the opening before forming 614) passing through an interlayer insulating film (604) disposed on the third gate electrode; and
the first drain electrode (613) that is connected to the second conductive region [SCR] through a second contact hole (the opening before forming 613) passing through the interlayer insulating film.
Re claim 8, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches the display device of claim 7, wherein the first active layer includes polycrystalline silicon (611, [0122]).
Re claim 15, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches a display device comprising:
a base layer (5);
a first electrode (12/52) and a second electrode (11/51) spaced apart from each other on the base layer in a first direction (horizontal);
at least one light-emitting element (30) connected to at least one of the first electrode (12/52) and the second electrode (11/51) and having a shape extending in the first direction;
a driving transistor (TFT1, [0120]) configured to transmit a driving current to the at least one light-emitting element (30),
a via layer (605) between the first and second electrode and the driving transistor,
a first protection film (602, FIG. 18) on a source electrode and a drain electrode (613/614) of the driving transistor (TFT1), the first protection film (602) being between the first source [SE] and drain electrodes [DE] and the first voltage line (614);
a first voltage line (614, note that the drain electrode connected to electrical voltage of 5V, therefore, it is considered as the VOLTAGE LINE) on the first protection film and electrically connected to the driving transistor (TFT1); and
a second protection film (604) on the first voltage line (614) and between the first protection film (602) and the via layer (605),
wherein the driving transistor includes a first active layer having an oxide semiconductor (611, [0122]), and
the light-emitting element (30) includes a first conductivity type semiconductor including having a first polarity (p-type layer 34, [0049]);
a second conductivity type semiconductor (n-type layer 33, [0048]) having a second polarity different from the first polarity (p-type layer 34); and
a second active material layer (35, [0050]) disposed between the first conductivity type semiconductor and the second conductivity type semiconductor,
the first electrode (12/52) comprises a reflective layer (12, [0055]) and an electrode layer (52) on the reflective layer,
the via layer (605) and the first (602) and second (604) protection films defines a contact hole (which later on it was filling up by 613 and 12) penetrating the via layer and the first (602) and second (604) protection films, and
at least a portion of the reflective layer (12) is disposed in the contact hole.
Moreover, KIM fails to teach at least a portion of the electrode layer is disposed in the contact hole.
SATO teaches at least a portion of the electrode layer (162a, FIG. 1, ¶ [0133]) is disposed in the contact hole.
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of miniaturized the foot print of manufacturing the semiconductor device as taught by SATO, [0010].
Finally, KIM fails to teach Finally, KIM fails to teach a wherein a length of the at least one light-emitting element in the first direction is in a range of about 4 µm to about 7 µm, and an aspect ratio of the at least one light-emitting element is in a range of about 1.2 to about 100.
DO teaches wherein a length of the at least one light-emitting element in the first direction is in a range of about 4 µm to about 7 µm, and an aspect ratio of the at least one light-emitting element is in a range of about 1.2 to about 100 ¶ [0076].
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of ultilizing the small nano-scale LED devices as taught by DO, [0076].
Finally, KIM/SATO/DO fails to teach a light blocking layer below the first active layer and separated from the first active layer by a buffer layer, and the light blocking layer overlaps a portion of the first voltage line in a plan view.
`929 teaches a light blocking layer (172, FIG. 7, ¶ [0040]) below the first active layer (224) and separated from the first active layer by a buffer layer (165), and the light blocking layer (712) overlaps a portion of the first voltage line (223, note that it is the SAME DRAIN electrode as discloses in KIM, FIG. 18 as 614) in a plan view (by looking down from the top).
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving visibility and response speed as taught by `929 [0005].
Re claim 17, in the combination, KIM, FIG. 17 teaches the display device of claim 15, wherein each of the first electrode (613) and the second electrode (614) has a shape extending on the base layer in a second direction (vertical) different from the first direction.
Re claim 18, in the combination, `929 teaches the display device of claim 17 a first contact electrode (131/132, [0042]) in directly contact with each of the first electrode ([FE], FIG. 7 [as shown above]) and one end portion of the at least one light-emitting element (LEA) (133); and
a second contact electrode in contact with the second electrode (233) and the other end portion of the at least one light-emitting element (LEA) [OEofLED].
It would have been for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above said teaching for the purpose of improving visibility and response speed as taught by `929 [0005].
Re claim 20, in the combination, KIM, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches the display device of claim 17, wherein the first conductivity type semiconductor (p-type layer 34), the second active material layer (35), and the second conductivity type semiconductor (n-type layer 33) are disposed in a direction parallel to an upper surface of the base layer (5).
Re claim 21, in the combination, SATO, FIG. 1 teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the reflective layer (162a, [0151]) and the electrode layer (162b, [0133]) are coextensive (planarize) in a plan view.
Re claim 22, in the combination, DO teaches he display device of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element is an inorganic light emitting diode and has a cylindrical shape (20, FIG. 5, [0073]).
Re claim 23, in the combination, DO teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting element is comprised of a semiconductor crystal (n/p-type semiconductor crystal, [0005]).
Re claim 24, in the combination, KIM, FIG. 17 [as shown above] teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein a side surface of the reflective layer is covered by the electrode layer (52, note that transparent electrode is having some level of reflective in there wherein it is redirected the light, [0093]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 on the remarks filed on 04/22/2026 have been considered but they are not persuasive. Please see the detail of rejection as listed above.
Conclusion
/TONY TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893